Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
102 62
18 2
6 1
0 0
0 0
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Magnar S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2020 18:27:38

An excellent one-shot. Can be finished in 2 hours. Just beware the rats. Consider starting with fewer rats, then introducing more if the fight seems too easy. First level characters can easily die in the first room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Samuel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 20:12:55

Very good one-shot for first-time players and/or first-time DMs. Good variety: puzzles, combat and a bit of role-playing with what could be a fun character, Glowkindle. Ran for 3 experienced players and 2 first-timers. We all loved it. Can be placed wherever you want. Went with a different starting path than the ones advised in the pdf, used neither job boards, nor an Inn/Tavern and also didn't use an "in medias res" beggining. Either way, very, very good, lots of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2020 10:29:36

Used this adventure for my first time DM'ing, and with mostly inexperienced players, and we all had a lot of fun!! It has a great map, and a couple handouts for your players that were great to get to pass out during the game. It's fight-heavy and RP-light, but players were able to have some good RP moments amongst themselves reacting to the environment, as players do. I think it's excellent for beginners who are still learning mechanics, and also for folks with a little more experience that want some low-level fun. It's designed for level 1, but I scaled it up for level 2 without any problems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elliott B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 16:49:19

Ran this as an opening to my campaign and despite running a lot of sessions since, this is my favourite session I have ever run. Simple premise with great small dungeon that has an excellent story to it. My players and I love the puzzle also. Definately reccomend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clint C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 10:13:41

Very for new players that may wish to jump into a single session to try out the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ivy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2020 20:27:43

Ran this with 4 players who have never played dnd or anything like it before. Took 30mins at the start to quickly explain how to use the character sheet & basic combat rules. Played this game in 3 hours, and we had a fun time! Here is an overview:

  • Glowkindle was a lovely character, some of my players asked to be paid not with gold, but with a keg of beer and a beef casserole. He happily obliged.
  • The first encounter can be quite deadly. I ran the rats in 2 groups of 4, and they left my players quite sore.
  • Players who aren't used to riddles brute forced their way through the mosaic with investigation checks, eventually found the connection between the riddle and the tiles.
  • I didn't do the centipede encounter; instead, they found a stranded Goblin at the bottom of the well in the well room. Called him Droopy, and if the players saved him & didn't harm him he would heal each of them by 1d4+1 once and tell them to be warned of the lab, as he thinks that is where the rats are coming from. Droopy used to work at the wizard tower before it got wrecked so may provide some background about it.
  • The spider needs maybe double the HP, as it only survived three rounds (I fudged the Hp to make it last longer). Otherwise a cool enemy.
  • Players eventually went searching for the centipedes (Droopy mentioned he was thrown down the well by them) and did that final round of combat. One player went down, but another had found the healing potions and saved them.
  • Tips for DMs: if your players are brand new, they have no concept of stealth, searching for loot, or traps. You will need to prompt them. My players didn't even search the lab, and only found the steel plates when Droopy pointed them out!

Overall it was a fun, quick game even with players that new nothing about combat. Definitely recommend this one as they were all happy to help out a local tavern and motivated with the promise of beer. For the next adventure I think they might clear the rubble and explore the wizard tower!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vickie E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 23:47:19

I am very new to being a dm and this campaign was very easy to follow. This was the fist game for most of my players and they all had a great time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Claire B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2020 16:51:01

I ran this an experianced DM who general makes their own homebrew, for a whole group of people who had never played DnD and didnt have any ideas of the rules. It went great! Everyone really enjoyed it although they felt the battles dragged on (more about the group then the campaign itself). Took me about 4hrs to run and i would wholeheartedly recomend this to new and seasoned DMs and Players alike. I bought 4 other campaigns from these guys afterwards, thats how much fun we had. The puzzle printout was a lovely touch and something i'll be including in my big homebrews from now on. Thanks guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tiffany J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2020 23:49:20

This adventure was great! I found out about it via some reddit reviews and it did not disappoint. I chose it because it was my first time DMing. It was a straightforward adventure and easy to understand the layout without it becoming boring. Not that many pages to worry about flipping back and forth through either (I had a few support materials, but it was reasonable) so it allowed for excellent learning about game components and flow without losing the ability to role play myself and to add on a little prologue to the start of the adventure. Play time took us about 2.5hrs. I play with a bunch of theatre majors and the role-playing is full on in our games. They had a blast with the adventure and we are all looking forward to more together. We would all highly recommend adding this adventure to your list for a super enjoyable evening of play (and beers) especially if you are newer to the game as a DM.

PS. First enemy encounter looks innocuous when reading but in full game play was hilariously more involved. We did have a couple 2nd level characters - which was likely a good thing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2020 15:40:00

This was a fun little adventure. I've seen it recommended often on reddit. Took about 3 hours to run through. It is nice that it only really uses basic rules. And the players enjoyed it so I'm giving it 5 stars.

But. You should be aware that the first encounter is pretty savage. I was expecting a TPK after the 1st round of combat. I thought I'd accounted for the difficulty by allowing the 4 PCs all to start with feats at level one, but when the 8 rats swarmed the players and attacked with pack tactics it looked like they were going to die. And indeed one of them did go down on round two before they escaped out of the cellar. The giant inferno spider seemed much less deadly by comparison.

If the product is ever revised, I would suggest adding a note about scaling the number of giant rats depending on the number of PCs. And/or possibly beefing up the giant inferno spider?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2020 19:46:25

Really well done adventure. ew player friendreviewwriting onmoble isbroken keyboardinput isveing beingblocled ugh fixthis. noback badspaces



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2020 14:14:58

Used this for my first time DMing, and it was super easy to work with. My friends and I had a great time.

