Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Portrait Character Sheet
by Renne M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2019 01:15:43

How good is a well-designed character sheet that has everything you need on it as well as a place where you can put banging character art? Let me tell you: it's heaps good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Portrait Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Academy: The Wizard Class Hall
by Blaise W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 22:16:05

This diverse product offers a lot to DMs!

  • The Academy campus is full of secrets, magical-wonders, and delightfully vibrant NPCs
  • An exciting introductory adventure that draws players deeply into the culture of the Academy campus
  • A treasure trove of magical items, spells, adept feats and masters feats

This is a well-concieved, clever, and engaging product where the culture and personalities of this mystical locacle are brought convincingly to life!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Academy: The Wizard Class Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 21:39:51

Module was a decent detective/dungeon crawl, but due to the rooms on the maps being not labelled, it's not complete or playable until fixed. You'll have to assign random rooms to locations if you want to correct it yourself. I ended up using theater of the mind and it felt like a boring slog. This was the weakest module of the series due to this issue.

The rooms and the results of passing/failing the perception checks are on different pages and hard to keep track of. Also having an investigation check of the rooms would have been better than perception. Both could have worked too. At least the combat was decent and the reward at the end was nice.

I would like to see the map labelled properly so it can be used or else I wouldn't run this again.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Portrait Character Sheet
by Sian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 20:52:57

Clean attractive design, easy to read and use through my outdated pdf reader and the space consideration for a character image is really nice. A really handy file for a d&d noob like myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Portrait Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

BEHOLD! Liar's Night
by Barry D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 16:31:36

Behold! Liar's Night provides a collection of interesting adventures that can easily be slotted into most typical campaigns. Though the adventures themselves are quite short and deliberately vague about locations and other specific details, they are accompanied by a vast wealth of extras that can be used to spice up any scenario based around the Liar's Night festival or other similarly spooky situations. These extras include a whole menagerie of unique familiars, a selection of magical masks, and a plethora of peculiar trinkets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEHOLD! Liar's Night
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Serious Bug(bear) Problem
by Kendra M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 08:15:51

I really liked how simple this was and easy to follow, but still interesting. It's also very versatile and easy to slot into your campaign, adding little twists to suit.

For example, my players are in a pest extermination business in Waterdeep - the village became Field Ward, and the goblins rode dire raccoons. The bug bear became a bugbear/racoon hybrid who forced the goblins to take care of his 'babies'. The players killed two of the sentry goblins before learning they were being forced into it, so once the racoon-bugbear was killed, they turned on the party.

One of my players said it was his second-favourite session ever!

I hope the author writes more! I'm going to utilise every one. Thank you very much :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Serious Bug(bear) Problem
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Half Dragon player race
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 04:17:14

I love the fact there is a half dragon race that can't be mistaken for dragonborn as well as not so powerful that you have to come in at later levels. Dude this is an awesome race and my group loves it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Half Dragon player race
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you! I'm glad you and your group likes it, and I hope you will all have fun with it :)
The Curse of Faeriewell
by Aaron O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 22:21:05

Relatively new DM here. I ran this for a group of 5 level 5 characters. It took us five and a half hours to play through, and that was with me doing a lot less color commentary after about four hours of play. So here are my general thoughts.

  1. Considering the length of time my group usually plays, this was a bit long for us, but not quite long enough to split into multiple sessions. I suppose it could be shorter with less description, interaction, and less time between combat encounters.
  2. There is plenty of space to add your own flavor to the adventure, whether it is with the patron or by customizing loot and encounters.
  3. I was concerned about the party getting stuck in a couple places and not being able to advance the story, but they figured things out without too much difficulty. I was happy that they failed at the puzzle once, but then figured it out without frustration.
  4. There is the potential for anticlimax if the party feels like their only option is to run at the end. The potential final creature was an appropriate challenge though, and it was fun seeing them look worried and scramble about.
  5. The party was pleasantly surprised when there was an Act II to the story, something none of them expected but that all of them enjoyed.
  6. There were a number of typos and grammatical errors in the text. Ultimately, that's not that big a deal, more of a minor irritant.

