Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e) $0.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 31
4 19
4 3
1 0
1 0
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 21:45:40

Participated initially as a player, then later as DM. It was fun both times. Great story and descriptions. Ending was surprising and fun!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 17:43:16

I did have fun with this mod - the lore, the history etc was a really nice touch. But with all of that going, it really felt as if it was a long trip to a Giant Museum (pun intended). Not every character (or player for that matter, would be able to take in this whole mod as written. It is a good mod, but there is really just too much going on.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2018 13:47:18

Forgotten Traditions is a dungeon crawl which takes place in a lost and abandoned giant museum, from the days of giant civilization. The scope of the module runs the full D&D gamut: combat, exploration, and social encounters. The dungeon requires a certain amount of self-reminders and self-policing as it concerns lighting and temperature hazards which are consistent dungeon-wide, but finds a perfect balance for players between sharing lore about all giant-kind/the Season 5 Tier 2 story thread and being a challenging, but rewarding, adventure.

Reasons I recommend this adventure to other DMs:

  • Nothing in the dungeon exists "just because"-- so long as you don't neglect to describe the rooms and their lore content, traversing the halls of the museum feels like walking through a real place, with its own reasons for existing. Doors, in particular, drive this point home both well and elegantly.
  • There's a phenomenal amount of options for a large number of rooms, giving the DM the freedom to find traps and encounters which best suit their group or their own playing style.
  • The well-considered accommodation for characters that don't know the Giant language, despite being a giant museum.

Things to keep in mind when prepping for this adventure:

  • It can often feel like there are too many options for traps and encounters. The adventure does a great job of moving the majority of them to after the full explanation of the dungeon as a whole, in the form of Appendix content, but you'll need to go out of your way to find them mid-adventure. Consider instead arranging your prepared notes so that you don't have this problem mid-game.
  • You'll want a dedicated notecard for tracking the state of the final encounter.
  • The final encounter in the adventure is something intense and powerful-- characters below 6th level may well be outright unable to contribute during your game, as they were in mine.
  • In line with the large number of options, navigating the list of stat blocks can be difficult when so many only apply to certain and specific encounters. Consider also arranging these with their related encounters that you plan to run that day, keeping in mind that some are pre-determined based on your party's composition.
  • The provided cert is in grayscale (black-and-white). It's not really clear why, haha-- don't sweat it, that's just how it comes.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bertram C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2018 07:31:33

great dungeon feel, story and npc fantastic!!!!!!!!!```````````````````````````````````````````````



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 05:19:27

Interesting mod - I had first thought this was heavy RP, however it was more a Dungeon Crawl. What is excellent about this mod is the extra optional or replacement encounters. This allows for excellent replayability. I do think the linear map though could have used multiple routes or extra passageways.

The different environments and room layouts give some interesting play styles for monsters. As a DM, make sure you read ahead to understand how it will play out. I do recommend planning which encounters you'll use well in advance, so you can plan your battles (rather than choosing on the fly).

I would have liked more lore about the first room (and hints or puzzles with the statue). It was a little jarring for the players in trying to figure out what they were meant to do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jake F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2018 23:58:13

This has become one of my favorite modules, both as a player and a DM. It has become my go-to for run-on-demand, zero prep-time DMing as the entire thing can be quite easily done theater of the mind if need be. The module takes longer than you would think, particularly if your players are actually interested in the lore (of which there is tons). There are only 3 combats and only one of them is really challenging by default - though the secret mission for the Emerald Enclave makes for a much more brutal experience. One of my favorite things though is that there are a number of alternative traps and encounters you can swap in if you want, so the fith time running this can still be interesting even as a player. Likewise, the rewards for this module are excellent, the magic item is useful, but everyone can take the Dreamwalker story award, which lets you spend downtime for a single portent dice (repeatable). Also there's an expensive but nifty thing for dwarves/masons.

Overall an excellent module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 22:23:39

Fun module, can be an excellent exposition dump for players not hip to the giant pantheon. Good mix of puzzles, traps, and different mobs to spruce things up. Use wild magic areas. Know the history of the giant pantheon to give some backstory.

The final boss is excellent, with two pages of horrible things to do to your players. Don't be afraid to cut loose and control the battle field. If you just run your mob against the barbarian and rogue, it will be chipped away quickly. Move it around. Activate runes. Use the Slow ability. Make it memorable, not just another stack of hit points.

