Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
1 10
1 7
0 0
0 0
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2018 10:19:29

Some interesting ideas, could have been a solid adventure with more work... not terrible for $3 but you're not running it out of the box. The main hooks aren't going to be compelling, either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brendan N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 13:54:10

Meh. Somewhat interesting, but the typos and missing segments make it a pain to run. The initial encounter tries to put a timer on the adventure, but almost every party will be able to deal with the effects via spell rather than having to rush. The initial fright of four beholders is pretty nice though. Get the errata ahead of time and it won't be too bad, but it's still not the best.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 18:03:18

Fun game, but there is an early mechanic where, with a failed save and a bad d12 roll, characters can just be killed outright, especially if they don't have good healing. I considered the colony to be a place where spellcasting services can be purchased.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2018 15:50:40

When I ran it, it made a nice fill-in for when our regular DM was absent. It is short and plays quickly, and provided decent experience and treasure. The adventure is divided into three parts. The fighting encounters themselves are quite good and are lible to cause trouble for those who just charge in and start wailing away. The second and third parts can be roleplayed through without fighting. My chief quibbles with this adventure are that not enough information is provided to the players. There seems to be something missing between the mission intro and the start. Apperranlty the players are on a raft in the underdark having been sent by some unspecified faction leader to aquire magic mushrooms. However, the first encounter is within a mushroom forest with no raft or river in sight. The encounter with the two Mycaniod factions gives little indication of the motives behind either one, making choosing between them challenging. It also seems that siding with the more malevalent faction provides a better reward. Overall, I enjoyed running this module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 17:39:17

I have to say, this mod is not particular fun to run - it falls flat with it comes to the flow and pacing. DM has abit more work to do when running this mod.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:24:11

I ran this for a fill-in for a vacationing DM running Out of the Abyss. It works well with an easy hook if the characters are already in the Underdark. It's got some good RP possibilities and the combats can be fun. However, all the warnings about errors and needing to find errata are spot on. With some work, you can fix the errors and get the module into a shape that's not too hard to run, but it's probably going to take an hour of looking on the internet and annotating the writing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:40:40

All the fun of the underdark, fitting right in with the S3 theme. The usual madness always makes for a fun experience, and being able to give the party choice always makes for a fun experience as does faerzress. I don't think it's anything special, but overall it's a fun and fairly balanced mod.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 10:46:56

I particularly enjoy this mod because it's a comfortable balance (for me) between RP and hostile encounters, with a few twists depending on how the players approach the situation(s) presented. Also, as a 2 hour Tier 2 mod, it's a great way to ease into DM'ing Tier 2 without massive timing options or variations based on what the Players decide to do or how long it takes them to complete a task.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 21:06:14

The flow of this adventure is difficult to get right. When I ran this I did not feel it flowed smoothly. The moral descisions are a little ambigious for an adventurer's league session, I'm still not sure, after running it, what the aythor was trying to establish with the end scene.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2018 08:06:40

Fun MOD with good amount of choices. helping mushroom people or not and like everything else in season 3 a lot of madness.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:09:44

This module is ok. The major problem that I have with this module is that it is tough to engage the party with the Mycconids. The party does not really experience the creatures before they offer the quest. It makes the story a little rough to get started.Otherwise, the module is fairly quick and reasonably fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 10:11:45

One of my favorite things to do as a player and DM is to roll on the wild magic table. I may abuse it a little and have someone roll on the table after casting the a spell, but the effects have yet to be detrimental to the party and the players have enjoyed the outcomes despite their intial apprehensions. This adventure provided a descent challenge for the group and they all had a good time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 01:15:54

I ran this for my group when our DM called in sick. We were running SKT but we've run out of 2-hour teir 2 modules so they asked me to run other seasons. Let me tell you that this was a very weird one to jump too! Add to that the fact that I had only 20 minutes of concentration to read before game time. lol. It was fun though.

Anything in the Underdark is going to be weird so I knew that going in. The culture that was expressed by the "people" there was very enjoyable. The scenes are beautifully pictureesque and the battles are intense.

The most difficult and frustrating part was the lack of editing. It seems to be a common problem in mods, but this is the worst I've seen yet. The loot in the back of the adventure wasn't awarded in the story! So I had to decipher where it went and amend it later to my players, which takes away from the ambiance of the story. Seriously, AL guys: raise the price by 10c if you have to but hire an editor!

Note, if your group has gained access to flying mounts come up with a reasonable reason for them to stay behind for this one. It put a large ambiance danger on easy mode. : /

SPOILER . . . . . . The absolute best part was the surprise flinging of gore all over the dandy in our group... twice! Haha! He rolled maddness of continuious cleaning himself with Prestidigitation for 100 hours. (Get it off! Get it off!).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 17:05:24
This is a fun little module. It requires a thurough read through prior to running as the hooks/dialogue boxes are a bit disjointed. Fights were pretty well balanced, and this module offers characters the opportunity to social their way through.

    If some additional information on Mychanoid Society were added to this module, I feel new DM's/players would benefit greatly, as mychanoids have unique characteristics that new players may not be able to intuit



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:12:39

Interesting module and setting, but the flow can be a little bit difficult to follow on intial reading. The locations are presented in the parts that make it kind of confusing on how they should be attempted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items