Overall, it was a very fun adventure to run with enough twists and turns to keep everyone on their toes. I hope to have the chance to run it again in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse of Faeriewell
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review! it always makes my day :) Sorry for the typos, definitely getting an editor for my future stuff!
Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 22:01:53

I really liked this take on this holiday favorite, and it's clear via his abilities and CR that he really is godlike!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Keeping It Classy: The Cleric
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 17:53:42

Ring Side Report-Keeping It Classy: The Cleric

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- Keeping it Classy: The Cleric System-Dungeons and Dragons 5e Producer- DMs Guild Price- $ 5.95 https://www.dmsguild.com/product/290873/Keeping-It-Classy-The-Cleric?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- Routinely amazing 93%

Basics-Time for class options for my favorite class-the cleric! How does this one stack up compared to the others?

Mechanics or Crunch- This is a well done book with a few things that I would not have done myself. The book has new cleric domains. That was a given, and these are well done mechanics. Perhaps a few too many rely on playing with the channel ability, but I like them all. The book has new items. Again, solid things I expected. The book also has a new race. This I am less a fan of. It’s well done, but I want all the races set out before I start a game. That’s just preference. What I would like instead is more spells and feats. But, that’s again a personal preference. What is here is solid, but I would just like more. 4/5

Theme or Fluff- The Keeping It Classy series keeps it classy here. The race is well done. The domains feel right. The items have good fluff to make you feel them in the world. I love what is in this book! 5/5

Execution- PDF? Yep! Hyperlinked? Yep! Ok, all the things I want standard in a book written in 2019! It uses public domain art well to break up the flow and makes the book easier to read, so this honestly is how I want books written out. New art is nice, but for the price you can’t beat what is here! Text is well laid out. If you want solid design of a book, this is a good example to use. 5/5

Summary-The Keeping It Classy series is a precision machine that keeps spitting out precision product. Think less McDonald’s machine and more Fine Dining expectations-the routine should be phenomenal. And this is true. The book has good races, items, and class parts that if you want new options for your cleric, then this is worth your time. I’m not as much a fan of new races as other DMs, but the race is well done. I’d just like more other “things” like feats and spells, especially for this spell casting class. However, that boils down to the problem of me wanting more from this book, which means I like what’s here. This is as always a routinely amazing book from a routinely amazing team. 93%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keeping It Classy: The Cleric
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Shore of Dreams
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 16:49:36

Shore of Dreams by Florian Emmerich (@PoisonPotPress) & JVCParry (@JVCParry)

This truly is a beautiful looking and beautifully crafted adventure full of stories, some true, some not, but all exciting, entertaining and accessible.

The first thing that crashes upon your like a mighty wave, stealing your breath, is the spectacular cover art by Raluca Marinescu "Pisca Ahlorsath enthralls Rolen Moonbrook, Chung and the Highbarrel siblings. The writers are not responsible for harsh labor conditions or loss of life." What can I say? This is seriously mind blowing art! Marinescu's interior illustrations are captivating and serve as a perfect reflection of the quality of the adventure.

Shore of Dreams

This is a 3-6 hour (depending on elements encountered) adventure for 5th-7th level players, which can link to Princess of the Apocalypse, Tomb of Annihilation, or be used in any hoek setting. Essentially, it can take place anywhere a remote island could be found with advice for amending the adventure setting to the Sword Coast.

Adventure Background

Rumours abound of undiscovered pirate booty near the Mistcliff of Chult, unclaimed despite then whispers of the treasures that lay within. A last port of call along the way, the tavern The Shore of Dreams, managed by a most welcoming Triton.

Sadly, the rumours are false and a ruse concocted by the outcast Triton and entrepreneur, Pisca, who seeks to enslave adventurers that stop at her tavern in order to force them to discover an ancient hidden temple and the powerful magic item it houses.

