Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
A Boy and his Modron Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
22 23
5 2
1 0
2 0
0 0
A Boy and his Modron
Click to view
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2018 15:54:29

One of the greatest one-shots I've ever read. I know this campaign wasn't advised for beginning DM's because of the heavy role playing aspect, but the campaign was so wonderfully written, with a great amount of detail, I simply couldn't pass on this. It was an absolute hit with my group. The characters were incredibly memorable, and the level of role playing the encounters opened up was incredible. All the characters were so well developed. My group somehow managed to push Vyzaxx through the portal and he has now become an overarching side villain in my campaign. Awesome work, please write more, I loved this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by william o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 14:38:37

My party loved this module. I dropped it into my campaign as some filler and it was very easy to run. My party sometime needs me to push them in the right direction but for this they were so wrapped up in the story they move it along. I recommend this for any DM that has some interplanar components to their campaign. It would also be a good way to introduce the planes to a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2018 14:36:41

Very well-done. I love that there are powerful beings that have no problem destroying the party in one action, and impossible for them to kill, being part of the story. That makes the whole thing realistic. Having to deal with problems creatively has really challenged my lovable murderhobos.

My party hated Tobbi, and how wholesome he was. They were gnashing at the bit to simply find the gate and kick the modron through it. The man, who wasn't what he seemed, really threw them for a loop, because they couldn't kill him. They are considering going back to him after completing the quest to find more work. I get the feeling they are an evil group, maybe neutral evil, and willing to work for the highest bidder. Amazing what an RPG brings out in people you think you know. I'm a little disturbed by their responses to the moral quandaries in this adventure.

The ending was poignant, yet could lead to several follow-on adventures. You should totally write a short intro adventure to Sigil, or Mechanus, to add onto this tale.

8/10 with rice. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Whit S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 10:41:47

My friends adored A Boy and his Modron. They quickly grew attached to the adventurous Tobbi, and one of my players even cried at the end. This is a great, cute, and fun adventure. Worth a buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, that's about the best praise an author can ask for :-) Who knows, maybe we'll get to see more of Tobbi soon!
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stuart M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2018 18:58:54

My group lapped this adventure up! I love the sense of dealing with forces far beyond the party's ability while they're still at a lower level, letting them get a taste of the chaos to come. There's a lot of room for variation here, while still maintaining a basically linear story.

Some highlights from when I ran it:

  • I swapped the roles of Ma and Pa, making Ma the exasperated head-of-house with a useless, distant husband. One of the players ended up flirting with her and taking her out for a drink, where they learnt more about her fears of Tobbi leaving.
  • The players subdued one of the guards on the lower level of the ziggurat, and got the low-down on what was going on. They convinced Vizzax they were trying to join his army, which of course he didn't question too much given how desperate he was for more recruits. The rouse worked and they nearly launched a surprise attack, but then the player with the planar key stepped towards the gate and opened the portal, giving the whole thing away!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 23:19:24

Top tier one-shot D&D

I can't praise A Boy and His Modron highly enough. This is everything you want from a one shot D&D game - memorable characters, a story with real heart, rollicking comedy, meaningful decisions, a focus on roleplaying - and everything laid out in a highly readable and easy-to-follow manner. It cleverly uses familiar tropes to cue players to their roles, but they're tropes more at home in an 80s family tearjerker than your average D&D game, and they're used here to great comedic and emotional effect. Also, it has modrons.

This would be highly recommendable as a premium price module, but given it's a pay-what-you-want release it's just a shame there's not a sixth star to rate it with. Definitely run this one ASAP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mayson A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 03:17:36

Made my players cry at the end. Definately recommend, even if you aren't doing a super planar heavy campaign. It slots in well, and is very well written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2017 14:32:34

Ran this as a one shot for 3 level 3 characters. We had a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kylie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 17:17:12

I ran this for 4 level 2 players at the start of our campaign and they loved it. A really nice mix of combat and social interaction and the emotional connection between Tobbi and 31 Squared really landed well with them. Razi has turned into an excellent NPC to have around as well. Definitely reccomend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 22:11:18

An awesome, fun adventure. Thoughorly enjoyable to run for my players.

