Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I $9.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
55 27
5 3
0 1
0 0
0 0
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:38:38

Amazing set of adventures. I have ran almost all of these and have been able to conveniently drop them into whatever campaign I am running with a very minimum of changes. Most of them allow you to just "port" characters in however you want to and the Longsaddle wizrd crew make it easy to put them back, too! Have fun mixing these adventures into seemingly unrelated campaigns and still be able to weave the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2019 02:26:51

Wow! These adventure are great!

M.T. Black has a really great writing style for all of his adventures.

They are all very straightforward and easy to understand but they all contain really great situations, NPC's, puzzles, and combat encounters that your players will love.

You should definitely pick up this collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2018 06:39:46

Specifically Reviewing Into Ivy Mansion and Magic Village for Sale!

I recently ran both of these modules and my players loved them. We've been playing 5E for about 3 years now and one of my players thought Magic Village for Sale! was the best session he had played so far. As a DM I thought it was really easy to get across who the Harpells and co. were as characters, and the slightly silly premise of both adventures led to a lot of fun moments. My group of four level 3 players actually managed to kill the Oni in the Ivy Mansion, but I didn't play him too agressively in the battle. Overall both are high quality adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2018 07:48:39

Quality varies, but you can't beat the quantity

(Review will be updated as/when we play more of the modules in the pack.)

The Complete Adventures of MT Black Vol 1 offers no less than 14 complete modules for D&D 5E, all of them roughly Adventurer's League length or a little longer (between 3 and 6 hours). It contains the entirety of the material offered in the adventure packs "Tales of the North", "Triboar Trilogy" and "Harpell Hexalogy" - although note that these are loosely themed collections, not continuing adventure paths. None of them are Adventurer's League legal, but in many ways that makes them even more suitable for a cosy home-table environment. It's a lot of gameplay for your money - but the quality definitely varies from module to module.

The adventures are set firmly in the Forgotten Realms - specifically, on the northern Sword Coast, in and around the Dessarin Valley and the nearby towns of Longsaddle, Triboar and Red Larch. This makes them a great companion to the Princes of the Apocalypse or Storm King's Thunder campaigns, which also explore this area. At the same time, they're generic enough that you could plausibly move them elsewhere in the Realms or to a range of other campaign worlds. Most of the modules are of the "town and down" genre, with the PCs setting off from a town to explore a nearby local dungeon / tower / enchanted forest / haunted mansion.

Monster stats and magic item descriptions are not included in the modules, and you will need to have the Monster Manual and DMG handy. Most modules include a serviceable map of the environment - the artistic quality of these varies. The game balance genuinely leans heavily towards the "tough" end of their intended level range - parties within the suggested levels will need optimised play and some experience with the rules to succeed; newer groups may want to treat them as a level higher than advertised.

So far my group has played the following modules:

  • Giantslayer - 4 stars

Balanced for four 1st Level characters.

The "dungeon" in this module is of the "magical forest" variety, populated with assorted fey weirdness. The virtue of the module, though, is in the roleplaying, which makes it a meatier and more satisfying expedition than some of the other adventures in the collection. The party are off to find a legendary giantslayer and bring her home to defend the village she grew up in. It's got plenty of character potential, while remaining simple and relatively uncomplicated. We had a lot of fun with it, and found some genuine emotion in its interactions. In terms of flaws, the various forest encounters are a bit random and disconnected, and the final fight presents some challenges to find the fun spot between "trivial" and "lethal". It may take the intervention of a more accomplished GM than the module anticipates. Not worldshaking, but worth your time and money; recommended.

  • Tower of the Mad Mage (Harpell Hexalogy 1 of 6 / Tales of the North 1 of 3) - 3 stars

Balanced for four 1st Level characters.

