Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
A Guide to Curse of Strahd Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
78 20
29 1
5 1
0 0
0 0
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 21:56:10

This resource was very helpful in helping run the Strahd campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2019 15:37:31

Fantastic resource for keeping everything within the CoS campaign organized and interesting for the players. As a first-time DM, this guide was a priceless tool for a successful game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2018 01:24:26

Power Guides are the Cliff Notes for D&D 5e Hardcover Adventures. The Guide To Curse of Strahd.

65 pages full of preparation notes it gives the timestrapped DM an outline of how they can put this adventure together.

I have picked up all of these Power Guides now and found them invaluable in getting ready to run the official WoC Adventures.

While most of the information can be garhered by reading the actual Hard Cover Adventure, the amount of time you can save by not having to compile these notes is worth it. My only complaint would be there is too much data and not enough "white space" in the guide. It can be a tad overwhelming in some sections.

Here is an example of the sort of detail the guide goes into:

  1. Adventure Hooks: Pick a hook from the pile on pages 18-22 and run it. Here's the three that I think are kind of the "main" ones:  Plea For Help (page 18): A gypsy gives the group an invite to Ravenloft. These people are scum (check out the whipping scene on page 121).  Creeping Fog (page 22): The heroes are camping, the mists take them to Ravenloft.  Mysterious Visitors (page 19): The group investigates gypsies, are escorted through Barovia.

Areas of Barovia Gates of Barovia: (page 33) When I read about the gates, I had a picture in my head. When you look at the art of this place on page 34, it's quite more grand than the flavor text suggests. Definitely check that picture out, it will help make the beginning of this adventure bigger. Remember, the gates open and close on their own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jake V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 20:57:51

This is arguably one of the most useful reference documents for running the CoS campaign adventure. Sean McGovern (If you don't know who that is then why are you on this site ;P) gives a compelling breakdown of the module along with many tips, tricks, and even a fully proposed path for you to follow as you run this sandbox adventure. I would say this guide is a must to when running CoS and would strongly recommend all DMs New and Old take the time to digest this material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2018 21:39:45

A super useful guide, packed full with good ideas. Can't recommend enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2018 18:44:36

This clarified so many rather daunting aspects of CoS. Brilliant!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2018 12:51:50

I am currently running my first official 5e module with Curse of Strahd. While I'm an experienced DM I have rarely run a module and never one as massive as Curse of Strahd. I really wanted to run it though, but had no idea where to start and reading through the book was a bit confusing since the book is not organized in the way one would expect for smaller and more linear modules. using this guide really helped to break down the adventure, providing a good synopsis, a relative timeline that makes both narrative sense as well as for appropriate player challenges, and provided ideas to use to spice up the game a bit.

I would highly recommend this guide to anyone looking to run Curse of Strahd, but especially to those who are new to running modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrea L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2018 01:58:47

This is a great product and you should absolutelly buy it if you are thinking of running COS. Sean always do a great job on is blog and create powerfull and usefull tools.

Thanks man and keep up the good work ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by dave b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2018 09:22:32

Having never used a WoTC published adventure before, and being a brand new DM with totally new players, I was completely lost with CoS when I read through it the first time. I was expecting the book to be in sequential order, and that myself and my group could follow it from page to page. When I found this guide, everything clicked into place and made our CoS campaign extremely enjoyable. We have now gone on to purchase more WoTC campaigns, and are looking forward to more guides from this author. Thank you for a invaluable product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lucas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 12:33:09

Fairly okay. At times the writer goes into too much detail when reacting to the writer's playthrough that was put on youtube. As for bringing together specific details (go to x page for this!) The guide is great. When it comes to offering new ideas, it seems rather limited in its scope -- ie: suggesting that players can not exit the castle after showing up there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Morgan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2018 13:53:32

Absoutely required reading for anyone running Curse of Strahd for the first time. Or anyone running it ever, really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by LEV P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2018 13:45:57

A great and simple guide which really gets you going with CoS without delving into numerous extra options. Definetely would recomend for any DM attempting to runtye campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 11:20:01

This guide is absolutely fantastic. Being a relatively new DM (only one campaign under my belt), skipping to a large, sandbox-style campaign like Curse of Strahd was a significant step-up. This guide really helps one organize the large amount of material that the DM will need to prep. Definitely will be looking into more guides written by Sean.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darryl B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 14:28:16

i would be lost without this guide. curse of strahd is a lot to handle, especially for a relatively new Dm. Readig this guide, with the layout and suggestions, i feel much better prepared to run the adventure. for example, i now know what to do with all the information that the book gives you and how to organize it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Simon P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 02:16:35

It's tempting to think that this is exactly the sort of thing that should be in WOTC's published adventures in the first place, but realistically, those adventures are so expansive that the number of things that could be added are endless. We get it into our heads that if we buy a published adventure, that's everything we need to run the game, but we will always need to work on integrating them into our games. They're a toolkit rather than the final product. Also, there are a million and one different layout possibilities, and every DM is going to have their own preferences.

Power Score RPG's guide is an excellent breakdown of the adventure, and is invaluable in giving pointers to organising your games, without being proscriptive or limiting. In addition, the whole thing is written with good humour, and a wide ranging knowledge of previous published incarnations of Ravenloft. Seriously, I couldn't even count the number of ideas from this Guide that I used in my Curse of Strahd campaign. This gets the absolute highest recommendation from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items