Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
the Pugilist Class $3.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
129 18
20 1
10 0
2 0
0 0
the Pugilist Class
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paolo R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2020 10:36:25

The more i read this class the more i love it. It's balanced, incredibily inspired and a lot of fun to play. No wonder it's Adamantine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2019 12:20:32

My favorite, I believe "mature" enough as I amaturelly boxed in Golden Globes in Rapid City, SD, a leading positive influence in our town, in our life, along with a ton of champion Souix Nation Indians. (THEM)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Taron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2019 01:29:36

I expressed all my opinions on my YouTube channel. Incredible class, love your work and looking forward to more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2019 05:15:46

Love this I feel the Sweet Science could be tweaked a bit but this module is pure genius just like everything else you've done



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2019 17:52:56

picked this up as I have been looking for a fist fighter... and wow this did not disappoint. well balanced and has lead to many funny and tence clutch moments. Great class, wonderful job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2019 02:52:59

Have a character that wanted to play the Dog & Hound pugilist in a campaign and she is in love with the class. Worth every cent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2018 11:33:34

Wow, what a comprehensive and original work! If you're suspicious at all about this feeling like a Monk, put that to rest because the Pugilist stands alone and will bring the brawl to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2018 22:34:03

This work is fantastic, it really brings to the table a possibility for some one to play a bare fisted fighter that can be applied to basically any setting of a game, without having to get into the far flung mystical flare of the monk. I and my friends have run this class over the past couple of years and we've not played it the same way twice, from a dwarven sailor, to a wizard with punching power and even a human gladiator. There is real potential for player's to run any type of brawler they want from fiction or reality.

Yet there is also resources for Dungeon Masters as well. The NPCs provided in this class can suddenly add a whole new arc onto any players stay in a city or possibilty of roaming bandit camps. Granting the players new challenges or allies instead of the run of the mill thugs or ruffians one might encounter, from simple bar brawls to fighting pits. Yet there is even more a DM can draw upon with the introduction of magic items that are useful not only to the pugilist but to PCs that can use such items, or to add even more onto a character, from equipment, to consumables, to even inkings on your character.

You and your table (or where ever you may play) will not be dissapointed with this class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2018 19:17:16

I would like to say that i have included a pugilist in almost every one of my campaigns since it first appeared on the DMG! I have been a long time fan of this class and avide supporter of its growth and usage in campaigns outside of my own. I wrote an article regarding the class that i am releasing today that i would love for you to check out! you can find it and my own other Dungeons and dragons related articles at Writingsbywilliam.wordpress.com! The article will be available to the public at 6pm PST today, 10/15/2018.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2018 17:41:20

This class is brilliant. As a DM, I adore it because of all the different ways it allows you to take the concept (which is a huge criticism I have with most subclasses feeling exactly the same). I love how it creatively creates a world where a "rest" no longer has to be 30 seconds of waiting for the one guy with a background to make a tapestry or something, and makes it much more interesting.

But I finally got to play it, and holy crap, it is even better as a player. I loved every option. I loved the mad rush to use my Moxie as much as possible before I got bloodied. I loved trying to survive blows as the meat shield by Bracing Up and drinking potions and hoping against hope that I survive just one more round so our rogue can steal the stupid scroll. I loved having to think about when to grapple as opposed to when to dish out damage. I loved trying to guess the AC of my opponents so I would know if it was worth Haymakering. And I loved just saying "ah, f' it!" and throwing haymakers anyway!

This class is a must for any group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jon S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 23:02:26

One of, if not my favorite pieces of homebrew, period. It's a solid, more grounded alternative to the monk, fairly balanced (the class is more fragile in practice than one might expect from reading the pdf) and I personally love the flavor of the class. And despite its surface resemblance to the monk (It's not hard to see that it was modelled around the Monk and its level progression) it plays remarkably different. The Pugilist is a glass cannon, positioning is critically important, treat cover like it's the love of your life!

It's a high risk, high reward class. You're 5 hp from a dirt nap, 1 moxie left in the tank, you have your enemy on the ground, under you, bucking and swinging for your head, Do you brace up and dig deep to survive a few more hits, dragging its sorry ass over to your buddies for a stomping, or do you go all-out, throwing 4 wild haymakers into it, turning it into a bloody smear as everyone around you cheers?

