Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 17
3 19
1 2
0 0
0 0
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Click to view
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rat K. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 15:23:35

SO FUN! High sense of mystery and horror. A quick adventure to run that doesn't feel like it has no substance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2018 02:44:49

Run this quite a few times now. Was a good one for my son to start DMing at the local store. It's quite straight forward, but has some interesting elements to it that can throw the players in a loop.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 04:00:19

This adventure almost always runs long. The adventurers are new to Barovia in this module. The RP in the village will take more than the 15 min allowed if you don't totally railroad it. It's fun to play up the cuteness of the wolf pup to make the characters want to take him. Part 2a has what will feel like random encounters so you'll want to go thru them quickly. Encounters 3 & 5 are probably the most fun. At the campsight, you might consider roleplaying out the investigation rather than doing the skill checks because it's more fun if the players have all the clues. The same applies to the interaction with the elves. In part 2c I enjoyed running the fight with the Elk and zombies but you might not have time so you should emphasize that they don't notice the adventurers so the party could by-pass this encounter or at least speed it up with a surprise round. The encounter with the old woman was a lot of fun especially since the characters suspected her of being a hag. In the final boss fight you should emphasize the pathos of Alina's situation and encourage the characters to capture rather than kill Alina. This makes the conclusion more perfectly Barovian.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2018 04:03:51

good story, the players are with horror in the first encounter hehe, maybe longer i think....

regards bager



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JD N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2018 21:00:31

I ran this at a convention and we had fun with it, although I definitely recommend running this when you aren't on a time crunch. I had to cut short the roleplay opportunities in Orașnou and with the elves, which was disappointing because RP is my favorite part of gameplay.

Pro

  • Having choices for the encounters in part 2 allows tailoring the module to the group you're running for and the time you have available.
  • Great atmosphere throughout. Players who were unfamiliar with Barovia got caught up in the ominous weather / unsettling landscape.
  • The adjustments for a very strong party in the final encounter work well. Having to save against exhaustion every round made the situation much more dire once half the party took a level or three. If you want to challenge your players, I suggest leaving Alina's stats alone and just inserting the creeping and exhausting fog.

Con

  • Module is difficult to run within a 2-hour time frame. It's doable, but it's tough.
  • Although the handwritten appearance of the player handout is nice, it's difficult to read.
  • Maps for the encounters in part 2 would have been helpful.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:43:47

This adventure was fun. It wasn't the greatest one I've ever run, but I enjoyed the players' confusion about the events until the last minute when they found the journal in the cave.

Part 2 was weird. Having a bunch of different encounters seemed really weird. Additionally, the timeline on the blizzard was really confusing, and I basically ruled that the players made it to the cave just in time, and then spent the night there to wait out the blizzard.

Three Pillars breakdown:

Hard to do, honestly. It depends heavily on what you choose/roll for Part 2, so you have great latitude in controlling your ratio. Here's what my group ended up with:

Combat: 40%, 3/5: I picked "Bad Dogs" for Part 2c, and the fight was... balanced, but uninteresting. The last fight was very underwhelming, despite using the Very Strong adjustment

Exploration: 20%, 5/5: Very little in the way of exploration. Basically the only thing the players have to explore is the campsite, which is written fantastically. I enjoyed asking each player how they want to look around, and using their description to pick a skill and give them information. I also used "This Does Not Belong Here" for Part 2a, so there was a bit more exploration/investigation. My players enjoyed the tambourine

Roleplay: 40%, 4/5: The roleplay with the elves and in the final encounter were compelling and set the theme for Barovian adventures. Death, starvation, cold, pain, sorrow, regret, etc. Fantastic themes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 15:20:26

Quite a nice module to DM.

The roleplay portion is quite interesting (introducing characters to the village of Orasnou for the first time), the forest exploration really sets up the tone of that season, and the final battle puts a good horror ambiance to the session.

It ties in pretty well with the other adventures of this season, which is especially great if the following adventure, DDAL04-03, is ran right afterward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2017 13:10:17

This is a fun adventure but it is very easy to TPK. The story can be a little confusing to the party and I have had to pause the game to give follow ups/clues in order to make it understandable.

