Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 9
1 8
0 1
0 1
0 0
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nola T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 10:39:11

This adventure was great! It wasn't too long but it was packed full of classic adventure--dragons, hags, undead. Would recommend and would love to play it or run it again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:12:50

Very fun adventure used as a fill in very my group going through HotDQ. The first season has a small cast of memorable characters and they help Phlan come to life. The Pool of Radiance plot is woven throughout the adventures and although I haven't read any stories on it or played the old video game the basics of the plot were clear. The race against the clock gave an added aspect appreciated in the second tier or adventuring and the finale was exciting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 21:39:26

With a lot of season one content I often find myself a bit time poor when running an adventure. Cool things get omitted. This adventure is no different. Having said that this is a pretty fun swampstomp then dungeon crawl. Linear but servicable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 03:52:49

I liked this adventure. It's duration was as adventised. I really liked that there was in game time pressure on the characters to prevent them from wanting to rest after each encounter. There was some great role playing interacting with the Lizardmen and with the Hags. I also liked the opportunity to give players their secret missions. To complete the Order of the Gauntlet special mission requires the characters to trade with the Hags. I liked the idea of the "Traded with a Hag" story award but I worry that it could be a big problem down the road for the "face" character. The battles towards the end were quite tough although the kobolds on the back of the dragon had almost no effect because they were eliminated with a fireball right away. The kobold beserkers were a big surprise for the players and a hard fight. The return of the dragon led the players to conclude that there was no longer an in-game time constrant so the characters took a long rest. I ruled that the dragon took a long rest as well although the story shows him as only healed to half hit points. The characters took lots of acid damage. The dragon got a cool villain speach at the end and the characters realized that there were still bigger things going on even at this late point in the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2018 15:10:53

good story, love the hags, hard reading...

regards bager



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 18:37:27

This adventure is better than I was able to run it. It's got a strong, clear story with lots of room for player engagement. The sense of urgency is developed early; the motivations of the NPCs are clear and the untrustworthiness of their nature makes every encounter, whether combat or negotiation, excitingly perilous.

I recommend, when DMing, that you pay close attention to the time-tracking system included on the last page, and decide ahead of time how you will run the two or three possible resulting scenarios. Also, there are some monsters that have been re-mixed and understanding the difference between the different subgroups is critical for an informed and exciting battle.

In a gamestore setting, with an unpredictable mix of PCs, it can be difficult to keep all the encounter interactions clear in your head, especially as what happens in early encounters can have dramatic implications for the setup of later encounters, and their resolution. Don't be afraid to take your time and split the session at the halfway point if necessary.

I would have liked more hooks on the personalities of some of the very minor NPCs - but had no problem improvising a fairly uninteresting backstory to answer PC inquiries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 19:32:14

Both me and the players enjoyed this one. The sense of urgency was good and kept the group moving forward. I really enjoyed the Hags. Who'd have thought i'd work so hard to get a kiss out of my all male group (from the hags of course)? The dragon at the end was kind of anti-climactic though, as he gets away pretty much no matter what (as written). I expect thats probably because he makes a reappearnce later on and having him dead would have spoiled that. Overall a fun adventure and actually ran less than run time (3hours with a group of 5).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 23:39:37

While having some issues in how it's written, my experience playing out this adventure has been good. It's supposed to be played out as a continuation to a previous adventure and manages to deliver well the expectancy required to it. The encounters offered played well and gave more interest to the story as the players took up the hags offer to rescue their 'sister' and traded for goods and a prisoner. The story award gave another interesting twist. Velvet's battle became a two parter as one party member became confused enough to use the password to address the dragon flying overhead, but added to the intrigue by offering a unique option of grappling the dragon and climbing onto his back with another party member, while the remaining team dealt with the trolls on the ground. The hate potions were a useful additive to the story as the party tried not to kill off innocents that were doused with the mixture. Overall, a good plot that should be 'proof read' like many others of the series and still effective in game play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:52:39

Not the best writing, nor the best dungeon crawl. What this has going for it is that it is one of the few modules to directly have a dragon (Velvet) as a BBEG. The mechanics in the lair are fun, the fight entertaining.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 09:33:19

This module may not have had the best writing, but it was entertaining to run, regardless. Having the situation with the second group was very interesting, since that encounter triggers events later on in the module. Most of my players were a little disappointed with how the module ended, though one of them (who has been a long-time player) figured it out very quickly. Overall, it was very fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2017 11:51:30

TL;DR: This module suffered greatly from lazy writing. Lots of missed opportunity.

The story focused on raiding a dragon’s hoard, which wasn’t the most engaging story that could have been written. The contacts leading into the characters taking up the quest was lazy, so was the manner the characters were led to the Lizardfolk King and the hags. The NPC interactions were more-or-less “Hello let me tell you this piece of information because the plot requires you to know this now off you go”. A very linear module without much shining points.

There were also quite a few “plot holes” in the module. DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan stated that Phlan was pretty much in lockdown after the Maimed Virulence has taken over, hence how the characters still managed to start the adventure in Phlan is a total mystery. Velvet was away from his lair because he went to meet with the Maimed Virulence, so are the characters supposed to have encountered Velvet when he flew in and landed in Phlan? The module also felt very out of place in the larger story arc of the rest of Season 1. The DMs know from the “Adventure Background” section that Velvet teamed up with the Cult of Dragons to transform into a Dracolich, but this connection was almost completely omitted in the module.

Also the final Dracolich fight was extremely underwhelming. Transforming into a Dracolich at 30 or less HP means that Velvet may well die within a turn or two after its transformation. Having no stat blocks for the Dracolich version of Velvet also made no sense. If Velvet isn’t behaving any differently in combat before and after the transformation, why bother?

Instead of having the characters being hired through plot convenience of having Velvet “away from home” and a random dwarf hiring them at the perfect timing for a raid, the ties between Velvet and the Dragon Cultists, alongside with the possibility of a Dracolich transformation ritual would have been a much stronger hook to lead the characters onto pursuing this quest. That would have risen the urgency of the matter at hand, tied this module with the rest of Season 1, and not a glorified “loot-run” that we’re now left with.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 17:07:32

This adventure has it all - RP, combat, dragon. It is called "Dungeons and Dragons" after all. I admit I forced my combat group to RP through the hags, but it was worth it. The final fight was awesome. Even though 2 players critted and technically killed the boss, I used the box text and made their characters shiver. They actually thought there was another fight after the end fight. Keep the group to the timetable, and you will be fine. I find my groups are always wanting to long rest after EVERY fight. Make them earn the XP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2017 18:50:00

Raiding a dragon's lair is a great adventure hook. Fighting said dragon is a great adventure. Fighting through some jarring, despite being tiny, editing mistakes is less great. I'd rate it 4/5 if not for those mistakes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Randall A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2017 20:02:51

Great adventure for combat, but from a DM's standpoint the writing is pretty choppy. I enjoyed playing it a lot more than I did DMing it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by lowell s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 22:48:08

Didn't particularly like how the end section of the module is writtenand considering how many times i have played it those GMs agreed with me and changed certain aspects of it as well. Other than that a great dungeon crawl with some good RP opportunities .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items