Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 15
5 29
2 5
0 1
0 0
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2018 21:38:42

This is a well written story that moves along quickly and here are two of the aspects that we found worked well; not a ton of DC checks our group finds that too many DC checks slows the game down especially in situations where only one or two players can really participate, the story allowed good interaction between the characters and the NPC's especially with the brawl at the Laughing Goblin. We used this module to introduce a new player to the AL system as it did not overwhelm them with too much technical details and the monters encountered were tier appropriate yet still challenging. The only bad thing, which could not be avoided, is this module has good drops as far as magic and gold that for the former is now unlocked but as the latter goes a ton of useless words.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2018 11:53:58

I ran this at a store a while ago. The exploration focus in the beginning is a nice break from adventures where every other scene is given a combat encounter. The ghost was a fun way to point the players in the right direction, although I may have been slightly heavy-handed with her at times. My main complaint is just the lack of any sort of map for the island and keep. I don't need a detailed, gridded battlemap or anything, but just a rough-sketched layout of the keep, and possibly some of the surroundings, would have made exploration much smoother.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:28:28

For new DM's this is 5 start stuff. Fairly simple, can run a bit long but nothing too bad if you keep player's focused. There's a few mechanics for offering hints to players. It has cats. The setting is great in my opinion, it's limited in scope but is developed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2018 19:01:03

Spoilers included in this review.

Sokol Keep is one of the first adventures for the AL line, and it features some issues that will crop up for many of these modules. While it has a solid story, it lacks a good hook to involve the PCs, and there's no good way for the players to learn the complex backstory and events that are driving the plot.

The lighthouse in a busy harbor being dark for a couple of nights seems like a big problem for a lot of people. The island is only 300 feet from the docks. PCs may ask why nobody has taken the 5 minute boat ride over there to just ask what's wrong. It makes little sense.

The module assumes the characters are so interested in the lighthouse (for no reason), that they will go to the Sokol family's rep and ask her permission to go out to the lighthouse island to investigate/fix it. "Please may we go investigate why your lighthouse is broken? No charge, of course."

My recommendation is to say the Sokol family rep has specifically called together and hired the characters to go investigate the trouble at the keep. She visited herself the previous day and talked with the groundskeeper, to discover that both the young noble and all of the guards are missing, which is of course concerning. She's keeping the trouble quiet for now (the Sokol family doesn't want anyone questioning their ability to take care of the lighthouse), and has told the local government it's a minor problem that will be repaired soon. She wants the characters to go over there and get things straightened out. This gives them a reason to go, and also lends some urgency to getting it fixed quickly.

Secondly, I'd give the spirit on the island a scene where she's able to fully manifest and talk with the characters, giving them the full backstory about the young noble, the corrupt guard captain, etc., at some point near the end.

I'm giving this module 4 stars, because it has its heart in the right place, and the issues above can be changed and worked around, but they really should have been caught before publication.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 01:21:40

This was a fun little module. It was hard figuring out a good was to bring in the ghost as they never found anything that would have made her angry while simultaneously finding everything that they needed to solve the quest, but the story itself was intriguing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:07:22

In terms of combat, RP, and exploration, this mod has a great balance between the three. The story/plot is simple enough that it can be run even with limited prep time. It's also open enough that you can add your own twist without straying too far from what was provided but still engaging enough that running things as-is can still be fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Oskar R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 09:53:34

I ran this as a start to a Phlan based campaign using the season 1 modules. The players really enjoyed the exploration and mystery aspects to start the adventure. They never figured out what was up with the ghost but they still joke about all the things that happened to the rogue when she took the valuables from the room. The combats were challenging, though I barely adjusted them despite the players being 1st level. Maybe my players are a little more focused on combat and tactics but I find that with most modules, treating them as if they are a higher APL gives them a challenging experience that is still reasonable and satisfying.

I highly recommend this adventure, we're 7 modules into this campaign and the players are still talking about what happened in Sokol Keep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:09:27

The premise is interesting, but the module seems to drag a bit. Meticulous players might want to explore everything, which is great! I suppose it really depends on the party as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 15:34:16

This module does a great job providing a little bit of everything for players. A bit of investigation, plenty of roleplaying opportunity, and good combat options towards the end. I'm particularly fond of how this module has little connections to other modules in the series, making running them much more immersive. I think the only really missed opportunity is a spirit that is given a rather dispropportionate aount of background for the role they play in the story. Altogether a great module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 19:11:40

My players enjoy this mod. It sets a creepy tone, and gets folks directly into some of the history of Phlan. I find that it gets a better reaction when running it as part of an overall campaign set in Phlan, than as a one off.

The main challenge I have found comes at the end, as most folks are underwealmed by the end reward. Yes, players are motivated by loot...who knew? (ahem.)

I would suggest an update to the mod which allows for additional story based rewards impacting the actual narative (showing how your actions in this mod impact every other Phlan mod.) - the potential is there for the lamplighters....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 02:03:53

This adventure is one of the earliest DDEX modules to see release, and you know what? It's great. The story is compelling, there are some lovely setpieces, and combats are simple but well-placed. It's friendly to new players and easy to run for new DMs, and introduces some NPCs and locations that will show up again later in the season. All in all, a fine mod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:23:17

If your players enjoy being gumshoes, love the social aspect and really get into character interaction, this story will not disappoint. Starts with a 'bar fight' and ends with a Dungeon Crawl -- what's not to love?

If you play up the social interaction, rollplay and investigation angle of this adventure, you'll have a blast with it. If you're just looking for combat encounters, your players might be bored until the last act.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kareena R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 11:16:20

An oldy but a goody. This is a fun adventure! If PC's luck out and explore things in the right order then it is only a 2.5 hour adventure, but if not then they are faced with odd traps and it will definitely take them 4+ hours to complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 09:52:07

The players enjoyed it, though they had trouble finding a reason to head to the island since there was no reward to get them to go there. Sometimes adventure for the sake of adventure isn't enough.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 19:08:14

First half offers great RP opportunities. It is really cool. I've been running a few season 1 modules with the same group and they really blend well altogether!

Second half is a classic dungeon crawl. With simple and classic but great monsters/traps/etc

As a standalone, it is average. But you should really run all of season 1 modules like a "mini hardcover" and all the adventures kinda blend and it makes something really cool!

So average as a standalone, but good as a part of all season 1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items