Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 46
10 26
5 10
1 1
0 0
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2019 16:42:39

This is a set of five 1-2 hour adventures tied together with a list of treasure locations. I have run pieces of this adventure twice, and both were a lot of fun. I ran caches 1 and 5, the first one was great and the fifth one was good. These are great introductory adventures, you can start everybody on the road, and there is the opportunity for everybody to introduce themselves by explaining why they were lucky, or skilled, or notorious enough to have the treasure-hunter include them on this quest. Easy, effective, natural-ish way for the characters to start off with a little role-play. I had one overlapping player the second time I used the module, so just had a big X scrawled on the description of the first location.

The timing on this is sort of similar to Harried in Hillsfar, but this is a less messy set of adventures, I felt like Harried sort of overpromised some comeuppance to the Red Guard Plume guys which doesn't ever happen, this one is less ambitious, but still teases the giants. I have got to improve my pacing because both of them took my groups 2.5 hours to run, but everybody had fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2019 20:44:40

Used this as my kids and nephews (early teens) first intro to D&D 5e. They absolutely loved it. Nice basic adventure with good structure. A great mix of situations that call for negotiation, investigation, and a bit of hack and slash as well. Also my daughter dubbed mini-me "Milkdrinker".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 19:01:36

Everybody loves Blooddrinker! I want to run this again and again just to give more characters that story reward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 23:35:03

The content here is great. The hook makes sense. Each of the 5 mini modules makes sense. However, it's clear very fast that someone is getting to the cache ahead of you, which means a good strategy for the PC's is to skip to the fifth cache as early as possible to try to overcome that. So skipping content is likely. Also, our party of 5 level 1's would have gotten completely wiped by the badgers if I wasn't being awfully generous, and yet absolutely owned the steam and ice elementals in the final shrine along with the four giant owls outside. Seems to be a bit of an imbalance that needs to be overcome.

Otherwise the story is great and the content is really fun...there is just some clunkiness in execution.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cameron C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 18:33:27

My players and I really loved these sets of adventures. Every adventure had a mix of mechanics and seemed to allow for different types of play. I love when adventure mix together puzzles, combat, exploration and social encounters in a way that doesn't scream "Okay, we are stopping what you were doing and moving onto the next mechanic now". I hope to see more intro adventures use this method of design in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rebecca F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 19:59:29

Purchased this to run for a party of 4 first-time middle school players. Story was really easy to run from my point of view, and the kids adored that they all had chances to use their various strengths and class abilities to contribute to the adventure. The first two caches kept the kids engaged for four straight hours (some of that time was dedicated to learning game mechanics), and we only stopped because the tired DM teacher ran out of steam!

It was a really great introduction for these kiddos--they loaded in to dad's car begging for a stop by the game store to get their own PHB, dice, and minis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 15:12:47

A great set of introductory adventures that are straightforward and easy to run. They include a popular story award in the first part and a large number of potions of healing throughout, which makes this module particularly appealing to run with season 8 treasure rules (where the rest of the gold goes away). Actually, season 8 makes the last module part weird: from a metagaming perspective, my players were very suspicious of the gold plates that were present, since they knew that they couldn't have any monetary value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Minh V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 14:15:20

A nice introduction to the rise of the giants. A basic treasure hunt with all elements of D&D: combat, puzzle, roleplay



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2018 11:56:59

This a great set of adventures to play with new players. Sadly the maor driving force for adventure has been lost in Season 8 however thee are still enough potions and story awards for it to be worthwhile.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2018 23:23:36

One of the best introductory suites of mini-adventures. The first and second adventures are hilarious, with some great story awards. The third and fourth adventures can be quite deadly, go easy on the PCs for those ones. The fifth one is a good one for the murderhobos in your party.

I highly recommend this mod for players new to either AL or even D&D in general.

A great mod, as are most of the Season 5 Tier 1's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2018 19:11:17

This is a good intro adventure, especially for new players. The individual mini-adventures allow you to pace the game the way that works best for your group. The group can approach this however they want, but the structure rewards them for taking various approaches rather than just murderhobo.

There are some fun story awards that the characters can earn as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2018 16:19:42

This is a good intro adventure, especially for new players. It's pretty linear, but intentionally so - it's designed to get you through the 5 modules quickly and be able to learn the game. There aren't a lot of opportunities for extensive role playing, but again that's the design. I liked that there were several humorous situations - tiny goblins and talking rocks, etc. The only complaint my players had was that they were disappointed all the treasures had already been looted. There was other loot to be found, which partially made up for it, but it was frustrating to have the locations of the caches from "One of the most famous treasure hunters in the Realms" - and get there too late.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2018 19:07:31

Great series for new players. Fun encounters, giving new players a challenge, but also not too tough. Players really like one of the story awards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 17:48:30

This is a great intro to absolute new players to D&D. I would suggest that DMs really look at augmenting the mod to really give the players a good experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kit D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 00:12:02

Ran this adventure as my first delve into adventurer's league after running homebrew campaigns for a few years, and really enjoyed it. Some of the sections I liked better than others (the fourth area in particular was my favorite), but overall it was a fun experience to run. The combat was well written, although I did take a few liberties due to having an unusually lucky party who tended to breeze through encounters. I'm not certain if that's the fault of the dice or of the module, but otherwise it was balanced enough. Storywise I think the various NPCs could have used a bit more personality, but that's honestly one of my smaller points due to each section being so short and not allowing a lot of time for development of the NPCs. All in all, this is a great introductory module for anyone just getting into adventurer's league, whether they are a player or a DM, but I think it could also be fun as a way to throw in some variety in larger homebrew campaigns with the stats raised if needed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items