Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 20
3 15
0 4
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:36:34

A great npc character and possible party guide makes this lovecraftian island mystery even more fun to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 13:34:17

Mystery adventure with some interesting NPCs. The build up before the main location seemed to drag on and when keeping the action moving it began to feel like to railroad for some of the players. The overall flow is pretty linear and given the choice points on the island if they make a wrong choice a level 2 party will have a rough time of it. The scenes are nice thematically but I don't think I'd be excited about rerunning this. As an early Expeditions module this is also part of a season that over loads on the Level 2 adventures and all the adventures after the first are 4 hours or longer which isn't a good fit for mid-week store play. Looking back with hindsight over the many seasons since I think this may have been much stronger as a Tier 2 adventure with the fiendish elements.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2018 18:06:01

Good module overall. Love the final fight at the end, and allows the players several options of how to engage with it. The middle part on the island is more problematic, I feel. It does not seem to flow well with the rest of the adventure and its connection with the finale is vague. Plus, it may be a bit too open ended with too many options for a module with a time limit. The plus of the island portion is the attack from the bandits and the potential use of defensive preparations that the party set up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2018 17:10:07

This is not a module where a DM can just give a quick-read and then wing the rest. It requires several re-reads along with a sort of trial run for new DMs to be able to do the module justice. And you want to be able to do this module justice because it is incredible fun!

There are interesting enough plot-hooks to get if not the character then the player to join the adventure and the NPCs (if portrayed to the liking of your players) can endear themselves to the party (to the point I had two PCs arguing who gets to be said NPC's mentor/guardian, and the players themselves decided to make a new PC inspired by said NPC).

The downside is, the lack of the island's geography. Not everyone is a gifted cartographer and while an accurately scaled map is not necessary, a visual "suggestion" of how the island looks would have been appreciated. That said, it's not a total detraction because the module still gives enough description to give the players an idea of the layout but I have a LOT of players who are "visual" and I was floundering on how to draw the island itself.

Still, I wholly recommend this module (even if the amount of EXP gained feels a little low for all the things my players ended up doing).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2018 19:29:07

The Good.

I love it when any adventure brings in good amount of social interaction. Getting to meet with various NPCs as part of the investigation portion of the adventure promoted good role playing and gave the players allows the players to feel invested in the world.

The Bad.

I had a hard time trying to get the backstory of the island to come into play. I would of liked more pre-written dialog to help guide the types of answers the locals would be willing to provide. The rail-roaded events played out as they needed to but it was forced and the sudden arrival of the final encounter didn't make sense thematically.

I'm sure if I ran this adventure again I would handle some of it differently, but there was so much to prepare for in the island locations. Not knowing which direction players were going you end up needing to throw out half of your preparation since they can't do it all before nightfall.

The Great.

Any adventure with kobolds is great in my book. They can be goofy or fierce as needed by the story. I only wish there was more variety of them in this session. The bone outfits were a nice touch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 20:15:49

DDEX 01-3: Shadows Over the Moonsea, PIRATES and ghost pirates to boot. A great module to get players to think about what do you do if you are not on land? Is using my fire spell / attack such a good idea on a ship? What about my movement? The standard land battle occurs but the boss fight in the end requires the players to choose spells wisely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:10:56

I loved running this module and the twist at the end is hilarious. It does take a bit more than four hours to run, but it's still fun to run and play! I tend to embellish and add more detail to it, though, since it it a bit sparse in some areas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:54:40

I had a very moderate reaction to running this one. There's a ton of background that is easily missed, and without the background the end doesn't make a ton of sense. That said, it's a really neat setting, and a cinematic finish that are well worth the playthrough., especially if your group investigats things thoroughly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2018 20:23:31

A fun module. A really entertaining excursion out of Phlan, but keep your players moving or the exploration will take time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:19:05

I've watched this one on Roll20Play, I've played in the adventure and I've DM'd it. I really enjoy this particular adventure, though it really pays to do a little preparation beforehand. Other than the 'finale' my characters were able to avoid combat throughout the entire span so were able to spend much more time being 'gumshoe' detectives. My table decided not to build any fortifications, so they really only had to deal with the ambush party and I hand-waved (like was suggested) that the boat and Elisande were carried off to the boats in the water. Again, most of this adventure works if you play up the creepiness factor and if you run the combat like the author suggests, throwing only the two 'leads' and the entire remainder of mobs into the 'roll for both, whoever wins remove a mob' style. Only engage the mobs directly with the players if the players engage. Combat was smooth when run in that style which is what the author suggested.

A great continuation of the story of Phlan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 20:14:41

I've recently completed Shadow of the Moonsea via play-by-post, and you can check out my review over at my blog!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kareena R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 11:20:05

Shadows of the Moonsea was an exploration based adventure. Most of our characters enjoyed playing it, as a DM it was hard to determine how much information to give to players. The islanders made for an interesting plot twist, but it was really hard to figure out the history of the island without giving away spoilers to the characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 20:18:39

A mixed bag, but I'd always prefer Adventurer's League modules be too ambitious than too dull.

For the first time in the Tyranny of Dragons path there's a good mix of exploration, roleplaying and combat here, with a central mystery to solve, fun characters to interact with, and a climactic battle. It introduces some great NPCs who'll likely hang around in your campaign - Alleyd Burral isn't given much to do here, but she returns regularly along the path. Elisande is the sort of easily-adoptable character likely to become a party mascot.

On the other hand, there are some serious mis-steps. The villagers were probably intended to draw from the long tradition of sullen Lovecraftian rural cultists, but the description of their village "huts" and the unfortunate choice to give them accented dialogue makes them instead read as exceptionaly racist stereotypes. Some DM finessing - most notably to their dialogue - is needed to salvage them.

In addition, the plot of the villains ends up being overly complex, and ultimately pointless. The McGuffin the villains are searching for is not to be found in this module, or indeed in this campaign, and players can be left thinking it's important when actually they'll need to pop over to the hardback Tyranny of Dragons campaign to see what has become of it. The DM will need to be careful and creative in giving the players enough exposition to understand the events they have just been involved in.

Finally, the "guardian of the cave" is an odd squib. The setup suggests that the lone monster patrolling the woods is a serious and frightening threat, but stat-wise it's not even a match for a single martially-oriented level 2 character. Our group murdered it before it even rolled an attack.

Still, a definite improvement over Defiance in Phlan and Secrets of Sokol Keep, and a good fit for anyone looking for a short tier 1 adventure that's more than just a dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2018 14:04:47

Very good and very complete module.

The story is really great. There are a lot of great RP opportunities in the begining.

Then you have some travel are you can apply all the travel rules.

The end is great. The clock is ticking and the players have many many options to explore. They won't do everything possible which gives a really good replayability valor to this adventure.

The plot twist is awesome are hilarious.

My friends (who are experienced homebrew players) had a lot of reserve concerning non-homebrew stuff and Adventurers League. I runned this module and with them and it convinced them that Adventurers League can be quite fun and the mission are not always simple hack & slash rescue mission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:47:53

It can be difficult to see the complexites of the early modules - A certain goat and girl are found here that keeps cropping up into other modules. The mystery aspect of these are fun, but can be missed by unattentive parties



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 39 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items