Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e) $2.99 $2.54
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 26
6 24
0 10
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Liz G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2019 23:38:32

As a new DM, this was easy to run, and my school group of new players had lots of fun. Good for demonstrating different kinds of encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by DONG H. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2019 03:52:18

Exellent scenario for first-time players and DMs. The plot was really basic, but it works well enough without any chance of misinterpretation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 21:45:17

Spoiler Alert! This adventure really helped me set up that a multi colored dragon was going to be the end boss. I emphasized the colors in the adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samantha G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2019 11:24:06

What a revelation this set of modules has been to me as a new DM. I am running a women-only table at a gaming cafe. All new players and me, a fairly new DM (but massively influenced and inspired by Matt Mercer) had a great time. First rule of table top gaming is ensure that you rplayers have fun. We have explored role play, combat, planning, skill checks and character interaction in so many ways. The party rogue in particular has delved deep into the Factions in Phlan and all players are eager to keep going through the missions. Thanks WotC, you're making a proper DM of me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by M A H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:19:47

Excellent series of short scenarios. Good for novice players and GMs. Some of the plots have loopholes, but most players wonj't notice these. Everything happens close to a settlement so pleanty of opportunities for rest which might make things easier for characters unless they press on though the full series without rest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 20:16:06

Enjoyable set of starter adventures that introduce new players to both the RP and combat aspects of the game. I especially enjoy running missions 2 and 3 as they are short and sweet dungeon crawls.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Drew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 14:34:34

I great set of missions for a first time DM to use with new players. Quick fun and dramatic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 21:22:53

A perfect set of mini adventures to introduce new players to Adventurer's League. Players had fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 17:12:13

I ran this for a full table of newbies and it was enjoyable both from a DMing standpoint and a narrative standpoint. That there are five different "mini-adventures" gave the players a taste of the different aspects of playing D&D (investigation, planning out attacks, urban adventures, foresty adventures etc.) It is simple enough to pick up and play without needing to encumber the new players with info overload.

However, it is not for more experienced players who might be looking for more of a challenge. (Or maybe I just roll really low 99% of the time.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 17:52:53

This is a great intro to absolute new players to D&D. I would suggest that DMs really look at augmenting the mod to really give the players a good experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2018 18:00:26

Good module overall. Works very well as an introduction to D&D and its core gameplay pillars, combat, exploration, and role play. Combat is more heavily featured, but the investigation in part 4 is very RP heavy and there are some interesting traps in the later modules. There are a few cautions; first, the investigation can have the PCs running after tangents easily depending on how vague the DM plays things in the RP, and can end up extending the session if not careful. Second, the "boss" of the last fight in part 2 can easily 1 shot a lvl 1, so take that into consideration when balancing the encounter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles W. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2018 20:01:01

Contains 5 1 hour modules, perfect intro for new players and DMs. I like to keep these in my bag in case a session ends too early to do a 2 hour modules but we can still squeeze in one of these 1 hours. The modules have a good mix of role play, skill checks, exploration and combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 22:11:32

A superb set of short introductory adventures that does an excellent job introducing the core concepts and themes of D&D to new players. It's well-designed, easy to run, and covers a diverse range of exploration, interaction, and combat. Everything is in here: a tense standoff with a gang of thieves during an undercover sting operation, a covert rescue mission to save villagers kidnapped by goblins, a classic dungeon crawl in an undead-infested crypt, and more. This is one of my favorite adventures to recommend to new players and new DMs, and I'm happy to give it a 5/5 review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 20:10:31

DDEX 1-1 in five parts: I cannot say enough on how great DDEX 1-1 Defiance in Phlan has been to me as a DM for teaching others either how to play D&D or getting those that already do play introduced into Adventurer's League play. The quick one shot one mission modules plus the introductory faction play makes explaining D&D, AL, and factions rather easy within a two hour time slot. At Omaha Comincon I was able to introduce 14 new D&D AL players to the realm of Faerun this past weekend using this module. The only bad thing is that all the modules need some serious editing on structure I found a lot of story disconnects for which I improvised upon in the modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:07:42

I like how the mini-adventures tie together and offer a good introduction to the game. We ran this as a demo for a con, and the players seemed to enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items