Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
Blood Hunter Class Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
383 41
67 11
23 2
4 2
2 1
Blood Hunter Class
Click to view
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kristian G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2019 19:27:24

I enjoy the class but I have one issue with the PDF I'd enjoy it of their was a copy and paste feature for mobile devices. I don't know if their is one for PC but it would make placing the class into the site mythweavers easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2019 23:39:37

This really fills a design space that didnt have a good execution in the DnD world, there are so many good or sort of lawful aligned heroes in most games that we miss out on some anti-hero classes or design spaces that need to be filled out, simply amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Slox N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2019 11:37:52

The best homebrew I've seen! Keep it up! I love how well it works with warlock when being a profane soul!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Flurin d. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 20:59:35

I haven't gathered the courage to play as a blood hunter character. I was thinking on a surface drow for the race. I really love this class, it is so intricate. Another proof that Matt Mercer is the Leonardo da Vince of the TTRPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Callum R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2019 05:28:29

An amazing innovation by Matt Mercer, it'll always be welcome at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marianna L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 16:43:37

I am a relatively new Dungeon Master, and wanted to make some NPC's that made a lasting impression on my player characters. I was a big fan of how I had seen the Blood Hunter play out on Critical Role and wanted to try my hand with it, and the results were very effective and useful. My players really liked the character and found it super interesting and helpful, to the point that many wanted them to frequently accompany them to boss fights. The class is very fun and a blast to play, with the risk reward aspects being quite addictive, with the unusual origins of said class providing a nice way to introduce players to new aspects of my worlds lore. Extensively useful, I love the class and cannot wait to play the class in a game myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Neil B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 07:16:33

A huge Critter who has a player in my Strahd game playing this class. Really fun Fighter class which gives players a lot of nice options



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brittany R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2019 18:32:26

Played this class for a solid year and had a really great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2019 16:58:13

I have played two blood hunters one a standard the second order of the lycan. the play feels balanced as well as ejoyable. I truly love that this class was made.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2018 06:43:17

We did our Class Analysis on the blood hunter on our show Crit Academy (http://critacademy.libsyn.com/episode-103-class-analysis-blood-hunter) we were very impressed by the fleshed out lore and the surprisingly well balanced mechanics. Clearly a lot of work and constant tweaking went into ensure this was a fun, unique and balanced experience. Well done Matt. Keep up the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 13:10:22

This class was a little more complex than the others, making it something you need to fully read through and consider before playing. Definitely not as straight-forward as the gunslinger. Was fun for the time we were able to use it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ethan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2018 12:12:03

I like the risk this class takes with its playstyle; it adds another layer of challenge to the game that hearkens back to the deadliness of editions past.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2018 23:07:28

The Blood Hunter is a unique and well-designed addition to the character classes. The concept of fighting the darkness by utilizing darkness has a lot of characterization and narrative potential to explore in a campaign. While it could be argued that Warlocks already have this sort of potential, the Blood Hunter has a very personal feel to it, taking the thing they fight into themselves and using it against their foes. I like the "those who fight against monsters risk becoming monsters themselves" aspect of this class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 17:58:55

Fantastic job done by Matt. Many that seek that "Witch Hunter" feel now have what they have been looking for. You may find the NON updated version online elsewhere but it wont print as beautiful as this one. The class is worthy of an entry into the PHB hall of trusted classes (more than Warlock IMO). Buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 19:52:29

This seems like a nice class for high powered games. But you may wish to tread carefully if you are trying to keep player power appropriate for released premade modules (without needing significant encounter tweaking).

The Crimson Rite damage easily competes with Barbarian Rage damage and is easier to maintain (for a fairly nominal hp cost - plus he gets combat styles). The Blood Curses, while not quite as good as a Battlemaster, is close to that in utility. These two features along with other base class features make a fairly viable character WITHOUT the subclass features. He functions well at range or melee. His range capability goes a long way in lessening the impact of the HP cost of his abilities. The subclasses then ratchet up the power and utility of this class to places that may be problematic.

A key here is that very few of the class features are aimed at social or exploration pillars. This guy is almost 100% combat and it shows.

If you are going for a powerful game full of feats, multiclassing, third party stuff and homebrew, this will be fine. Just make sure that other players are using character options that approximate this thing's power and utility. As a DM, you will probably need to tweak (on the fly) planned encounters to challenge the players and you may not find premade encounters up to the task. However, if you are running a high powered game, you know this already.

This isn't something I would allow unless I am running a game with very few (like 2) players since this is almost like a 3.5E Gestalt class. However, it has other uses. I have used the presented features to craft classes that I am more comfortable with and to fuel my imagination in crafting interesting NPCs.

In short, it has its uses but it isnt for everyone.

PS: If you do wish to allow this class and want to keep the power down slightly, here is a bandaid fix: only allow Crimson Rite damage once on your turn. This is still a bit powerful but it won't constantly outshine others.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items