Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
 
$15.00 $9.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 9
0 3
1 0
0 0
1 1
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Click to view
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2017 16:03:15

This was my favorite campaign setting from yesteryear and now that my kids are playing I purchased it againas a PDF for convenience. It's easier to use the books than the original paper books were because of the indexing. The maps, however, are not scanned at the same default scale as each other. It takes a little work to get them to the same size so theyline up with each other. Also, they are difficult to print at a legible scale on most printers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Forest B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2016 14:21:42

The scans are good quality, except for one thing. The map scans show no quality control. The originals were identically sized in the boxed set and could be mounted side-by-side, were scanned as two different resolutions in this PDF (22.18 x 34.85 in and 26.04 x 40.47 in, respectively). So much for printing in color and framing as poster to recreate the original. I would not have bought had I known how far off it was...and since its PDF, I cannot even attempt to scale it in Photoshop. Wish I could refund, is of no use to me as is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2016 13:38:51

There are actually several revised version of this and gobs of 2nd Edition content for Greyhawk, but this the one I owned and I was very happy to get it back. The map scans are crisp and clean and the descriptions are descriptive, but not overly precise. Plenty of room to role play without needing to worry about the history of the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2015 10:08:27

Greyhawk is still the best D and D setting for me. I love the fact that are several bad guys in the world and the open format of the descriptions. These inspire you as DM to create detailed areas in the world for your own campaigns that Can be seasoned as you Think a campaigncampaigns should be seasoned.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2015 12:33:49

These scans are nice, although since they are derived from an analog (non-digital) work, they do not look as good as the modern (digitally published) books do. However, having said that, I think these scans are about as good as you're going to get with current technology, and when I did a test print (I printed page 4 of the first book, "Eastern Oerik in Relation to...") and compared it to the actual 30+ year old book that I still have in my "vintage" D&D collection, and I couldn't tell the difference. Bravo!

As for the maps, when you zoom in on them, they are very clear at both 200% and 300% magnification, which is perfect for just about any game-related purpose. You can easily make out place names, map markings, and hex borders at those magnifications. Again, these maps were originally analog (paper) entities, so you can see the flaws (creases in the paper, slight printing imperfections, etc.) but these flaws are MINOR, and are EASILY overlooked, considering how useful the famous Darlene maps are to us Greyhawk aficionados.

The file sizes are small (10, 13, and 10 MB, respectively) which is great for being able to import them to a mobile device. (I have them on my iPhone 5.) That's the best thing about any PDF book, is the portability; I used to carry around a big, heavy, dufflebag full of D&D books. Now, I just whip out either my phone or my iPad, and BAM, I'm good to go.

Overall, these scans are superb, and for $9.99, you cannot go wrong. Hooray for DnDClassics! Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2015 04:57:08

It contains all of the information that was in the original boxed set. Great for anyone launching a traditional DnD campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2015 08:44:02

Brings back all the great memories of hours wasted as a youth planning the conquest of Grayhawk with our adventuring party.

Everything is there and ready to use. The map is meticulously reproduced and all the information on the various kingdoms, duchies, and evil empires is there ready to be brought back to life.

The old group is coming together again via Fantasy Grounds so having it in PDF form allows me to quickly set up material for our online games. We are also going to be replaying some of the old modules in Grayhawk as well.

You can't go wrong picking this up if you are an old-timer for the rekindled memories or if you are new, this is PERFECT to show you how it all started by the Master of D&D!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Davide Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2007 00:00:00

Wonderful. It's PURE fantasy. It's classic fantasy. It's Gary Gygax.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2006 00:00:00

I couldn't afford this and the new Monster manual back in the 80s when I was mowing lawns. This is some great, classic stuff. It's fun just to have and to read. Highly recommended.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2004 00:00:00

What a classic of great background and terrible layout. I really miss my old box set, but I have this to gaze upon! Ah... memories... it was 1983 wen I bought mine... middle school... you never forget your first fantasy world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2004 00:00:00

Absolutely fantastic to get the original box set in PDF... I even printed out the maps... A fantastic way to get something that is out of print I had been searching for and seeing ridiculous prices for the Maps alone on Ebay... glad I can get all this stuff that occupied many hours in the old school heyday. Now it can keep my imangination company in middle age... From the mind of the orignator... E. Gary, an incredible world! Glad I found this site, seaching for "The World OF Greyhawk" online.. and the original was $18.00 in the 1980s~! Very, very pleased, I am. As someone else said, a fantastic way to pick up out of print material. In my opinion, the very best campaign setting ever designed is Oerth, and this is the set where it all begins... now, to buy Wars, and From The Ashes...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2004 00:00:00

It's all here: the original campaign setting for AD&D campaigns! The books are there, the glossography, and, "Yes, Virginia," the maps! However, this is where I find that the scans fall down a bit.

The maps are scanned full-page, so you will have to select the "fit to page" option, when you print them off. Secondly, they were not scanned consistently, so you will be forced to assemble them piece-meal, and I am uncertain whether they will form up with holes in different areas -- I haven't printed them all off yet, so assembly is questionable (I recommend either printing them on cardstock, or mounting them on a board). Thirdly, to make out the city symbols (so you can recognize which city is a capital...), you will have to set your printer for "Best Quality" output, burning up a horrendous amount of ink. Find a supplier of ink cartridge refill kits, and save yourself hundreds (literally!) of dollars!

The year is listed as 988 CY, which is almost 400 years later than the dates listed in, "Greyhawk: The Adventure Begins", volume. This is a bit confusing, as the "Greyhawk: The Adventure Begins", volume, discusses the world of Greyhawk, AFTER the 'War of Greyhawk' has ended, in the years, 588-590 CY!

All of that aside, you get the entire set for $4.95! I tried to buy a copy off of e-Bay, but they always sold for $15+! The scans show bleed-through from the back sides of the pages, and you will likely need to up the print quality on your printer to make the pages readable, but it is still a steal of a deal for the price. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Harley S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2004 00:00:00

Some of the best "flavor" text ever written. When I was 9 I thought Greyhawk really existed. Who else would have written such a detailed historical account?

Classic Gygax. Makes you wish you could have been there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items