Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
260 28
62 5
13 2
6 2
2 0
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Click to view
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Samantha G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2019 11:32:21

Loving this archetype! I'm playing as a young gunslinger in Waterdeep, who holds the secrets of black powder (my DM knows nothing of CR, let alone Victor of Vasselheim!) and is hounded by his Guild Master to give up this information. Meanwhile, he is burdened with a portable forge in which ammunition is made and weapons are tinkered. Thank you so much Matt Mercer for making this accessible to all players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2019 14:28:38

We covered this amazing product in our Class Analysis on our podcast Crit Academy.(http://critacademy.libsyn.com/episode-105-class-analysis-matt-mercers-gunslinger) It is full of pure awesome! A great addition to the fighter archetype and a great way to introduce gunpowered, firearms and explosives into your game. We had fun breaking it down and discussing the mechanics and flavor of each feature. We love the new changes as well. A must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shane H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2019 14:27:11

love it!!! the art is fantastic love the updates keep up the great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 13:13:35

Pretty solid and balanced for a PF conversion. The only reason I gave it a shot was due to watching the playtesting of it live on Critical Role. A lot of fun in a group with a dedicated tank.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2018 22:35:44

Apart from the subclass, this document also has great extra rules for using firearms that will help a lot with any campaign involving them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Wade N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 09:38:55

Quite frankly, probably the best possible option for a Gunslinger in 5e!

I am actually not using it for a Fighter, but, rather a Paladin's Sacred Oath.

I have a player in a game set in Greyhawk where there's a hero-deity who's renown for using firearms. And, I think this works rather awesomely for it! Especially when paired with the "Firearms Specialst" feat available on DnD Beyond (and other game-mechanic resources), it gives the player plenty of options for the kind of customization they want to reflect in their particular gunslinger.
And there's enough balance that it doesn't disturb the game, even with strong things like adding extra damage dice with the possibility of misfiring and exploding one's gun.

I rather like using it in addition to the Rennaisance Firearms from the DMG.
It makes for even more interesting balance when there's loading guns with no misfire chance, as well as reloading guns with misfire.

Many congratulations, and thanks, to Matt Mercer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Martinez G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 13:15:58

very good concept for a new class in 5e, very much needed in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 10:17:13

As a DM playing an Exandria campaign, my players have been loving all of the Mercer classes, and this one has been a favorite for sure. Great update! My gunslinger is going to squee when I show him these changes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cartola C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 02:13:10

Can't wait to play it. Guns needs more love on d&d.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 17:45:56

Been playing for a long time now. First time II have ever considered guns and it looks amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 21:56:21

I've been playing D&D for 30+ years now and apart from Gary Gygax's 1st ed AD&D White Plume Mountain module, I've never been one for guns or gunpowder in the fantasy setting.

Once again, after watching Critical Role's Twitch channel and seeing the character Percy the Gunslinger I decided to give this class a go.

Matthew Mercer has created a good Fighter Archetype with this publication. I couldn't wait to get to level 3 to start utilising the abilities of the Gunslinger. I also tried a couple of different builds before settling on having Wisdom as my highest ability score to benefit from more Grit Points.

The Gunslinger is good for a bit of fun and variety in D&D 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2017 13:14:47

I was reluctant to pick up the Gunslinger, but I'm really glad that I did. I think that the Grit points give players a solid resource to track use to pull off soe interesting things as they level up. Trick shots are great because I have so many players who say they want to aim for a particular part of a target, so that gives it a mechanical benefit rather than having to improv something each time.

I also really like how fast the Gunlsinger becomes over time, Quickdraw and Lightning Reload make them downright deadly.

While looking through the reviews I noticed some folks pointing out that this doesn't offer anything outside of combat, which is true to a point. Personally I think Gunsmith is loaded with potential uses for story hooks, so I don't know that I totally agree with that criticism.

Part of me wants to sue how a Fighter with this archetype multiclassing with an Artificer from Unerarthed Arcana would get on. I just picture some crazy scenarios with the thunder cannon and the Gunslinger's other firearms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Early T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2016 15:09:27

This is a good one to get for the use of ranged weapons in combat. This I think, will go good with my pirate campaign. Easy to adapt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ashley F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2016 21:23:03

Love this adaptation from Pathfinder to 5e. I totally agree that there are no outside of combat benefits, but in all honesty, who cares? It gives the player a lot of room for creative freedom with all the design and tinkering aspects. For the opprotunity to play a gunslinger in 5e, this is the way to go. If you want to see it in action, check out the show Critical Role on Geek and Sundry and watch Taliesin Jaffe play Percy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslinger Martial Archetype for Fighters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Miranda M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2016 22:26:30

Every single feature granted by this subclass is utterly irrelvant outside of Combat. None of the Player's Handbook fighter subclasses ignore the other two pillars of gamplay like this one does. Fighters are already really good at fighting by virtue of their class features, and they depend a great deal on their non-combat subclass features to give them something to contribute outside of it. There needs to be at least one level where you only gain features that speak to the Interaction and/or Exploration pillars of gameplay. Preferably 7th level, like the Champion and the Battlemaster.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items