Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 8
2 7
1 0
0 0
0 0
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:23:32

Fun with the multiple path options in the beginning. allows for very unique perspectives and varied storylines. Still have reservations for the modules of this season as the APL of the modules seem very low for the encounters listed. If not for a juducious application of "DM descretion", I would have continously had multiple TPKs on my hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christine W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 13:09:07

Fun as a player and a dm. I love this mod. Great opportunities to challenge players and work the pillars a bit. I would reccomend this to anyone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2018 23:02:52

Great mod! The party had a hard time deciding which side of the first fight they would take--a girlfriend finally told her boyfriend to do the right thing! But make sure you plan for the road fight. I had card stock horses & stage coaches. Characters were jumping horse-to-wagon and wagon-to-wagon--lots of inspiration-worthy exploits. One thing to think about is what happens with Dumb Karl and his gang when the road fight starts. Next time I run it I will say they chase a wagon going a different direction. Oh, and don't forget to give the players the backstory about Hillsfar: Racist, evil and corrupt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 05:24:58

I enjoy the unconventional mini-game / chase in this module. It's a change of pace and it's good to get the players on horses. That's the good part.

The bad part is that every time I have run or played this module it's gone long. Way long. It generally goes four hours and has gone more on some memorable occasions. I find that the mini-game can take a long time and the opening encounter and getting to the mini-game can take a while. The final encounter is generally fairly fast, but also leaves many tables thinking, "Wait, aren't we done? There's more?!" after the finish the chase. The final encounter is often relatively short because the party generally gets to the location in plenty of time to set an ambush / take them by surprise, and surprise is very effective.

I'll note that so far every time I've played or run this module there has been party strife during the initial encounter, with at least one character siding with the Red Plumes while most of the party sides with the others. In one session, it came extremely close to fighting within the party when the one character who sided with the Red Plumes just kept attacking the other side and ignored the protests from the other players and their characters. In another, the odd player out read the way the wind was blowing and mostly sat on his impulses in deference to the group, but it was clear that the player was straining because he felt his character really wouldn't act that way.

One minor note: Even though I prep, I seem to have an easy time overlooking the armor on the horses during the chase because the draft horse stat block (included in the module) doesn't include their barding whereas I am accustomed to NPC / monster stat blocks include items and equipment that are atypical but present in the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:54:14

4/5. Ran at my FLGS. This adventure is fun for everyone, but a few warnings: the chase is fun, but it is VERY easy to get bogged down in precise details. I ran almost all of it theater of the mind and tried to focus on the story over the exact mechanics. It's also quite difficult to motivate players to do anything if they don't already know what's going on in Hillsfar, and my players personally weren't too motivated by "a shipment" that racists were sending. I almost had to call the module there, as they basically were uninterested in following the rebels. Also, this module comfortably runs in about 2.5 hours, not 2.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Henrique A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2018 19:45:23

The setting here is very good as it determines a lot of what's been going on around Hillsfar. Should be played between DDEX03-12 and 14, as this happens in the general area.

Chase mechanics can bog down the tempo of the party a bit, so do play loosely on those. The split path gives players a lot of choice and dimension on this situation, so do play out the implications of this a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:45:01

Really loved the multiple paths, the distinct characters, and watching players pick a side.

I ended up crafting stagecoaches out of popsicle sticks, and I highly recommend making Action cards for the chase scene.

Super fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 08:54:38

The adventure is a great concept, with lots of branching options and plenty of interesting plot opportunities. It's a great module to be in, and mostly straightforward to run.

That said, the module is kind of a mess. Inconsistent formatting with regards to when it tells you how to modify encounters makes doing so a bit of a challenge. Finding a particular element can also be difficult. I did a lot of rereading because I was sure I missed something important, only to have to read half the module to find it.

Additionally, there are some very punishing elements to portions of the adventure that can create issues. In the chase, a failed attempt to leap from one vehicle or mount to another effectively removes a character from the encounter as a whole. Fortunately, when I ran it, the chase was brought to a stop only two rounds later, or one player would have missed the whole encounter. Additionally, the important plot device from one of the encounters is very easy to miss, which can end the adventure prematurely if players don't remember where the caravan was headed.

I would run this adventure again--it's a fun one, and helps newer players understand the kinds of ethical choices that roleplaying games can include--but this is a difficult module to run the first time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:09:06

I really enjoyed running this adventure. I like how it was set up to account for different options the players could take.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Garrett R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2017 09:59:39

I ran this adventure on about 5 minutes notice (someone else bailed at a local con and we needed a DM), so my view of it might be a bit skewed. That said, we had a great time with it. There's a fantastic chase scene, a couple of fun fights and a plot that can play out multiple ways depending on how the players initially react to what's going on. I liked the way the adventure's "rails" go in multiple directions, and in general we had a fun time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:38:59

A nice outdoors adventure. Lots of choices to be made from the PC perspective. That being said, I have never managed to run this in less than 5 hours. The chase sequence with a large party can get bogged down really badly (especially if the party or a single PC tries something outside the box) The final fight is almost a letdown after the big chase. If you have a lot of Zhents playing CN, then the module can take a totally different direction, which may require a lot of DM improvisation. Still, it was fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:13:25

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 450-600 Note: WotC/DDAL doesn't do ANY cleanup or editing, even when blatant errors are pointed out.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2017 15:14:40

The Good: The chase mechanic in Part 2 is a lot of fun and I enjoyed how it was implemented: abstract areas, additional actions, complications, etc. A moonlit attack on a caravan with characters leaping onto wagons, trying to throw enemies off, and dodging obstacles? Yes, this is great!

The Bad: The faction-choice (bandits vs guards) caused more problems than the benefits it creates. This led to a lot of back and forth in the text about which opponents they'd be fighting as well as who might survive from one part to another. I really had trouble figuring out who was still around in the first half of Part 3 because of this, and I'm not sure why the text assumes that players acting as guards would immediately free the captives. Then again, my group had precisely zero interest in helping the Red Plumes do anything at all, so that didn't come up. The editing problems rife in Season 3 AL content show up here as well; DMs need to review carefully to make sure that they understand the intent of any given instruction or description rather than what was actually printed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:35:03

CHOOSE SIDES. MOUNTED COMBAT. This module has stuff that you don't get to see much and is a great module to have in your hip pocket!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2017 10:05:31

This is a great scenario! One of the few scenarios that revolves around mounted/moving combat, which is a refreshing change of pace for players. The players can choose who to support up to the end, so it can play out differently each time you play it, which keeps it interesting for both players/DM's alike. Also it plays pretty quick, which makes it nice if you are playing in public space and on a time crunch (such as a FLGS with a hard close time).

I would note though that this a combat-based scenario, and RP opportunites for players are somewhat light, but you can spice things up with NPC interactions using DM discretion. It is simple to prep, has a straight-forward storyline, and doesn't require tons of maps/minis, etc. I would definitely recommend this scenario as a back-pocket tier-one scenario to run in a pinch on-the-fly, and definitely a must-play if you haven't played'/DM'ed it before. New DM-friendly scenario as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items