Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 39
3 15
3 3
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 19:25:07

My group had a lot of fun with the silly skill challenges. If they enjoy RP, this will be a fun one.
I had a good time playing the two-headed giant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 10:47:42

This is one of my favorite adventures and a go-to for when I am introducing new players to the game.

It does start out with combat, so it gets the players involved rather quickly. But almost immediately, you are introduced to situations that can be solved with roleplaying. I love having that in an adventure for new people, because they can see the different styles. (What the newer adventures make a point to label as the "pillars of play.")

There's a lot of silly fun, and it's enhanced if you're willing to go all-out with the silliness as the DM. It's completely an excuse to be overly enthusiastic and get a little loud and every time I've run it, that has paid off.

The contest in the adventure especially pays off if you mostly adlib the descriptions, and maybe even fudge the stats a little so that its more of a nail-biter. (You can certainly keep track of the "real numbers" ... but nothing says that your descriptions have to correspond exactly to the rolls. This is one of those DM adjudication moments.)

Players get real involved in that part, and it helps to make it seem neck-and-neck as much as possible.

And it's fun to see how DIFFERENTLY each table handles the ending.

I recommend this one highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 13:49:40

A great module with a balance of combat, skill checks, role-playing, and decisions/results that actually matter (although the players won't know this until Parnst Under Siege). I don't personally enjoy puzzles for players as opposed to for characters, but I think that some players would enjoy the fey crossing, and the module wisely left the ability to use a skill check to skip, allowing the module to be flexible for all groups. The drinking/eating contest is also different and exciting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2019 13:39:23

Pros:

  • Hilarious light-hearted romp.
  • A talking dog! Eating and Drinking contests with an Ogre! Fey on Fey violence! A fake goblin! Love it.
  • The players had a A+ time from start to finish. This is really more of a roleplay module than a combat one.
  • Papercraft puzzles, as with most puzzles, take away immersion and waste inordinate amounts of time. But at least the author had the presence of mind to offer a simple check as an alternative. Having a consequence for failure but allowing the players to move on is also good design.

Cons:

  • None. This is one of the most fun modules I've ever run.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2018 09:12:36

This module's encounters are great. All interesting--both in flavor and tactics--and there's even a variety of final encounters depending on events earlier in the module. Part two seems a little weird, but it's engaging--especially if you have players without a ton of tangram experience. I really like how the challenges play out once Gralm is met, and the way this module ties in with Parnast Under Siege adds a lot to that adventure. If you're building towards the siege, this is probably the most indispensible module to run beforehand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Catullus C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2018 01:56:09

Have played this module, but not Dm'd it. It's a good mod, although the puzzles in the middle lack theme with the rest. Some Fey riddles would have been more thematic than Tangram puzzles.

However, the feast and skill battle is truly great, and will become part of the PCs backstories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by HUI J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2018 09:06:51

WARNING: Potential Spoilers ahead.

Now that I have both played and run this module I can safely say this one of my favorite T1s around.

Excellent roleplay opportunities and a bit of puzzle solving, plus the challenges themselves were enjoyed immensely by my players. Be sure to make a fanfare of it! Clap, laugh, use your announcer voice like a wrestle match. Gralm was great to roleplay. The adventure does not offer much guidance on how to handle the roleplay though, so prepare some lines/demmands in advance.

I would add that the tanagram can be very time consuming and a bit of a letdown to slog through all three. If time looks like an issue (and it likely will be), just give them one of the shapes (the house) and leave it at that.

Fights wise, the Hobgoblin has nearly murdered a PC in one hit both times I've seen this mod, especially if you bump him to captain. Be careful not to accidentally kill someone 15mins into the module. Final fight is cool, but I would swap out the halfling wizard's spell list to make him more threatening. Just mirror image makes him difficult to deal with - add magic missiles and blindness/deafness as debuffs and the party will see him as a real threat. For added fluff, I had it seem like he was animating the animals that were attacking them (mechanically, they were as in the stat-block, but this was a circus after all, and all these dolls are lying around...)