A fairly standard "magical dungeon" romp, full of weird elementals and "what is even happening here" gimmick rooms. Players who like that kind of thing will be entertained. Those who prefer cause-and-effect and an ability to reasonably anticipate danger will be frustrated. The adventure hook is problematic - it asks players to murder an otherwise unthreatening tribe of goblins in order to steal their treasure. The "pet goblin" trope makes an appearance, with a comic-relief goblin sidekick following the party around for the duration. Good for a light palate cleanser, nothing to particularly recommend.

  • Doorway To Darkness (Harpell Hexalogy 2 of 6) - 1 star

Balanced for four 2nd Level characters

A quick guide to everything you shouldn't do in writing an adventure. It's basically a linear dungeon crawl. The central route features repetitive fights against a single enemy type. Side passages punish exploration brutally and without warning. The story is completely generic, there are no meaningful character interactions, and no meaningful decisions to be made. An NPC guide is used to strongly railroad players into staying on the main path. A backstory exists explaining what is happening but there is no provision in the text for players to learn it, and it is instead left to the DM to insert. DCs are punishingly high throughout, with only the luckiest characters able to avoid traps or learn anything meaningful from investigation. Difficulty of the module overall will be affected strongly by whether the party includes a cleric with Turn Undead. Very much not recommended.

(Review and rating will be updated if more modules are played.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 15:11:54

This review is for Giantslayer

I ran "Giantslayer" as introductory adventure that will influence and kick off both Lost Mines of Phandelver and Storm King's Thunder, and I have to say, that as a table we loved this adventure for its story, its NPCs, and the learning opportunity it presented our one brand-new player.

The satyrs taught them that murder is a last recourse, the mephits that there is always a risk for reward, the NPCs that there are lovable albeit with flaws in a living world, and the giant taught them that comradely, planning, goodly intentions, and elbow grease can go a long way against the least reasonable and mightiest of foes.

I highly recommend this adventure for any party (level 1–3). To those DMs who run this, might I recommend the following: 1) Keep a mental image of an abandoned Scorton in case your PCs decide to head there and investigate, 2) Write a short script that gives Pello, Grigor, and Tastra some personality. I played Pello and had two volunteers from the table read the other two. This was the true highlight of our session, 3) You can always ramp up Yegor's hp if you have a large or capable party. I gave him +40, and they still made short work with zero casualties, 4) Yegor is easily linked to Grudd Haug in Storm King's Thunder. That area is too difficult for them now, but if you make it clear that Yegor came from the south, they'll connect the dots later on, 5) Link the giant that Jahan slew with a giant, tomb, or monument that your PCs can discover somewhere down the line; and 6) pre-roll some random goodies from the "giant's bag" table in the SKT hardcover. My party found a barrel full of bees and honey. Risk-to-reward, my friends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clayton T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 06:51:26

Even though Little Shrine of Horrors is scaled for 4th and 5th level characters, I ran a group of 8th level players through this adventure just before Gen Con 2018.

This adventure is trap/puzzle heavy and combat light, which was a nice change of pace from other adventures we've been playing.

For the GM, the adventure is well written and easy to grasp, requiring one or two read-throughs to prepare. You can definitely do this adventure as a theater of the mind, use battle maps, or both. The player handouts are terrific, however there is a small mistake on the handouts for for the symbol room that has not been corrected, so make sure review it carefully before you go into your game (some of the symbols on the player handout do not match on the GM handout).

As for flexibility, there is plenty of options for the GM to adjust the adventure to their group as they play, with plenty of obstacles and challenges for the PCs to overcome. For example, I added more flint golems to one of the encounters since they were higher level characters. Our sorcerer decided to send a fire bolt into the room and then slam the door, which incidentally had a large amount of flammable liquid in it. Needless to say, there was a huge explosion that destroyed the room, and the flint golems. But the explosion also blew her and another PC down hall, through a door and into a wall of spikes, taking both fire, bludgeoning, and piercing damage. The other players got a kick over seeing two players fly down the hall past them in a huge ball of fire.

