Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 27
9 0
3 0
0 1
1 0
A Guide to Storm King\'s Thunder
Click to view
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 09:35:15

As always Sean's guides are invaluable. I'm currently running SKT (and have been for a long time now with lots of breaks.) and its always helpful to pull this up and read his guide before I reread the chapter I'm about to run. Espeically with those gaps. And as always interesting tips and insights throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trevor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2019 10:12:25

I started running SKT for season 7 of DDAL and found the hardback to be overwhelming at first. I got this roughly 20 page summary for about 5% of the cost of the book, but man...it is worth much more than that. After a 10-15 minute read, I had the gist of the story, the flow of the book, and a solid idea of what the campaign would look like. I then would use the book as my primary, but this as a secondary reference to prep a session. It was very helpful. The best help, though, came when the players chosoe to go completely different paths than I had expected - because of this guide, I was able to flow with their choices and keep the group to the book/AL legal the whole way. Excellent stuff. Thanks for putting this together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2018 10:59:54

This was a great tool to help run Storm King's Thunder, a lot of the ideas can be easily changed and it really helps to have a rough idea of what players might decide to do throughout the course of the adventure and how to prepare for that. The guide also helps fix a few of the problems that exist in Storm King's Thunder and help the DM foreshadow and create a better more cohesive story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brett M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 14:54:46

Fabulous piece. I think of myself as creative and can 'do this on my own' type for augmenting the adventure - This supplement was great. Gave lots of good ideas - I especially liked whenever the author(s?) linked later parts of the adventure into earlier parts. As a busy DM (have small kids) I also liked the having all teh needed stat blocks and items readily at hand.

Money well spent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 09:38:15

i found this to be a little less than I had hoped. There wasnt enough additional material beyond whtmat is in the hard cover adventure. There are a couple of good ideas, but I would say it is not worth it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 21:55:13

Completely amazing guide that is totally worth $5. Thanks so much for creating such a wonderful resource. Even as an experienced DM, I appreciate this as I lead my group into this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 01:02:02

Must have for new DMs! SKT is highly recommended for first time DMs, but I still found it fairly overwhelming and had no idea how to start prepping for my first session. This guide walked me through not only the adventure, which was great to have before diving into the official book, but also HOW to approach the adventure and plan sessions. Following the tips and tricks in this guide has made DMing SKT a breeze, even for a brand new DM, and I look forward to referring to this guide all the way to the final chapter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2018 08:23:24

I loved this guide so much I went back and "re-bought" it. This guide details every section of the campaign and provides great ideas! As a new DM this campaign was really overwhelming, and this guide definetely helped ease the burden. I HIGHLY reccomend this guide, and if you like it please be sure to toss the creator a few bucks!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 13:32:22

This book has been invaluable for organization of the Storm King's Thunder adventure, advice on how to best foreshadow and construct your interpretation of the story contained within the adventure, and how to tackle the more intimidating chapters ( 3 and 4 of course! ).

What better review could I give for this other than the fact that I 'purchased' the book for free originally to try it out and see if it would be useful. Only to later come back to drop cash to show my appreciation for the amount of effort that was put into this guide. I cannot recommend this enough to anyone looking to run Storm Kings Thunder!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 09:43:24

Comprehensive, great suggestions from an obviously experienced DM. Extremely pleased with this purchase! (And definitely recommend tossing something to the author!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by andrew e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 19:27:30

A very helpful little primer, this has definitely helped me overcome a few stumbling blocks before I encountered them in the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2017 19:21:45

Great ideas. Can't wait to try them out in Storm King's Thunder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 07:25:37

So glad i donated, well worth it. It summarizes and gives tips, helps you seed a few things, clarifies a few confusing points, but never ever just quotes the module or fills space with fluff. Saved me at least twice from big flubs (like npc a not knowing npc b's secret and i was about to spill the beans - this guide predicts a lot of those possible gm OOPS moments!)

Ill be buying more for sure, great great helper!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Duane B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2017 16:58:07

This provides a fantastic analysis of the adventure, and does a great job of summarizing the contents in such a way that it can be used as a great aid to prepare session notes, or even used as session notes. The author does a great job of suggesting ways to foreshadow, how to fit things together, expand upon the adventure, and does a good job of pointing out potential pitfalls.

I'll be looking for his guides for other content I run in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris V. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2017 12:53:20

I am a relatively experienced DM who felt comfortable going into SKT, but I'm certain Sean McGovern's guide helped me give my players a better experience than I would have been able to without it.

For a new DM, this guide is invaluable-- sections of the adventure (especially Chapter 3) can be overwhelming, but this guide streamlines it and works like a Cliffnotes that is easy to refer to before diving into each chapter for more details.

As an experienced DM, what I found most helpful were Sean's comments about what elements he felt needed foreshadowing-- what aspects of the plot needed more clarity. I basically used his list and worked those into the early sections of the story based on my players' choices. He also inspired what was one of the most memorable fights of the campaign during the Berg of the Frost Giants chapter (don't want to give it away, but it was an awesome set-up the players loved). Finally, the background information he collected on Iymrith helped to make her a more memorable foe-- not just a standard ancient blue dragon.

Overall, Storm King's Thunder is a flexible story-driven campaign. Sean's Guide to Storm King's Thunder is especially helpful in streamlining the aspects of the story that MUST happen to drive the story forward, calling attention to how the DM can provide a better plot flow, and inspiring creative use of the various villains and settings throughout the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items