One player commented as the final mob was smushing them remarked 'Jeez, go easy on us'. I responded with 'I never recall a player saying, hey, you know what, I want a challenge, don't count the Sneak Attack damage'. Make them earn this victory, and odds are they will survive by the skin of their teeth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JD N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2018 22:33:49

I love this module. It's a great dungeon crawl with neat traps and encounters and a fantastic challenge at the end battle. I also like that the choices between encounters means that players and DMs both can have completely different experiences when playing or running the module a second time.

Pro

  • Good options for traps and encounters that will challenge your particular party.
  • Opportunities for players proficient with History to use the skill for an actual purpose.
  • Interesting roleplaying with the ghost, and two cool story awards.
  • The players liked the overall atmosphere, including the history/religion and the magic items.
  • Null-magic and wild-magic zones throw extra challenges at complacent spellcasters!

Con

  • Required more prep than a lot of other modules because of all the history flavor text and the options for traps/encounters.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lorenzo R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2018 08:40:05

Hi, This adventures is a long Dungeon with only two way (left or right) and you must love dungeons to play it. If you don't like dungeon stay away from it. But there is some interesting point. 1) You will learn the story of giants (Good). 2) There is many alternative traps and monster for play again and again (very Good). 3) Gain a versatile magic item for all class (very Good). 4) There is a secret mission (Good).

Unfortunately the battle in the rune of death rooms for weak a party is wrong. And the final boss is very strong if your party is without magic weapons. Instead the final boss is weak if your party have magic weapons... To make The adventure more interesting and dynamic, the DM must work on it :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kenneth A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 12:49:39

Ran this for the first time last weekend. 5 heroes at APL 7. Ran in about 5 hours, but we weren't in a horrible rush.

Overall, I enjoyed the theme of the adventure, and the boss fight is great. He hits really hard, which easily downed the lower level PCs. The Vind rune is clearly the best choice especially with grounded melee fighters and sharpshooters abound. At one point I swapped to the Ise rune just to mix it up, which is when the golem got wrecked.

I like the variety of traps and encounters that you can customize. The Drow encounter seemed super fun, especially with the modified Drider.

Forgot the wild magic zones though, and i messed up the math on the Haug pole. There was a lot to think about and keep track of in this one.

Can't wait to run it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kareena R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 11:14:05

This was a super fun "dungeon crawl" like adventure. The traps were unique and the story was interesting as well. The final boss is one of the coolest monsters I've ever had the pleasure of playing. This adventure gives options for traps, so everytime you run it it will be different. This is one of my favorite adventures to run and to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:28:34

Had a blast going through giant history in this module as the party explores. The last combat caught my party by surprise as they were low on resources and they were really challenged. Good exploration and combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 02:26:02

I do enjoy this dungeon crawl mod.

The boss at the end is a fantastic design. Powerful and challenging for PC's, while not constructed of absurdly impenetrable defenses (AKA the Beast of Talos). The dungeon has character, and it is woefully difficult to predict when fights will occur.

Some of the traps are quite predictable, but the I think there are sufficient traps to keep the PC's on their toes.

Ultimately, while the story is simple, and straightforward, the real feature of this mod is the well designed boss, and the surprise upon which the boss is sprung on the PC's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Todd W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2018 11:56:59

So I ran this almost a year ago, something happened while running it that has kind of changed my life and I am forever partial to this module. It is an awesome module to run as a DM as there are a lot of interesting elements in this module.

WEAKNESSES

  • A lot going on and you need to be a good battle manager.

STRENGTHS

  • A lot of replayability with so much going on you could play a couple times and have very different stories as a result
  • the wild magic table makes this really interesting for spellcasters and adds a lot of interesting and memorable moments.

So to that event that changed my life ... one of the players, the bard, knew behind the doors were two giants. She thought she would be clever and polymorph into a trex as she entered the room. She did such but the wild magic surge occured and she turned into a potted plant. The giants were bewildered and didnt understand what was going on. Another character ran into the room, picked up the potted plant and threw it at the Giants. One of them caught it and then while inspecting it broke a branch. The bard took damage and turned back into the trex lol. The player playing the bard was mad at me for awhile but it was still one of her favorite D&D moments. When I ran into her again in store, I brought up the incident and we ended up going out to dinner and talking about. I've now been dating that girl for six months.

The roll of the dice sometimes changes players too ...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 00:14:29

One of the best modules you can ever play or run. Replayability is pretty solid and you can tune how you run it based on how the players' creativity work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items