Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e) $2.99 $1.79
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
61 33
31 26
8 10
1 0
0 0
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Damien N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2021 11:42:37

So I ran this and a Great Upheaval for my sons' book club as an "intro to DnD" for two different groups of five kids. I think "Great Upheaval" worked a little better for the kids, but this is a very solid group of adventures. Also the world building between this and some other adventures helped me move those five kids through other adventures (Shadows Over the Moonsea, eventually Tyranny in Phlan) so that they felt as though their charecters were charecters in books they were reading which was kind of cool.

Very solid. Would reccomend for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2020 13:37:08

We all have to start somewhere, and, if you’re just getting into playing or DMing Dungeons and Dragons, “Defiance in Phlan” by Shawn Merwin is a good place to start. The adventure packet links with the Tyranny of Dragons book and offers five simple but exciting adventures for Tier I players, all centered in the town of Phlan. Your adventurers will hand off a magical artifact, rescue some kidnapped folx, slay undead, and locate a magical item. Each adventure gets progressively more difficult and explores the multiple levels of play in DnD. They also give you monster stats, magic item stats, and simple but effective maps.

I’ve played a few of these adventures several times, and I find them quite easy to implement and explain. They have enough action in them to keep most players interested and are just fun. However, I would say the adventure packet’s strongest point is that these adventures are really, really good for new DMs and players. The explanations are clear and concise, and the adventures offer anything you’d need to run them. They do a good job of introducing DnD as a system to players, and they get you interested in the world as a whole. Honestly, the packet is one I go back to again and again for newbies, and it’s always a hit.

So I would say if you need some simple, easy-to-run adventures for new players, give “Defiance in Phlan” a shot. They aren’t the most innovative adventures, but they’re solid, and the price is right for five one-shots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Floris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2020 02:35:04

The first module I ever DMed and still a favourite to start campaigns off with and introduce people to DND. I DMed this for a bunch of first-timers and I saw their eyes light up during the first adventure involving the trade-off with the dragon egg. I think this was because it challenged their idea of what DND could be. Here they were expecting a fight with some goblins in a cave and instead they found themselves in a scene more reminiscent of a crime-thriller.

The format of five separate adventures has it's pro's and cons. It's a great idea for sessions with first-time players because if things take a little longer than you thought you can just choose to skip one or two of the adventures rather than abruptly end the session without any sense of closure. It does lack narrative cohesion though, and any first-time DM running this might want to read up a bit on the city of Phlan and it's history while doing prep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Riley H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2020 21:00:11

The bite-sized quests are perfect for new players who are learning the game! DMing them was super simple and they were easy to modify to how I wanted them to play-out, as well as being versatile for differing amounts of players. Would recommend and will definitely play again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2020 13:51:30

Good introductory adventure. Too bad some maps are not included (e.g. an inn, the barn)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Pablo I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 03:20:00

NON-ADVENTURER'S LEAGUE EXPERIENCE

A perfect way to start an adventure with new players, by letting them learn about the game through smaller-sized, self-contained adventures. It was a real hit and a "safer" way to start at first level than some of the introductions by official modules. It also allows the party to start more organically than "you all know each other and you're in a tavern". Also, the way the factions appear can help spoon-fed their information instead of suddenly dropping it all on them.

Best part of the five segments is there seems to be a little bit of everything of the game: it really shows some diversity into what the players can do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2020 20:40:01

Cool scenarios...with different kinds of challenges in each one. Really loved the first episode...love whole premise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2019 20:42:50

Excellent set of short missions wrapped into one adventure. Well written and clear, would be excellent for both new and experienced DM's and players. Good variety of mission types and easy to modify to fit into any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2019 19:35:02

My first experiance as a DM and they 2nd time only playing DnD and I decided to get this whole set. Only one of my players had done DnD before and they enjoyed it as well. This starting set of missions is perfect for a brand new DM and new players and gave me confidence to start working on my own Custom adventure. I highly recomend it to anyone starting out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Liz G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2019 23:38:32

As a new DM, this was easy to run, and my school group of new players had lots of fun. Good for demonstrating different kinds of encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by DONG H. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2019 03:52:18

Exellent scenario for first-time players and DMs. The plot was really basic, but it works well enough without any chance of misinterpretation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 21:45:17

Spoiler Alert! This adventure really helped me set up that a multi colored dragon was going to be the end boss. I emphasized the colors in the adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samantha G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2019 11:24:06

What a revelation this set of modules has been to me as a new DM. I am running a women-only table at a gaming cafe. All new players and me, a fairly new DM (but massively influenced and inspired by Matt Mercer) had a great time. First rule of table top gaming is ensure that you rplayers have fun. We have explored role play, combat, planning, skill checks and character interaction in so many ways. The party rogue in particular has delved deep into the Factions in Phlan and all players are eager to keep going through the missions. Thanks WotC, you're making a proper DM of me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by M A H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:19:47

Excellent series of short scenarios. Good for novice players and GMs. Some of the plots have loopholes, but most players wonj't notice these. Everything happens close to a settlement so pleanty of opportunities for rest which might make things easier for characters unless they press on though the full series without rest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 20:16:06

Enjoyable set of starter adventures that introduce new players to both the RP and combat aspects of the game. I especially enjoy running missions 2 and 3 as they are short and sweet dungeon crawls.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items