Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Masters of the Mind: The Book of Illithid. (A Manual on Mind Flayers)
by Dakoda D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2022 00:26:25

Great monsters, good player options, cool magic items and overall some really good campaign inspiration in here. Looking at the versions and past updates, I’m really looking forward to see what comes next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of the Mind: The Book of Illithid. (A Manual on Mind Flayers)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Shore of Dreams
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2022 00:23:08

FINALLY got to run this after AGES of having it my library! This mod has a great atmosphere, a brilliant amount of depth to its key NPCs, an enticing and easy to pitch plot hook, and a structure that is supremely comprehensible. Never once was I confused which part of the PDF I ought to reference based on the choices my players made, nor did my players find their questions lacking sufficient answers (given sufficiently high Persuasion or Investigation checks where appropriate). By the end of this one-shot, I found myself burning with a desire to place this little island village in my main campaign world and weave these NPCs into it. I'm genuinely bummed I won't get to see where they all end up long-term.

I don't have any negatives to speak of (except that Scorch and Chung have no character art to match the rest of the cast). I will say there's a fair amount of Investigation that can be done in the earlier phase of the storyline, and having run at Level 7, some of those Investigation thresholds were easy for my players to surpass. This meant that one of the branching paths near the midway point of the module - the one I might argue would be more fun for the DM - was closed off fairly early, in favor of a path that's vastly more favorable to the players. HOWEVER, given that the prep information for either of these avenues is so clearly accessible, I wouldn't say this is a bad thing. Just something to consider before running.

I will also say, for a module with so much vibrancy to it, I believe "three to six hours" is inaccurate. I ran the opening as tight as I possibly could without forcing my players straight into the tavern, trimmed the overall timeline down, and still found myself needing to run the final encounter in cinematics rather than an all-out combat because we had a hard cutoff at the four-hour mark. My players loved the ending, but I know a couple of them were looking forward to trying some subclass abilities they hadn't tried before, and I was looking forward to running the rather elaborate (but again, VERY clear prep instructions for the DM) final encounter chamber, and the person inside. Therefore, unless you're running this for a group that is primarily into pursuing the loot and not RPing to a large degree, I think five hours would be a more accurate time estimate. This isn't a knock on the module, just an observation on my part.

In short, this is a brilliant adventure that's really easy to prep for! ... just don't expect to actually run it start-to-finish in only three hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shore of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Pie Fight
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 23:53:33

I ran this for two players and with very easy work can be adjusted for a group of most any level. We loved it so much! Just a fun little side trek that still captured what I want from D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pie Fight
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Essentials Kit Paper Miniatures & VTT: Dragon of Icespire Peak
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 23:52:06

The price is so so friendly for the MASSIVE amount of content here, even if you have to take it to get printed its just such a great price and a great way for any new gamer to start an affordable collection of minis.

The art is fun and stylized to be younger person friendly but still really show the details of the monster or character it's supposed to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Essentials Kit Paper Miniatures & VTT: Dragon of Icespire Peak
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Murder at the Three Swords Inn
by Loira W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 18:53:39

I enjoyed running this. I hadn’t done a proper intrigue session before where I had the motivations and secrets of multiple NPCs to manage. At first, I was worried about finding this overwhelming, and fretted over whether I would be able to keep everyone’s facts straight. I knew it was important not to mix up information as if I did it could lead to players and PCs being confused and no longer knowing what was going on / getting off-track. I want my players to succeed, so if they had failed because I wasn’t clear, I would have taken that as a failure on my part.

The various red herrings presented were incredibly effective in giving the PCs other avenues to explore and suspects to consider. They all found the actual murder to be suspicious at first, and I’m glad that they decided to dig in and investigate rather than go with their gut! One of the PCs is a physician and so she wanted to do an examination of the murderer’s foot because they seemed injured, the murderer refused, and it was only after their guilt was revealed that the Player went “THAT’S why X didn’t want to examine it!!” which was very satisfying.

I do think this adventure is better suited to smaller groups - running this with a group of eight would have been challenging to manage, and I imagine also would have made it a much shorter encounter. If being used in a party situation, I would suggest running it with PCs who already know one another - it makes for a great interlude on those nights where you’re missing one or more people, and while it can be used as a stand-alone session, there is also the option to have it tie into other goings-on in the city!

If you have the option to either print out the NPC cards, or have them up on a second screen for easy reference, I recommend doing that - I wasn’t running from my usual setup and think my biggest challenge was keeping track of their motivations and secrets. Cannot stress enough how much I enjoyed how the NPCs all tied into this story and how they were almost all being shady about something - it really added to the intrigue of this adventure.

In short: the NPCs and their intrigue add a lot to this adventure and leaning into that makes it even more fun to run. If you’re looking for a mystery to solve when someone is absent, or a game for afternoon play, give this one a look - you can’t go wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at the Three Swords Inn
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed the npcs and the intrigue. And thank you for playing!
dodgy pelican
by Justin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 18:25:57

The idea of this flying and living bag of holding being your travelling companion is pretty good, but I do have one issue. Given the pelican's alignment, I don't think the prankster trait is a good fit. I know alignment has been and will be debated for Millenniums, but just hear me out. While chaotic characters are definitely the most likely to pull pranks, good characters try to do the right thing in general. While a chaotic good is likely to pull pranks, they'd at least take care to do it at the right time and place, as in not when the people you care about are in mortal danger and depending on you to help them survive. Sabotaging their attempts at survival would be neutral at best and more often than not evil. Yes, good characters are allowed to do evil things and still be good, but when it's a habit that's definitely grounds to call alignment into question. I have two solutions. The first is to just get rid of the prankster trait. I don't see the point other than pissing off the party and I don't see why you'd want to piss off the party like this. However, if you find value in the pelican ruining the party's day and failed skill checks aren't enough for you, that leads us to solution two. Instead of the pelican wrecking shit up for the lols and pretending it was an accident, maybe instead have it so the pelican actually messes up on accident. That's much more fitting of the chaotic good alignment. Despite what the wall of text suggests, the prankster trait is only a minor issue in my eyes. I just have a pet peeve about people misunderstanding the difference between a chaotic alignment and an asshole. To be fair, you can be both chaotic and an asshole, but you can also be either one and not the other. That issue aside it does seem like a cool idea.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
dodgy pelican
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Tomo de Magia de PiedraBruja - Recopilación didáctica de las Reglas de Magia para D&D en Español
by Marcelo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 14:25:31

Muy buen producto, primero que todo en español, mi idioma nativo, no hay mucho material en español, por no decir que no hay casi nada parecido, segundo, aclara todas las dudas que dejan los manuales oficiales, los que no son muy claros, dicho sea de paso, tercero explica en forma simple y didáctica, con ejemplos útiles, los pormenores y detalles referente a los conjuros. En resumen, un excelente complemento para todo jugador o aspirante a GM como sho Felicidades, chicos se nota que tiene pasión por lo que hacen



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomo de Magia de PiedraBruja - Recopilación didáctica de las Reglas de Magia para D&D en Español
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mother Haggle's Notice Board - Omnibus
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 11:42:43

I love this concept, and still useful as a one-shot generator. I want to LOVE it. But the formatting of this book is riddled with errors, and they make it much more difficult to figure out how it works. Even just the table of contents is full of text that was supposed to be bold but isn't, page numbers wandering on the lines, etc... Unexpected Beef and Up a Tree, Without a Saddle and a few other quests seem to be missing difficulty ratings. There are a lot of little quirks and changes that could be made to make the document more reader-friendly. I say this as a graphic designer, and I'm happy to volunteer to help the author reformat if they want to reach out. No charge, lol.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mother Haggle's Notice Board - Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Masters of the Mind: The Book of Illithid. (A Manual on Mind Flayers)
by Keith D. c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 23:07:07

Love the monsters in this book. Lots of lower CR critters to use against lower level parties that can’t handle a mind flayer yet alone a group of them. My DM has been letting me use the mind flayer rules for my on PC and I love them. I'm gonna be starting my own campaign soon and this was a must buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of the Mind: The Book of Illithid. (A Manual on Mind Flayers)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Classic Modules Today: N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (5e)
by Gerald M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 21:34:25

Been wanting to run this since the early 90's, finally got a group of players together who wanted to run vintage AD&D modules. Of course, we wanted to play in 5E, and as I sat down to do all the conversions myself I wondered if MAYBE someone else on the internet had already done that. I avoided a few hours of tedious effort for about the price of a soda, and a good time was had by all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Modules Today: N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bard: College of Strategy
by Sam M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 21:03:19

