Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Monster Manual (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
38 15
7 3
1 0
0 1
0 0
Monster Manual (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2021 19:27:28

the POD book is pretty good! the derpy dragon makes me laugh so i love looking at it.

the gloss does make it apparent that it is a scanned reprint, other than that, this is a good reprint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 10:46:26

Ordering: I purchased the Standard Color 1E Monster Manual POD on 02/02/2021 for $21.50 and received it on 03/10/2021. Alright. I know it's COVID-19 times, but from what I understand, go ahead and count on it taking a month to get your order to you with near zero updates even during non COVID-19 times. Last update I got was on 02/03/2021 when the printer received it and then another on 03/06/2021 when it was shipped via USPS. This wasn't an issue for me, but might be for you.

Condition: No damage and the box was well packaged. The binding is solid. The printing is solid. Everything reads great. If you want a playable or reference copy of 1E, I highly recommend this POD product. I went with standard color as opposed to premium color since the book is B/W and I figured it wouldn't matter. It doesn't seem to matter. I'm happy with the standard color but would likely opt into premium color if I had the gold laying around.

Content: This is the same revised "premium" edition 2012 WoTC re-print with the same cringey WoTC revised cover. Since this is a POD book, the books are about 1/3 inch taller than standard D&D books. It looks and reads good, but it also looks and reads like a POD product.

Intended Audience: If you have never played 1E and are looking to get into 1E for cheap, this is for you. If you already have the original and want to have another copy that you don't mind spilling beer or lending to a friend, etc., this is for you. If you are a collector or a nostalgia hound looking for a facsimile copy for your bookshelf, this is a POD of a re-print with a god-awful cover (my opinion!) and I doubt you would be satisfied with this POD simulacrum, but your mileage may vary!

Conclusion: I paid less than $65 bucks for POD reprints of all three core 1E rulebooks and feel very satisfied with my purchase. I think the reprint covers are kinda gaudy and cringey, but that’s my personal preference. They’re uniform and look pretty decent on a bookshelf and the price can’t be beat. That said, I would gladly pay for another POD set with the original covers if it is ever offered. I doubt I am the only one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 12:53:09

Quality of the book was great (minus a minor dent in the bottom corner due to how it was shipped. Although I am very pleased with the product itself-- the packaging in which it came had something to be desired, but overall the product is great; really brings back memories of youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 22:16:14

This is the book. This is the book that got me into D&D and RPGs.

But how does one review such a genre-defining classic?

My son had made himself a triple cheeseburger covered in bacon, onions, and mushrooms. I asked him how he was going to fit that into his mouth. He said, "with determination".

How does one review such a genre-defining classic? With determination.

My History

The Monster Manual was the book for me. The one that got me hooked. The one, sitting in "silent reading" back in 1979 at Washington Elementary School in Jacksonville, IL that I became the über-geek you all know today. How über? I used the freaking umlauts, that's my street cred right there.

Back in '79 I was reading a lot of Greek Myths, I loved reading about all the gods, goddesses and monsters. So I saw my friend's Monster Manual and saw all those cool monsters and I knew I had to have a copy. Though getting one in my tiny near-bible-belt town was not easy. Not hard mind you, by the early 1980s the local book store stocked them, but I was not there yet. So I borrowed his and read. And read. And read. I think I had the damn thing memorized long before I ever got my own game going.

Since that time I judge a gamebook on the "Monster Manual" scale. How close of a feeling do I get from a book or game compared to the scale limit of holding the Monster Manual for the first time? Some games have come close and others have hit the mark as well. C.J. Carella's WitchCraft gave me the same feeling.

Also, I like to go to the monster section of any book or get their monster books. Sure I guess sometimes there are diminishing returns, Monster Manual V for 3.5 anyone? But even then sometimes you get a Fiend Folio (which I liked thankyouverymuch).

This book captured my imagination like no other gamebook. Even the 1st DMG, which is a work of art, had to wait till I was older to appreciate it. The Monster Manual grabbed me and took me for a ride.

The Book (and PDF)

The PDF of the Monster Manual has been available since July of 2015. The book itself has seen three different covers.

Regardless of what cover you have the insides are all the same. The book is 112 pages, black and white art from some of the biggest names that ever graced the pages of an RPG book.

This book was the first of so many things we now take for granted in this industry. The first hardcover, the first dedicated monster tome, the first AD&D book.

The book contains 350 plus monsters of various difficulties for all character levels. Some of the most iconic monsters in D&D began right here. Mostly culled from the pages of OD&D, even some of the art is similar, and the pages of The Dragon, this was and is the definitive book on monsters.

Eldritch Wizardry gave us the demons, but the Monster Manual gave us those and all the new devils. The Monster Manual introduced us to the devils and the Nine Hells. Additionally, we got the new metallic dragons, more powerful and more diverse undead and many more monsters. We also got many sub-races of the "big 3". Elves get wood, aquatic, half and drow. Dwarves get hill and mountain varieties. Halflings get the Tallfellows and Stouts. So not just more monsters, but more details on the monsters we already knew.

While designed for AD&D I used it with the Holmes Basic book. The two products had a similar style and to me seemed to work great together. It was 1979 and honestly, we did all sorts of things with our games back then. The games worked very well together.

Flipping through one of my physical copies, or paging through the PDF, now I get the same sense of wonder I did 40 years ago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:55:14

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:21:42

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rob L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2017 14:44:56

Received the POD hardback today, and I must say that I am very pleased with it. It is a delight to see the book back in print (so my 1977/1978 Games Workshop softback version can now take a rest...). The quality of the scans (if that is what they are) is top notch. Very happy customer. Thank you WotC (and DriveThru).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2015 13:15:10

Very well put together. PDF copies show up great on my mobile device, allowing me to DM my 1e group with just a tablet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 20:47:24

Third book for AD&D, great quality and tons of classic monsters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2008 09:25:25

It's asking me to review before I've had a chance to download, so I haven't had a chance to review the book. If it's as good as my memories fo this book, I'm sure it will be great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2007 14:42:33

This is the book that I marvelled at as a youth in the late 1970's. I turned the pages and stared wide-eyed at the cool pictures of strange and wondrous beasties, and then something wonderful happened: I just had to play the new game called Dungeons and Dragons. The Dave Trampier artwork in this volume has never been surpassed for its technical skill and sheer beauty. It is a must (along with the DMG and Players Handbook) to play the game the way it was meant to. Good quality scan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2007 13:42:02

Hmmm, What can I say... The service was straightforward and good. I would use it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kathryn K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2006 00:00:00

This is a good creature reference for RPG's, and I like the illustrations.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2006 00:00:00

Another must-have!! Again, I never had my own copy of this book, I always borrowed a friends' copy, but now it's MINE!!! Great book, really a necessity. Love the old illustrations!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2006 00:00:00

Very Cool - Wish I had this back in the day!!!

Time to get some retro AD&D gaming friends and run the old fave's...

Tomb of Horrors, Barrier Peak, Demonweb Pits, yeah!!!

Give Elvis a call and invite over for pizza, beer, & Emrikol the Chaotic, too!

LoL,

Rock me Asmodeus <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: PDF Searchability and ability to Copy/Paste info directly into homespun modules.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Had to purchase twice to get one download and poor customer service. (Not Product - but still...)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items