Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 3
0 6
0 0
0 0
0 0
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christine W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 13:00:12

So much fun! I often fail at properly depicting locations for my players, and this mod really helped me with that. The combat worked well enough. Pretty good mod overall.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 05:50:23

HELLO ADVENTURERS!!! Occupation of Szith Morcane was super fun! The eerie trip to the underdark was a thrilling ride! Characters coming to the rescue of Drow is hard switch that my players enjoyed a great deal. The cast of familiar faces was a great RP experience for them as well. The trip down is a periless journey rife with madness and he strangest of bedfellows the whole way. Had one of my most memorable madness results in my time a sa GM! I higly recommend this mod and encourage running the rest of the series! GREAT RIDE!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jake F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 00:14:25

Pretty good module with a great (if gross) magic item. Possibly my favorite aspect is just the scope of things you encounter - there's a little bit of everything, from the racists of hillsfar to the weirdest denizen of the underdark, right down to demons and fire giants.

I picked this up because I was planning to run Herald of the Moon and saw that there was a tie-in mentioned there regarding this module - turns out the tie-in is so minor as to not really matter, especially since the NPC that ties the two together is featured prominently in multiple modules. Not really a complaint, but if you're reading this thinking the same thing, it's definitely not a prerequisite.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2018 12:09:12

I have quite appreciated DMing this adventure. The introductory part with the "drows are infesting the surface" theme was pretty intriguing, but the best part of it was the show-me-that-you're-worth-it brawl against the half-orc. I made it especially funny when the guy stripped naked and oiled himself up, something that the brawling player soon copied. A memorable experience for sure. It was nice to see a more human side of the Red Plumes with Yestral (I made it so that a Red Plume initially made nasty comments against the party, but soon had his ear pinced by Yestral before going to his momma in tears). I combined the derro (who were all screaming "DERRO, DERRO !") & kuo-toa fights to increase the tension and give an initial "oh darn" to the players. The roleplay passage with Huum was a nice addition - pretty funny to roleplay a mind flayer. I didn't think it was really appropriate for the final fight to have drows against the players, so I instead put some previously liberated drows with the players against a few combined encounters at once. Hard to manage, but rewarding for the players ! Overall, a quite enjoyable adventure, in my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:58:23

There a lot of exposition in this adventure whihc is nice, but not a lot of explanation for the DM. Some of the maps and areas are not laid out as well as one would like. This final combats are a lot of fun though and I'd be willing to run this adventure again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Vince T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 20:16:31

From a newbie D&D DM/player POV:

The module is really good. The combat has a fair enough challenge to it, and the NPCs are so varied that roleplaying is very fun to do. I would have given it a total of 5/5 but my only gripe is describing Szith Morcane is REALLY HARD. Especially when doing theater of the mind. You would need additional reading to kinda understand how Szith Morcane is so you can give your characters full immersion. Overall, it was solid, but using the maps on the module would give a newbie DM like me some difficulties.

Recommended module, but back it up with additional lore reading for better immersion.

Note: I ran ths module three times now, and I think I can give a fairly decent review. Note: In my first game of running this (my 3rd AL game), one of my PCs is a worshipper of Lolth. I am so lucky to have done a little lore study about the area before running it. You never know what kind of characters you'd be playing with. (I have shallow D&D lore knowledge as of now)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:10:26

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 4500-6000

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:20:24

Occupation of Szith Morcane tells us the story about Szith Morcane and the situation with the drows in the underdark. It has an easy to use hook to get the players to agree to join and it has a few roleplay instances but the combat is heavy in this adventure. There is a lot of exploration and action to do in this adventure and most of the combat can be a bit tough for the characters if they don't fight well. Overall, this adventure adds a bit of good story to the Rage of Demons story line and has lots of action in it. I recommend this for players who like to fight and are excited about challenging combat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-03 The Occupation of Szith Morcane (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 16:52:34

I played through this.

Ratings: -- Target Level: 2nd level (paladin 5). -- Story: 4/5. -- Pacing: 5/5. -- Combat Difficulty: 4/5. -- Combat Design: 5/5. Although I would give the last one a 2/5

Introduction: Clear faction based hook. There was one part at the beginning that strained belief related to the descent order. The Redplumes are supposed to be super bigoted against nonhumans. Why would we all go down at once with them on the crank? The module doesn't address this.

Exploration: Some dungeon delving that ultimately turned out to not matter much (at least that section).

Pacing: Good pacing.

Combat: So combat is a bit skewed in this review because the DM was rolling terribly and we had some great on hand spells/features for dealing with demons. He had my paladin under Hold Person and despite attacking a paralyzed target, could not hit Like at all. If he was rolling more typically, the combats would have been: medium, easy, medium, hard, and hard. Instead they were medium, easy, easy, easy, and medium.

Roleplaying Opportunities: Faction contact called me a sissy, I wrestled him to the dirt.

Overall: I enjoyed this module.

A second thing bothered me: Why are huge things invading dungeons that are like 7-8 feet wide?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items