Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2019 17:24:03

This is a great adventure though I would peg it at best being run in 4 hours rather than 2. The opening roleplay chapter works pretty well, but takes some understanding to clarify what checks should be made when. The second half is pretty deadly for tier 1 parties and the skill challenge DC perhaps a little too high. Either way an enjoyable adventure and one I bring out often.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-TRI-31 Out of Time
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2019 17:10:28

Excellent adventure. The opening scene gives the players plenty of reason to care about the adventure, and drive the narrative forwards. One of the few adventures that I will run more than once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-31 Out of Time
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Art of War for D&D Players
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2019 09:01:53

Solid product worth sharing with your group. There has clearly been a lot of effort put into this work which I appreciate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of War for D&D Players
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-OHAYOCON-01-03 Fiendly Competition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2019 17:08:19

This adventure is solid, if slightly flawed in execution. I love the use of bounties and allowing for the non-chosen bounties to be used as bonus objectives. My only issue came up with Episode 3, it isn't neccessarily clear which encounters should be used when and having a single enemy as the final boss leads to problems where action economy is not in their favour.

I enjoyed it though and will probably run it again in the future!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-OHAYOCON-01-03 Fiendly Competition
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Hi, thanks for the review and the feedback! It seems that there was an numbering error in the first scene of episode 3 that directed to which resolution to use. I've updated the file with the correct numbers. So please re-download if you're going to run it again. Appreciate you bringing this up! Regarding the final fight (without spoilers), this is indeed the peril of a single monsters. There are some tactical options it can take advantage of that can make it more challenging, but once it's vulnerable, it's likely to go down quickly. A bit of trivia: it initially had more uses of its special item, but early playtests showed that this had too much potential to TPK parties before they ever got a turn.
DDAL08-15 Forge of Fangs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 20:53:41

Annd wrapping up this trilogy, which started out so well, we have the forge of Fangs.

All content was completed in 1.75 hours, a lot shorter than the listed run time of 6 hours. Admittedly the characters had access to wall of force and dawn, completely trivialising the forge encounter.

The final encounter has some potential, but the players had access to a sunsword which again trivialised the encounter. The Cleric spell list is a bit short and contians spells inappropriate to vampires (Revivify?), it could do with some tweaking, I would advise people who run in the future to change up the spells to make it more competitive. To the author I suggest having some method of reducing sunlight's effectiveness against vampires that the players had to circumvent in some way.

This module again suffers from the lack of varied vampire mobs athat can challenge a tier 3 party. had the encounters leading up to the final encounter been more challenging I suspect that my group wouldn't have had it so easy.

Compared to 8-14, this module has potential to be fixed, make the encounters prior to the finale tax the player's resources, and fix the spell lists and this might manage to make it to the 6 hour run time.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-15 Forge of Fangs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-14 Rescue from Vanrakdoom
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 20:41:51

Oh Dear.

This is a 6 hour module, we finished in 1.5 hours, completing all the content. Admittedly this was partly due to resolving certain combats narratively as, well, there isn't a single creature witha CR greater than 5 in the module as written, with only suggested vampires for stronger parties.

Did the Author miss the memo that this is supposed to be an adventure for level 11-16?

The magic item was hidden in the wrap up. it could have been given to a dangerous antagonist to offer some variety but instead it is awarded at the completion of th eadventure... yawwwn

There a shadow dragon, that can breathe out a teleporting mist? Kind of neat but I must have missed something in the memo because that isn't explained at all. Why does the dragon work with the vampires? Why would it help the party and the prisoners? None of these questions are answered in the adventure.

The bonus objectives have a promising start in BO A, but then it all falls apart in BO B with CR2-5 threats, and then an inane backstory that can't be reconciled, ugh.

My ony reccommendation for this adventure is that it can be run in so short a time, while being worth 6 advancement checkpoints. so if you need to level someone quick, you can run 8-14 and 8-15 in the time it takes to run a standard module.

Poor show on the Admin's front for allowing this through the approval process.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-14 Rescue from Vanrakdoom
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 20:28:51

Out of the three tier 3 season 8 adventures, the is the one that is most worth playing, the only one worth playing more than once.

The characters are led on a fun excursion to figure out why citizens of Waterdeep and Skullport are going missing. The investigation is a lot of fun and the bonus objectives fit more or less seamlessly into the main adventure. If I could change anything from episodde 2 it would be to expand slightly more on the NPC's character an give them a bit more to say.

