Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 7
8 1
1 1
1 1
0 0
Player\'s Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to view
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2018 08:50:47

I ordered the POD softcover book. My original, orange-colored hardback, is wearing a bit, after purchasing it back in 1989. My players mostly have the reprint version, so when referencing page numbers, we have issues as they are not the same between the original printing, and the reprint. This POD softcover solves that problem. The page numbers in this POD, are identical to the hardback versions printed in the mid-1990's -- I verified they were the same, to be sure.

POD: excellent quality, no complaints on format, binding, printing, etc. I would recommend you practice what you learned in grade school, in breaking in a new book: hold it on its spine; open 20-40 pages in the front, and press your hand against the pages, in the fold, to gently press them open, then repeat for the first 20-40 pages in the back; repeat with another 20-40 pages, front and back, until you reach the center of the book. This will help the binding, and the pages, open for you, without damage.

The POD version was a long time coming, but it is worth the price. The quality is excellent, and it is wonderful to have these books back in print! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2018 19:26:47

I've been waiting for these to go POD for awhile and I'm really happy that have. I might prefer a hard cover option if there was one, but I'm pleased with the softcover. Print is crisp and clear, they all look great. I bought it partly because I wanted new copies, and partly just to show support for more POD options with these older titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2016 12:58:40

I've been picking up more and more pdfs from DriveThruRPG. This is a roughly 30 Mb file that has been well bookmarked. They not only sorted the spell book marks by level, but even bookmared each spell! Quite happy with this purchase, and it has made referencing my wizard's spells a breeze. Should also mention the file has text recognition so you can search for terms if you are not sure where to find an obscure rule.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2016 13:13:24

This is a well-done modern PDF, with bookmarks, clear text and good art. I prefer the first printing to this later release, but that is probably 90% nostalgia.

This PDF seems to have severe problems - it loads very slowly on my phone, takes 10 minutes or so to load on my tablet, and crashed my Kindle. By comparison, the much-larger Rules Cyclopedia PDF loads quickly and reads fine on all three devices.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:37:17

It's the 2nd edition Player's Handbook for D&D. More importantly, it's the revised edition, which is visually very different from the original printing in layout, but is essentially the same rules, albeit with errata and updates.

Importantly, this looks like a 'modern' RPG book compared to its predecessor. Coherent art, with unique art for races and classes. The layout is a bit more open and less 'textbook' than the previous release.

This was created from the Reprint version from a few years back, so it's a good quality text-based document (not a scan) so it's very usable. Small file size, good text accessibility. Could be improved with bookmarks and such, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2015 21:34:13

Very good clear/sharp PDF. Same quality as the 1e PHB.

My only complaint is the security on the PDF locked out the "preferences" option and you can't set them. Why??? I want double page and bookmarks showing when I load it... how is that a security risk? They've done this on ALL of the 1e reprint PDF versions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2009 16:37:09

I'm not sure... it made me review BEFORE i could look at it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Karen N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2008 17:53:25

THis is a great reasource. We really apreaciated getting these on download. It really helps us to have this while playing .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2008 08:19:15

An excellent download! It matches perfectly (or as close to as possible with my memory) the PHB I once owned.

Thank you DriveThruRPG for providing this document, as I can now resume my gaming experience. The price is perfect and (as stated) the condition of the book is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gidget L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2006 00:00:00

The 2nd edition Players Hand Book revised is also a really good book. I think just as good as the regular one. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I like its price, availability, and PDF format.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I can't say anything bad about it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items