Overall, this is an enjoyable adventure with a few tough fights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2017 01:23:10

This is one of my more enjoyable adventures to DM. The patron’s request to search for a couple truly pulls at good characters since one is close to giving birth and with the knowledge of time being against the party, they have a sense of urgency to hustle. During the first encounter, all but the bandit one seems relevant to the story, due to the furs that they have with them. A combat is better here than exploration since it makes the party nervous, if not paranoid, during the encounter after the campsite. At the campsite, the elves are slightly out of place. It is possible to ignore them, if the party find enough clues, especially the wolf tooth and dagger. For the second encounter, either combat or exploration is good. If short on time, exploration is definitely better. My favorite was the old woman, as the party will likely expect a combat due to paranoia, even with high insight rolls. The final encounter is good. Since the Dark Gift is present, you don’t need to pull punches with rolls. If a character becomes infected, the Dark Powers are a great way to get rid of that if they die, making the encounter flexible. The epilogue is excellent, especially due to the moral dilemma give to Lawful Good characters. The grimness of the ending truly makes this world feel different. Overall, I find this an excellent linear adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chloe S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2017 14:11:55

The Beast was a good adventure to run, and fun for the players. It is scheduled to only be two hours long, and unlike some "two hour" adventures, this one can be fit in a two hour session, with advice on how to expand it timewise by roleplaying the creepiness in the forest. I really like the potential to weaken the final encounter by using possible lore from the beginning of the adventure (even if my PCs did not do that). I also like the replayability by having semi-random encounters in the forest. The ending is sad no matter what the players do, but with an adventure in Barovia that is to be expected.

If there is any problem with this scenario, it is the fact that this adventure effectively traps the character in Barovia until they can escape. So if you have a character you want to play in other adventures, make sure you have enough downtime to exit the Mists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 19:52:42

This adventure is great fun to run. the orginization is quite good, and the story is a heart wrencher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lee T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 07:23:49

This was the first AL that I have choose to do as a DM. The tail was one of plesently unpleasent misfortune. The is multiple ways this story can unfold and many hidden mechanics that influence the battles. There are a few opertunities for roleplaying, even more depending on encounters one chooses.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 17:52:17

This module was great because it was incredibly tragic (which is appropriate for Barovia), as well as pulling at your heartstrings and really had the characters make moral decisions, which I hadn't seen a lot of, up until here. I also appreciate the length, as it makes it easy to run and manage. Finally, the recurring storyline of the guy being an identifiable person through was very nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:48:28

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 225-300

The overall story woven between all fourteen modules is called 'Misty Fortunes and Absent Hearts' and is relatively strong overall, but suffers for a couple reasons. The final module probably wasn't written at the time the first was released, so they couldn't or didn't want to spill some of the meta information that DMs would have LOVED to have. In the early modules things would occur 'deus ex machina' and even the DM wouldn't have a clue as to why.

If you're planning on running these, i HIGHLY recommend buying the bundle, reading the DDAL04-14 (The Dark Lord) Adventure Overview on pages 7-8 to see where everthing is heading ... and then reading each module's Overview in turn before running everything. This will help you greatly.

If you start with the first module you'll have enough XP to level up, stay within the module tiers and make it all the way to the 14th module. Afterwards you could always play a few chapters of the Curse of Strahd Harcover and then leave Barovia behind.

Before running any Season 4 module, you should download the following content:

  • dndadventurersleague.org/barexit-escaping-the-mists-of-barovia/
  • dndadventurersleague.org/curse-of-strahd-backgrounds/
  • DMSGUILD: DDAL04 Expanded Dark Gifts Table [OPTIONAL CONTENT]

Season 4 initially couldn't leave the Demiplane of Dread until the very end, but the Admins later introduced the 'Barexit' mechanic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-02 The Beast (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2017 17:13:20

Of course, this has all the usual issues of a season-4 module called "just run them all together, and/or as interludes during the module"

But outside of that, there's a story that exists outside the PCs. The PCs actions impact that. The story's theme is in line with the season ("you can't always get what you want"). There's tragedy to discover, and tragedy to mitigate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items