There is plenty of subtile things in this adventure that the players must pay attention to in order to successfully complete the adventure, else they have to back-track. But the twist at the end was most memorible for the players, creating ethical dilemmas for them and a real test of their alignment.

This is absolutely a 6-hour adventure that can be played in one or two sessions. There is so much to do, that the time flies while running or playing the adventure.

But Little Shrine of Horrors is definitely an adventure scaled for 4th-5th level characters (just as it says in the description). While I thought I beefed up the boss encounter, I didn’t scale it enough as my pole-arm master fighter chewed up 2 PCs and almost killed a third in one action (he was rolling 20s like crazy).

I highly recommend Little Shrine of Horrors as a one-shot adventure, particularly as a break between longer campaigns. Your players will love it. I had a blast running it and give it a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

The "Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I” bundle at $US 9.95 itself is a great value, and you can defiantly use all of them as a complete campaign starting with characters at level 1. $10 for at least 56-hours of entertainment is a real bargain for budget conscious DMs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stacey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 12:50:22

This is a fantasic set of modules!! I ran Into Ivy Mansion and it was a huge hit. There was lots of unexpected monsters and the players had a really good time with a classic 'explore the spooky house' trope. It was really easy to drop this adventure into my homebrew world and the encounters were well balanced. I really like that the Harpell family in this module are in many more of the other modules in this set; lots of options for story lines. The modules are really well laid out and organized as well as well written and easy to follow. I now look for any new products by MT Black because I know it will be top quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mad D. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2018 18:57:37

I DM'd be first ever session last night.

I think it'll give you an idea about how good MT Black is at writing adventure modules if I tell you ...

This was on short notice.

Found out on Friday that our DM coulnd't make the session, was asked to take over Saturday Night ...

and it went really well. I ran Tower of the Mad Mage.

Everyone enjoyed themselves. We went 2 and a half hours (could have been three and a half but guys were making their characters.) and we got through half of the tower and all the encounters leading up to it.

It plays fast and smooth, the guys liked the story and characters and thanks to Mr. Black, my first DM experiance was a good one.

I can't recommend this collection enough, and I even saved the best three adventures (that I've read so far,) Giant Slayer, Terror on the Tri-Boar and Shadows on the Long Road, for the regular weekly session I'm planning. So I'm gonna get a crazy amount of adventure for only ten bucks.

Thanks, Mr. Black.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Xavier L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 01:22:42

I ran Into Ivy Mansion. I read Giant Slayer, The Dawn Chaser, and Shadows on the Long Road.

What I love about these adventures is that I can read them once, and I immediately know both how to run them and the atmosphere they are trying to set. At the same time, they offer a fair degree of flexibility. I primarily see them as one-offs / side-quests, but they can probably be incorporated into a larger campaign with a little work (The Dawn Chaser especially adds a hook for the next adventure).

Into Ivy Mansion went off very well (despite the adventurers going straight to the boss room) with fun NPCs, a great villain, and opportunities for clever solutions and little discoveries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 13:07:23

For $10 you can't beat it. These modules are nicely written and should provid DMs and players with many adventures for characters ranging from levels 1-4. The strenght of this download lies in its versitility. Where a $50 Wizards of the Coast module (i.e. Tombs of Annihilation) would serve for groups that meet consistently over long periods of time, these adventures can be done in a session (2 at most) and don't require all party members to be present each time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matilda M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 10:20:05

Having DM'ed without precons for a long time I know how hard it can be to craft an engaging and exciting adventure. But for the first time I knew that my schedule wasn't going to allow me to produce decent plot necessary so I started looking for precons to help me to keep playing without the hard work. I've just finishing running King of the cats as the first part in a longer story arc and it was perfect. It had a good balance of intrique, characterisation and combat and a nice final battle. I still had to do a little legwork, finding the monsters in the DMG and working out how to manage combat. More importantly I had to come up with fun voices for the characters. I have a feeling, gus, bombalina, and the rat boss will be making future appearances. It was a DM's dream. Just open enough that the characters felt like they weren't being railroaded, but closed enough to keep from getting too complicated. I'm looking forward to seeing how the next adventure runs (giantkiller) but this purchase has streamlined and improved my DMing experience considerably.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 17:20:10

A year ago I decided I wanted to start DMing but I didn't want to do Lost Mines of Phandelver. I heard about DMs Guild and honestly, I just looked at what the highest rated and most downloaded thing was. I saw this and decided to go ahead and buy the whole pack since it gave me so much material.

