Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 7
0 15
0 3
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 01:44:32

I enjoyed running this module a lot for the overall experience it had and the amount of depth and roleplay potential that goes into it. My only issue which I think is on my group more than the adventure is the focus on the Green Dragon. They felt they needed to try and directly and continuously involve the Green Dragon that really from the story was there more as a background piece than as a critical need. I dig this as the intro adventure for Phlan's true experiences with the cult and I enjoyed running it right after Hoard of the Dragonqueen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 16:16:14

The Pinnacle of AL Season 1

Tyranny In Phlan is as good as it gets for Adventurer's League Season 1. It's the module that encouraged me to run the entire season as a traditional campaign. After nine modules of build-up, it smartly ditches the traditional investigation phase, preferring to get straight to the action, offering significant changes to the state of the campaign world and meaningful opportunities for players to lead those changes.

The module is pure payoff for earlier modules, reusing characters and locations previously established to potentially great emotional impact. The individual encounters are well-written, and easily reshaped by GMs for different player groups. There's an epic scale here that the first season of Adventurer's League simply hasn't previously reached, even in the ostensibly epic "Corruption in Kryptgarden".

That said, it's not flawless. It suffers from the Adventurer's League format, being both internally constrained by its requirements to run in a short timeframe for essentially random groups of players, and externally constrained in that none of the previous AL adventures were written with this module in mind, and so few of its key concepts are foreshadowed, and none of its NPCs are as well developed as they could have been. The impact of certain NPC fates obviously has much less impact if players missed meeting those NPCs, haven't been given reason to care about them, or (in a worst case scenario) got them killed in a previous outing. The lack of any real support for the Phlan setting - no modern maps, no location guides, no detailed history - also makes this less than it could be.

On top of all that, it's a little inconclusive. The villain of the story isn't defeated here - and in fact isn't even defeated at the end of the season. The plot doesn't wrap up for another three years, and when it does, it takes place in an Epic module that's difficult to scale to standard tabletop groups. A great experience for players attending Adventurer's League in the day, perhaps, but frustrating for groups wanting to experience it at home.

Still, this is what D&D should be - memorable moments, epic stakes, real consequences. Enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 00:18:28

This is a well-written mod. At first reading of the, I was able to envision everything in my head easily. The best thing about this adventure is the emotion; it allows for a lot of RP (from the DM, at least). I think it is a great mix of combat and RP, and fast-paced as well. I like the wild-card in the tree; she allows for an easy way to help out a struggling party.

I'm not familiar with the season 1 story, I picked this out as a one-off for my group, so I wasn't as connected or familiar with the NPCs, but I still was gut-punched by the fate of one of them. It made me want to run more of the season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christine W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 10:22:45

Great combat. Love a good city under seige module. There was a great variety of foes, and options for both stealth and talking their way out of things. Good for two of the pillars at least.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 22:58:22

Excellent module, with tremendous plot movement for the season and some very difficult / involved combats. There are a lot of tie-ins to other modules from this season, so it would be best to have already played the previous modules. The combats are deep, several with high CR opponents, even a high-level spell caster. The DM needs to be prepared for this module to take quite a bit longer than the alotted four hours unless the group is both small and efficient.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by bjarne b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 02:31:58

great game, fun at tricky, the players are put on the max here, good storryline also

see ya

bjarne bremme (bager)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 01:11:47

I love the continuity this season's storyline has with the modules. This seems to be the build up before the climax, and is equally as exciting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 19:33:47

This module does a great job of pulling together several cool NPCs from earlier modules in this season. So characters who have played thru the season as a campaign will really enjoy this one. But this will require a lot of extra prep if you haven't run the earlier modules and won't be nearly as satisifying. This module has secret missions for the Harpers and the Lords Alliance. I especially liked the Harpers secret mission because it showed that the Harpers aren't all goody-two-shoes and are able to do what is necessary to advance their interests. The final boss fight includes a shield guardian. You'll definitely want to carefully review how shield guardians work. Per the AL admins, the shield guardian is not available as treasure despite being present. But if you are running this in a home brew campaign, getting the shield guardian and amulet could be really cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 22:53:36

Howdy to you ADVENTURERS!!! Tyranny in Phlan was great! A HIGHLY DRAMATIC scene opens upon a tavern of great repute! There is drama, delight, and some sadness. Those familiar with the season one plot line will have a tear jerk. While the draw of a secret mission MOD is strong Other rewards are great. I've been player and DM for this. My advice (the worst vice is advice hehe) is not to be afraid to scale for a very strong party compostion. A group with significant AoE can decimate encounters. I liked most about this MOD, that it presented many options for characters to accomplish and many plot twists to make them think twice about the directions they wanted to go. Kept us second guessing and fun was had by all!! pick it up!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!! xVxORIONxVx



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 12:39:20

I believe this to be my favorite AL adventure that I've run or played; admittedly, that's a relatively small sample size but for me it ranks easily with "Defiance in Phlan" and "The Marionette."

I really love that this adventure is so bold as to change the underlying premise of the rest of the season. "Tyranny" is a keystone in melding the convenience of drop-in play with the engagement of campaign play. It doesn't matter in what order you play the prior adventures of Season 1, and it doesn't really matter in what order you play the other Tier 2 adventures of Season 1. The presence of so many recurring NPCs provides an easter-egg pleasure for consistent players as well as the opportunity for resonant DM character arcs for a tightly-knit table of players. As such, "Tyranny" provides a trophy of an experience for the first adventure Level 5 characters play; and a thrill of anticipation for the upcoming adventures.

It is true that there is more setup here than in other AL titles; one danger for DMs is in luxuriating too much in the "cut scenes" (if I'm using videogame terminology correctly) that propel the party from one encounter to the next. However, my worry about getting out the relatively-lengthy boxed text in a concise period of time lent an appropriate urgency to the narration.

This module rewards prep time spent by the DM; reviewing notes on the recurring NPCs, checking stat blocks for special abilities such as flight; referencing spell lists to understand the deadliness and use of spellcasters. For example, in between the two times I've run this module, I reviewed the rules of the spell "death ward" and it made the relevant encounter memorable in a welcome-to-the-big-leagues kind of way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 19:40:42

As other reviewers have said, this module has a lot of backstory involved. It's best if your players have done a lot of the earlier modules so they know the characters involved. I had a group who hadn't done any previous missions and they were totally creaped out by Elisandre and her blind goat.

This module is intrigue light and combat heavy so if that's how your players are tweaked they'll probably enjoy it quite a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 02:33:48

This was a good sandbox adventure with lots of plot. I like how much control the players had over important events in the game, and I love that they brought back some past favorite NPCs. This was the first adventure I encountered that gave much such detailed stratagy as to how the baddies would react to various situations. It was both helpful, yet a bit limiting, too, as those stragagies got them killed a bit faster. lol

With so much going on I really appreciated that the writers broke this up into 5 sections. Bite sized pieces if you will.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 15:56:33

The early plot additions were a boon as it gave the players a chance to show off some of their new skills while giving an additional sense of urgency to the plot. Both secret missions were played out and helped to aid the group a feeling of accomplishment along with some payback from earlier adventures. Some mistakes were made and learned from in addition to players overcoming some unseen obstacles to build a better storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 17:50:45

Verdict: APL 6.0 is probably too low for this mod.

Possibly the most plot-significant module in Season 1. The Maimed Virulance conquering Phlan had a long-lasting effect on the town of Phlan itself, as well as “effectively” kickstarting the Season 2 adventures Mulmaster, made DDEP4 possible, and is the inspiration of quite a few CCC modules.

Given the lore significance of this event, it is understandable that the module packed a lot in it. The sudden erupt of chaos that came with the Maimed Virulance, citizens in panic, the betrayal of the Black Fist, the urgency to escape Phlan before the lockdown, and the characters alongside with the Reagent Lord being hunted down by Dragon Cultists. Meanwhile the module also tried to set up the surrounding to be an all-hell-broke-loose type of situation, forcing many major events to occur within a short amount of time.

With that being said, the high amount of content put into the module in some ways became the module’s downfall. Combats are plentiful and harsh, especially the ones involving 9th level spellcasters. Given the urgency of the matter at hand, the characters are left with no time for long rests, and only maybe one or two short rests between combats across the whole module. As a result, the combats are often drawn long due to their difficulty, at lease for what is supposed to be an APL 6 mod.

What ended up happening is that the combats crunched away a lot of time and hit points and spell slots from the characters, implying that they did not get as much time to interact and immerse with the surrounding environment, which I think is a bit of a shame. In my experience, my table had to skip the Harper secret mission encounter, because they were already too worn down from the fight in the courtyard.

Speaking of combat, 9th level spellcasters could be very tough for the table to handle, especially if they do not have Counterspell in their arsenal. It is also likely their first encounter with invisible enemies (I used Greater Invisibility during the final encounter on both the spellcaster and the spell-storing golem, almost TPK-ed and they had to flee). Given the context to the final battle, where the cultists have every reason to send their best to kill the Reagent Lord and the characters, I have no remorse in making the fight as “unfair” as possible, or even attempting to TPK the table.

Adventuring in the big bad world should be a life-risking lifestyle, and killing off a few characters might teach them a lesson to approach combats differently, as opposed to running in and hitting everything? At the very least, invisible enemies can be dealt with in hindsight. And if all else fails, dodging for a minute until the invisibility runs out is always an option.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2017 17:19:59

This was a blast! Such a huge increase in power in the enemies and the PCs in their first tier 2 adventure.
My group had both Lord's Alliance and Harpers factions represented, so it was a bit of a challenge to present them both secret missions in a logical manner. If they go to Stojanow Gate first, they won't have the Harper secret mission yet. If they go to the docks, there's no compelling reason to go the Cracked Crown and meet with Glevith to get the Harper secret mission. Be flexible. Let Glevith join them at the gate. Have a random encounter where Elsinade delivers a note about the secret mission.
The death of [spoiler - notable NPC] was a punch in the gut for my group. Be sure not to reveal this until it's too late to use revivify, because it's a plot point later on.
Even after adjustments, the encounters seem quite strong for a party of level 5 characters. DMs take caution.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items