I know I'm on to a winner when the adventure background contains lots of exciting elements that draw that me in right away, rather than waiting for the adventure's story to really get excited, but it's hardly surprising coming from this dynamic duo!

Getting Involved

Four tantalising hooks are provided, ranging from following rumours of pirate treasure to searching for lost explorers, stopping off at the tavern on the way back from adventure or heading towards chult and getting caught in a storm.

Yokotoro Village

The village is filled with life, NPCs and a refreshing East Asian influenced aesthetic, conveyed wonderfully by the gorgeous Marinescu artwork. There are a number of places for PCs to explore, which all have ties to the remoteness of the island, the various plot hooks and the plot around the Shore of Dreams tavern. With a little text box and further description, Emmerich and Parry manage to make each location truly feel alive and grounded, with a sense of life before the PCs arrive, rather than seeming load up and come to life for them to interact with.

There's also something fishy going on, and it's not the catch of the day from the coracles, with everything pointing towards the lavish Shore of Dreams...

The Shore of Dreams

A wonderful overview of the tavern is provided, including the description of Pisca's nightly enthralling shamisen performances (brought to vivid life in Marinescu's cover art), as well as the secrets the pantry holds

The dramatis personae are described with encapsulating details.

Pisca Ahlorsath

Pisca is the beautiful and adored "femme fatale" antagonist of this adventure. Described lovingly, as her bearing deserves, in spite of the wicked deeds those who work, worship or are scared of her. Her rumours and lies tie back into the hooks.

Breena "Scorch" Sizzlepork

Where Pisca is cool, Scorch is unsurprisingly hot. A small ball of paranoia that is terrified of her past catching up with them.

Information is provided for this paranoia to play into an optional encounter, which could definitely cause some excitement.

Murasa Sepret

The heart of the tavern and unsure about the operation, especially as her feelings complicate matters, which are the basis for s subplot.

Larisa Temerity

Handsome but deadly. Larisa is the right hand woman and bodyguard of Pisca, infatuated with the cunning and cruelty of the exiled Triton. Ready to take down Murasa's empathic misgivings the old fashioned way - thugs and violence.

Events at the Shore of Dreams

There are a variety of services and events that can occur during the party's stay:

Retaining Services

If seeking information and services from Pisca, there is great advice on how to play her and a lot of different snippets of information, rumours and services she can offer are detailed. Not surprisingly, they mostly lies and falsehoods to stoke the PC's interest in the 'treasure' and allay any suspicions about missing adventurers.

If dealing with Pisca, the party can stay for free and there is an opportunity for minor downtime and "mundane activities that can range from small talk, to gambling or helping with fishing and farming."

There is advice that the following events take place, before the PCs set off for the 'treasure', as they are essential to the unfolding story. Leaving a busy tavern isn't exactly a quick and easy thing to do, and it's very easy to get caught up in things beyond your control as they take place in front of the party, so you shouldn't have too much trouble ensuring that. On top of this there's no reason why the party cannot be tempted into staying on the island for a few days to explore and experience the culture, even to just sit back and enjoy the Shore of Dreams ambience.

Thugs and Waitresses

This is an exciting and chaotic event involving kidnappers kicking off in the bar. Who are they? Who do they claim to be? How does that effect certain members of staff? How are they after and who hired them? There's a chance some of this can be learned from survivors, but this is a ridiculous and fun rumble that really could go many different ways. I do love an encounter on which you just need to sit back, see how the players react and the dice lay.

This also potentially introduces another variable into coming events, depending on the actions of the party, which is always fun.

Curtain Call

Pisca puts on a special entrancing show on the party's honour. It's a truly distracting spectacle, which along with the night's feast, could put them all in a 'food' coma. There is advice about having the all important Wisdom Save rolled before the game starts so the PCs will be unsuspecting, which is evil and brilliant.

This is another encounter with multiple endings covered with them all converging on the next part of the adventure, it just depends how they arrive there, and whether they do it consciously or not...

