Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
 
$9.99 $6.69
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 37
13 16
3 4
1 2
0 4
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to view
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Patrick A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2018 09:26:00

Ah, my personal "Holy Grail" that I foolishly let slip away years ago is finally back in my hands (honestly don't remember how it all happened, but I believe a bad relationship was involved, ha)! ❤ True, it's a POD version and not the EXACT same as having an original, but it's new, affordable, and the feelings of completeness are wonderful. I tried getting by with just the PDF as well as the Dark Dungeons RPG (an OSR retro-clone of the RC...nice alternative and might be well worth it to some), but for me, it honestly just wasn't the same. Am MOST pleased to be reunited! ☺



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 06:28:37

This is a complete game in one book. Character creation, Combat and Evasion, Endgame castle and dominion rules, along with Mass Combat rules for when your castle is attacked, Treasure, Spells, Monsters, Maps of Mystara (a campaign setting), Alternate Rules, Conversions for AD&D -- this book has it all. If you wanted one easy to access and price friendly volume for a ruleset built on the OD&D rules then this is it.

I own an original hardback of this book, but wanted a tablecopy. So I purchased a paperback POD copy that was solid, with no blurriness. My only complaint was the lack of page numbers ... I just cannot believe they didn't include pagination.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jean-Paul T.
Date Added: 07/23/2018 10:41:34

This review is for the pdf version only. The quality is bad with either new or old scan. I would have expected way more from WoTC. I've seen online pdf scanned with more quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Randall C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 21:24:51

I ordered a PoD copy of this book and just got it Friday. I have to say it is an excellent book. All of the OD&D rules are here with most of the character classes so its a one stop for OD&D gaming. I am very impressed with the PoD itself. I ordered the hard copy in color and I definately got my money's worth on this purchase. The scan used is clean and crisp enough for regular gaming. The clearness of the print probably isn't as nice as an original copy but those books are few and far in between and command a steep price for a good condition copy. The PoD version is perfectly servicable and comes in at only a fraction of the cost of a good condition original. The only parts that appear blurry, at least to me, are the tables that appear from time to time in the text. However they are still quite legible and servicable. The PoD is in my opinion well worth the money spend!

If you've been sitting on the wall about getting this then I would recommend that you jump in especially with the Christmas in July sale going on. The 25% discount eats up most of the shipping which is a serious boon here. So go for it and grab this lovely gem because you'll be happy with the product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 22:26:58

I now finally own a print copy of the Rules Cyclopedia. I had the BECMI box sets so I never really thought this product was any use to me. I thought it was just a cash grab at the time of release. I was wrong. This is a great book and I am pleasently surprised with the quality of the hard cover reprint. It is a big book and the print is sized to fit alot in. I now see why RC is so popular. My box sets can stay in their shelf. I am really happy with my purchase and impressed with DriveThru RPG service. I have all ready ordered more bits and pieces that are missing from my collection X2, X8, CM3, CM7. I am interested to see how these turn out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by kemper s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 10:35:35

Got the hardcover, print on demand version. Very nice. Great version of the game, very playable with expansive rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ameer B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2018 19:17:01

BLURRY PRINTING The physical quality of the book is good however, the print quality is fairly mediocre. The resolution is way below 600 dpi (I would guess around 200 dpi) making the text appear somewhat blurry. It appears to also be printed with an ink-based color printer of some sort. Another factor is probably the low resolution of the particular scan they are printing from. Despite the aforementioned issues, the book is usable and fairly well made.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 14:04:12

The PDF Is great, and very usable, espeically if you want to snip text and things for your own printouts.

The POD is amazing looking. It took almost a month to get here as they sent me 2 Unearthed Arcana book incorrectly, but it seems they've fixed the issue. That said, the printed book is easily worth the money. Its crisp and well put together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lloyd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 12:16:53

BLURRY print. The scan is very unclear and causes headaches to read. The general content is wonderful of course... but the reprint is a fiasco to read.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 12:51:40

This review is for the quality of the book itself and not so much the contents or rules themselves.

