Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 3
1 5
0 0
0 0
0 0
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 21:07:37

An excellent dungeon crawl. Very challenging, especially for level 1 and 2 characters. Even scaled-down, it's a lot of encounters for those characters.

The mystery that opens it up can be a bit tricky to unwind, but most of the stops have clear clues to spur you towards the plot. It can bog the game down if there are completionists in the party, though. The first fight and its revelations are very interesting, so there is some payoff to the investigation.

Probably the biggest problem with this module is that the most interesting part of the story is all behind the scenes, and the players don't really get to understand the interesting backstory of their antagonist and what motivates the goblin forces. More explicit hints as to what's going on than vague descriptions of a horned goblin and other goblins pounding spikes into their heads to look like him would really help the adventurers get interested in their foe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2018 20:15:29

DDEX3-10 is a lot of fun to run, especially against a fighter-heavy party. In spite of other criticisms, there are several opportunitites for roleplaying, especially with the incubus Mardivec. I never had him attack the characters, but he managed to seduce one of the fighters (in a very PG-way) while shape-shifted, and give his necrotic kiss. It does tend to run a bit long, but the maps clarify the layout and evoke a strong sense of place. We never got to the scarecrows, but those encounters looked fun as well.

The adventure is definitely on the hard side, and I'd say it's optimized for a party of five 4th level characters or maybe even six. Our APL was about 3, though we had between 6 and 7 every session. I almost TPKed all of them, and had to pull a few punches, especially when Agrak came out with his carrion crawler.

The game runs a bit long. Expect between 8 and 12 hours, depending on how you play it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 20:26:33

Great fun and a lot of role play capabiliities, especially for a dungeon crawl. Depending on the amount of RP, could easily stretch into a six hour session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2017 10:47:17

Quelling the Hordes has opportunity for light investigation, roleplaying, and a good variety of combat. It is fun if run well, but the adventure can easily turn into a slog-fest. The DM should make conscious choices about how to run it. I ran this in a four-hour slot and was nervous beforehand that the party would feel rushed, but that ended up not being the case.

It starts with a simple investigation that includes both combat and a small roleplay opportunity. There is no puzzle-solving, but the story pieces provide good flavor. If you have limited time, DMs should make sure the party keeps moving through the investigation because the meat of the adventure is after this.

The trail leads the party to a large set of caves where there are many encounter opportunities. There is good variety here where fighting head-on is often not the best approach -- so the players need to make decisions about how to proceed. This variety includes:

  • A CR 4 monster that can easily TPK a low-level party, but can be negotiated with.
  • A village, where the party can use stealth or other means to avoid being attacked by everyone at once.
  • Possibility of equipment destruction, which is especially worrisome for poor 1st level characters It is easily possible for the party to explore/encounter everything else before finding the boss. If time is limited, the DM may need to steer them.

When I first picked this up, I would have liked it if the adventure had more guidance for DMs running this in a standard four-hour slot. Fortunately, there is enough advice out there -- here on DMs Guild and out in the web -- for DMs who are preparing to run this.

(Note: In one place the text says that the adventure is optimized for 1st level, and in another place it says it is optimized for 3rd level. Reading around on the web, I settled on 1st level.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:50:59

A nice detective story with a solid fight at the end. Performing the investigation is straightforward - with a fight if the party goes that direction. IF, and I do mean IF, the party succeeds on their perception checks this can run faster than expected, as they will encounter the boss fight early. I personally buffed it up a bit to make it a challenge. (Strong versus average). I liked it, but I wish the party had been more straight forward in their approach and taken on everything the module had to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 23:03:05

This is a very combat heavy Tier 1. It is Tough. With a little modification, it could easily be a Tier 2 adventure. There is a little bit of roleplaying at the start, but it quickly turns into encounter fest and a slog through a cave. There is some replayability, but only ifthe DM changes the encounters. A couple of us are debating on trying to run this as a Tier2, but it would not be AL legal. I enjoy running this but it is a bit long. The original copy had a misprint that stated APL was 5 first level characters. They upgraded that to 5 third level characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:16:45

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 900-1200 Note: WotC/DDAL doesn't do ANY cleanup or editing, even when blatant errors are pointed out.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:28:59

Quelling the Horde is like an introductory adventure to get the players familiar with Hillsfar or what is the situation there. The adventure has a great hook that will get the players to follow the scenes and will introduce them well to the history and situation in Hillsfar. The combat in the later parts can actually be deadly for the players. There is a lot of combat in the later part of the adventure and around 2 encounters there are potentially deadly to low level players. I recommend this adventure if you are looking for a bit of challenging combat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items