Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
33 37
9 16
2 2
0 0
1 0
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 03:53:47

This is probably the best module in the first season of Adventurers League. It opens with some exporation; follows with a combat that feels as though player agency is at work; then becomes a mini-dungeon crawl before emptying into the big final fight. Structurally, it is very solid and a module that I've run many times.

I'd provide caution in one main area, though. The final fight can turn deadly very very quickly if a DM makes use of the lair actions offered. Against a party that is "over on player count; under on APL" and thus is alledgely "average", the default lair actions are likely to down the party instantly. I wholehearted suggest pulling punches in this fight or even ignoring the lair actions entirely unless the party is all high-level or experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 06:42:05

One of my all time favourites, have run it half a dozen times. Well written with a little bit of sandbox in the first half while following an overall path overall. Has some potential for some really fun NPC roleplay (Im looking at you Aya). Kind of love that the magic item isnt necessarily a given. My only critique is that theres a lot of content to get through which might require some "you find yourself here" rather than "so, what do you want to do?".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2019 17:03:34

This was a fun mod to run. Players enjoyed it. There is a little something for everyone. Lots of interaction and skill checks for peeps, a bit of investigation and sleuthing, and some combats. My party managed to defeat the dragon fairly easily because of a well-placed combo (warlock hex caused disadvantage on wisdom saves, bard hit it with hideous laughter, poor thing just sat there until the barbarian wooped on it). That said, the fight might have gone quite poorly if the dragon had gotten airborn and used its breath weapon. I could see how a party of 1st levelers could struggle...

So, lessee:

Organization/Writing/Editing: Good. Few typeos here and there, no biggie. I would say that they are missing a map that would make the layout of the archive sub-basement area much easier to follow. As a DM I had to read and re-read it to get a feel for the layout, and the layout will be important during play. Other than that, great.

Challenge/"Deadly Factor": Adequate. As an AL DM, you must pay attention to party strength rating and adjust encounters accordingly. Their charts and instructions on how to do this work just fine. That said, I found that some of the encounters were a breeze, and some were potentially TPK material.

Fun Factor: Great. Everybody had a great time with this one. There are lots of rich personalities for the DM to play as well.

Advice for DMs: Look over the section with the sub-basement/archives thoroughly and maybe draw yourself a map. I had to ad-lib it a bit. Pay particular attention to the party strength when they approach the dragon's lair. My party breezed through it, but they made a nice tactical move and had it gone another way, could have been a wipe. The lair abilities never factored into my game, but remember them as well when considering the challenge to the party.

Final Evaluation: Great mod. Well worth the time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Katie R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2019 13:16:33

I played this with three newbies and one experienced player and they all loved it! We've got some new D&D addicts in my family now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2018 23:52:39

This adventure is amazing for investigation and the kinds of questions raised. I enjoy that the ending brings such catharsis and allows the players to add details in that were not present before. It is definitely one of my favorite modules from the HOTDQ sets and I enjoy the way it brings new flesh to the city. I especially loved running my players through the chaos of the under library and the sewer that follows. Awesome work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:42:03

Figure out why books are disappearing and the track down the culpret. Pretty straightforward mystery followed by players needing to hurry through some encounters. I enjoy the setting. The investigation can run a bit long but things pick up once the ball starts rolling.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:59:20

Ran this adventure with a small group of 3 and it worked really well. High amount of RP and investigation combined with a seasonally thematic encounter at the end with additional opportunities for a diplomatic solution. As a mystery it is more difficult to run again for the same players but it also has good encounters with recurring NPCs in Phlan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alessandro L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2018 09:06:58

This module is really well written, with investigation, roleplaying, exploration and combat. The last encounter is very fun. One of the best adventures of Season 1



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Oskar R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 09:59:52

Exploration/Puzzle aspect was pretty well done and definitely appreciated by the players. It dragged slightly at a few points but that may have just been these particular characters and their interests. The players suspected the wrong person for quite awhile and were pretty happy when they figured it out. The final battle was a blast to DM and the players were scared for their lives. They defeated the creature without too many permanent scars.

