Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 7
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Henrique A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2018 19:42:10

Great module. Lots of potential for RP, but can be complicated if you have 6+ PC's and need to get everyone involved. Some time-keeping required. Deadly encounter at end, could get a PC immediately killed, so proceed with caution on it.

Would definitely suggest to run as a 4-hour module if you have the time, as the NPCs presented are rather key to the entirety of Tier 1 adventures for Season 3. Have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 01:35:49

This adventure is AMAZING. A 2-hour module with enough roleplay details that can be easily stretched out to 4 hours (which is what I would recommend, the RP opportunities really are worth the time).

The roleplay encounters are designed in a way that players (or characters) who are into RP will thrive in them, whilst player (or characters) who aren't that interested in RP would not be penalised.

The final combat is thematically appropriate, challenging, AND contained a great plot twist, leaving the players wondering what would happen next. I highly recommed DMs prepare this module as your "emergency T1 module". Both new and old players will enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Pôl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 22:53:59

An enjoyable adventure. It can be finished within the recommended two hours with a little focus, but it's easy enough to stretch it out longer if you're so inclined. Plenty of space for exploration and roleplaying for the groups who want it.

Warning! The rest of this review contains SPOILERS!

The premise - an infiltration mission into the xenophobic city of Hillfar - is a great opportunity for characters to improvise and problem-solve. In my experience, there's enough to do even for characters who are usually combat-heavy.

A few recommendations for DMs:

  • If you think you may be short on time, you can start in media res with the rat swarm fight in the sewers. Then, introduce the mission in flashback.

  • It can be difficult to make each member of the First Lord's inner circle distinctive. If you have time, bring some Paizo face cards or other fantasy portraiture to use as props, so it's easy for players to remember each of them.

  • In the scene where a character spies on Thessaly with the sending stone, have her destroy it with a draining kiss. It makes more sense than her crushing it in her hands with her strength of 8.

I especially appreciate that the adventure has given some though into what happens if the PCs get discovered. The adventure could turn from an infiltration mission to a tense chase scene at any moment, completely changing the story while remaining fun and engaging.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:57:42

Personally, I had a blast whether I was a player or a DM. Quite a bit of RP at the beginning, and a really big fight at the end. Quite honestly, you could easily TPK in the boss fight. I love to reward inspiration if players get into the RP, and my group went whole hog. Every one of my players had at least 1 inspiration, which they all used in the boss fight (mainly for saves). The final fight can be scaled according to your group, as all DDEX modules can be, but forcing PC vs. PC combat can get really weird for a group if they are not experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:17:59

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 450-600 Note: WotC/DDAL doesn't do ANY cleanup or editing, even when blatant errors are pointed out.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2017 16:32:01

This is the first part of a two-parter, and it's definitely a fun change of pace! I will try to keep this relatively spoiler-free, but players should probably just know that we really enjoyed this module and it's not all fighting.

What I liked

Unlike most AL modules, this primarily will test the characters (and players) ability to handle social situations as well as explore their environment to carry out infiltration and espionage assignments. It does this pretty well for the most part, including some pretty memorable scene setting. The fact that the adventure includes - and in fact needs - no maps whatsoever helps with this, because we can run it in "theater of the mind".

In almost all situations, the adventure has a fairly open design, encouraging the DM to reward the players' creativity and come up with their own solutions. This will keep everyone on their toes as the adventure proceeds, but that also means everyone works together to create and tell a cohesive, interesting story. Related to this: the adventure has explicit failure conditions! The players can do what they like, but if they make poor choices, they could find themselves on the outs with little to nothing as a reward other than the fun of play itself.

The module does include some combat, and the final fight provided a lot of entertainment. A few "WTF!" moments from the players really cemented that for me - it was a well-balanced fight for five characters between levels 2 and 4. (Hint: clerics and paladins can really shine!)

What I didn't like

Despite the openness, the adventure starts off with a pointless "roll to continue" mechanic. What happens if the players fail the investigation roll? That would be boring and the game session would last less than five minutes. Bleh. Also, the use of spell scrolls to get them into the Tower misunderstands how that mechanic works, because any class without that spell on their list (and indeed any non-spellcasters) can't use those scrolls.

Tips and conclusion

The above are minor nitpicks. I replaced the scrolls with a frail old bard who just needed to cast one seeming. Also, the main event seems to take place at Midsummer, but the next module (Death on the Wall) keeps talking about heavy snow. You can either move this module to Midwinter or change the references in the next module to rain (I chose the latter).

This provides an epic penultimate session for the storyline and I really recommend it to groups looking for something other than "I look for traps around the door" and "I swing my sword at the monster".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2017 15:55:08

A fun module. As others have said, completely able to turn this into an all social, no combat module (that's not a bad thing)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:25:40

Hillsfar Reclaimed is a good adventure for players who are more into the roleplaying aspect of D&D. Not much combat if you do roleplay well. If you do go into combat it will probably not end well for the players if they charge into the situation. Overall, a decent adventure with lots of opportunity for roleplay and a introduces the players to a new story line within the Rage of Demons. The adventure is recommended for players that like to roleplay and do the sneaky stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items