Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
 
$9.99 $8.49
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
76 41
17 17
4 4
2 3
0 4
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to view
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 18:21:22

Five stars for the contents, and five stars for the print on demand product quality. The Rules Cyclopdiea is widely regarded as THE best single-volume D&D-related book ever made, so it easily earns five stars for content. But I was somewhat hesitant to order the print on demand version, because I've heard multiple reports of blurry text. But the hardcover was on sale for $23.99, so I took a gamble and ordered my copy on May 1st 2019. The product arrived exactly two weeks later. And the print on demand print quality is surprisingly excellent. The book features nice dark crisp print, with no blurriness whatsoever. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great book, great price, great quality. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2019 01:15:18

In reading many comments by customers, I approached this order with great trepidation- both in general and in regards to this specific book. This is my first order from this site, so I am offering a sort of log of my overall experience for the sake of any other new customer who may be as cautious as I was going in.

I placed my order for this print-on-demand book on April 29. The confirmation email stated print materials may take up to 14 business days- that's three weeks, folks- to ship.

Fortunately, I received a shipping notification email on May 7. Despite claiming shipment was by Media Mail, no tracking number was provided.

In any event, annoyance of no tracking number was more or less mitigated by the fact that the book arrived just four days after the shipment notice. Packing was a variation of one of those wrap-around cardboard deals you see other stores use for shipping books (that is, not really a box) but this did not affect the condition of the book at all.

In fact, the quality of this item is absolutely astounding. Going in, I kind of assumed that I'd get a thing I could use but could never be regarded as "the real thing." I was very pleasantly surprised! While it does not look 100% like the original, it only looks like a print-on-demand fascimile if you pour over it with a magnifying lens. For all normal intents and purposes, this looks- and is- basically a new reissue of an old book.

If I had one complaint, I suppose it would be that I have a mild concern about the binding. I've seen professionally published books with worse binding that held up over time, and I always treat books with reverence, so it's probably not going to be a problem. On the other hand, if you are reckless and aggressive with books and plan on using this "at the table" it may behoove you to get the paperback version instead of the hardcover. I may actually buy a paperback version later on just to have a spare, since the price is so wonderfully reasonable.

Allegations of blurry text categorically do not apply to the copy I received. The paper and printing are different from the original, so the text kind of looks different, but I wouldn't be able to call what I'm seeing here "blurry" even if I were to wildly exaggerate. If you received a copy with blurred text- and your eyesight is healthy- contact the site and get a replacement, because mine sure as heck doesn't look like that.

In conclusion, I was so impressed by this entire ordering experience that I am now guaranteed to make it rain at DriveThru RPG, and with relish. This site does the entire world a great service by allowing us to bypass the preposterous secondary market and its insane prices. Right now there is a person selling an original copy of this very book on- as they say- another web shop, listing it as "very good" but openly stating that the binding is held together with tape. The price? $100! Thank you, DriveThru, for giving us all the ability to strike back at such nonsense. I will eagerly order again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2019 03:04:05

My physical copy arrived today and its in great condition. I can confirm the allegations about the blurry text. It's just a tad on the blurry side. Very readable but still. Luckily it didn't affect the art from what i can tell and it all looks fantastic. I've heard this is about the scan not anykind of printing error. Now I'm not an expert on binding but i do question its overall longevity with heavy use. Like i said im no expert and it could just be a phobia of mine. I'm just saying take that as a grain of salt before buying. Other than those two things its great and despite those minor flaws I would probably recommend buying this instead of a used original which will most likely cost more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by kristiaan l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2019 03:22:50

Bought the soft cover and the hard cover (I love the basic d&d line and thrilled to have titles like this as a print on demand now) Love this book. Scan is amazing and the maps are vibrant and crisp. Worth every penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Emanuele P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 06:38:58

Unfortunately the book arrived with some damage on the hardcover. Maybe it was during the transport.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2018 07:27:29