I'd recommend. Combats were interesting and each one challenged the players in a different way. The final combat was especially interesting and they did not expect the lair actions. The storyline was memorable and they really seemed to enjoy figuring out who took the books and why.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2018 19:46:42

A solid outing; generic done well.

The Scroll Thief covers much of the same ground as the previous Adventurer's League title, "The Courting of Fire". The same antagonists are involved in yet another book theft from the library, and the party must pursue them to a wilderness location for a showdown. It also covers some of the same territory as the next module, "Drums In The Marsh", featuring a trip to the Twilight Marsh with dragons and (possibly) lizardfolk. A group playing the entire first AL season may find this repetitious; the intention presumably was that most players would only play one module out of each set of two or three releases in this season, and the repetition ensures that key elements will be encountered even if modules are skipped.

That said, on its own merits this is a decent module. The investigation phase features a variety of well-fleshed out characters and interesting interactions, developing the worldbuilding of Phlan in entertaining ways. A couple of the combats feature interesting foes that break out of the "thugs, undead and kobolds" model that the prior AL modules overused, and there are reasonable opportunities to avoid or mitigate combats through diplomacy or stealth for players who prefer that route.

It's not without flaws, though. The antagonist's plan doesn't really make any sense and is full of red herrings that confuse rather than entertain. The investigation phase is prone to being trivially skipped by smart players, or leaving players with no idea what to do next if they miss a vital clue. And the final combat features a solo monster with lair actions that (as printed) could conceivably kill an entire level-appropriate party before they even act. Still, DM intervention required to solve or mitigate these problems is minimal.

Also relevant - as printed, this adventure does NOT fit into the standard AL four-hour timeslot. The combats alone will take most of that time if you run them all, and the investigation phase is meaty and full of temptations to lengthy interrogation and extensive roleplaying. That's great if you have the time and the player interest - more content is also nice - but relevant to people who hope to field this at a convention setting or on a tight schedule.

Lastly, this adventure is set more firmly within the Tyranny of Dragons AL season than some others. Some existing investment in Phlan or the operations of the Cult of the Dragon is needed to get the most out of the story, and the plot threads here about the Cult's master plan don't get any closure within this module. That's not a fault - the module's intended as part of a season - but makes it perhaps not ideal as a one-shot or for slotting into an existing, different, campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 13:53:27

Ran at my FLGS, and it's a blast. I have a bit of a soft spot for this module, but it's a wonderful way to get new players interested in D&D, and it's a great three-pillar adventure. There's plenty of RP, and a bit of exploration in the library, and my newer players lit up and shouted in joy when they realized they were going to fight a dragon in D&D after exploring a dungeon. It does require a bit of a mixed party, and some of the plot transitions (Why are adventurers looking for missing books anyway? Why isn't "2 missing librarians" the more important thing to investigate?) are a bit ill-conceived, but for the most part it's a blast. My only word of warning is that it really needs more like 2.5/3 hours to be run comfortably. I had to hand-wave a lot of stuff after my players spent too much time investigating early on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charmaine O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 01:59:35

I've enjoyed it both times I've run this mod. Murder mystery + RP for the win.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dr S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 02:43:15

A straight forward and fun mystery based adventure with lots of opportunities for roleplaying and still manages to have a fight scene that is both fun and rewarding.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:40:38

This is, by far, my favorite module to run for t1 and for newbies! It has a bit of everything: social encounters, exploration and investigation, as well as a healthy amount of combat to begin with. I absolutely love how easy it is to get immersed in the world when you play this game. Definitely one of the best t1 modules out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2018 02:58:12

ADVENTURERS ACTIVATE!!! The Scroll Thief plunges your party into a mystery! Detective work and bread crumbs guide them from calm meetings to thickening plots to deep murky waters complete with explosions and get aways! Phlan is in the grips of the scheming dragon cult! Black fists are at a loss and only stalwart adventurers can save the day! Or allow the dragon cult to win the day... Will they emerge victorious?! Pick up The Scroll Thief and take your players for a ride!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items