It still has a few kinks to iron out in my opinion but, all in all, It's my favorite class to play and I highly recommend it for anyone thats either looking for something new or an alternate option to a monk. Most fun I had with the class was playing the same group as an open-hand monk, the rivalry was awesome entertainement for everyone at the table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 00:24:27

An incredibly great class, filled with plenty of roleplaying opportunities. The class is extremely balanced, and even if you find an issue with it, the creator is always willing to discuss possible changes.

I played a Pugilist for many months, and loved every second of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nikolas T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2018 09:09:37

Very nice layout of abilities, looks fun to play and balanced :) will surely playtest it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 05:57:23

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The pugilist base class presented herein clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover/editorial, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.

The pugilist base class presented here gets 1d8 HD and proficiency in light armor, simple weapons, improvised weapons, whip and hand crossbow as well as artisan tools, gaming set or thieves’ tools. The class is proficient in both Strength and Constitution saves and you may choose two skills from Athletics, Acrobatics, Deception, Intimidation, Perception, Sleight of Hand, Stealth.

The pugilist gains fisticuffs at first level – a variant of the monk’s Martial Arts feature that increases the base damage die by one step – it begins at 1d6 and scales up to 1d12 for base damage and, akin to Martial Arts, the class feature does not gain the Dexterity modifier substitution. However, when using the Attack action to make an unarmed attack or pugilist weapon attack, you can make an unarmed attack or grapple as a bonus action. As a minor complaint: The rules-language here deviates slightly from the precedence of the monk here. Pugilist weapons are defined as simple weapons without the two-handed property. Weapons used as pugilist weapons do not benefit from the finesse property. Weird: The class gains the whip, but it is RAW not included in the pugilist weapons.

The class also uses Constitution modifier instead of Dexterity modifier to determine AC when wearing no armor or light armor, which is pretty potent. This would be as well a place as any to note that the rules-formatting is not always perfect: Attributes here are not capitalized. Starting at second level, you gain moxie points, 2, to be precise – and these are upgraded to up to 12 over the course of the progression of the class. Moxie points are replenished upon completing a short or long rest and three basic uses are presented. As a bonus action, you may spend 1 moxie point and roll your fisticuff dice, add pugilist level and Constitution modifier (why not proficiency bonus instead of class level?) to gain as many temporary hit points. After executing an Attack on your turn, you can spend a point for +2 unarmed strikes as a bonus action. Finally, as a bonus action, you may spend 1 point for a shove attack or Dash. 2nd level also nets you a form of streetsmarts – once you have partied in a settlement for 8 hours, you know the public locations as though born and raised there. Imho, this should have a variable formula to account for settlement sizes. I can see that for thorps etc. – but not for e.g. a metropolis like Sigil. At 13th level, after carousing thus for a night, you btw. gain advantage on Charisma (Persuasion) and Charisma (Intimidation) rolls in that settlement.

At 3rd level, when reduced to below ½ maximum hit points, you gain class level + Constitution modifier temporary hit points and regain all spent moxie points. This ability recharges on a short or long rest – and frankly, I think it should only replenish on long rests. At 9th level, you may also add proficiency bonus to damage for one minute when activating the feature, though this damage boost only recharges upon completing a long rest.

4th level and every 4 levels thereafter yield ability score improvements. Additionally, as a bonus action, you can grant yourself resistance to bludgeoning, piercing or slashing damage for 1 minute, but thereafter you gain a level of exhaustion. 5th level yields Extra Attack as well as the option to swing wild haymakers – you may only do that for attacks not suffering from disadvantage, since the ability imposes disadvantage on your attacks, but an attack that does connect hits for maximum die result damage. This is problematic when multiclassing or handling pugilist weapons that add damage dice to the damage caused. The ability would benefit from a caveat that makes it only apply to the fisticuff base damage.

At 6th level, unarmed strikes or pugilist weapon attacks are treated as magic and 7th level allows you to use your action to shake off the charmed or frightened conditions. 10th level yields resistance to psychic damage as well as advantage on saves versus the stunned or unconscious condition – weird: Shouldn’t this first apply to the incapacitated condition and then move on to the more potent ones?

