Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure $2.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 21
12 4
1 0
1 0
0 0
Kraken\'s Gamble - a Storm King\'s Thunder Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steve L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2020 23:43:09

We haven't started SKT yet, but there's a good chance it's coming up next. I actually needed a much earlier well-rounded Yartar hook, as I homebrewed a little mystery surrounding a link to Bowgentle's spellbook in LMOP. The silk page marker from the book has turned up, and its current handler is just looking to unload it and make a buck. What better place to hold a secret auction than the Golden Goose? Their eyes lit up when they realized they had 2 reasons to be on that barge.

I also rolled Kraken's Gamble in with more DMs Guild auction content, and now my competing bidders have rich histories, motives, bidding styles. What a great addition! Thank you to all the content creators.

Kraken's Gamble contains a perfect hook for them to stumble upon as they make their way into Yartar, a wealthy family that provides a great NPC (I made Khemed a tabaxi, because it fit purrfectly), seductive intrigue, ties to a city with rich lore (find the 2nd edition stuff, Yartar is brilliant!), and a powerful boss.

We have yet to fight in the sewers, but the map is well-laid out, and completes a tasty sewer adventure in a town brimming with literal and figurative underground mischief. And every time they go back to the home base, you-know-who is STILL in the bathtub, whining that he needs more water. Great to roleplay, and my players didn't even realize he was spouting clues!

Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kate A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2020 10:30:36

I'm still early in SKT and everyone will tell you Chapter 3 is a beast. My players started in Goldenfields, moved North to Triboar and I didn't have a meaty adventure planned for them. We know the players are going to get a clue towards the middle/end of the game and without this module, I don't see how you could have possibly made that clue make sense for them.

I know now that when they recieve the clue later, they'll know exactly where to go for a completely differnt mystery. This was a well structured adventure with a lot of options. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by BB D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2020 11:18:12

My party had a great time with the adventure. They're encounter with the final boss made them really had the purple dressed lady leading to some interesting RP moments.

The entire dungeon was very thought out and had plenty of moments for different characters to shine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2020 11:50:48

Really loved this adventure, added alot to my SKT game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2020 23:25:58

This is a great little adventure to run when your party gets to Yartar. It's helps forshadow the Golden Goose perfectly for later on in the campaign. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sam W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2019 13:07:00

This is a great addition to SKT! The adventure is turnkey and can be used as-is for a short (1-3 session) side quest. But it can also be used as a springboard to develop and enhance one of the main villians and storylines in the adventure. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tii S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2019 22:58:04

Great adventure with a mix of RP and combat. The riverboat casino lead to some great Casio Royal esque moments. A very nice way to tie in the Kraken Society and Yatar into STK. But, it would still be an excelent adventure to plop into your own non-STK game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Graham S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2019 14:51:53

This is an essential add-on for Storm King's Thunder, WOTC should ship it with every copy. Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 11:29:39

This was so helpful in filling the gap between the structure of earlier chapters and the wide open nature of Chapter 3. It was also useful in giving me ideas for how to create my own adventures to flesh out other areas. I DM for three of my kids (ages 17, 13 and 11) and they LOVED it, so than you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2018 18:28:03

Very cleverly integrated with SKT - definitely helps to introduce some exciting elements and I love the super-creepy vibe of the encounter with ancient psionic monster. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2018 15:31:26

I have run this adventure both as part of SKT and as a one-shot, and both groups had a lot of fun!

It nails the balance of the three pilllars - interaction, exploration, and combat. Both groups loved the challenge of getting on the boat, and each approached it in a slightly different but creative way.

The adventure has the potential to run a bit long for one session. For my group that went heavy on on the RP, I just had the sewer go straight into the boss lair.

Speaking of which, the raising and lowering water level part of that encounter is a great improvement over just hack and slash! The wizard in one party even ripped the rowboat patch of his robe of useful items.

One of my groups was only level 3, but the encounter was easily balanced by only allowing the monster one attack and not having it use its psychic ability on the players.

My SKT group is about to meet the storm giant princess, and I'm glad the golden goose coin is going to be a callback instead of the mess of boring investigation checks in the hardcover.

tldr 5 STARS! If you are running Storm Kings Thunder and can get the players near Yatar, this adventure is a must. It is also a great single session adventure for any group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks a lot for the review. I'm so excited that you and your players enjoyed it! Cheers.
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jerry R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2018 13:22:50

This was really great! Supe helpful in fleshing out the Grand Dame and making it a bit easier for me to lay some groundwork in our campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 13:08:21

My group and I really enjoyed this adventure. They loved dressing up as rich snobs and gambling on the boat. The aboleth battle was also great fun and well designed, and I really appreciated having Yartar more drawn out with the introduction to the Kraken Society. Well done – you always make produce great material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2018 14:19:14

Used this one as part of an longer stay in Thay for my players. We had mighty fun and added some gambling into it as well, that was quite appriciated by the players. Well written and nice layout, easy to run and lots of fun opprotunities.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 06:25:47

I've just finished DMing this with my party, and we all had a great time! The boat-party was lots of fun, with lots of good costume montages and role-play moments. The final encounter was a good challenge, and a bit different for the PCs -- they were pretty close to a wipe-out :) I found the module easy to run, it had lots of flavour, and helps to add a bit more dimension to Yartar. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items