I also made a few adjustments since it was everyone's first adventure:

  1. I wanted to break into action more quickly, so I started with the party already on the road to the brewery and had a drunken bugbear ambush them from behind a rundown shack on the way (more info below).
  2. One of our players had to drop out, so the party was a little underpowered, so I came up with some beers they could purchase from the taproom before starting the job. Each beer provided a different buff, and players had to roll a d20 with a DC equal to the number of beers they drank. Failing the roll resulted in them being drunk for the fight against the rats (see below).

Here's my encounter notes from D&D Beyond:

SHORT SUMMARY

A drunk bugbear attempts to blindside the party along the way to The Wizard's Tower Brewing Co. 2 Drunk Stirges are attached to the bugbear before the encounter begins, while another is flying around struggling to attach itself to the Bugbear.

ENCOUNTER DESCRIPTION

Explain that the players have decided to take a job posted on a notice board in a nearby town. They are traveling along a dirt path to The Wizard's Tower Brewing Co.

Ask them what they do as they head toward the brewery.

As they pass a rundown shack, they must make a perception check. If their traveling activity reduces awareness, they have disadvantage. They must beat the Bugbear's stealth check to avoid being surprised by him. (Remember, surprised characters simply lose a turn of combat.)

Don't forget:

  1. Give drunken characters disadvantage on all attack rolls and saving throws.
  2. Give all attackers advantage on attack rolls against drunken characters.
  3. Stirges detaching from targets after draining 10 HP.
TREASURE & REWARDS

Morningstar, Javelin, Hide

If players explore the shack, they find beer.

Beers (and their effects) available in the taproom

  • d8 Brew
  • 1 Li'l Sumpin' Sumpin'
  • 2 Fist Hamlet
  • 3 God Damn Raven Porter
  • 4 Ranger vs. Unicorn
  • 5 Foggy Wizard
  • 6 Old Man Grumpy
  • 7 Dragon's Milk
  • 8 Shiner Bach
  • - PBR
Li'l Sumpin' Sumpin'

Bless
Whenever you make an attack roll or a saving throw, you can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the attack roll or saving throw.

Fist Hamlet

+2 STR.

God Damn Raven Porter

Death Ward
You touch a creature and grant it a measure of protection from death.

The first time the target would drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, the target instead drops to 1 hit point, and the spell ends.

If the spell is still in effect when the target is subjected to an effect that would kill it instantaneously without dealing damage, that effect is instead negated against the target, and the spell ends.

Ranger vs. Unicorn

Barkskin
You touch a willing creature. Until the spell ends, the target's skin has a rough, bark-like appearance, and the target's AC can't be less than 16, regardless of what kind of armor it is wearing.

Foggy Wizard

Foresight
You touch a willing creature and bestow a limited ability to see into the immediate future. For the duration, the target can't be surprised and has advantage on attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws. Additionally, other creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls against the target for the duration.

This spell immediately ends if you cast it again before its duration ends.

Old Man Grumpy

Mage Armor
You touch a willing creature who isn't wearing armor, and a protective magical force surrounds it until the spell ends. The target's base AC becomes 13 + its Dexterity modifier. The spell ends if the target dons armor or if you dismiss the spell as an action.

Dragon's Milk

Fire Shield
Thin and wispy flames wreathe your body for the duration, shedding bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet. You can end the spell early by using an action to dismiss it.

The flames provide you with a warm shield or a chill shield, as you choose. The warm shield grants you resistance to cold damage, and the chill shield grants you resistance to fire damage.

In addition, whenever a creature within 5 feet of you hits you with a melee attack, the shield erupts with flame. The attacker takes 2d8 fire damage from a warm shield, or 2d8 cold damage from a cold shield.

Shiner Bach

Bardic Inspiration
You can roll a d6 and add the number rolled to one ability check, attack roll, or saving throw. You can wait until after you roll the d20 before deciding to use the die, but you must decide before I say whether the roll succeeds or fails. Once the die is rolled, it is lost.

PBR

Roll a d8. Number indicates one of the above.

Drunk creatures have disadvantage on all attack rolls and saving throws. Creatures targeting drunk creatures have advantage on attack rolls



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Storm W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 21:19:13

I ran this for a 50-something woman who had never played D&D before. It was easy to manage from a DM point of view and she absolutely loved it.

----SPOILERS--- -

- The funniest part was when she came into the room with the well, she used LIGHT on a piece of stone and tossed it in the well. Well, it don't matter how quiet you are trying to be when you toss a glowing rock into a nest of giant centipedes.

Hilarity ensued.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 14:16:59

When my DM needed a break from running our ongoing campaign I decided to take a stab a DM'ing for the first time. Created a few basic characters and picked up A Most Potent Brew. Read through the module a few times and ran it very successfully even as a first time DM. Loved having a unique monster included in a level 1 adventure so that the players couldn't accidentally meta-game the big bad. My only criticism is that the initial battle was the most difficult due to there being 8 bad guys with pack tactics vs. the big boss missed with his flaming web and never got another chance as all 4 PC's unloaded on him taking him out in one round. Could maybe move a few of those rats from the initial encounter to the boss fight? Even so this adventure is a 10/10 for a first time DM/GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2019 14:59:33

If you're looking for a fast, fun little adventure, this is a good choice!

It ran us, with brand new players, around an hour and a half. My players felt it was a bit too short, and I wish there had been one more challenge to overcome, but overall it was nice and straightforward.

The puzzle is neat, and I love having the printable handout for the players.

The first combat encounter is all right, but the boss fight is great fun.

Can definitely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 65 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items