The only thing I dislike about the module was the incoherence of the plot/npcs. Oblivilish's motivations felt weak, as did the presence of the wizard. Make up your own reasons or try to tie it together better - for me, I made the halfling wizard an agent of Fruul looking to disrupt Gralm and pressure him into joining. The pixies were bribed with candy.

Ratings:

  • Combat: 6.5/10 (hobgoblin cap can accidentally murder a low-level T1, final fight against wizard can use some spicing up but has a lot of potential to be made interesting)
  • Puzzles: 7/10 (fey crossings and puzzles are interesting but can waste a lot of time)
  • Social: 9/10 (Gralm is a treat to play, the competition using strength and cons means even non-charisma characters feel valuable in negotiations)
  • Explore: 5/10 (Pretty linear approach, but feels quite organic anyway)


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 21:27:14

Have both played and run this adventure. Love it from both sides. Players like the interactions with Gralm and the surprises that met them on the way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 09:41:58

This is the mod to play if players need a lesson in RPing a mod out. In all honestly, there is ample opportunity to complete the mod without any major use of combat. Encourage outside the box thinking - this is the mod that you definately can play that up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 19:54:19

Giant Diplomacy is a fun adventure to both run and play as long as you are willing to improvise. The role-play encounters can be a lot of fun if you really play up the NPCs. However, you should be prepared for this to go well over the listed 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2018 11:46:14

Giant Diplomacy has become a steadfast regular among my local AL group, for its wide variety of social and combat encounters and challenges. Particularly memorable is the giant contest, with ample roleplaying opportunities and rivalry/friendship making therein.

Some things I'm always quick to praise when recommending this module to others:

  • Great with kids (if you rename the drinks) with its bombastic challenges
  • Features a well-defined NPC whose goodwill most all of the adventure and challenges revolve around, which accomplishes something most AL modules fail at: naturally motivating roleplaying
  • All combats have defining layouts and features, from the major bend in the road in the first encounter, to other obstacles such as ponds and more unique, spoiler-y things. In these, all enemies are given motivations and strategies as well.

Some things I'm quick to advise caution and preparation about when discussing this module with other DMs:

  • If your party is at or above average party size, don't tally points out loud for the party's opponent. If they ask, say that he operates under different rules, even if he doesn't. Otherwise, the challenges' bombastic nature will be obvious to your players, and perhaps even deflating.
  • The faction assignment here is of an unusual sort in how it is accomplished. It takes a unique character skillset to make it possible to accomplish-- or perhaps there's some way of presenting its window of opportunity that I'm failing to see-- as I've only ever seen it managed by characters that indulge a little in a munchkin mindset.
  • There are occasional typos, such as the one on Page 1 ("insure" should be "ensure"). Nothing major, but take care not to skim when preparing.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 01:43:54

I really enjoyed this season's T1 modules. All give ample opportunities for roleplay solutions, with meaningful consequences both within the modules, but especially in the final capstone. This module is no exception. The party games are indeed a highlight of this module. Play up the madness of it all!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lorenzo R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 03:01:03

This adventure has good parts and some less good. I quite liked the part with Gralm, while the part with the Pandi dog is too ridiculous. Moreover, the diplomatic side with Gralm and the proposal to defeat the boisterous creatures seemed to me to be imposed. The magic items is useless.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 12:05:06

Fun mod with a nice mix of exploration and RP. The group breezed through the challenges of the ettins, but seemed to enjoy the module. the group I ran for had a mix of level 4's and 1's that made the final fight difficult. Almost had a TPK. all and all, a good module with a nice challenge



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2018 23:23:10

This is a very great module, one of my favorite Tier 1's. There is a good balance between combat and role-play, which is the main thing I look for in Adventurer's League. My players really enjoyed the ability contest in the middle of the adventure, and it's fun to get to roleplay the different giant characters. I wish there was a non-combat approach for the final encounter, as my players repeatedly tried to find a peaceful way to deal with the noisy halflings, but as written, I had to make the halflings outright attack them, which seemed like it didn't reward the players' roleplaying. One of my players tried to intimidate them by saying that the halflings didn't want to get on the wrong side of Gralm's army, which I think was a very legitimate approach that should have been rewarded.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items