Boy was that a good decision. The first adventure, Temple of the Nightbringers was fantastic. I modified it slightly to match a direction I wanted to go and the town of Melton has become a fixture of the campaign. I've since used Into Ivy Mansion and Magic Village for sale. These things are just so well written, with plenty of thought put into most of the things that could happen, while still allowing for freedom of the characters and the DM. My players hated Tristan Harpell so much that I'm going to make him a villain going forward.

I strongly recommend this for anyone who wants something different from what WotC puts out, or just needs a little adventure to insert into a low level campaign. Thanks M.T. Black!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2017 18:46:23

So far only played Little Shrine of Horrors with my group. Heavy puzzle and trap oriented adventure. I think 3 small encounters that all but one can be skipped. Make sure your players are in to this sort of thing. Think Tomb of horrors - Light.

I loved the setup and the story and fun characters. There is a really nice plot-twist that you can spin in several different ways. Adventure can easily be shoehorned in with little tweaks in to your campaign. I simply hooked them with that the relic they are looking for was owned by the Shrines creator. At the end they found his deed.

My PC group had a lot of fun.

So to the bad.

There is one puzzle that is not so good, the god room. First the images on the player handout and the key does not match. Was confusing. The once they figured out the mechanics of the puzzle they could not solve it. They had to dice roll so many times in order to get the information they needed. That was tedious and not inventive (60 dice rolls that you need to get above 15 if you want to clear the board, and on a not so common skill). Actually replacing this room with an empty corridor would be an improvement and something I would recommend (or put in your own puzzle). Good place to add an encounter instead if you feel you want to mix it up a bit. The puzzle in it self is not critical for the storyline or the mecanics.

There are also parts of the place where in order to proceed the players HAVE to succeed in dice-rolls, there is no real thinking involved. They know they need to throw dice and the only way to get past it is to succeed in checks. For example in the bone tunnel. No creative thinking. Just throw dice until you are past it. If your party has a bad dice run it ends up just being tedious. The best puzzles are when you get to think about a solution, and figuring out is enough. Adding skill checks to it just makes it boring. If you want skill checks, do something that you could use a couple of different skill-checks. Like you need to jump over this chasm or disarm this trap.

If you want to teach your players to look for traps and question everything this is the perfect adventure. I also advice you think hard on how you want to do trap detection before you start. If each player is going to detect for traps for every single tile then this is going to take a long while. Be generous with the trap detection, there will be enough of them, so they will fail at some point.

That said. Great adventure. We had a good laugh and I recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 13:27:15

One of my players was out-of-town, so I was looking for a detour to take the rest of the party on. One of the random hooks that I dropped to save for a later date happened to be a large, smarter-than-your-average cat. I was sold on this package as soon as I saw there was a module called The King Of Cats. It was as glorious as I would have imagined, from the astonished and/or bemused looks on their faces when they went in front of the Congress of Cats to the increasing exasperation of the characters in Sideshow Alley. From the stink of rat central to our 800lb Tortle cleric choosing to belly-flop on the traitorous [redacted], I'm pretty sure this will go down in history as their favorite session (so far). The only dilemma I have is how many of these to use to interrupt the "official" campaign they're currently on. Fabulous job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 07:24:58

The material published by M.T. Black is always top notch and a lot of fun when i can make use of it during one of my sessions.

I would only ask that M.T. Black puts the recommended lvl range on his covers. Since his collection is growing rapidly it would make finding the right one quickly a lot easier. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items