Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
0 5
0 0
1 0
0 0
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Click to view
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Julia N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 15:43:17

This adventure requires a lot of DM prep, but my players loved it. Highly recommended. Likely to run long (took us almost 7 hours instead of the offical 4). Definitely suggest running this directly after Eye of the Tempest so players are familiar with the situation and you can get them into the Air Node quickly. I'm definitely running this again sometime. Big fan.

PRO

  • the Air Node has an interesting setup, with unique encounters at each location
  • high replayability because groups aren't expected to visit every location
  • one node has characters switch personalities, which my players had a blast roleplaying
  • good opportunities for negotiation and deception to get out of combat situations
  • once I understood the setup and timeline, the provided DM materials for each were very helpful in keeping myself and my players on track
  • excellent follow-up to events from Breath of the Yellow Rose and Eye of the Tempest
  • very clear ticking clocks in the adventure kept the tension hig

CON

  • there's a lot to prepare, since players have many options and behind-the-scenes activities have consequences that must be applied
  • very difficult to complete in 4 hours, so not recommended for an event or con where time is limited


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 07:30:51

I am not a fan of most of the Season 2 stuff, Cloaks and Mulmaster annoy me but I liked this adventure. Lots of moving parts as someone already said, Its also a good connection to a previous adventure. The magic item is a meh-ish item but it has a cool perk to it. I really enjoyed the mixture of set pieces little something for everyone. Def add this to your list of fun modules to run and rerun! -DM Ace



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jesse P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2018 17:02:21

Multitudes of things make the game very fluid and malleable. You may want to freshen up beforehand however, as there are a lot of interchangeable pieces.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 12:02:37

This module has a fantastic mix of roleplay, skill checks, and combat to let all types of characters shine. It can be incredibly hard to prep because of all the moving parts, but I think it is worth it. I would recommend playing this right after or soon after The Eye of the Tempest, as it makes a very good follow up module. Overall, a great module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 14:54:58

Recommend Purchase: Yes. Playing this adventure counts towards the Season 2 quest: 'Benefits of the Brotherhood of the Cloaks' XP Range: 3000-5000

Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2017 01:50:59

So many choices, and they're all great! Awesome story hook, cool challenges to rescue the monks, and I love that personality swap! I love the timeline and how the opposing cult operates. And the swap between the cloud giant and the other giant is just great fun! XD The final encounter is pretty tough too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2017 01:21:54

good adventure with mix of combat, exploration (skills), and roleplay. Lost 1 star because it's complicated needs lots of prep time as I needed to read through the adventure many times to understand it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 19:02:00

The Howling Void is an adventure to be ran after the previous adventure it is sort of like part 2 of that adventure and it needs a bit of preparation and understanding for a DM to run this module well. It has a lot of events happening which is fun because it has replayability for the adventure. The hook is solid for good characters and the exploration part gives the characters a chance to do things in the order that they want to do. The combat is a bit mixed, it may be easy but with the events and things happening in the plane it could change a bit for others. Overall I find this adventure to be average and good on its own but it would be better to run the previous adventure of this before doing this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 16:50:16

Ratings: -- Target Level: 8th level (I was Paladin 5). -- Story: 3/5. -- Pacing: 3/5. -- Combat Difficulty: 5/5 (maybe a 6/5?).

Introduction: This is a very weird module.

Exploration: Player choices determine what encounters the PCs have. So the exploration was meaningful.

Combat: There were some really easy fights and some "OMGWTF-I'm dying!!!" fights. Definitely not a module to play when you are level 5 (at least I assume that there are a sufficient of hard encounters that random choice guarantees at least one of them).

Roleplaying Opportunities: A few, it was a while ago and they weren't particularly meaningful.

Overall: I might want to run this module in the future, if I new the PCs were all going to be at least level 8. Running it with all places being visited might be fun. Not sure, haven't read it (just know we only visited 3 or 4 of the 8 choices).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items