I received my copy today. For those who had the original, by looking at the cover it's fairly obvious this is a reprint, but a very nice looking one. Someone who never had the original to compare it to probably wouldn't notice. It's very slick and shony and quite attractive. The back cover has a big ding in it - a very noticeable one - from where one of the mail people obviously dropped or threw the package. Although I'm not angry about this, and based on some other reviews, kind of expected it, I have to echo those other reviews in that, for the price, they could have used a little bubble wrap to prevent this.

As for the interior, the pages are thick and durable-looking, though I want to keep water from from it as it looks like a drop of water could do a lot of damage to these kinds of pages! The book opened with a satisfying crack. Some of the pages are slightly blurrier than others but after skimming and flipping through a few times I didn't see any particularly bad ones. Overall the print quality was fine, the green color bars above tables seem about right, and the full-color maps in the back are beautiful, and will be useful to me in other games as well since I often run in the world of Mystara regardless of version or edition being used. I do wonder why a scanned PDF had to be used at all; if this is being done by permission of WotC, doesn't WotC own the original proofs or whatever? Couldn't they have provided these instead of forcing the printer to use a scanned PDF? In any case, the quality is still quite good, and wasn't close to as jarring or shaky as some reviewers made me afraid it would be. It was certainly crisp enough for me to read.

Overall I would give it 5 stars but the bad packaging leading to a damaged product detracted slightly, as does my question about the need to use a scanned PDF at all. In reality I would probably give it 4 1/2 if I could. I'm quite pleased with the product and it even makes me want to run a classic D&D game sometime.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 19:44:04

Just got the POD ersion last week and finally had a chance to review, the pront is verry blurry amd some pges so blurry that it gives me a headache to read.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gregg L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 08:25:15

I ordered the Print On Demand version and got it 2/12/18. Bashed corners due to inadequate packing when mailed (that's what happens with only a cardboard wrapper for protection), and the printing on my spine isn't centered well. I've requested a replacement, so we'll see how it looks when I receive it.

The binding is excellent, and the pages are thick and have a nice weight (but aren't glossy, like the newer rulebooks). While the print quality is good, it's far from perfect. Granted it's perfectly readable, but when you take a close look, you can easily tell it's a scan, since the text is not sharp, and the boxes images are in can have jagged lines since they were not scanned straight (although some pages fair better than others). Take a look at the full sized sample pdf and you'll know what to generally expect.

Be aware that while well organized, it's not as tightly written as modern rulebooks. For example, regaining hit points for resting has been left out (although it's in the Moldvay and Mentzer Basic books). Also, on page 102 it says you can't do two things in one round, and on the next page it says you can move your full speed and attack in the same round. There are many more examples, all thoroughly examined by the community, if you'd like to investigate.

It doesn't matter much to me though. I've spent the weekend going through it, and it's a fun read, especially to see what changes they made between it and older B/X/BECMI rulesets. I own the Moldvay Basic and Cook Expert box sets, and while I'm not sure anyone needs the extra stuff that's in the RC, it is nice to have if you want to experience the history of D&D. So if you want to own a hard copy of this ruleset, and have no interest in spending whatever absurd amount of money people are asking for an original copy, it's a no brainer...get it (4/5 for quality of scan and rules inconsistancies).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 22:38:26

Ordered the POD hardcover. The print quality is poor. The letters are blurry instead of crisp.

It looks like a crappy print from an old inkjet printer that has a bad alignment. Blurred and ghosted text abound.

Disappointing, especially concerning the cost of the print.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cory W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2017 12:53:55

This is an incredible book for those who want to go back to the basics for roleplay. It has all the special rules for a ton of situations for you to geek out with and remember your early days in the hobby! I can't say enough how much I enjoy having this book and the fun we're going to have with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:06:27

This is a good scan of the product. The text is clear, and I cannot see any evidence of anti-aliasing or blurring of the letters when zoomed in. These two PDFs work fine on my old, underpowered tablet, zoomed in on my phone, and on my Kindle (not all PDFs sold here load quickly and work properly on these three devices). The bookmarks are well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items