Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
 
$4.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 4
2 4
0 2
1 0
0 1
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Click to view
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Karen T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2019 19:50:07

the module is perfect! will definitely buy again! thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2019 06:18:52

I actually purchased this module shortly after completing it as a player. I really enjoyed my playthrough and wanted to see how much more depth there was to the adventure.

I have to say that Sinister Secret Of Saltmarsh is very a much a product of its time. In my experience a lot of older adventures have a lot of locations (rooms in this case) where there is nothing of importance and nothing happens. In most adventures I found that to be really tedious but in this case it actually works really well. The lack of encounters and traps early on does a great job of building tension and when the big mid-module reveal that the 'haunted' house isn't really haunted at all comes along it suddenly makes a lot of the emptyness make sense.

My one complaint about this product would be the quality of the images. I don't actually think this is the result of a bad scan or poor print but a lot of the original art is VERY dark and once scanned and reproduced it doesn't look very good at all. Most of the pure black and white images came out okay but a lot of the stuff that works more through greyscale is very rough. The worst case is the second image of Ned Shakeshaft which I can barely make out at all. I did also have a number of pages with the left margin cropped about halfway through the book which was more than a little disappointing.

Overall one of the better 1st ed adventures (in my opinion anyway) and a must for any Scooby Doo fan.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sam M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2019 18:43:15

For an AD&D 1e module it's pretty well organized with inline monster stats (though you'd still need to look up THAC0s if you use 2e of course). If you want to run this in 5e, just use Ghosts of Saltmarsh. The module comes with two adventures: a haunted house and a smuggler's ship. There is a danger of your party not finding key secret doors that are needed to bring any sort of satisfactory conclusion in the haunted house.

When I ran this, my party ended up allying with the smugglers -- mostly because they weren't evil enough (they're just evading taxes). Of course if I hadn't decided that the drawer with the papers in it had the deed, they wouldn't have been able to. If you don't want your players to do that (and potentially rendering the smugglers' ship and U2 moot), I suggest you keep that in mind. Overall, it was fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2018 13:01:55

Easily adaptable to 5e. I added some Scooby Doo style materials to make house more "interesting" - footprints, ghostly noises. You likely have to reduce numbers / types of baddies in certain areas to avoid TPK. Watch out for the ship encounter, especially if your players do not approach stealthily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2015 10:08:50

This is more of a rating of the scan and the support process, rather than the adventure, which others have covered here and elsewhere.

This adventure was put up for sale Nov 1, 2013. It had problems with cropped text from the beginning. Despite two updates (that I can recall), cropped text still exists in the version downloadable today.

I've contacted dtrgp/dndclassics/rpgnow about it at least twice, and contacted WotC once, as they are apparently who handles the scanning and updating/errata, etc... The issue still remains.

We're coming up on nearly 18 months since this was released, and this issue hasn't been resolved. I'm not sure who takes the blame for that, but I don't really think this is acceptable. I also don't think this is the image drivethrustuff and wotc want to put forth. So come on guys, get this, and the other adventures in a similar state, fixed. Pretty please.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2013 11:33:05

Great module for a low-level introduction to a larger campaign. I would give it 5 stars but some of the pages were cropped on the scan. They really need to fix this.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2013 11:19:36

As mentioned above, some pages are cropped in the scan. Also, after WotC recently reversed their block on PDF sales of old products, I read that these scans were re-done and OCRed. That did turn out to be true in the case of The Temple of the Frog, which I bought before the ban, and re-downloaded from RPGNow when it was available again. The maps that had been missing before were suddenly back in the new and improved scan. But The Sinister Secret of Salt Marsh still seems to have been scanned in the old haphazard way with no one having checked if the images scanned right, and it's of course not OCRed.

Still, it's worth not having to slog through the garage to run this module again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2013 15:38:29

The scan quality is very good EXCEPT for several pages which are cropped on their left margin. All of the odd pages starting with page 21 share this fault, although it doesn't impact the maps or handouts in the appendix.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2012 18:27:08

The start of one of the best known TSR series. The scan is very good compared to many of the TSR scans and the adventure has 2 parts with a good combination of sneak, think and fight to occupy most if not all players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2007 04:13:29

Both the Danger at Dunwater and the Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh are flat-out classics to many D&D players. While they aren't as pretty or developed as modern DM's might be used to, they're still a fascinating read and a good insight into some of the better known early adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Simon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2007 00:00:00

This is a classic 1st Ed. module, with the flavour of a Scooby Doo story. As far as I can tell, there are no problems with this particular scan. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's a pretty good low-level adventure that allows for a fair amount of flexibility in the players' actions, especially the second part.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: By comparison to more modern adventures it feels quite slight in content, and the concept now seems a little cliched, but these are minor problems.

Actually, the problems really occur if you decide to run the whole U1-U3 mini campaign (sorry 'adventure path'). U2 can potentially be an even more slender adventure if the players use diplomacy, or failed utterly if they act like typical adventurers. U3 is perhaps much tougher than the characters will be ready for when they get there as well, although that's part of the design plan to enforce a more tactical scouting style of play over frontal hack 'n' slash.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items