I gave this a read when it was new, thinking it was going to be the run of the mill cheap trash that many people put up. I was pleasantly surprised. It looks mechanically solidly (As long as the party remembers to use your Bard's Inspirations). The flavor of this bard is fun and I would personally use it at my tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bard: College of Strategy
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Weapon Perks
by Francis W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 19:00:35

I think is a good concept but poorly executed. Not a big fan of the blurbs and some of the abilities just aren't balanced or don't make sense for the weapon. Spent about 10 hrs reworking it with one of my players and I think certain groups of weapons make sense to have an ability, like spears, staves, halberds being about to trip but a mace being able to stun at will but a maul being limited just doesn't make sense. Or the longbow ability.

Great concept but it just didn't fit for me.

Edit:

An example for me would be the mace I altered it to this (I just didn't bother with the blurbs); **Mace **Crushing Blow. Make a melee weapon attack with -5 penalty, on a hit the target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw. On a failure, it is incapicated until the start of its next turn. A creature has advantage on saving throws if resistant to bludgeoning damage, and suffers no effect if immune to bludgeoning damage.

Prieviously: **Mace** Crushing Blow. You can use your action to make a crushing blow attack against your target. Make a melee weapon attack, on a hit the target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw. On a failure, it is stunned until the start of its next turn.

So for no penalties you get to do the normal damage and stun a target possibly. I have made a google doc with the rest but I have decided not to implement these rules at my table. I do appreciate how difficult it can be to try and create lots of perks with adding flavour, however I think having weapon groups make more sense, like the Halberd and Glaive both being able to unseat and have trip attack. (The Kata thing doesn't fit in my opinion, as Kata is just a form you learn or a series of techniques. I have made a full google doc so if I can have some contact details I will happily share that with you and you can take or leave what you like from it. The format for the PDF is nice as well :)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Perks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Francis, Thanks so much for the feedback. Sorry to hear you didn't like the flavor text and found some of the items unbalanced in your opinion. If you can give very specific details, we will consider them when we update the product. Thank you so much for your support. We hope that during the update you will consider revising your review if you find the product more to your liking.
The Decayed King- a Darkon Ravenloft Adventure
by Evan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 14:16:52

Played through this adventure last year around Halloween, and I can personally say it was amazing! Genuinely scary, gripping, and suspenseful. Awesome balance of intrigue and combat. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get a little spooky with their adventuring party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Decayed King- a Darkon Ravenloft Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-GHC-BK1-06 Legacy and Virtue
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 13:52:07

Good afternoon.

I recently ran this adventure as part of a Border Kingdoms Weekends effort I am committing to for the next few weeks. I thought I would provide my tables collected feedback. -- They enjoyed the adventure. The narratives were there to help deliver an enjoyable experience. I used the sound of hooting and grunting often. -- I like that the earthen areas of the burrows were loose and potentially a danger. Good environmentals. -- Players were a bit frustrated that they could only learn surface information about the roots. I tried to 'squeeze the lemon' on information that I could give. Once I provided descriptives of Netherese frescoes, etc. they started to get the picture. -- I appreciate the Bonus Objectives--they actually flowed well into the main plot line. I only used one, but could have used two if more time. -- The Crimson Fever? Yes. Good design. Thank you. -- The challenges presented by Anders stimulated conversation and interaction within the group. -- The dilemma. Not sure if it was intended, but the party got into some great RP (I also suspect they broke character as well) when discussing what to do with the little ones. They were torn between leaving them or putting them out of their misery. -- Amberees or Ambrees? Not a showstopper, but did have me do a double take for a second. -- Overall-fun adventure. Not surprising, considering the designer. Its a gem! DMs should add this one to their adventure libraries!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GHC-BK1-06 Legacy and Virtue
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

WBW-DC-ARCON-01 The Multivertshus
by Steven T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 08:24:17

A lovely adventure with some memorable NPC characters, with great structure and guidance to run a streamlined adventure made for a convention setting, or a more relaxed adventure with either roleplay or combat depending on the party or DM. Can easily run 2-3.5 hours if not managing time, and instead build up the mood, atmosphere and npcs of the Multivertshus Tavern.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WBW-DC-ARCON-01 The Multivertshus
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! It's always great to hear when an adventure work as intended and spark joy.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24847 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles