Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
31 18
10 8
3 0
0 1
1 0
Dungeon Master\'s Guide (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 06:58:41

So happy this is available POD. This was one of the first D&D books I purchased with my hard earned lawn mowing money back in the early 80s. I lost that copy when my basement flooded many years later. I like 5e a lot, but the DMG feels very truncated compared to the 1E DMG. The scan looks great, the searchable PDF is amazingly useful and the information in the book itself is as useful now as it was back in '81.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 18:16:28

I just received my premium 1e book today and found that on page 138 there is text from the "Book of Infinite Spells" that was printed over a picture of the book. Otherwise, an excellent copy and clear quality. I did put in a request for correction with DMsguild and my guess is that this will put this book out of print for a while again. We'll see.....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by KEVIN D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2020 14:10:26

NOTE: Review for the core Premium POD set of 1e books delivered to me as a set (DMG, PH, MM & UA). Guessing most people who are buying one of these core books, are going to grab them all, so this applies for the lot.

Went for premium POD on this book and not disappointed. Most people buying 1e stuff know what they're getting into and can read plenty of reviews on 1e core books elsewhere for the game style itself. This is more about the product print quality and what arrives at your doorstep.

For newcomers to 1e, used to the whitespace and larger text of a lot of more modern systems, you are getting a TON of textual information for your money. It might come as a bit of a shock just how much there is packed in these books (especially the DMG: it's renowned for good reason). You will be happily kept busy reading these for a long, long while.

The book prints themselves looks fantastic: Covers are all unified in colour tones, shading and look great (was worried about the Unearthed Arcana as the pic on Drive Thru looks faded but no issues with print). Inside, the blacks are deep for all the pictures and the text is very clear and legible, no blurred text and everything look high contrast on the decent quality paper. Quickly flipped through them all and nothing stood out as greyish or faded (which seems to happen with some POD's). That old-school art looks great.

I had forgotten how small and dense the text was in the book (so, so, dense!) as I'm used to looking at the PDF. I'm 50 and wear glasses and didn't have issues reading any of the text in decent light so I feel Premium POD is worth the money.

Saved a bundle getting POD as the prices of the originals in decent condition now are madness. Also, no, ahem, extra recent disclaimer included in the books: as far as I can see, they look true to the originals. Whatever your stance on it, there is your answer.

Was a slight dent on corners due to shipping on a couple of the books: Drive Thru should at least bubble wrap the books as they're right up against the cardboard and take any impact damage. I won't take a star off as this is more of a luck thing with shipping but something to consider. There were no tears and the bindings are solid and covers are fine.

A great purchase that should last for years. I'm happy. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 12:53:57

Quality of the book was great (minus a minor dent in the bottom corner due to how it was shipped. Although I am very pleased with the product itself-- the packaging in which it came had something to be desired, but overall the product is great; really brings back memories of youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2020 15:38:38

Love it! I was so excited for my order to arrive. Thanks, guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2020 10:51:05

I got the POD hardcover and couldn't be happier regarding the quality of the print. As for the book itself, what can I say that hasn't already been said? It's a piece of history that I would say is more than worthy of being played today, but even if it's not your cup of tea, there are still plenty of lessons and inspirations to be taken. Especially here. Even if you have no interest in actually playing 1e, this can be taken as a stand alone reference text that I truthfully found to be more useful in my games than any DMG published since.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2019 17:18:33

Great print. Kind of hard to read but easy once you get the hang of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:55:06

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:21:51

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2016 01:25:14

This is a good-quality copy, but, as a nostalgic owner of print DMGs with both the Sutherland and Easley covers, I can't help but feel it would have been a more pleasing product with both original covers included (maybe as addenda), especially Sutherland's iconic wraparound artwork.

For those who had previously obtained scans from WotC, this IS a new scan , and is not missing p.175, as in earlier editions. Also, the ad on p.235 has been replaced with the TSR Wizard logo and p.237's product listing is now a Gygax Memorial Fund notice.

Other than that, the scan is clear and readable, and will be a worthwhile purchase for the nostalgic gamer or the devotee of the Old School experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Josh J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2015 21:33:43

The joy of not having someone's notes on artifact powers scratched into an old scan is just part of the happiness of getting a much more legible, searchable and better indexed version of this old faithful. Great work to ehoever managed it.

Now, when in Gygax's name are we getting the Unearthed Arcana scan? There's never been a good, legal version of that book, and it's sorely needed. The original physical book was so badly bound that pages fell out from regular use! The new physical reprint is superb, but I really want an electronic edition, so it can fit on a tablet.

Does anyone out there know what's going on?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2015 12:31:50

For me, this is where it all started-- The Dungeon Master's Guide-- I first read it in 1980 when I was 10. So finding this here was wonderful. The PDF version is superb-- it's not just a scan, the font's a selectable and crisp. It's wonderful to have this-- than you for putting it out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2015 13:23:03

Own a part of gaming history in beautiful digital format. This looks great on my tablet. Fonts and charts are better than my original book on the shelf. I just hope OD&D reprint shows up soon so I can buy it. Don't hesitate getting this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 20:45:25

This is AD&D. This edition is my favorite behind second edition. The PDF is high quality and well bookmarked, however most of the misprints are still present from the revised hardcover books. I would highly recommend this to any D&D fan.

Now all we need is second edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2015 11:22:37

Clean, sharp, bookmarked.

The re-release of the PDF is a version of the recent premium reprints. The quality is excellent (check out the preview) and clean. I can't really complain about any of it cept it took so long to be released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items