Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Blood Hunter Class Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
574 42
118 11
32 2
6 2
2 1
Blood Hunter Class
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marc H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2016 17:00:07

On the surface this appears to be Good solid content. I will be allowing players to use this class in The Curse of Strahd. I guess I will find out then if there are any issues.

I do have two issues with the formatting. 1) There is no printer friendly version. Printing this out was the last straw for my Yellow toner. :( That is costly. 2) There is no ability to copy the text other than a bitmap. Makes it tough to get around problem #1 and porting the build to Hero Lab means I have to type everything directly. Which is not halve as hard as creating a class in the first place (just learning).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2016 12:45:28

Love the flavor and much of the execution. I've had the same concerns about power level others have expressed, but the author's consistent and frequent revisions tell me he is working things out based on feedback, which is awesome.

I loved this class so much, I made my own order for blood hunters who turn their own blood into poison ( http://www.dmsguild.com/product/176184/Order-of-the-Venomblooded-for-Blood-Hunters ), but the main class and the supplemental order the author added for it blood hunters who purposefully become lycanthropes ( http://www.dmsguild.com/product/175606/Order-of-the-Lycan-for-Blood-Hunters ) are getting the advantage of a huge fanbase providing input, allowing many revisions since they were first published. Over time I think this will be come the go-to 12th class for D&D 5E. If you're one of the few customers of this site who hasn't already, you should seriously check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2016 11:04:15

If Wotc were to ever draw inspiration for a class from somewhere i hope they look at this one. As a firm believer that when a new class is constructed it must bring something different and unique to the table this class definately does that. its balanced enough so as to not break your game but still strong enough where you can keep up with the party's fighter barbarian or paladin in melee combat and not feel underwealming useless. Also what better way to add that little touch of extra demon hunting mystisism to the game?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2016 08:05:11

The Blood Hunter Class is perhaps the greatest work on the Dungeon Masters Guild at this present time, with the guiding concept behind it not only extrodinary, but an idea I've dreamed of seeing come to life for years. The Class looks and feels like a combination of the Warlock and Ranger, painted over an old fashion H.P. Lovecraft tale. When taken into account with its well balanced abilities and an almost required backstory, the Blood Hunter is not only fun to play, but seems to encourage roleplay elements. Definitely 5/5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by George K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2016 14:28:01

I love the concept of blood magic and this class combines it, in an amazing way, with moster hunting. What more can you ask?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gerard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2016 02:03:17

I love the concept (Especially the Order of the Mutant) but it is far, far too powerful compared to all of the official material (Again, especially the Order of the Mutant).

There are exceptions, but in general each class is supposed to have two major increases in consistent offensive power: level 5 (Extra Attack) and level 11. The problem with this class is it ignores that fact and assigns major damage increases all throughout the leveling process and takes many of the damage increases from the other classes and combines them in one product (Something that should never happen: the game was intentionally designed to prevent stacking level 11 abilities - the Fighter's Extra Attack and the Paladin's Improved Divine Smite for instance. Both of which are simultaneously available in this class).

There are other, less quantifiable issues that are also pretty far out there. The Blood Curse of Mutual Suffering for example is the single most broken homebrew ability I have ever witnessed. There is no save, it is just cheap and easy guaranteed damage of a massive degree. As long as you are capable of dealing at least 50% of the damage your enemy is (Something that is almost certain considering the incredible damage output of this class), you are certain to win any 1v1 fight regardless of other conditions. Turning the randomness of battle into certain victory is poor design - it takes away all risk and makes the game boring to the extent that no-one should even want to play it anymore. You need to add some drawbacks to the ability like a saving throw, and considering how incredibly powerful the ability is, make that save check often. Simply making it require concentration would work.

Just to clarify what I mean about the general imbalances, I'll highlight just what sort of damage this class brings to the table, and compare it to other options.

Take this simple build: Barbarian 2/ Blood Hunter (Order of the Mutant) 18, with 20 base Str, a Greatsword, using Crimson Rite, Blood Curse of the Marked (Mutual Suffering is clearly better but harder to quantify in such comparisons), Rage, Reckless Attack, and the following Mutagens: Cruelty, Potency, and Precision. Against AC 18, all of that will inflict 105.12 DPR on average, without using any feats.

The top dog of damage in a non-homebrew game is the level 20 Berserker Barbarian with 24 Str, a Greataxe, using Rage, Frenzy, Reckless Attack and Great Weapon Master. Against AC 18, all of that will inflict 73.4 DPR on average, at the cost of 1 feat and a level of exhaustion.

This class does 43.22% more damage without bothering to enhance his damage with feats, than what the previous king of damage can pull off when going balls to the wall. Creating a new king of damage by making something that does more damage than everyone else is kind of dubious but not terribly bad, but crowning a new king by such an absurd margin is simply unacceptable.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2016 15:30:26

Once upon a time, a rogue in my campaign said, "Oh boy, Pat, I really wish there were a bit more to the rogue. They're really cool and all, but they just don't have enough 'UMPH' and none of the other classes interest me to multiclass in. Golly, I wish there were a class for me." Being fans of The Witcher, we fell in absolute love with your class (as we instantly saw the parallels and differences between the Blood Hunter and the Witcher). He will be multiclassing as a Blood Hunter in the Order of the Mutant after his Arcane Trickster Rogue reaches 9th level. I even plan to make it a story point when he imbibes in the Hunter's Bane. What I'm trying to say is, "It's a great class, and I would love to see you make more." Keep it up, Matt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 03:38:20

Really nice new class. Well balanced, nice to play and interesting class options to choose from.

Well done Mr. Mercer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by DJ C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2016 10:01:37

Play's nice and Looks Great. Just started playing the class I'm 5th lvl and so far it's well balanced and fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2016 07:24:10

Really well-done concept. One of my players is a big fan of the Witcher games and he couldn't wait to get his hands on the Mutagens. Allows for a lot of customization and so far has played great as a combat spellcaster. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2016 01:24:51

Excellent product. It is clear from looking at this that a lot of work went into the design of this class, I am looking forward to using this in my next campaign so I can give it a full play test, but on the surface it looks amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:40:23

The presentation is impressive, there's clearly a lot of work that went into this. Anyone who is familiar with the Witch Hunter class should recognize this and appreciate the development that's gone into it. As a class, it's not my kind of thing to play, but it's coherent, functional, and stylish as heck, so I can't help but like it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Fabricio J. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 00:05:43

The content and presentation are top notch. The only thing I miss is a printer friendly version. I took a star for this because I think it is important here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 46 to 58 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4 
Back
0 items