Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
27 9
11 1
2 1
2 1
0 0
Player\'s Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 05:34:30

The Almost-Definitive AD&D 2E Player's Handbook

If you're looking for a review of AD&D 2nd Edition generally, then this is not for you. There's no reason to experiment with 2nd Edition if you're not already familiar with it. This is a product for those with nostalgia, not for new players seeking a thrill.

Okay, so assuming you're already familiar with 2nd Edition - should you buy this product?

The original product:

  • This is the 2013 WotC reprint of the Revised 2E PHB.
  • As a result it DOES feature the best version of the 2E PHB rules text, with clarifications, fixes, and other improvements.
  • But it does NOT feature the gorgeous painted art or line drawings of previous 2E PHB editions, and new interior art is not nearly as attractive.
  • The many, many tables that characterise 2E are particularly well-presented in this version, both at the point where they appear in the rules, and in extensive and easy-to-use appendices, which will be a boon to DMs and players alike.
  • For whatever reason, this edition does NOT include a template for a blank character sheet, but that shouldn't be a barrier to the modern player.

The DM's Guild PDF version

  • The PDF copy available on DM's Guild appears to be drawn from WotC's master files for the 2013 republication, and does NOT appear to be a scan - so that's good.
  • File size is about 40 MB.
  • It's text-searchable - yay.
  • It is thoroughly bookmarked - right down to individual spells.
  • The original product made a lot of use of red text in its layout. This was probably to discourage photocopying at the time - and it will likewise frustrate attempts to print the PDF today. This is NOT a printer-friendly file.

The print-on-demand hardcopy

  • The POD version is an oversized softcover of the same dimensions as a modern 5E PHB.
  • The spine is about 1.5 centimetres thick. The cover wraps around onto the spine, including spine titling consistent with the presentation of the 2013 release it's based on.
  • The book is perfect-bound, and the binding appears to be strong.
  • It is printed in colour. I'm not able to compare the colour depth to the original 2013 release but it's clearly printer-quality colour, not publisher-quality.
  • The cover is made of very thin card, easily damaged in normal use.
  • Interior pages are relatively thick and stiff.
  • Interior text is crisp and properly aligned.
  • Pages have appropriate gutters and there is no gutter loss.
  • The interior artwork is a little grainy but I'm not in a position to tell whether this is consistent with the original publication - it may simply be how the original images looked.

Verdict:

This is pretty much as good as could be expected from a DM's Guild retro product. It's usable, contains no meaningful errors or flaws, and accurately presents the original content in an attractive format.

If you're buying the hardcopy to actually use at your table, be aware that it WILL get wrecked. This is NOT a tough book, and certainly not remotely as bulletproof as the original hardcover 2E PHB. But it's probably cheaper to buy a second copy of this POD version than to get an original book off Ebay at this point.

If you were looking for a digital copy of the 2E PHB, this will meet your needs, and is easy to recommend for that purpose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2020 01:22:47

First time customer, buying this to replace my old black cover version, having been lost in a move. Would have perfered hardcover, but everything was great the quiality, the look, the feel, felt right.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2018 08:50:47

I ordered the POD softcover book. My original, orange-colored hardback, is wearing a bit, after purchasing it back in 1989. My players mostly have the reprint version, so when referencing page numbers, we have issues as they are not the same between the original printing, and the reprint. This POD softcover solves that problem. The page numbers in this POD, are identical to the hardback versions printed in the mid-1990's -- I verified they were the same, to be sure.

POD: excellent quality, no complaints on format, binding, printing, etc. I would recommend you practice what you learned in grade school, in breaking in a new book: hold it on its spine; open 20-40 pages in the front, and press your hand against the pages, in the fold, to gently press them open, then repeat for the first 20-40 pages in the back; repeat with another 20-40 pages, front and back, until you reach the center of the book. This will help the binding, and the pages, open for you, without damage.

The POD version was a long time coming, but it is worth the price. The quality is excellent, and it is wonderful to have these books back in print! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2018 19:26:47

I've been waiting for these to go POD for awhile and I'm really happy that have. I might prefer a hard cover option if there was one, but I'm pleased with the softcover. Print is crisp and clear, they all look great. I bought it partly because I wanted new copies, and partly just to show support for more POD options with these older titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2016 12:58:40

I've been picking up more and more pdfs from DriveThruRPG. This is a roughly 30 Mb file that has been well bookmarked. They not only sorted the spell book marks by level, but even bookmared each spell! Quite happy with this purchase, and it has made referencing my wizard's spells a breeze. Should also mention the file has text recognition so you can search for terms if you are not sure where to find an obscure rule.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:13:24

This is a well-done modern PDF, with bookmarks, clear text and good art. I prefer the first printing to this later release, but that is probably 90% nostalgia.

This PDF seems to have severe problems - it loads very slowly on my phone, takes 10 minutes or so to load on my tablet, and crashed my Kindle. By comparison, the much-larger Rules Cyclopedia PDF loads quickly and reads fine on all three devices.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:37:17

It's the 2nd edition Player's Handbook for D&D. More importantly, it's the revised edition, which is visually very different from the original printing in layout, but is essentially the same rules, albeit with errata and updates.

Importantly, this looks like a 'modern' RPG book compared to its predecessor. Coherent art, with unique art for races and classes. The layout is a bit more open and less 'textbook' than the previous release.

This was created from the Reprint version from a few years back, so it's a good quality text-based document (not a scan) so it's very usable. Small file size, good text accessibility. Could be improved with bookmarks and such, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2015 21:34:13

Very good clear/sharp PDF. Same quality as the 1e PHB.

My only complaint is the security on the PDF locked out the "preferences" option and you can't set them. Why??? I want double page and bookmarks showing when I load it... how is that a security risk? They've done this on ALL of the 1e reprint PDF versions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2009 16:37:09

I'm not sure... it made me review BEFORE i could look at it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Karen N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2008 17:53:25

THis is a great reasource. We really apreaciated getting these on download. It really helps us to have this while playing .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2008 08:19:15

An excellent download! It matches perfectly (or as close to as possible with my memory) the PHB I once owned.

Thank you DriveThruRPG for providing this document, as I can now resume my gaming experience. The price is perfect and (as stated) the condition of the book is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gidget L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2006 00:00:00

The 2nd edition Players Hand Book revised is also a really good book. I think just as good as the regular one. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I like its price, availability, and PDF format.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I can't say anything bad about it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items