Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
 
$4.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
31 7
5 7
0 0
0 1
0 0
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:15:25

This was a great read and so much more compelling a setting than the 2nd Ed AD&D adaptation. When I play in Mystara, I use this version. The characters are more three-dimensional, the ethnic tensions between Thyatians and Traladarans are more real, and the adventure hooks are groovy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2020 17:09:39

Good scan, good print excellent read.read.Though when delivered had a small tear on the top back cover. Other than that very pleased.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by kristiaan l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 23:59:17

Fantastic pod! Cover and maps are all brilliant and clear too. Easily one of the best Gaztteers in the series. Get the pod, you wont regret it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/29/2020 17:02:44

I ordered and recieved the POD in February 2020. It's a well done and put together book. The maps and are split into page. sized slices (Drivethru RPG doesnt do full poster maps to my knowledge) and if you want to print them off you'll want to get the PDF.

there are some minor issues of Bleed through on certain pages, but none of these impact the reading of the book.

well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 11:52:51

Unfortunately, whoever prepared this work obviously didn't bother trying to actually read it, in particular on a mobile device. PDF viewers, by and large, use the single largest page's size to calibrate their zoom levels. The final page in this book is huge (roughly 8 normal pages in size), which means that every PDF viewer i've tried starts out with the normal pages zoomed out really small (so that the single largest page takes up one screen). My tablet-based PDF viewers are literally incapable of zooming in far enough to make the normal-sized pages readable on a 10-inch screen.

The only fix for this is to use your system's "print to PDF" feature to "print" out all of the pages except the last one (i.e. pages 1-71), and then to read that copy.

Grrrrrr.

Other than that, i'm sure it's fine, but jeez, people - try reading what you're selling!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thierry S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2014 12:18:19

A fabulous game material unavailable for a long time : Mystara is a great setting for a medfan campaign and this good pdf scans, with maps, for GAZ1, 2 and 3 allow to rediscover this coherent, varied and interesting books nowadays. I'm eager for GAZ5 to 15 availability, and an update for a GAZ4 scan including maps, which are missing according to other reviews...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2014 12:04:41

Good scan! Properly formatted pages in landscape where necessary.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by daniel r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2014 14:36:44

Overall I am very satisfied with the GAZ1 PDF. I find the "tower" water mark on many of the pages visually distracting and it takes away from my reading enjoyment. I would have given the document 5 stars, but for this single fact. Not having owned the original print copy, I don't know if this is a mater of securing the PDF or part of the original printing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marco F. V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2014 06:33:10

To see this was a real treat for my eyes. I remeber when I used to play in the Grand Duchy my first campaigns, back in the 80s. The thing is, reading this now just gets me more and more interested in previous editions of the game. The quality of the writing is pretty high, the setting is well put together, even though some things may bring an unexpected smile on the reader's face. The scan is very good, it's a pity though there isn't an actual digital copy of this. Maybe in the future?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2014 14:06:42

I am so very happy this is back on DriveThruRPG after a long absence.

Scan is good and reads well. A great detail for the starting country for most Basic adventures.

Hurry up and get the rest of the Gazetters out so that I can buy them too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Harald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2014 06:44:31

A very nice classic supplement. It shows how much you can pack into 64 pages.

This new file is superbly scanned, with full OCR and aligned pages, and much more readable than the original PDF that was available for a while. While the genre may seem bland these days, the tactful description of the various churches of Traldara and Karameikos (beholden to the same pantheon, but interpreting it much differently) still sticks out as me as an eminently playable but differentiated treatment of human religion.

This plus B10 Night's Dark Terror can easily provide dozens of sessions using the original D&D rules. If you're bored by the next big epic thing, this might be just the right thing to get you back to the ground.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Salvador O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2008 21:29:30

One of the best campaign settings for any fantasy system, this kingdom is ideal for starting adventurers. Settled enough to have a large capital city but rugged enough for countless wilderness adventures- this setting is fantastic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2006 00:00:00

Having once owned this product, I have nothing but good report for it. Great setting...great game. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Very detailed and informative.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2005 00:00:00

i kind of missed out on this era of D&D, having gotten started with AD&D 1E, so i jumped at the chance to read through one of the infamous "GAZ" series products!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: the more i read about the world of basic D&D, the more i wish i hadn't missed out on it. there is a LOT of info here, and it's all pretty interesting. not to mention that this pdf is a great deal cheaper than the physical copies i've seen listed online.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: almost completely unprintable. oh, i could technically do it, but it would cost my printer its soul. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shane G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2004 00:00:00

I'm running a campaign in basic D&D and this tool is very helpful for the early levels of play (1st through about 10th)after that level, the pc's should be concerened about the larger world around them. the quality of the scans is a little rough, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items