When I originally downloaded there were few maps - just the final area. I can see the writers have updated with more maps - my only 'critisim' would be to also supply these as separate files so that DM's can print them out at 1" squares easily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 11:08:31

I ran this yesterday for a party of 5 level 2 players (Fighter, Ranger, Rogue, Druid, Warlock) and we had a great time. This is an exceptional adventure with a great mix of combat, exploration, and roleplaying. Offers the DM a chance to play several amazing NPC characters; my players loved 31 Squared, Tobbi, and Razi. The story manages to be both surprising and logical, and is refreshingly different from standard fare. Playing time was right around 4 hours at a relaxed pace. The players were never in any serious danger of losing any of the fights (well, except the unwinnable one), so I might consider beefing up some of the enemies if I ran it again (they also had a couple of really lucky rolls early in the final fight). I did cut the mud mephits as it felt like one combat too many between the wasps and the ziggurat fights. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 21:48:39

This was great! I've been looking over the adventure for several weeks now, but was waiting until after I'd ran it to leave my review. I really liked the format, and it actually gave me a bit of inspiration on how to write up some starting adventures for my homebrew campaign. I was surprised to find that pretty much everything went exactly according to plan. Start to finish, it took my group about 4.5 hours. The only real workaround they used, was a Wizard casting invisibility on himself, and Nat 20ing a sleight-of-hand check to steal some hair from the ogre while he was eating. I did think at first that three combat encounters right before the final boss was a bit of a harsh resource burn for a low level party, but my four level threes managed to finish the job with only one member unconcious. Thanks for a great time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jimmy h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2017 21:46:48

Great story. Fun to run. My players were sad to separate the boy from his friend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 14:36:29

Incredibly thorough adventure. Haven't run it (yet), but was surprised by the level of detail throughout. Could easily be used to start a campaign - there's many plot hooks and ideas that allow for expansion from this. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rudolf A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2017 05:45:40

At first - upon downloading - I was impressed. Good writing, interesting plot with this low-level "we help peasants" feel, couple encounters of varying style and difficulty. Adventure I could use as an oppening warm up for my new campagin. And then - I played... This adventure did not survive crash test of meeting my players. It wasn't all that bad, but enough to lower my overall opinion from 5 to 4 stars.

WARNING! FOLLOWING PART OF THE REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! The whole concept of the adventure is that party is a group of outsiders posing as carpenters and vets. The problem one of my playes had was that all those emotional moments of the adventure didn't move him as much as they could, because his character did not really have a reason to care about Toby. If the party would be from that town, knowing Toby as a boy who they sometimes employed to run errands. That Razi guy, somehow sleezy but borrowing them money or employing them from time to time - a devil? Whaaaat? On the other hand - "we are carpenters, move along" wouldn't work, cause Duncar also would be aware who they are.

My party also completely ignored the fight with the Ogre. He hit his head on the branch? Well... There HAVE to be some hair on that branch. That actually might have been intended (otherwise the whole story about Yorthab and the branch would be pointless waste of space). But the other "key fight" - with Razi - they felt really railroaded, and felt like nothing they did made any difference. They knew they didn't stood a chance, and were painfully aware that that fight was scripted. It left them frustrated and displeased. This script as well as couple more turning points of the adventure lacked subtelty in such briefly build setting (time frame for the adventure is pretty tight).

I also felt adventure is missing stats for key characters (including the Modron). SPOILERS OVER!

Although it might seem that I focused mainly on the drawbacks, we had fun overall. Previous reviewers rightfully pointed out all positive sides of this adventure, and I do agree that with some minor fixes it is a great filler or starting point for a new campagin.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items