Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
39 8
13 4
7 0
0 0
1 0
Horror at Havel\'s Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amine T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2019 09:34:43

I ran this one-shot as an early Halloween-special for a group of three 2nd-level characters. It was amazing: the setup is great and there's room for roleplaying with Landy (at the beginning) as well as some exploration and puzzle solving. As discussed by previous DMs, to spice things up I added an encounter on the way to Havel's Cross - it made sense since there's talks of goblins and other dangers lurking at night. The creepiness of the temple and the ghouls (it was the first time my players encountered any) gave the scene and the combat a great atmosphere. By some unlucky rolls from the players' part during the final battle, Calador managed to escape with the bone! He's probably going to come back later as the heroes are feeling responsible for not defeating him.

I would have liked a small map of the interior of the inn since there's a good chance a fight is going to take place. Otherwise it's a great adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clay C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2019 15:54:41

I ran this one-shot as my second ever DM experience with a group of 6 level 2 players. It was a ton of fun! The players loved Landy, and the story was quite captivating! I added an encounter with a pack of wolves along the way to Havel's Cross in an effort to bring the party more of a challenge, but it ended up making our session go over time by about 30 mins. (we ended up playing for about 5 hours and 30 minutes) I should have ran it as-is because it would have been just right. =)

A complete blast, and my players are eagerly looking forward to the next Winghorn Press Basic Rules one shot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2019 17:20:10

Had a great time running this adventure as a one shot for my first time ever DMing. The players enjoyed it and found the mystery interesting, and even as the DM I found myself moved by the ending.

The small encounters and puzzle is enough to chew on without overly extending the adventure, perfect for one session. Puzzles, fights, and opportunity for role play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eragon D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 12:05:00

The party quite like the game, and was attached to Landy by the end. However having to face the boss so soon after fighting off those ghouls seems a bit too hard, but otherwise a well written horror-themed adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 21:45:27

Ran it with my five lvl four group (I beefed up the main guy, hobgoblin, and ghouls a bit). Most of us (especially me) are very new to DnD but I thought it was a great story. We typically meet in person and had to swap over to roll20 for this one when a few out of town ppl couldn't make it in. The maps really helped with this and I made a couple to supplement it. Had just the right amount of creepy and puzzle stuff to keep them interested.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 16:15:27

Excellent pick up and play module with some great opportunities for RP and creepiness. I ran this ar the drop of a hat one evening using my phone only and it was great - one thing i particularly like is that monsters dont always fight to the death, which is a good lesson for all gms!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jesse M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 09:54:50

Excellent 4-hour campaign for introducing new players to the game! Very nice balance of roleplaying, combat, and a small puzzle to solve as well. Map illustrations and information was straightforward and easy to follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by LB P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2017 04:08:38

I am a first time DM and ran this adventure tonight for three level 2 players - 1 experienced halfling cleric and 2 with less experience at D&D (drow rogue and tiefling warlock). It went great!

Since we were just running it as a one-shot I gave everyone an option of having a backstory that gave them a connection to Landy. I gave them a few to choose from and it worked out that the halfling cleric was Landy's protective adventurer cousin, the tiefling warlock was a fellow scholar who had been invited to join the expedition, but was delayed in her journey and was only arriving now, and the drow rogue (Charlatan background) was a spy sent to retrieve any powerful artifacts recovered by Landy's group. (The drow approached Landy in the inn while Landy was briefing her cousin and colleage and offered her services as mercenary/bodyguard, and was hired by Landy to accompany them.)

It went great! When they arrived at the tavern they didn't go inside, but hung around outside the door taking potshots at the goblins and then ducking into cover. I had been a little worried about killing anyone too early, so I split the goblins into 2 parties of 3 and rolled initiative for each, so that I wouldn't be put in the position of possibly having to have all 6 goblins attack 1 party member. They killed 2 very quickly without taking ANY damage by refusing to go in the tavern, so I had two of the remaining goblins run off to retrieve the hobgoblin, who put up more of a fight and nearly killed the drow. Once the hobgoblin was unconscious they tied her up, healed her and the tiefling quickly used "charm person" to determine that the goblins hadn't killed everyone and didn't know anything, and the party let them leave with the tavern's lockbox without even considering taking it themselves (although the drow did take the hobgoblin's longbow, and stealthily loot the other bodies.)

They took a short rest at the tavern and proceeded to the temple. They fought three ghouls in the main room; I put one in each chamber and one hiding by the entrance; they missed that one and were flanked by it after they roused the two in the side chambers. At one point our halfling cleric was flanked on either side by ghouls trying to bite attack her, one after the other, and both missed! I thought the chambers were very easy to draw on my battle map and the pillars were a nice environment to fight in.

Although Landy tried to encourage them to go down into the cavern right away, they didn't bother searching the rest of the room, but retreated to the surface, built a bonfire at the mouth of the entrance, and took a long rest instead. In the morning they searched around, found the bowls and equipment, but were very wary about doing anything with them that might be a necromantic ritual or call on dark powers. What if they got turned into ghouls? If I was running the adventure again I might make the journal entry hint at hidden passages, or add an inscription to the front of the altar, something like "show that you are knowledgeable and worthy to open the way" to make it clearer that there is some kind of hidden passage around. Or maybe more experienced players would have found the hidden door already? The Tiefling rolled a 20 investigation so I just told her flat out, well... three bowls, three offerings, two doors... Once told what to look for, the rogue managed to find the door. Everyone was STILL too scared to do the ritual, so finally Landy did it.

By this point they all had discussed it amongst themselves in character and decided "It's definitely Calador. He's the evil one." Landy resisted that conclusion but eventually admitted it might be true. Not sure how I could have kept that as more of a mystery.

Anyway, they met Calador, he got out about one sentence of "thank goodness you're here" before the tiefling cast Charm Person again; even with advantage he failed and gladly admitted that he was a necromancer and invited everyone to join him in his quest for power. They knew Charm Person would fail when they attacked him, so the rogue snuck around behind and sneak attacked him, doing something like 15 damage immediately.

They fought Calador (I goofed up and had his AC at 15 to start with, without casting Mage Armor, and didn't realize for a few turns, so to make up for that I crossed out Shield & Magic Missile and didn't let him cast those.) The drow knocked him unconscious the first time and he revived, which everyone thought was a very cool effect. He then firebolted Landy into unconsciousness, which upset everyone - even the drow had become fond of her and wanted to really protect her. Again, the tiefling got a nat 20 arcana check and I advised the bone would be vulnerable to radiant damage. The cleric destroyed it on her next turn, and the tiefling got the killing blow on Calador.

I put in some secret necromantic texts in Calador's pack for the drow to take back to her spy organization, and the team carried Landy out and stabilized her. It was very sweet, when she announced her intention to become an adventurer and fight evil, they tried to talk her down and convince her that scholars were also important and that she shouldn't give up on her dream of being an archaeologist. Landy said she could do both, like her colleague the tiefling, and she wasn't giving up on her dream, but she also wanted to be able to protect people. We ended there. All in all the session took about 4.5 hours, I felt like it moved pretty swiftly considering the drow and tiefling players weren't that experienced with 5e. Thanks so much for a great adventure!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Seth T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2017 13:33:02

I just played this adventure with a party of 3 and it went off without a hitch (or if there were any hitches, I only have myself to blame!)

I can't begin to describe how exciting it was seeing the fear on the players' faces when the found the carnage at the inn. One of the PCs has a long and dark history involving goblins written into his backstory so he quickly became very invested in the scenario.

If I could leave one small criticism, I would have liked to have seen more maps, or maybe just more interesting maps for Havel's Cross and the Temple.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2017 14:56:56

I just had a new player join my group, and when I say "new player," I mean that she was completely new to tabletop RPGs. The rest of the group was already in the middle of a Curse of Strahd campaign, but rather than throw her directly into the deep end of an ongoing story, I wanted to introduce her to the game with something that would provide a complete story in one session and a fairly basic D&D experience. While searching through the adventures I'd purchased a while ago, I found this and thought it sounded like just what I was looking for. After all, it has the adventurers meeting in a tavern—well, technically, an inn—and the first encounter is with a bunch of goblins. Even better, it gets into some supernatural horror, which provides an excellent segueway back to the previously in-progress campaign. (Aside from that, it introduces an NPC whom I think I will be folding into Curse of Strahd.)

As others have mentioned, there are some typos, but I don't think this detracts from the product at all. The bottom line is that, if you're looking for a good one-shot that can be used to introduce new players, this is a great choice. Hell, this is even a good one-shot for experienced players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Blaine M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2016 20:53:11

I ran this with my kids (10 & 12). It was a simple adventure that they really loved. I set them up as two level 3s using the Wizard's pre-rolled human barbarian and half-orc. They had a blast and both of them survived (by the skin of their teeth). It has few typos, but it is a great little 1.5-2 hour adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horror at Havel's Cross - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2016 21:13:07

This was a good adventure to start off a group of new D&D players. The evil artifact is very neat and creative; it could easily be adapted to launch the PCs into a larger campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items