Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night $4.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 9
1 0
1 1
1 0
0 1
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Click to view
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 12:53:08

This was my first time back as a DM after a 24 year hiatus. The story is tight, and well written. I love the tension and feeling of a time constraint that pushed the characters to make decisions quickly to solve the mystery. The NPCs are lovely, and a fair number of them are still highlights in my ongoing campaign. This module, and the series lends itself to creating a group of players that really feel like they made a difference in the lives of those in Melvaunt. Great fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 15:23:49

This was perfect for a group just getting into 5e and remains perfect for a group that's played many times. It has (simple but not too simple) puzzles, roleplay, combat, and a good plot twist for the ending that intrigues players for the next parts. Good urban adventures are hard to find, but this stands out as one of my top favorites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 21:31:41

This is a lovely adventure, and a wonderful first effort for Baldman Games. The introduction of a modrun adventure is fantastic and something completely unexplored in previous 5e content. The puzzles in the adventure are amusing and engaging, unlike the silly one in DDEX2-1. The combat encounters are rather light and unintimidating, but the mystery and the places it takes the characters are memorable and very fun.

With the perspective of a stickler for rules, one might criticize the chase sequence at the end of the adventure, as one other reviewer has done. It is a very fluffy encounter, designed more to dazzle players with the eccentricity and wonder of the many realms than to provide a real or meaningful challenge, but it is still quite cool. On a technical level, it might be hard for an inexperienced DM to keep a straight face during the chase, knowing that no matter how many arrows the players shoot at the baddy, it won't matter, but still, it's just a great bit of colorful fluff.

The only real criticism I have of this adventure is that it doesn't tend to run 4 hours. Unless the players really struggle with the puzzles, since the combat encounters are so light, it tends to clock in at around 2.5 hours. Apart from that, bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2017 07:43:41

Ill put something in context first before I start.

I used to run for Pathfinder Society some years ago ( I dont anymore and havnt for some time). Someway into the game, they decided to introduce the Chase mechanic which was essentially a Giant size snakes and ladders type graphic full of required optional choice roles. I didnt like it for its very nature and it felt like it didnt fit.

Lo and behold , Core 1-1 has its own form of a 'chase' or obstacle course as it puts it. After a pretty interesting 3/4 of the scenario with the party (bar one character) screwing up a major objective, the introduction of this chase just seemed to fall flat. It felt something that perhaps should of been given more time to be fleshed out in a Higher Tier scenario.. one that could of incorporated it more. .. esp as a scenario optimised for 5 .. level 1 characters. Mostly I liked this scenario. It fleshed out Melvaunt to an extent in using locations inside and whilst I havnt read the scenarios ongoing from this, I just feel like in a way they are sacrificing the location to push the interplanarness of the creatures being used (If so this could be done in any city /location in the realms).

The secondary issue I had was when an npc is introduced and they end up having a 'sub-battle' within a pc combat. Zellani the Priestess of Loviatar summons up her own forces to fight the creatures of Chaos. THis is interesting but surely all of us occasionally get 1 or 2 players who will leave the pc combat to go help the npc in this other combat, because its the right thing to do or perhaps the monsters over there just seem more interesting. There have been a few of these types of sub battles in Adventurers League and I dont think any of them have worked particuarly well.

I give this 3/5 because of the Chase and Zellani issues. THe Puzzles are a welcome addition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2017 15:53:20

This review is written from the standpoint of an Adventurers League game

*Review contains spoilers

Overview – A Scream in the Night is probably the most unique AL adventure that I’ve run. The characters find themselves in the merchant city of Melvaunt. Leaving the tavern where they’ve been relaxing, the sound of commotion draws them to the scene of a murder, with no culprit in sight. Upon examining the body, the adventurers find a clue, a puzzle! Solving the puzzle reveals that another murder will take place, soon!

General thoughts – This is the most puzzle heavy adventure I’ve played, and it works wonderfully. The combat is interesting and a bit different than most AL adventures due to the nature of the enemies (Modrons!), but the puzzles are what make it stand out, as well as the fact that there is a genuine race against the clock to reach the next targets and save their lives. The next two adventures in this series are good, but this one is definitely the best of the three. The biggest downside to this adventure is the reward. The adventurers are potentially rewarded with chunks of adamantine which can be forged into weapons if they gather enough chunks. The only problem is that this is the only adventure which features this reward. In order to make certain weapons, characters will have to pool their chunks. This in itself isn’t bad, but I anticipated that the adamantine theme would be carried throughout the adventures and it was disappointing that it wasn’t.

Combat – Interesting enemies and strategic encounters which involve protecting NPCs.

Exploration – No exploration, per se, but the wonderful puzzle element removes the feel of a railroad.

Social – Great social interaction in the form of solving puzzles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2017 04:02:05

I have run this adventure twice now. I will probly run it again in a few months as there seems to be a flow of new gamers at both locations that I game at. I do have a question about the adamantite chunk, can PCs trade theirs to other PCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by vasilie c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2017 12:51:06

This adventure is a ton of fun. A perfect mix of interesting characters, mystery, puzzles that players feel good solving, and interesting encounters. The only caveat I have is DM preparation. If you are the type of DM that likes to "wing it", this is not one I recommend for you. It is a complex adventure that definitely requires preparation to ensure a good player experience. If you come prepared, it is one of the most entertaining and fun adventures I've run so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2016 06:56:10

I ran this thrillogy (see what I did there?) 3 or 4 times at GenCon (DMAce) and every one of my tables seemed to have a blast, I think with very little prep it can be one of the best tier 1 modules that you can have. Some people complained about no magic items but its tier 1 people! The igots that you get could be better explained, can you buy other peoples? If not how do you get a adamantine greatsword?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Merric B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 06:31:00

A clever, entertaining adventure. Full review on merricb.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2016 09:18:14

The 2nd story award seem like they're missing a certificate to make it actually work, or it creates a new mechanic for the trading of non-magical items between PCs.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-01 CORE 1-1 A Scream in the Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2016 22:13:08

Top notch! Well edited. Definitely a non-traditional urban adventure. DMed this for a party of 6, APL 2, today. Everyone had a great time romping through Melvaunt. The twist at the end got all the players talking!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items