Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
The Throne of Bone - Adventure $4.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 11
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Click to view
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 20:16:34

A fun, quick one-shot that helped create a fun experience for some friends. Provided a great blueprint and had some fun characters to RP. Ran the adventure with 3 level 6 character's and had to adjust it a bit for the difficulty but it still presented a decent challenge. The mix of combat and puzzle-solving was very welcome and fun. Would recommend for newer DM's, like myself. Took about 6ish hours to complete, breaks included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2018 07:18:33

I ran this module for the YouTube channel that I DM and we all had a blast. It is very easy to prep for and the puzzles are all a lot of fun. The combat encounters in this module are fantastic and I am very sad that I had to miss the final fight due to video time restraints :(

I highly recommend picking up this module. It has everything. Roleplay, puzzles, fun combat and traps.

If you want to see how our session went you can watch the full length video at https://youtu.be/QCtYppQAecw



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kerstan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2018 10:09:36

My group wrapped up Throne of Bone last night. We had an amazing time! One of my players gushed, "I wish this dungeon would just go on forever." I think we all felt the same way. Throne of Bone is the perfect mix of role-playing, combat, and puzzle solving. It seemed perfectly well balanced for my party of six 6th level adventures. Bravo! Five stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 15:09:48

Really great little adventure module come see my full review here: https://youtu.be/SSgcMHyH6gk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2017 08:15:27

So, let me say I REALLY like this module. I have not run it yet but plan to this weekend. Really good mix of roleplay and combat and certainly plenty of room to modify as a DM. I love the Battle Stat Tracker in the PDF. However, this review is mostly for the fantasy grounds module.

I really like the variability of the monsters and the utilization of some cool monsters that aren't all that common such as the Flesh Golem, Bone Giant and Bone Naga. Speaking of which, the final battle I have a feeling could easily be a TPK for a party of four, 6th level characters. It will certainly be extremely challenging!

All in all, I would absolutely rate this as a 5-star. I did find a handful of module issues with encounters, maps and parcels which I submitted to the author and hope he corrects them. I considered rating the module 4-star because of those issues, but ultimately rated it 5-star as the value I feel like I received for the price is awesome.

I highly recommend this module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2017 21:53:38

This is an enjoyable adventure from start to finish. My group had a lot of fun with all the puzzles as well as the combat. I tweaked the dialogue to fit the group, and the adventure left plenty of room to make it your own without much effort, and even has some sections where it provides options of what to throw at players. The only thing I wasn't overly happy with was the random effects table, which has some things which are kind of too penalizing, but it's easy enough to replace anything that you find doesn't fit what you're after with something else of your imagination, and the random effect table doesn't affect the actual content of the adventure at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joe B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2016 23:14:26

I ran a modified version of this for my group. I absolutely loved the adventure and how it was set up. Once the group got into the dungeon I almost ran it without modification. The stats page at the end was super useful.

My two critiques for the product would be the following: 1) All of the rooms are exactly the same size and shape. I ended up changing them around a lot. I thought it would be cool to change their shape by floor, so the top level was the 8x8 and the next was 8x10 or something like that. 2) I personally didn't like a lot of the Throne's effects. Too many were way more intrusive to a character than I would have used (changing character race). Regardless, I changed the Throne to have plot significance anyway so I replaced them.

Things I modified for my campaign due to ridiculousness and hijinks: 1) I tried to be nice and roleplay the elderly couple at the beginning as a very tame, nice couple. My players immediately got suspicious and based on the line "that the players were supposed to be impressed with the old man's strength" and the way I acted that out, they thought that he was a werewolf. So yeah, I totally made him a werewolf. He and his Druid wife lured the players into the wolf cave. I then put the Throne entrance in a different cave. 2) My players had just fought a young dragon so I changed things up by having the dragon statue melt into 2 wyrmlings and had another 3 come out of the paintings on the walls. 3) Throne was a plot point so it would only allow one person to sit in it before it lost power. It also locked that person in the chair and then I did a version of a skill challenge to see what effect it had. Others could help but that person was locked in.

Again, this is a great adventure. I'd definitely run it for any group of mine. Playing the Gruff Dwarven Door was super fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2016 05:35:11

A very good adventure. The balance between combat and non-combat encounters is excellent. Full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by M.T. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2016 17:27:04

Some fun ideas in the adventure - worth checking out



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2016 21:22:17

My group and I have thoroughly enjoyed this module. The puzzles weren't difficult, but provided a different sort of challenge from the usual hack-n-slash. There is still plenty of hack-n-slash, never fear. And it's a good story, with its own twists. If you DM this one, have fun with the dwarf door.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Throne of Bone - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Yannick L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2016 19:15:15

I was one of the play testers for this adventure, which took my group of 4 players, all level 6, about 8hrs to play through (they are more role players than roll players though, so the time might vary) It is very well balanced, from encounters to traps and puzzles. I highly recommend it for all gm's old and new. For the new ones, it is detailed enough to help you guide your players while allowing you to tell a story. For veterans, it is easy to incorporate in almost any campaign and provides a change of pace for players. Encouters are customizable, and you can always add your own touch by adding, removing or changing the baddies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items