Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tubal-Cain's Guide to Augmenting Items and other Blacksmith Services
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2018 07:25:49

Although some interesting powers where available in this product, some of which I may end up using, overall the Soul and Life stones felt like something from an old videogame, and not a modern RPG. They seemed cheap and flavourless. The services it offers, whilst somewhat interesting, feel cheap-I would much rather have to make up some involved quest to find specific materials for a magical item than simply hand it to my players on a monetary-cost platter.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tubal-Cain's Guide to Augmenting Items and other Blacksmith Services
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
by Jeremy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2018 01:45:08

This is a two hour long, nonsensical cutscene in which PCs make no choices that have even the tiniest but of significance. There is only one likely combat, and in that combat the PCs can neither lose nor can they deliver the killing blow to the villain. The adventure does that for them. The author demonstrates a familiarity with the setting on par with someone who has just been handed a list of context-less nouns. This is an utter waste of time that I would regret paying a quarter for, much less five dollars.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hunter
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2018 01:42:01

THAT. WAS. AWESOME!

The Good:

  • Tense, heart-pounding atmosphere for the players. Had a great time narrating the scene for them.
  • Players audibly expressed how scared they felt and how much they enjoyed the scenario.
  • Players felt emotionally invested when NPC's died.

The Bad:

  • Not really a bad thing, but having to continuously describe the scene and atmosphere while also roleplaying all the NPC's at once can be a challenge. When done right, it leads to a great time for all.

Some advice:

  • Have the players pre-roll 4-6 Initiatives. Do the same for NPC's and enemies. This will save lots of time because there are a lot of combat scenes with many people involved.
  • Run the NPC's yourself, but ask players to roll for them in combat so that they feel invested and the combat doesn't turn into the DM playing against himself half the time.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2018 00:47:50

I'll preface this review by saying I am actually very fond of level 0 characters, and that my very favorite campaigns have come out of level 0 characters. I'll even say that this product does level 0 characters in an excellent way. That said, this is a very bad product for a wide variety of reasons. The villain feels both dumb and uncompelling, the actual encounter mechanics and situations are lackluster, and worst of all the product shows a blatant lack of knowledge regarding the setting it is intended to kick off. It refers to the Last War as "the civil war in Cyre" which is a very poor way of describing a 100 year war raging across the entire continent. It implies that any person with a bit of training can properly pilot an elemental airship, which directly conflicts with all canon sources on the topic. The product is overall just very poorly put together and done with minimal research into its source at the very best. Eberron is a setting that really doesn't have much source material bloat in comparison to others, and the fact that this couldn't stay even mostly consistent to the source material that does exist is just disappointing.

Beyond all that the module makes no sense. There's absolutely no reason for the PCs in this module to do any of the things the module expects them to do. There's no hook for almost anything whatsoever. The whole arc makes no logical sense because no character would rationally do anything as expected in the product.

Overall, the product feels rushed. It feels like only minimal care went into crafting it, and that little effort was put into it to make it a genuinely fun experience that's true to the setting. It sorely needed a few more passes to correct the mistakes in it. The core of the adventure isn't awful, but its execution needs so much work that it doesn't feel like a worthwhile product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mordenkainen's Lost Notebook
by Trevor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 22:57:28

The team of talented individuals put so much extraordinary effort into creating a "bloody" brilliant tome. With such a mass of incredible additions that can augment any Curse of Strahd campaign with further gothic elements, or any campaign looking to provide a greater breadth of spellcasting options and greater eldritch versatility for warlocks, this book is a win for anybody purchasing. This is a delightfully dark addition to the library with MANY new spells for all arcane casters, as well as additional invocation options for warlocks (removing your hand or eye for scouting purposes, anyone?). In addition, there is information concerning the Vistani to put into play with any Ravenloft set campaign, providing context to enrich your gothic world. Don't have casters? Look to the variety of magic items that are sure to enrich that tired collection of items in the DMG. Mordenkainen's Lost Notebook is an incredible buy and wonderful addition to any library. Great work to all involved!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mordenkainen's Lost Notebook
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Trevor! We appreciate it.
DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 20:00:11

I'm disappointed. I was looking forward to more support for Eberron. Unfortunately this entry left me cold. My impression is that the author really only had a passing familiarity to the setting of Eberron. Which is forgivable for a comissioned piece, if the editors picked up the slack and made sure there was nothing that flatly contradicted the setting lore.

The Last War was not a civil war in Cyre. Cyre is not north of Sharn. The closest part of Cyre would be 900 miles east, so seeing The Day of Mourning destroy Cyre as you fly out of Sharn would be impossible. The Day of Mourning has been described as the dead grey mists rolling silently over the country... it was not a massive explosion. Feather tokens only work in the manifest zone Sharn is built in, so where the airship battle occured it would not have worked (should have just given him a ring of feather fall as he gets away in the end with a Disney Death). The creation of warforged was not banned till the Treaty of Thronehold ended The Last War two years after the Day of Mourning, recognising warforged rights as sentient beings. At the time of the day of Mourning nothing Cannith was doing would be illegal.

I understand a lot needed to be set up for future installments of the Embers of the Last War series of Adventures, still why in the world would a Planar Orrery need to be aligned for the Airship to work? There is no explaination given. If it needed to be aligned to the present planar positions that might be understandable, however the alignment of the plains seems arbitrary. Presumably the alignment foreshadows a future event with Xoriat, but why is the airship only set to run when the model is in this position?

Also how did the pilot die? Yeah he was stabbed in the back by a Boromar dagger... how? He's in a locked room. You don't even mention the body of an attacker in there.

