Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
21 17
9 7
4 3
1 0
0 0
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2019 02:26:37

This is probably my second favorite module from Season 1. It's final area is a bit of a sandbox which allows for lots of creative options from players. It's a shame that it now offers an evergreen item as it will probably no longer get the play that it deserves.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 11:02:06

This is a great module with a lot of options for the characters to explore, and a lot of scenes to do. The only warning I would give is that this is definitely one you want to read through maybe twice as a DM and really get the feel for, especially if you are running this as a 4 hour AL adventure. When I ran this we didn't dally much and the players were very involved, although we ended up skipping what seemed like almost a third of the module to fit it in just over four hours. Then again it was my first time running an AL legal session... so YMMV! That would be my second warning... this may not the best module to run as your FIRST go through as an AL DM simply due to the amount of content (if you're not under the 4 hour time constrant then it is good for beginners too). All that said, I highly recomend this module as it has a great story, and involved characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2018 14:46:51

A solid but scattered adventure

Outlaws of the Iron Route has many great moments, including some that are relatively creative by Adventurer's League standards. The highlight is probably a trip to a private prison, the jailers therein, and a minotaur prisoner.

However, it never really comes together into a coherent story. Act I in the jail and Act II at the meeting site feel oddly joined, and quite different in tone. None of the backstory makes a lot of sense - Krulek got kicked out of the Black Fist for not being corrupt enough, but now he's a common bandit? The sorcerer is just pretending to be part of the Cult of the Dragon to be scary - but her logic for how she'll get away with it is that nobody's really heard of the Cult of the Dragon on the Moonsea? The Cult cares enough to infiltrate her operation, but they only send a winged kobold? The Cult has access to an orc tribe that fights at their command, and this is how and when they use it? Plus none of this ties in well with the overall story of Adventurer's League Season 1, in fact actively subverting plotlines about the Cult and the Black Fist.

Still, with fairly heavy plot alterations, it worked overall. Mechanically speaking, the biggest weakness is the encounter composition at the meeting site. Assuming the players approach through the kobold side of the camp, none of the individual kobold fights are really likely to challenge the players, especially if the players have surprise on their side - but there's a lot of them, and it can be tedious to actually run them all. The module works best with a GM who's prepared to handwave or narrate the players stealthing or ambushing through the kobold horde.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2018 12:38:35

I've run this adventure three times in a fairly short span. I enjoy how differently it plays each time, and how the areas of the camps interact. One group might have a druid, and pass-without-trace their way through to the bandit leaders, while another might attack head-on, clearing an area or two before attracting the attention of the next. The way this adventure is structured is incredibly useful for fitting into a limited timeframe. The final event and lack of a single win condition means that when time starts running out it can be wrapped up easily, no matter how much the players have gotten through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:51:39

A great mini-sandbox, all sorts of options. It can take a re-read or two to figure out where everyone is and what they'll do but once you've got it down this can be a great encounter for the players. It can play out in many diffent ways each time it gets run. Great map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Erick O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 09:03:45

The mod has lots to do, but I agree with another reviewer that it becomes a time thief. Too many ticky tack fights and moments slowing down gameplay and any flair to the story doesn't feel like it makes up for any of it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2018 23:15:55

This module was sure something. The encounters were fun and I liked how there were consequences to players' rushing into the last encounter! This was my first ever DM experience, so I don't know whether or not I would be a good judge of just how great this module was, but I can say that my players and I had so much fun that the one session turned into two sessions!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 01:02:20

There are plenty of ways to streamline this module as otherwise, it can take an extreme amount of time. Depending on the dm, such may happen, but it's also good to see how the players solve things through means other than violence.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 02:35:28

This adventure will definitely go long. There can be several instances of NPCs fighting each other. It is not worth making all the rolls for their combat. As part of your prep, you should come up with great discriptions of the NPC fights and decide based on plot which side is winning each round to focus on the player actions. The riot in Phlan had some good exposition about conditions there. The role play at the private prison was great and for my players ended up like the end of a Bond film with the prison burning, the prisoners scattering to the wind, and my players feeling like they did the right thing. My players spent quite a while scouting the King's Pyre. They had a great time trying to get the groups to fight each other and scaring Little Eric with an Owl. A party that always starts fighting first could be overwhelmed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2018 09:02:21

This was the first 5e adventure I played in back in 2014 at a con, DMed by Rodney Thomson. I've since run it as a DM. Both times its been great. The main scenarios (jail visit, assault on bandit camp) allow great opportunities for roleplaying, combat, and overall creative thinking. The key NPCs has just enough detail to let a DM fill them out. I'd have liked to see maybe 1 more sentence each on their personality, but what's there is a good start. The open-endedness might be challenging for newer DMs, but for players, its a great experience even for relative newcomers. I'd recommend 2nd level characters though.

Although it is loosly tied to the Tyranny of Dragons storyline, its easy enough to fold it into any campaign. And with minor edits, it doesn't need to even be tied to the Forgotten Realms.

As a player Rodney got us through this in our 4-hour slot. As a DM, we had more time, and the party took 5 hours. Even then I omitted the final Orc attack and just had the bandit meeting break-up based on player actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Erik R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 16:18:49

A fairly complex adventure for its size, but also very interesting and fits well with the overall Season 1 Phlan storyline. DMing this and DDEX 1-7 and DDEX 1-2 gives a pretty clear explanation to the party of why Phlan's trade is in such dire straits and the realization that there are interests at work trying to isolate the city. Definitely recommend reading it thoroughly before running it and expect that it will take a couple of sessions to get through it properly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dan Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 12:13:44

First time DM. This definitely required a lot of prep work, and we completed it in 5 hours. It was a lot of fun, but pretty challenging for a group of 6 Level 1 characters. Every one had a great time though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 15:48:08

I would recommend giving your players more information about why the bandits must be disbanded and the leader captured as they may ask questions and try to tie him in with a Robin Hood style outlaw. The module does give some information such as rumors and the like to flavor the NPCs, but some additional work may be needed. I had the scouts outside the prison assassinate the bribed guard as he ran out alone to show how they address such failures. The bandit meeting went over quite well as the PCs divided into small strike units to sabotage each side and cause them to further distrust each other and enter into battle twice just to have the orc raid crash in and cause more havok. The players loved it and the additional challenge of a live scene proved enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rowan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 13:31:31

Ran this the other night with a group of 3 and they avoided almost all of the combat and finished in 3 hours. Decided to bust out the wall of the cell at the jail and go down a rope rather than deal with the prison break after just paying off Rathene's bounty, and managed to sneak up behind the elf despite the circumstances and the assassin did what assassins do best, stabbing him through the heart. Then they just stole some kobold arrows and killed Eric, then killed the kobold on the cup who fell in and sarted the fight while they just stayed in the sniper post. The only thing they really ended up fighting were those 6 orcs, and they made short work of them. Still, it was fun to run, and I'll probably run it at my local gamestore some time



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2017 17:17:32

I ran this adventure when I was too new as a DM and I didn't handle the fight at the end very well. I had the third party show up too early, before the players had a chance to meet or talk to Sahnd Krulek. Kings Pyre was a bit too open ended for me as a newbie DM.
Some advice for running this says to cut the whole jailbreak scene. I kept it in and I'm glad I did. It was a lot of fun to add a charging minotaur to the mix. My group always runs long, but this one was especially long, about 7.5 hours, split over three sessions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items