At 14th level, you gain advantage on all three physical saving throws and whenever you fail a saving throw, you may spend 1 moxie (not even a reaction) point to reroll the save and take the second result. I am not sure whether this rebrand of Diamond Soul’s save rerolls should work for all saves. 15th level doubles carrying capacity, jump height and distance and when dealing damage to an inanimate object, damage is doubled – I assume before damage threshold? Or after that? At 18th level, when you have 4 levels of exhaustion or less and are reduced to 0 hit points, you regain ½ maximum hit points, ½ maximum moxie points and gain a level of exhaustion – with a long rest to recharge. 20th level yields a Strength and Constitution increase by 2 to a maximum of 22 and you recover 2 levels of exhaustion when taking a long rest and you also regain all expended hit dice.

At 3rd level, the class may choose a fight club, two of which are included herein. These net features at 3rd, 6th, 11th and 17th level. The first would be the squared circle nets 3 new uses for moxie points for reaction grapple breaks, using reactions in opportunity attacks to grapple foes or add knocking prone to grappling. At 6th level, when grappling, you can use your reaction upon being missed to make the grappled creature take potentially the hit. 11th level makes you count as one size larger for purposes of grappling (ouch!) and allows you to move at full speed while dragging/carrying grappled creatures and 17th level lets you score critical hits on rolls of 19 and 20 against targets you have grappled. Basically, a grapple specialist and its execution is pretty neat indeed.

The sweet science would be the second fight club, who learns to spend two moxie points as a reaction to reduce the damage of incoming attacks – once again, using class level as part of the formula, which may cause some purists to scowl. When reudicng an attack to 0 damage, you get a counter attack, which can be pretty cool. 6th level yields the option to, as a bonus action after hitting with the quasi-flurry, add another attack, but only if both attacks of the flurry hit – but interesting: The attack knocks the target prone instead of causing damage. 11th level nets you a regained moxie point when pulling off a counter attack. Due to the moxie cost of counter attempts, this remains kitten-abuse proof. Good! The 17th level ability lets you roll 3d12 + 1d12 per moxie point you expend when hitting a creature – if the result exceeds the creature’s hit points, you knock it unconscious for 10 minutes.

The class comes with multiclassing notes, 3 nice pugilist simple weapons as a couple of magic items: unarmored AC-bonus granting magic leather jerkins, an everfull stein (can I please have one IRL?) and the rerolls-granting loaded dice. An amulet grants you more temporary hit points whenever you gain them (which can be problematic), while fist-based weaponry can help dealing with fiends and undead. A rare potion provides a static damage boost for 1 minute and a grappling whip as well as thundering fist weapons can be found. The magic items, while not bad, feel a bit focused on number-bonuses.

Oh well, the pdf closes with a sample challenge ½, 3 and 5 NPC making use of some of the rules.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good on a formal level. On a rules-language level, this is pretty impressive as well, often tackling complex concepts rather well. Layout adheres to the 2-column full-color standard established by the PHB, with solid art-choices. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf comes with a second, printer-friendly version –kudos!!

Benjamin Huffman, with support by Ners, has created a class for all those folks who want Rocky, not a WuXia dude jumping around. One of my players loves the concept of martial artists, but hates the whole Eastern mysticism etc. – and this delivers. Emphasizing Strength and some SERIOUS damage-soaking abilities, the pugilist presented herein is less flexible and versatile in his tricks than the monk, but more potent at the same time – whether you like that or not is a matter of taste. I actually thought it’d be worse and plays better than I expected – while I am not the biggest fan of using PF’s class levels and basically 4th ed’s bloodied style mechanics to trigger some of the abilities, and while I wished it tried to use formulae akin to those employed by the base classes, but it does work out and this complaint is mostly aesthetic.

Note that the class is pretty potent and will eclipse the monk’s straight damage output, but lag behind in other disciplines., and I am not the biggest fan of the magic items presented herein – but the matter of the fact remains that this pdf is PWYW, which allows you to check this out and then judge for yourself whether this is worth getting. My final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars – and while the imperfections would make me usually round down, I’ll round up due to the fair PWYW-offering.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Esteban R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2017 17:06:28

It's a superb class, specially for those who want to be a brawler but don't really like or want the monk fluff. It's nice to have a barefisted fighter that don't rely on dexterity, and the two archetypes are nice. I'm wanting to use them as base gladiators on the Fralia world, and the main "martial artists" instead of monks. It's to be seen if there is any balance issue on a playtest, but overall it seems sensible enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items