Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 29
8 24
2 10
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 22:11:32

A superb set of short introductory adventures that does an excellent job introducing the core concepts and themes of D&D to new players. It's well-designed, easy to run, and covers a diverse range of exploration, interaction, and combat. Everything is in here: a tense standoff with a gang of thieves during an undercover sting operation, a covert rescue mission to save villagers kidnapped by goblins, a classic dungeon crawl in an undead-infested crypt, and more. This is one of my favorite adventures to recommend to new players and new DMs, and I'm happy to give it a 5/5 review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 20:10:31

DDEX 1-1 in five parts: I cannot say enough on how great DDEX 1-1 Defiance in Phlan has been to me as a DM for teaching others either how to play D&D or getting those that already do play introduced into Adventurer's League play. The quick one shot one mission modules plus the introductory faction play makes explaining D&D, AL, and factions rather easy within a two hour time slot. At Omaha Comincon I was able to introduce 14 new D&D AL players to the realm of Faerun this past weekend using this module. The only bad thing is that all the modules need some serious editing on structure I found a lot of story disconnects for which I improvised upon in the modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:07:42

I like how the mini-adventures tie together and offer a good introduction to the game. We ran this as a demo for a con, and the players seemed to enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank v. d. Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 08:01:32

This adventure contains 5 mini adventures that take an 1hour plus each. They are easy to run and execute and all have basic settings. Each adventure ties to one of the factions which is a helpful tool to introduce these to the players.

The three dungeon crawl adventures are very easy to execute as a DM and do have some fun elements/puzzles. The dragon theme is flowing through each and every one of them but its a bit vague. The one with the black market dragon egg operation is by far the best one. It gives the players a chance to be creative and will defeniatly generate clownly solutions with new players. The tavern puzzle is really fun, but it is a bit far fetched. Though I found it good enough to weave it into my hardcover campaign.

As stated earlier, they all have a Dragon theme, but its really out there. The best one is the 2nd one which creates a very scary induvidual for a level 1 party.

For beginning DM's I recommend running this one, it will build you some confidence since it's easy to execute.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 07:46:33

I've run this as an online game, and it was a lot of fun. It was my first game as DM, and I think it served well as an introductory game for not just my players but for me as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:28:01

If you can't really get the 5 hours in to run this one, survey your players by their factions and only run the ones that represent the factions at the table or break it into two parts. My favorites in this series were the Harper, Emeral Enclave and Order of the Gauntlet ones anyway. The Emeral Enclave one, if you play it right, is an absolute blast for players who love to rollplay. Handwave a 'detect magic' type implement by having the faction rep give them a crystal that can perform that function by concentrating on it or something similar. As an intro to Phlan and the issues in this season, this set is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 20:45:26

This was a decent adventure. When my party played it, they quickly made it through the adventures in less than the 5 hour times. This is a great adventure for new players what with the rests after each combat. The adventure was not overly difficult though there was some struggle in the 2nd mini adventure if I remember correctly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2018 18:32:07

A generic but flexible intro to 5E.

The module consists of five short mini-adventures, each running in about 60 to 90 minutes.

We used this in our home group as the module we ran on the same night as character creation, knowing that rolling characters would take most of the night and therefore we could play as many or as few mini-adventures afterwards as we have time for.

The mini-adventures vary in quality. There's three traditional very short dungeon crawls, which are all about standard for this kind of thing. There's a mystery/investigation plot, which would be good except that the underlying mystery is disappointing and random. And there's a plot which sees the players running a sting operation on an illegal dragon egg sale, which is the best of the bunch by a fair margin with lots of opportunity for comedy, suspense and action.

Despite the underlying theme of the mini-adventures ("something is going on with dragons"), they're all very low stakes and don't exactly create an epic feel for the ongoing campaign. None of the NPCs here get used again in the adventure path, and there's not a lot of opportunity for players to have a personal stake in any of these outside of their faction contacts. Nor is anything that happens particularly memorable - there's a strong sense of having done all this before in D&D many, many times.

That said, it's solid, it's easy to run, it's flexible, and my players had fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nick N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:50:41

Easily one of the most fun new character modules I've run. Each of the 5 parts featured varied enemies (undead, bandits, goblins, etc) as well as differing challenges (Puzzles, social challenges, combat).

A wonderful introduction to D&D and I look forward to running it for my players again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2018 19:06:52

These were nice adventures for introducing players to DDAL and the Tyranny of Dragon season. There's a good mix of combat, role playing, and getting draconic flavoring. My players are still laughing over some of the role playing. Worth the time and money!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 08:30:21

Ran this via PbF @ RPGGeek. Easy to DM, lots of places to either get way into the RP or slim it down and just concentrate on the combat. Group choice. Excellant intro module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paige L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 10:38:07

This is a good introductory adventure. It's written as five short mini-missions that can each be played in about in 45-90 min. This adventure sets up the story line for the first season of Adventurer's League. If you're looking for something you can play in "little bites" in order to introduce new players and new DMs to D&D, this is a great choice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2018 11:21:51

I enjoyed running this adventure and my players had a lot of fun. 5 different mini adventures with a variety of styles, each one introducting a different faction. The fifth one contains one of my favorite monsters to run so that's always a plus. If you're not sure where to start this is a good taste of what is to come. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by D\'Orlando B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 14:59:12

Easy to follow and keep players engaged. great for begining players and DM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cheryl R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2017 12:50:39

Wish I would have started DMing with this one. The mini-missions can feel overwhelming to a time-crunched table, but if this is your first time-and you have plenty of time to run these-they're great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items