This module, like the other two but to a lesser extent, suffers from the lack of vampire options. The problem being that there is only really two options for vampires - CR5 spawn or CR13/15 vampires. The author here has dealt with that issue by bringing in other potential enemies such as war priest and blackguards, though they could use a little more augmenting to bring them up to tier 3 competitiveness. Alternatively this would have been agreat time to add a couple of new vampire based NPCs to the menagerie.

The Maps are great, the second bonus objective contains a little more combat-combat-combat than I would like, though if it was played out fully the module may have run closer to the 6 hour runtime rather than the 4.5 that we managed it in (Fast DM, experienced players, many magic items)

Overall I enjoyed this module a lot, it's a shame that the following tier 3 modules do not hold up to the same standards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-DRUID-01 The Scourge Unseen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 13:28:46

This is a solid dungeon crawl with some issues that prevent getting the top marks. Some of the puzzles rely heavily on player knowledge of Forgotten Realms lore, which can be an issue depending on the players you have at the table. I ran with a very weak group and the encounters were difficult to balance - they found themselves often overwhelmed by the lack of available resting points. The final encounter is a bit hazy and could do with clarification on locations of the enemies, thoughI think if I ran with a more competant group the balance would be less of an issue.

Overall I enjoyed this adventure and would probaly run it again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-DRUID-01 The Scourge Unseen
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-KUMORI-01-01 Wreckers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 13:23:59

Fun two hour adventure that has a satisfying conclusion. Highly reccomend for both first time players and DMs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-KUMORI-01-01  Wreckers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-MACE01-02 A Panthers Peril
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 13:22:38

Passable adventure, frustratingly it suffers from the curse of being the second part of a trilogy where the hooks and the ending are weak unless you are planning on running all three parts in succession. There's also an issue of the characters being given far too many long rests inbetween not very difficult encounters. This doesn't really follow the balance of 5e and means any resources used during an encounter are quickly regenerated leading to a disparity between short rest classes and long rest classes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MACE01-02 A Panthers Peril
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 23:09:45

I enjoyed running this adventure a lot. The combats were really close due to some low rolling on my party's part. My major complaint is the sandstorm in the middle of the adventure lacks guidance on what the NPCs do - they come accross as completely hopeless which is worrisome for people who apparently make the journey often.

The final encounter is sort of shoe-horned in with the party having no real way to avoid it without getting into another big fight where they are on their last legs.

It seems that I have a lot od negatives but this module is great for everyone, first timers and experienced DMs alike.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 23:03:14

This adventure leans heavily on

a) the DM having the ToA book

b) there being a wizard in the party

Big no-nos in AL writing so the score reflects that. If it were not for those major issues this adventure is pretty good with potential for plenty of combat and social interaction, less chance of the exploration builds being able to flew their muscles.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-STORM-01 The Barrows of Solina
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2019 08:52:20

This is an ecellent adventure. Fairly easy to prepare with plenty of content to scratch the social and combat itch of the game. Not really anything that covers exploration sadly but that may ust be the way my players played.

It's very wordy, the authors are very impressed with the lore they have made here about the Knights of Dawnfire, which results in a hell of a lot of exposition in boxed text.

Some of the organistaion in the final part is wonky, where it isn't clear when the players should find out that there is a trial going on - I would have put that section later in the chapter. The players are also epected to have an opportunity to explore one of the rooms but it isn't clear that they should then move forwards to the trial.

I like the idea of the trial a lot but it's far too easy for the players to just focus on saving the kids and ignoring the other prisoners. It's also too easy to 'win' - the inustice is incredibly obvious and the twist that the judges are being controlled a little too obvious.

A lot of criticism I admit but the adventure is still very good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-STORM-01 The Barrows of Solina
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2018 12:08:38

This module is ok. It has a very weak backstory that doesn't make much sense and the villains don't have much to them. For all the build-up about Shar there isn't really much to it which is a let down.

Also the vampires are bullywugs! This is not made clear enough and appears to have been a last minute edit done to forcibly link this adventure with 08-09.

I like the basis behind the Bonus objectives but it would help if there was more to them than "Kill all the undead in the room" When you have two clerics in the party destroying undead this becomes pretty simple. It would have been neat for there to have been a way to cleanse the forges without needing to cast 7th level dispell magic and put them out entirely.

This module can easily be run in about 2 hours along with bonus objectives, if the adventure designer wanted it to take more of the time they should have included more robust exploration and social encounters.

Lasty, the way to get into the tomb is kind of obtuse. Especially when silver tankards or jugs aren't available to be purchased in the PHB.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2018 11:56:59

This a great set of adventures to play with new players. Sadly the maor driving force for adventure has been lost in Season 8 however thee are still enough potions and story awards for it to be worthwhile.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items