Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
87 30
17 1
5 0
0 1
1 0
A Guide to Storm King\'s Thunder
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lucas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2020 07:44:27

I found this guide useful. It made it easier for me to DM SKT. It's not at the level of a necessity, but still very useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2020 15:54:36

Absolutely worth reading if you're running SKT! The specific attention to foreshadowing and overall structure are very valuable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 22:28:17

Highly recommended if you are interested in running SKT. Sean has written a wonderful guide with wise and excellent advice. I cannot imagine taking on this module without this guide. Thank you Sean.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by henry k. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2019 16:05:39

This has been a great aid to my DMing. Highly reccomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 09:35:15

As always Sean's guides are invaluable. I'm currently running SKT (and have been for a long time now with lots of breaks.) and its always helpful to pull this up and read his guide before I reread the chapter I'm about to run. Espeically with those gaps. And as always interesting tips and insights throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trevor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2019 10:12:25

I started running SKT for season 7 of DDAL and found the hardback to be overwhelming at first. I got this roughly 20 page summary for about 5% of the cost of the book, but man...it is worth much more than that. After a 10-15 minute read, I had the gist of the story, the flow of the book, and a solid idea of what the campaign would look like. I then would use the book as my primary, but this as a secondary reference to prep a session. It was very helpful. The best help, though, came when the players chosoe to go completely different paths than I had expected - because of this guide, I was able to flow with their choices and keep the group to the book/AL legal the whole way. Excellent stuff. Thanks for putting this together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2018 10:59:54

This was a great tool to help run Storm King's Thunder, a lot of the ideas can be easily changed and it really helps to have a rough idea of what players might decide to do throughout the course of the adventure and how to prepare for that. The guide also helps fix a few of the problems that exist in Storm King's Thunder and help the DM foreshadow and create a better more cohesive story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brett M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 14:54:46

Fabulous piece. I think of myself as creative and can 'do this on my own' type for augmenting the adventure - This supplement was great. Gave lots of good ideas - I especially liked whenever the author(s?) linked later parts of the adventure into earlier parts. As a busy DM (have small kids) I also liked the having all teh needed stat blocks and items readily at hand.

Money well spent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 09:38:15

i found this to be a little less than I had hoped. There wasnt enough additional material beyond whtmat is in the hard cover adventure. There are a couple of good ideas, but I would say it is not worth it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 21:55:13

Completely amazing guide that is totally worth $5. Thanks so much for creating such a wonderful resource. Even as an experienced DM, I appreciate this as I lead my group into this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 01:02:02

Must have for new DMs! SKT is highly recommended for first time DMs, but I still found it fairly overwhelming and had no idea how to start prepping for my first session. This guide walked me through not only the adventure, which was great to have before diving into the official book, but also HOW to approach the adventure and plan sessions. Following the tips and tricks in this guide has made DMing SKT a breeze, even for a brand new DM, and I look forward to referring to this guide all the way to the final chapter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2018 08:23:24

I loved this guide so much I went back and "re-bought" it. This guide details every section of the campaign and provides great ideas! As a new DM this campaign was really overwhelming, and this guide definetely helped ease the burden. I HIGHLY reccomend this guide, and if you like it please be sure to toss the creator a few bucks!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 13:32:22

This book has been invaluable for organization of the Storm King's Thunder adventure, advice on how to best foreshadow and construct your interpretation of the story contained within the adventure, and how to tackle the more intimidating chapters ( 3 and 4 of course! ).

What better review could I give for this other than the fact that I 'purchased' the book for free originally to try it out and see if it would be useful. Only to later come back to drop cash to show my appreciation for the amount of effort that was put into this guide. I cannot recommend this enough to anyone looking to run Storm Kings Thunder!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 09:43:24

Comprehensive, great suggestions from an obviously experienced DM. Extremely pleased with this purchase! (And definitely recommend tossing something to the author!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by andrew e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 19:27:30

A very helpful little primer, this has definitely helped me overcome a few stumbling blocks before I encountered them in the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items