Captured!

The party find themselves waking up in a cell, divested of all but their clothes, and in the company of a fellow adventure whom they have heard of during their time at the Shore of Dreams. They have a variety of information they can provide about their predicament and how they came to be here. There are various ways to attempt escape, before or after they are set to work digging at the Temple.

Temple of the Storm

The temple and its sections are covered in a manner that makes it easy to follow and explain however the party found their way there, as well as how things proceed.

The various aspects of the temple and its grounds pose their own challenges, which are of an interesting variety, including battling a Tempest Beast, which can be found beautifully illustrated beside its stars in the appendix, but I think it's fair to say is a black and purple lightning crocodile!

The Cartography by Dean Spencer (@DeanSpencerArt) is wonderful and depicts the temple in a beautiful thematic manner.

Hall of Olhydra

Once the party makes it into the temple, however they did, the are confronted with a bizarre and wonderfully described room complete with convenient armoury and secret stash. However, there is also a handing DM tip that it could be wise to recommend PCs to return to the village to get all their gear (if they were drugged and captured), as we are heading towards the final encounter and this temple is with some sneaky, puzzling traps and hidden enemies that understand the importance of school uniform. I absolutely love creatures busting out of statues, and if it's because you're not wearing your surfs up blazer then all the better!

There's also a short, but sweetly written note on Olhydra, one of the four Elemental Evil.

Vault

This is a huge conch shell of death!

But seriously this has traps on top of traps and spits out the newly created Storm Mepthis! It can be dealt with and negated by a prepared and organised group, but this is some seriously awesome, that could do some serious damage, especially if the party are in their long johns and clutching ancient, barnacles-covered poky sticks. The description of the room and the sudden feeling should give them a heads up though...

Study

This puzzle-opened room contains a wealth of knowledge about the Olhydra's Cult of the Crushing Wave and their history with the island, as well as a nice horde of treasure to keep everyone happy.

A note advises that if you are planning to tie this adventure into Elemental Evil you could include scriptures mentioning the Dessarin Valley among the records. It's also noted that this room contains a blocked off passage that would take a month to clear, and that this is a space for your further adventures, if you wanted to expand on this adventure. Personally, I love touches like this and I'm always eager to take an adventure and add to it.

Concluding the Adventure

This section address all the hooks and elements the players may have discovered and interacted with, whether they came to seek the lost, find treasure, found themselves victims of circumstance and/or worked to stop Pisca's plans...

Pisca, Herald of Olhydra

This section covers the devastating events that occur if Pisca gets to the Crown of Black Pearls before the party, as well as great advice and various options for handling the encounter if the party decide to take her on.

A Harsh Reality

Despite the no doubt heroic end for the party, this adventure deals with the fallout and consequences for the island and its inhabitants, which are varied and realistic. These are refreshing details, especially as so often adventures and adventurers just blow in and blow out without the camera panning to the locals and how they are effected by all the heroic, and often destructive and disastrous adventuring.

Appendix

The two unique creatures, the Storm Beast, loving brought to terrifying life by Marinescu, and Storm Mephits (you can never have enough Mephits!) are included with description and full statblocks, as are the NPCs: Scorch, Temerity and Pisca's with their unique statblocks.

The unique magic item, the Crown of Black Pearls is included, along with its foreboding and mighty form rendered by Marinescu.

Also included are the beautiful Marinescu art handouts, Spencer’s amazing DM and player maps of the temple and the wonderful TrashMob Minis (@TrashMobMinis) of Pisca, Temerity, Murasa and the Tempest Beast!

This truly is a beautiful looking and beautifully crafted adventure full of stories, some true, some not, but all exciting, entertaining and accessible. Having the scenes, events and possible encounters laid out so clearly, with blue text expertly linking each seed and event, it should make it possible to do this truly magnificent adventure justice!

I'm at a loss for words. Writing and craft this refined and engaging is something truly special. No wonder Emmerich and Parry continue to make some of the most wonderful and arresting adventures today!