Also the antagonist is an idiot. Ramming your airship full of explosives into another airship then being surprised when your airship is the one worse off for that. Also hiring a band of thugs and not informing them that they're thugs and they're expected to perform air piracy is... it is bad. Frankly this is a dumb plan.

There are some good things in the module. Some of the NPCs you can align yourself with are good and interesting. There are good ideas in this, but in the end I am disappointed that this is the return of Eberron to organized play. It seems like Eberron buzz words were thrown in with little regard for their place in the setting.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-ELW00 What's Past is Prologue
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Child-God of the Violet Temple
by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 18:23:04

Exactly what my group was looking for! Half the party wanted a sun punished desert location to explore, the other a sneaky, stabby heist adventure. The Violet Temple should satisfy both and my thirst for deadly puzzle traps as well. The art is evocative (one of my favorite mummy illustrations ever), and the writing quick. Packs a lot into 40 or so pages. Can't wait to get it on the table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Child-God of the Violet Temple
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blue Alley
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 13:43:59

I found this to be tremendous fun and well written. The author makes great use of the new adventure format and it's again obvious why he was selected as a Guild Adept. This is a fun adventure to drop into the larger Dragon Heist campaign, or into any urban adventure. (Note: I was provided a copy of the adventure, though I actually had it in my cart when I received it and was going to purchase this.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-00 Once in Waterdeep
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 11:34:16

I was really nervous running this the first time because of all the on the fly improv involved but it turned out fantastic. I certainly had a blast running it and my players seemed to enjoy it.

Before running I'd read through the module as much as you need, give yourself plenty of prep time because there are some variables. If you're in a crunch pick a path that you think your party will enjoy and leave the choices out of it. If you run the module as written be prepared to think outside the box and be creative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-00 Once in Waterdeep
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Emirikol's Guide to Devils
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 09:32:01

This really is an awesome product and one of the coolest DMs Guild titles I've purchased. I'm DMing Out of the Abyss and many of the PCs have ties to devillish entities (warlock, paladin, tieflings). This will help me flesh out their character arcs (love the backgrounds included in this guide!) and introduce devil themes in this demon-filled campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emirikol's Guide to Devils
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

5e Nightbreaker Class
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 09:21:29

This class is great not overpowered or underpowered the role play aspect is amazing the subclasses are cool as well as the main class all in all 5 out 5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Nightbreaker Class
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Midnight Revelry
by True F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 08:58:15

This adventure is awesome! I run a campaign for a party of four and I ran this as their first real adventure. Not only did they have an incredible time with this, but I found it incedibly easy to run, thanks to the tips and tactics provided by the creator! I would reccommend this to anyone looking for a good low level adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Midnight Revelry
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! I am happy to hear the tips and tactics made this easy to run, that was a goal of mine when writing this.
The Dragon's Dinner
by True F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 08:36:54

I recently ran this adventure for my party of four. It was an excellent adventure, and I feel that they had lots of fun. The kobolds were weak, but came in large enough numbers that they provided a challenge for the players without overwhelming them completely. There are some minor issues that could be fixed, such as mixing up poisonous for venomous and the location for a key item not being listed, but all in all it's a wonderful module to run for players who have just recently begun to play!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon's Dinner
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 08:14:22

I understand the XP rules but the treasure rules are just bizzare and make no sen



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Dungeon Tales #2
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 05:23:23

Dungeon Tales Volume 2 is a substantial compilation providing over 130 pages of adventure for your D&D group. The intention is to unearth worthy authors who's material might overwise be buried under the immense weight of publications available via DM's Guild. Each of the eight adventures is authored by a different writer, and the whole set is produced by MT Black.

Starting with The Amulet of Shavaka, the ruins of a tomb lie buried under the desert sands and are occupied by a host of undead. The exotic races such as Tabaxi and Yuan-Ti will feel at home here. Can the party steal the amulet without awakening Shavaka himself? I enjoy the atmosphere created here by the storyline and setting.

The Ballad of the Dark Maiden, is a ship-board voyage and provides details on handling the ship and its encounters. The players must overcome a series of fast paced challenges in what at first seems a routine mission. I like the sketches in this adventure!

In Dead of the Howling Hills, a small dungeon awaits the party - a mysterious hill top tomb which holds the long lost secrets of the local tribesfolk. A dark feeling pervades this adventure.

A Danger at Deepforge sees the party set on a mission to a Dwarven mine to recover a lost item. It sounds simple enough, what could possibly go wrong? Yet the Dwarves are a curious lot, and their mine is long abandoned. You'll have to venture into Deepforge to find out!

Safety Guaranteed invites us into the world of a Forgotten Realms "game convention" paradoxically mirroring modern day game conventions, and to take your mind on an even further twist, the adventure itself was performed at an actual game convention! A set of amusing treasures complements the adventure (my favourite being the Startled Cat Carrier), each one submitted by fans from social media.

Temple of the Dragon Priestess is a series of caverns and tunnels, wherein the party will find themselves eventually running into the Dragon Priestess and her minions that infest the underground complex. Your players will enjoy this traditional dungeon crawl with plenty to explore.

In An Uneasy Truce the (higher level) party is called upon to investigate a strange situation, and will find themselves trying to unravel a complex plot. A small adventure of monstrous proportions!

Valanche's Eye provides the players with a gnome and an offer they can't refuse. Soon enough, the party enters into the mysterious world of the gnomes and discover what trouble they get themselves (and the party) into. Like An Uneasy Truce, this adventure is less battle, and more plot unravelling. The party will never look at a gnome the same way again!

I have yet to play these adventures, but I highly recommend this collection as a way to dip into a variety of writing styles and add depth to your own campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Tales #2
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 8000 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles