Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 22
12 9
4 0
0 1
1 0
Dungeon Master\'s Guide (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2021 19:40:21

the one that started it all!

reading the POD book, you can definitely see Gary Gygax design and his rulings as well. this is definitely advanced but it is pretty good in execution... for the most part. it isn't perfect but it is definitely a great time.

if you still find the DMG confusing, i recommend getting a copy of OSRIC as it helps clarify some rules and such.

overall great POD, wish the paper was a higher quality but it isn't a deal breaker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 10:52:10

Ordering: I purchased the Standard Color 1E Dungeon Masters Guide POD on 02/02/2021 for $21.50 and received it on 03/10/2021. Alright. I know it's COVID-19 times, but from what I understand, go ahead and count on it taking a month to get your order to you with near zero updates even during non COVID-19 times. Last update I got was on 02/03/2021 when the printer received it and then another on 03/06/2021 when it was shipped via USPS. This wasn't an issue for me, but might be for you.

Condition: No damage and the box was well packaged. The binding is solid. The printing is solid. Everything reads great. If you want a playable or reference copy of 1E, I highly recommend this POD product. I went with standard color as opposed to premium color since the book is B/W and I figured it wouldn't matter. It doesn't seem to matter. I'm happy with the standard color but would likely opt into premium color if I had the gold laying around.

Content: This is the same revised "premium" edition 2012 WoTC re-print with the same cringey WoTC revised cover. Since this is a POD book, the books are about 1/3 inch taller than standard D&D books. It looks and reads good, but it also looks and reads like a POD product.

Intended Audience: If you have never played 1E and are looking to get into 1E for cheap, this is for you. If you already have the original and want to have another copy that you don't mind spilling beer or lending to a friend, etc., this is for you. If you are a collector or a nostalgia hound looking for a facsimile copy for your bookshelf, this is a POD of a re-print with a god-awful cover (my opinion!) and I doubt you would be satisfied with this POD simulacrum, but your mileage may vary!

Conclusion: I paid less than $65 bucks for POD reprints of all three core 1E rulebooks and feel very satisfied with my purchase. I think the reprint covers are kinda gaudy and cringey, but that’s my personal preference. They’re uniform and look pretty decent on a bookshelf and the price can’t be beat. That said, I would gladly pay for another POD set with the original covers if it is ever offered. I doubt I am the only one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 14:02:22

The printing and binding are great! Unfortunately, it shipped in an oversized box and banged up the corner of the binding (there was a Rules Cyclopedia in that shipment that suffered a similar fate--ugh!). I don't understand how a book printing company doesn't have appropriately sized boxes to ship books in, but such is the case. The quality of the printing job is top-notch and that makes up for it to some extent, otherwise this would have a 5-star rating.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Curtis F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 13:46:45

A true gem. Most of this is usable cross-edition, and can fill in where thinner DMGs lack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Devon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2020 00:41:33

My God so much nostalgia here. High quality work, its like slipping back in time. I ordered the whole set (Hard copy).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 06:58:41

So happy this is available POD. This was one of the first D&D books I purchased with my hard earned lawn mowing money back in the early 80s. I lost that copy when my basement flooded many years later. I like 5e a lot, but the DMG feels very truncated compared to the 1E DMG. The scan looks great, the searchable PDF is amazingly useful and the information in the book itself is as useful now as it was back in '81.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 18:16:28

I just received my premium 1e book today and found that on page 138 there is text from the "Book of Infinite Spells" that was printed over a picture of the book. Otherwise, an excellent copy and clear quality. I did put in a request for correction with DMsguild and my guess is that this will put this book out of print for a while again. We'll see.....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by KEVIN D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2020 14:10:26

NOTE: Review for the core Premium POD set of 1e books delivered to me as a set (DMG, PH, MM & UA). Guessing most people who are buying one of these core books, are going to grab them all, so this applies for the lot.

Went for premium POD on this book and not disappointed. Most people buying 1e stuff know what they're getting into and can read plenty of reviews on 1e core books elsewhere for the game style itself. This is more about the product print quality and what arrives at your doorstep.

For newcomers to 1e, used to the whitespace and larger text of a lot of more modern systems, you are getting a TON of textual information for your money. It might come as a bit of a shock just how much there is packed in these books (especially the DMG: it's renowned for good reason). You will be happily kept busy reading these for a long, long while.

The book prints themselves looks fantastic: Covers are all unified in colour tones, shading and look great (was worried about the Unearthed Arcana as the pic on Drive Thru looks faded but no issues with print). Inside, the blacks are deep for all the pictures and the text is very clear and legible, no blurred text and everything look high contrast on the decent quality paper. Quickly flipped through them all and nothing stood out as greyish or faded (which seems to happen with some POD's). That old-school art looks great.

I had forgotten how small and dense the text was in the book (so, so, dense!) as I'm used to looking at the PDF. I'm 50 and wear glasses and didn't have issues reading any of the text in decent light so I feel Premium POD is worth the money.

Saved a bundle getting POD as the prices of the originals in decent condition now are madness. Also, no, ahem, extra recent disclaimer included in the books: as far as I can see, they look true to the originals. Whatever your stance on it, there is your answer.

Was a slight dent on corners due to shipping on a couple of the books: Drive Thru should at least bubble wrap the books as they're right up against the cardboard and take any impact damage. I won't take a star off as this is more of a luck thing with shipping but something to consider. There were no tears and the bindings are solid and covers are fine.

A great purchase that should last for years. I'm happy. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 12:53:57

Quality of the book was great (minus a minor dent in the bottom corner due to how it was shipped. Although I am very pleased with the product itself-- the packaging in which it came had something to be desired, but overall the product is great; really brings back memories of youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2020 15:38:38

Love it! I was so excited for my order to arrive. Thanks, guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2020 10:51:05

I got the POD hardcover and couldn't be happier regarding the quality of the print. As for the book itself, what can I say that hasn't already been said? It's a piece of history that I would say is more than worthy of being played today, but even if it's not your cup of tea, there are still plenty of lessons and inspirations to be taken. Especially here. Even if you have no interest in actually playing 1e, this can be taken as a stand alone reference text that I truthfully found to be more useful in my games than any DMG published since.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2019 17:18:33

Great print. Kind of hard to read but easy once you get the hang of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:55:06

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:21:51

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2016 01:25:14

This is a good-quality copy, but, as a nostalgic owner of print DMGs with both the Sutherland and Easley covers, I can't help but feel it would have been a more pleasing product with both original covers included (maybe as addenda), especially Sutherland's iconic wraparound artwork.

For those who had previously obtained scans from WotC, this IS a new scan , and is not missing p.175, as in earlier editions. Also, the ad on p.235 has been replaced with the TSR Wizard logo and p.237's product listing is now a Gygax Memorial Fund notice.

Other than that, the scan is clear and readable, and will be a worthwhile purchase for the nostalgic gamer or the devotee of the Old School experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items