This is the full package and truly sets the bar for DMs Guild content astronomically high. It's a true joy just taking it all in. You love to see it!

I reached out to Florian Emmerich (@PoisonPotPress) with a few questions on Shore of Dreams:

CoS: The story at the heart of Shore of Dreams is comprised of many different stories, some more true than others, which I think is what makes it feel so alive. What inspired the framing story of the exiled noble luring adventurers with tall tales and fine dining to excavate an ancient temple and do you have any personal favourite characters and their stories, besides Pisca?

FE: What motivated me the most, was the trope of a lot of adventures start at an inn, but not revolve or being located at an inn. There are some other quiet nice examples, like JC Stevens Dragon’s Breath Tavern, though I learned about that after the release of Shore of Dreams. It was definitely not me breaking new ground here, but I like to think that it’s a setting that does not get employed that often and thus it’s always a nice addition. Another addition was going to an exhibition that explored the Japanese way of eating throughout time and how it has been influenced through the historical events. So, when I sat down, food was already on my mind and the setting was created.

For favorite characters besides Pisca, it’s Breena, hands down. Actually I really loathe that so far there is no art for her, but I really want to hear from Breena how she got to hang around with Pisca.

CoS: This is a wonderful work of collaboration, which all roleplaying is at its core. What was it like working with JVCParry and sharing the responsibilities? I know you've worked together since, but was this your first time working together or working in collaboration at all?

FE: So, the creation was split, first I provided the framework of the story with some core locations and NPCs, Pisca was already fully fledged out and so were some of the supporting cast, like Breena, though everyone besides Pisca was lacking a name. Also the general story was set, with Pisca’s ultimate goal in mind. Joshua gave everything great polish - and if you have the opportunity to work with him, don’t say no - and I had just to course correct minor details or rewrite partial lines I was adamant about keeping it the way I envisioned. It was also my first foray, so I gave a bit more liberty to Joshua, as he is more seasoned than me and especially at that time.

CoS: Raluca Marinescu's art is absolutely breathtaking and truly adds a dimension to the adventure, especially with the ability to share the beautiful handouts with players. What was it like seeing your characters staring back at you and looking so good?

FE: I was gobsmacked, especially since she elevated everything. To my shame, I must admit that I intended for Pisca to have more pinkish clothing. Thanks to Raluca she is more capable woman she is now. And she did it with every piece of art. It really felt so good seeing everything coming to life. Though I also want to highlight Dean Spencer, who sometimes get swept under the rug when talking about art, because his map is killer and he makes the adventure location (I don’t want to spoil too much here) tangible. So please, give some praise to Dean Spencer as well, who completed the whole package with his addition.

CoS: The East Asian aesthetic and inclusion of the wuxia names for weapons add something very different to a lot of what is seen in 5e. How was that decision come to and how did you approach it, in light of the less than sensitive way previous editions have handled East Asian elements.

FE: So obviously I stated the visit to the museum, so apart from the food, that already was heavy on my mind. The next thing is that I have wonderful friends in Japan and having an interest in that country and language also played a huge part in it. So, for me it was a tribute to my friends and creating something I love with people I love. However at this point I have to say that I did not do a good job either. I should have made it stick to a specific culture and not kitbash, especially the names, together. While some of the names has been suggested by JVC Parry, I should have in the end changed them, so the failure lies with me. I hope that people can forgive me here, I know that especially the TTRPG community is transforming to be more inclusive and mindful about this and I should have led by example. So, if you run Shore of Dreams, please be mindful about that, and at least change the blacksmith’s name to be more fitting.

CoS: Finally, I have noticed that your adventures seem to have a modular nature to them, with options for different eventualities actually written out. Obviously, you don't write out every eventuality, but it can definitely be helpful as a DM to see things from different perspectives, especially if an adventure has two rather different ways of coming to the same location. Is this a conscious effort and does it reflect how you plan out your own sessions when DMing?

