Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 83
9 48
1 4
0 0
0 1
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 23:09:45

I enjoyed running this adventure a lot. The combats were really close due to some low rolling on my party's part. My major complaint is the sandstorm in the middle of the adventure lacks guidance on what the NPCs do - they come accross as completely hopeless which is worrisome for people who apparently make the journey often.

The final encounter is sort of shoe-horned in with the party having no real way to avoid it without getting into another big fight where they are on their last legs.

It seems that I have a lot od negatives but this module is great for everyone, first timers and experienced DMs alike.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Minh V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 14:18:23

A fairly easy module for both players and DM. Even someone who never play D&D before would feel comfortable with this. DM also have a lot of space to modify the module, make it more interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 12:30:24

This was the first module I played in AL as a player, and it was a great experience and thus a natural choice for my first module to DM. It's straightforward, includes both combat and skill challenges, rewards player creativity, and sets up the story for the following modules in season 8 tier 1.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 08:00:19

A challenging, but fun adventure. With the right party this could be a lot of fun! Some in game options allow for a bit of player freedom, which I enjoyed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 00:47:34

I like this adventure easy to DM and fast play it is my favourite adventure to run it makes room to roleplay to serval of the encounters offers the chance to talk your way out of the combat



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 21:34:50

For me, this is the gold standard for Tier 1 DDAL mods. It has everything a DM needs to run it, multiple paths to follow, and serves as a great way to get to Parnast. It works fine as a one off, but better as the designated intro to the Season 5 Tier 1 arc. NPCs encountered in this adventure are sprinkled through the rest of the arc.

This is a great module for a DM to keep in their hip pocket, ready to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2018 14:55:37

Thoroughly enjoyed running this module multiple times at cons. Definitely on my list of goto mods to run in a pinch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2018 16:34:35

Such a great adventure! Compact, well organized and easy to DM. Lots of varying situations that require a wide variety of skills and tactics. Really great fun for players of all levels. Highly recommended ❤



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2018 23:10:50

First AL mod I ever ran, and still one of my favorites. Has a good tactical mook combats, an optional RP encounter, a crisis needing quick thinking and skill checks, and two options for a final battle. Well structured, fun to run as well as play. The final battles can be very challenging if the party lacks AOE effects.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2018 20:29:22

An excellent adventure for beginning players and DMs. Probably one of the best modules written for AL.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2018 23:32:05

The Good:

  • Packs a lot of action into a short amount of time, but nothing too long and tiresome.
  • Has lots of ways the players can go about doing things, replayability is high.
  • Plenty of flavor and high adventure.

The Bad:

  • Honestly, none that I can think of.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brendan N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 15:45:48

Easy to run, straightforward module. It doesn't have any particularly original ideas, but it does have two hours of good content anyway. Two of the encounters reward the players for interesting ideas, which I enjoyed. There is a callback to it in Uninvited Guests, which is nice if you're running for the same group. If you've got a four hour timeslot, I'd recommend running both of them together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:11:27

This is a fairly simple to run module. If you want to add to the basics the optional encounter can add a bit of length as well as rollplay and/or more combat. It's fun to scare players with while still not being very dangerous as written. Desert caravan is a fun setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 04:39:40

This was a fun module, with some thought needed on the players during some parts. Ended up killing off a player during the very first battle with goblins, but the dice were just very much against them the entire game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 18:02:27

One of my favorite tier 1 game, with some opportunity (if they want) for RP interaction with NPC enemies, but more importantly a great opportunity for creative problem solving.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items