While I was hesitant to order a POD copy of this at first due to tales of shipping/fulfillment problems I found on youtube, most of those videos also said DM's Guild did everything they could to rectify any of those problems. Indeed, I received my Rules Cyclopedia in under three weeks and without incident. The book I received is an amazing quality hardcover at a fraction of the price of even a beat up vintage copy on eBay. Any negative criticism I might have is with the content rather than the production value. And all I have to say in those regards is that approaching the thickness and complexity of a Player's Handbook and Dungeon Master's Guide combined, I almost feel like Advanced Dungeons & Dragons is the more approachable option for new players. While this is a terrific compilation of the BECMI "Red Box" series rules sets, I also feel like it misses the point of those sets, which was to give the rules in easily digestable portions which built in complexity at a pace appropriate for individual play groups, and at a price point that was a low enough risk for those new to the game. This criticism would have been just as valid 1991 as it is today, so when it comes to DM's Guild's actual presentation of the product, I have no complaints at all. And collectors/dealers worried these reprints might tank the value of the vintage item should be glad to know that the cover art has been shrunk and the spine is actually thicker than the original due to using heavier paper, so those in the know will be able to distinguish easily from a vintage copy. It will also make it much harder for third party sellers to fraudulently (or unknowingly) pass the POD version off as a vintage copy at much higher prices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Patrick A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2018 09:26:00

Ah, my personal "Holy Grail" that I foolishly let slip away years ago is finally back in my hands (honestly don't remember how it all happened, but I believe a bad relationship was involved, ha)! ❤ True, it's a POD version and not the EXACT same as having an original, but it's new, affordable, and the feelings of completeness are wonderful. I tried getting by with just the PDF as well as the Dark Dungeons RPG (an OSR retro-clone of the RC...nice alternative and might be well worth it to some), but for me, it honestly just wasn't the same. Am MOST pleased to be reunited! ☺



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 06:28:37

This is a complete game in one book. Character creation, Combat and Evasion, Endgame castle and dominion rules, along with Mass Combat rules for when your castle is attacked, Treasure, Spells, Monsters, Maps of Mystara (a campaign setting), Alternate Rules, Conversions for AD&D -- this book has it all. If you wanted one easy to access and price friendly volume for a ruleset built on the OD&D rules then this is it.

I own an original hardback of this book, but wanted a tablecopy. So I purchased a paperback POD copy that was solid, with no blurriness. My only complaint was the lack of page numbers ... I just cannot believe they didn't include pagination.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jean-Paul T.
Date Added: 07/23/2018 10:41:34

This review is for the pdf version only. The quality is bad with either new or old scan. I would have expected way more from WoTC. I've seen online pdf scanned with more quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Randall C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 21:24:51

I ordered a PoD copy of this book and just got it Friday. I have to say it is an excellent book. All of the OD&D rules are here with most of the character classes so its a one stop for OD&D gaming. I am very impressed with the PoD itself. I ordered the hard copy in color and I definately got my money's worth on this purchase. The scan used is clean and crisp enough for regular gaming. The clearness of the print probably isn't as nice as an original copy but those books are few and far in between and command a steep price for a good condition copy. The PoD version is perfectly servicable and comes in at only a fraction of the cost of a good condition original. The only parts that appear blurry, at least to me, are the tables that appear from time to time in the text. However they are still quite legible and servicable. The PoD is in my opinion well worth the money spend!

If you've been sitting on the wall about getting this then I would recommend that you jump in especially with the Christmas in July sale going on. The 25% discount eats up most of the shipping which is a serious boon here. So go for it and grab this lovely gem because you'll be happy with the product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 22:26:58

I now finally own a print copy of the Rules Cyclopedia. I had the BECMI box sets so I never really thought this product was any use to me. I thought it was just a cash grab at the time of release. I was wrong. This is a great book and I am pleasently surprised with the quality of the hard cover reprint. It is a big book and the print is sized to fit alot in. I now see why RC is so popular. My box sets can stay in their shelf. I am really happy with my purchase and impressed with DriveThru RPG service. I have all ready ordered more bits and pieces that are missing from my collection X2, X8, CM3, CM7. I am interested to see how these turn out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by kemper s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 10:35:35

Got the hardcover, print on demand version. Very nice. Great version of the game, very playable with expansive rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ameer B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2018 19:17:01

BLURRY PRINTING The physical quality of the book is good however, the print quality is fairly mediocre. The resolution is way below 600 dpi (I would guess around 200 dpi) making the text appear somewhat blurry. It appears to also be printed with an ink-based color printer of some sort. Another factor is probably the low resolution of the particular scan they are printing from. Despite the aforementioned issues, the book is usable and fairly well made.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 14:04:12

The PDF Is great, and very usable, espeically if you want to snip text and things for your own printouts.

The POD is amazing looking. It took almost a month to get here as they sent me 2 Unearthed Arcana book incorrectly, but it seems they've fixed the issue. That said, the printed book is easily worth the money. Its crisp and well put together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lloyd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 12:16:53

BLURRY print. The scan is very unclear and causes headaches to read. The general content is wonderful of course... but the reprint is a fiasco to read.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items