FE: Actually, when I am DMing I am a nervous wreck, who really does not want to derail a story, but it also stemmed from seeing good examples that offered more solutions and or outcomes, but also having experienced bad modules, where I wished some more guidance. While, yes it becomes easier with each time you DMing, and some are even natural talents who pick it quite easily, I imagine there are more nervous DMs out in this vast world, who are happy to have more things on their hand.

As you pointed out, you can’t cover everything, because let’s face it, a lot of TTRPG players are very, very creative, at least I would love to give a DMs the information to make informed calls on the fly if they have to. So I really want to give a lot of agency to the DM and player’s so everyone can have fun on the table.

The other benefit is that it’s easier to fit in any campaign or to keep the story going, if you know what the villains are setting out to do, or will do further, once they reached their ultimate goal within the module. If there are other factions (like in Warriors of Sehanine), these can also further a campaign, if a DM or the players want to invest in that and NPCs can tag along or become friends for a lifetime for your PCs. For example, I wonder if there is a party that actually brought Syllin from Warriors of Sehanine to Candle Keep, I sure do hope there is one iteration of Syllin that was floored by all the books.

Warriors of Sehanine: https://www.dmsguild.com/m/product/283029?affiliate_id=1507682

My Five Star Review of Warriors of Sehanine that got me started reviewing: https://www.dmsguild.com/product_reviews_info.php?&reviews_id=338427&products_id=283029?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shore of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Amarune's Almanac: Forests of the Realms
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 12:32:59

This is one of those lore books that 3rd edition pumped out for the Forgotten realms every few months that explored a different part of the world. However this is more generalized on biomes, particularly forests for this first entry. Inside is a ton of lore presented in a journal narrative by a wife and husband duo (more the wife), of whom both have established lore already and are not some OC's by the author. First, after the foreword and introductions (The foreword by FR creator himself, Ed Greenwood), we come to subclasses, for the Druid and Ranger. Druid receives the Circle of the Grove subclass, and frankly I hope at least the Druid gets a subclass in each book, because they would be served as better versions of the circle of the land subclasses, this making a more flavorful Circle of the Forest than the actual PHB subclass does. A mix of moon and land powers from the PHB to start, including creating his own small forest, the grove druid gets a heavy tree and plant theme with the rest of his powers, going so far as to animate a treant. Ranger gets the Sylvan Sentinel subclass, a heavily fey-based subclass, of which I'm surprised one hasn't been made for the ranger already. They get their bonus spells, of which is a good selection for the most part (especially faerie fire and misty step), can speak sylvan and have advantage on checks against non-evil sylvan, and their 3rd starting subclass ability, Gossamer Strikes, grants them an extra attack should they make a MELEE attack with advantage during their attack action, which if you read that carefully, is a somewhat finnicky and sometimes tricky trigger to pull off, this is where faerie fire, or more reliable perhaps, Zephyr Strike, comes into play. The ability also has mulitple triggers to reset and be regained as it's only usable once normally. Glimmering Misdirection is a reaction disadvantage for foes on attack rolls, Shimmerdance is a once per turn 1d6 added to your attack roll (before hit or miss is confirmed, like bardic inspiration), and Gift of the Faerie, like Red Bull, GIVES YOU WINGS! As someone looking into making a Ranger after the variant features UA came out a few weeks ago since the writing of this, this makes for a very well themed fey ranger. The druid is neat and the ranger is fantastic (though gossamer strikes still seems finicky with it's requirements).

Next is spells, all of which of course has some forest-y theme, only a few are given, I like woodland step (cast to move without provoking AOOs and make an attack in transit), and sticks to snakes (and vice versa), I call it the moses and ramses spell. I mostly focused on the 1-4th level spells, of which are the majority, since most campaigns don't go past maybe 9-10th level. These are flavorful and I would't mind most of these at my table, though Druidic Practice's version of the Ceremony spell requires the CASTER to make a insight check to essentially change someone else's alignment (or am I reading that wrong?), which doesn't seem right. And one spell gives you basically radar of the ENTIRE FOREST, which while flavorful, seems horribly strong to me, though it is actually like radar, a group of things can come up as one big ping, you get no descriptions, just "there is a thing here, you don't know what it is, but it's here".

Next is descriptions of a few forests, like Yuirwood, the Jungles of chult, etc. These are mostly purely lore but at least told in the narrative of someone who had made a journal of their travels through them. Honestly not much to say here, if you're heavily into lore and storytelling, you'll like this, I'm personally neutral about it.

Next is plants and fungus, SO MUCH OF IT! What there is, where to find it, and how to find it. You're given a new downtime activity to find and gather these new plants and herbs, of which quite a number are presented, nearly all of which can provide some minor mechanical benefit (some have slightly stronger benefits), I won't get into detail about them as there was just so much to read here, but it does show off bloodroot, a drug for vampires that is super addictive and puts them into a bloodsucking rampage, that's something one could work into a vampire campaign for sure.

Next is creatures of the forest, the majority of which are beasts, which your druid will be happy to know. Elven hounds (Cooshee) are shown off, giant forest roly-polys, the celestial white stag, and a few others round out the rest, obviously a tool for GMs or your local druid.

After that comes items, there are a small number presented, all except one are wonderous items (non-weapon/armor), which is a little disappointing, though one of them does create chakrams for you, which are 1d6 thrown finesse weapons that get better depending on circumstances. There is a legendary shield in the pages so be sure to gander at that. I did like these for the most part, like the Flute of Turlang and Razorleaf emerald, which can cast gust of wind that actually does damage if you do it in a forest.

This is actually a great pickup, particularly because 90% of all D&D campaigns and adventures take place or at least go through forests for the most part. A few small things bug me that I mentioned in this review that keep me from giving this five stars. I would give 4.5 stars but it wouldn't let me give a half, but consider this basically a 4.5 out of 5, a superb supplement for your arboreal adventures. Here's to hoping the next entries are just as good, if not better!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amarune's Almanac: Forests of the Realms
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
by Trevor T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 12:18:19

I am the Dungeon Master for Dungeon Hunters Podcast as well as the Dungeon Master for multiple other DnD sessions of Descent Into Avernus and after reading this supplement I am REALLY excited to run my players through this alternate beginning! It has so much packed into it that it provides everything I need as a Dungeon Master to help create an awesome session to launch my adventuring party right into the thick of Baldur's Gate Descent Into Avernus! I can't wait to see which factions my characters will align with! I am also using this as an alternate opening and having one group of players descend straight into Avernus with Elturel and I CANT WAIT! Pick this up and prepare to lead your players into the Fires of Avernus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baldur's Gate: The Fall of Elturel
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Thousand Classes + A Thousand More
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 08:08:35

This is just fantastic! Absolutely loads of outstanding content inside of this book, what I've looked through so far all seems quite well balenced and looks like it will bring a lot of fun to the table. I think my favourite stand out is the School of the Honey Mage wizard tradition, it really stands out as a wacky unique subclass that would bring a lot of diversity to a table, braking away from the norm of a typical wizard expectation. I also like that the setup is their for the new school of magic and that it can be expanded upon more.

Overall there is a few changes I've made to certain things before adding them into my games, but they really are minor. I think this product is a must have for anyone who wants to increase the diversity of charecter types and magic going on at their table, or for someone who just wants to give their players some more options to play with.

Great Job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Thousand Classes + A Thousand More
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Accursed Apple Twists
by Elisha B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2019 21:19:29

SPOILERS IN REVIEW!

I had never DM'd before and my players had never played. This was easy to fashion into the world I've been working on. I did change the name of the village to Flavorfield and the Courier had been Fuy Gieri. The players loved the entire experience. I will say when I read the info for the BBG at the end I said to myself "no one is going to bite a giant apple demon". The very first thing my players did was bite it.... Genius to include that in to the description.

Loved it all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed Apple Twists
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15397 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles