Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Blue Alley
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 02:34:57

I'm lucky enough to have in my hands both a copy of WOTC's Waterdeep: Dragon Heist and also DM Guild's Blue Alley. Blue Alley slots easily into the options based Dragon Heist framework, where alternate options make this campaign structure quite replayable. Blue Alley will add an additional option for your party to choose from, ideal for those who dislike being "railroaded". Having this adventure in your arsenal will make you look like the amazing DM who thought of everything! In saying that, the adventure will work equally well in any city setting - it's nature is fantastic rather than urbane, and it will spark the imaginations of your players with it's devilish fantasy rather than involve them in deep intrigue.

"... everyone knows Blue Alley is a deathtrap ..."

This warning appears on page 2, suggesting that your party might want to get some adventuring under their belt if this is their first introduction to D&D. A party with their wits about them and who's blades have a few notches in them will be able to jump in at level 1. The cryptic nature of the adventure is the real adversary here, a challenge to the players' intellect rather than their melee damage output.

Episode 1 introduces some interesting NPCs who might become features in your campaign including the main character: Mirt. Episode 2 details the main challenge of the adventure, while Episode 3 provokes the party to consider the consequences of their actions. Appendix 1 reprints one creature from Volo's Guide to Monsters, the rest of the encounters require the Monster Manual. Appendix 2 has the single page map, while Appendix 3 provides some tips for the DM.

I haven't yet run this adventure, but my advice is that you read the puzzles and traps carefully, so that your players' screams of frustration are equally matched with their ecstatic squeals of triumph!

In summary Blue Alley will add immense value as a feature within your Waterdeep campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blue Alley
by Zachary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 00:38:31

This is a great side quest for anyone playing Waterdeep: Dragon Heist. It's a faithful reincarnation of the adventure from the original City of Splendors Box Set - removing the crueler parts of the adventure and the parts that would be distatesful to a modern audience. Note that this Module does not feature magebane, the legendary weapon from the original adventure, but I believe it would be simple enough to add.

I only have a few small criticisms with the module. Firstly, I'd like it if the grid would be visible on the dungeon map. it's clear it was built on one, and it would make it easier to count the squares to describe the length of rooms and hallways to players. Secondly, there is no trade off in the stradegies in room 17, "Bladed Blitz". Maybe the DC could change depending on if the players go fast or slow - currently running through the room is completely the correct decision - and being slow and careful is punished, even if it would realistically be the correct thing to do. And lastly, is there anything to stop the players from simplying walking out the entrance to escape Blue alley? There's no description that says they can't simply leave the way they came.

That was a wall of text - but honestly it's just a handful of nitpicks in an otherwise brilliant module. I can't wait to throw it at my players when they have some downtime or when a player can't make a session :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlocks of Eberron: Pacts of the Dragons
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 21:53:46

Solid product. All three are really interesting, and they're mechanically unique while having firmly identified places in Eberron lore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warlocks of Eberron: Pacts of the Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
by Jacob T. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 19:45:36

This is a fantastic resource. I am prepping to run Dragon Heist and wanted to make the adventure feel more like a Heist movie, and this is a great system. It breaks down how to turn an entire session into a streamlined heist that feels like you are running Oceans 11. It will be 2 dollars well spent.

I would love to see more examples especially with complications.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 16:49:22

This package breaks AL in a way that almost cannot be properly expressed. At it's core, the issue is that gold no longer exists, which accounted for player motivations and engagement with certain storylines in a fundemental way; however, there are other issues.

Primary issues related to gold

  1. The removal of gold breaks any situation where the party is expected to use gold to purchase anything story related, such as purchasing a building or paying a bribe, to the degree that the only way to DM these encounters is to ignore the rules and treat all story related gold purchases as free-this comes into play particularly with dragon heist, but applies universally.
  2. The removal of gold makes anything that fines the players the small pittance they earn per level a massive extended middle finger to them, and cripples the character subjected to them. While this fascinatingly models the cycle of poverty many people face, this is not suitable to most DnD games, in particular organized play.
  3. It is impossible to motivate many characters. This is crippling and unavoidable. If you are motivated by money, your character canot play AL anymore.

This list is short, because it is extremely simple. But every single problem there is crippling to adventures so afflicted.

Primary issues related to checkpoints and hardcovers

  1. The elephant in the room; it is absolutely impossible for a character to catch up to other characters later in their tier, or in rare situations where they you are playing out of tier. If you brought a level 1 character to a group with a level 3 party, you would level directly to 3 by the time they are 4. With the new system, you gain levels at exactly the same rate, unless they slow their progression, a decision you are not in any way in control of. Even as a DM, you cannot force slow progression. This means that the main draw of AL-accessibility-is no longer there. You cannot drop by a table and play. You virtually have to have played through the entire thing. I really want checkpoints to work, and there were ways to fix this, but they didn't impliment any of them. The problem is crippling if you are trying to bring in new players.

  2. You out level several hardcovers. I'd go as far as to say all hardcovers. If the group roleplays out encounters, they will rapidly accumulate far in excess of the checkpoints needed to be on level with the enemies; I've seen parties at level 4 when they should be at level 2 for the encounters they are facing, and this was a lesser example. The issue is that you get checkpoints for time spent doing a mission in hardcovers, which is fine and dandy, except you don't need to actually accomplish anything. So you can faff about for 16 hours and are now level 5. This is a problem for the DM to solve, theoretically, as they are in charge of what is "accomplishing objectives" so far as getting checkpoints-except that roleplaying must be included in "faffing about" in order to get the correct number of hours in many adventures. This, de facto, means that the to run several advenures the DM must basically institute "you level when you're supposed to", which, as checkpoints are awarded at the end of a session and people are supposed to be able to drop in and out, requires precognition to see when the players are actually going to finish a chapter objective in real time versus the level they are supposed to be for the next one.

  3. DMs don't have the freedom to modify encounters sufficiently to create relevant challenges for the party. All the above would be managable, if, as a DM, I could simply make the challenges appropriatly harder where it was reasonable for them to be more difficult. However, due to a variety of rules on facebook, when DMing AL adventures, you are not allowed to change the difficulty of tasks, according to the Admins. There are some things you can modify-but with the insane restrictions added to DM creativity, it's hard to tell if you are playing an AL legal table when fixing the adventure.
  4. Even if I could fix the adventure, I am re-writing everything anyway. I should just run as homebrew.

Conclusion; If you play any hardcover, including Dragon Heist, Run as homebrew. They are unplayable, and they should simply not include them as an option for AL play anymore; they broke them too severely.

Primary issues related to Treasure Points, Magic Items, and Misc. rules

  1. The rules should be compacted. Facebook rulings are "official", for gods sake. More of a general complaint with AL, but it's becoming untenable now.
  2. Not all banned magic items were problematic. Furthermore, several added evergreen magic items are. This is a minor complaint.
  3. The entire idea of using magic item tables to determine price was, to be frank, and with no offense meant, retarded, and incomprehensibly stupid. Those tables are broken. They were not designed for this.
  4. The new system rewards players who go looking for certain magic item unlocks, in particular +3 armor, as it is strictly superior to lesser armors; it is on the same table, has the same cost, and is merely not "evergreen" for unlocking. This means that players who save up and spend their points as such are purely benfited over players who play normally, rewarding loot runs.
  5. It is impossible to sell outdated magic weapons, shields, and armor, incentivising waiting to buy items for when they are most benefical, and negatively affecting classes that use weapons and armor. You can trade items, but the only way to "game" this system is to have some sort of rotating band of items that you trade to low level characters when your higher level characters outgrow them, in exchange for useful items off the same tables...It's a mess.
  6. Where are my DM quests?
  7. They removed rewards for Storm Kings Thunder after chapter 5 or so, which cripples rewards for the adventure. You no longer roll on the tables, which used to be most of the rewards in the adventure.
  8. I keep finding new problems, but I have to stop.

My thoughts on fixes I'm going to go out on a limb and say that this could be fixed. The checkpoint system in particular is salvagable, as are treasure points.

  1. Add gold back. If this cannot be done, make gold in an adventure a story reward-the only gold that translates out of an adventure is leveling gold, but the rest can be used to accomplish story related tasks.
  2. When DMing hardcover adventures, the DM awards checkpoints as needed, within range of the tier of the content or recommended level of the adventure if this is lower, for each character.
  3. Characters should be able to train lower level characters that adventure with them, in exchange for downtime and some unspecified penalty-like the trained character doesen't receive gold or downtime, for instance, or even treasure points. This will enable parties to bring new players into the fold.
  4. Use the tables in Xanathars guide for magic item prices.

List of hardcovers, by season, particularly affected by the new rules

  1. Season 2, princes of the apocolypse, due to leveling concerns. The Sandbox of the adventure is already iffy with that, but character can easily break the hardcover leveling wise.
  2. Season 4, Curse of Strahd, due to leveling concerns. It is very possible to roleplay through curse taking drastically longer than one is supposed to, which would result in massively overleveled characters.
  3. Season 5, Storm Kings Thunder. There are virtually no rewards for the players in later chapters. SKT was a great hardcover too.
  4. Season 7, Tomb of Annahilation. Again, sandbox adventure, easy for players to roleplay and end up level 16 by the end and break the encounters.
  5. Season 8, Dragon Heist. Yes, the s8 hardcover is maybe the worst off. Leveling isn't the problem; it's that players are expected to spend gold on story related tasks, repetadly. In fact, the entire adventure is about gold. The entire point is a heist. It was such a spectacularly poorly timed disaster to introduce these rules that there is no suitable words for it. There are work arounds, to a degree, but they are completely unworkable in practice. Heist is the worst affected of all hardcovers, and it virtually unplayable.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Myriad, City of Tiers
by Eric G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 13:40:29

Speaking from the point of view as a player, this adventure was loads of fun to play. I really enjoyed the class alterations and the additional background choices. After reading through the adventure I can't wait to drop this into one of my ongoing games. It has plenty of npc's that can become part of your ongoing campaign and the story hook will be exciting for your players. It's written in an extremely easy to read fashion making it easy to DM and the art is fantastic. This is one adventure you'll definitely want to check out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myriad, City of Tiers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Modular Character Sheets
by ashley e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 08:26:11

We tried these sheets out on our last one off and loved them! So easy to use and very player friendly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modular Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Tubal-Cain's Guide to Augmenting Items and other Blacksmith Services
by Dionysios C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 06:12:49

Wow, these Augmentations are very original and interesting to give items more flavor. I am positively surprised. Also, the "blacksmithing services" were quite vague in DMG and PHB, here are quite straight-forward. Thanks for the inspiration published :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tubal-Cain's Guide to Augmenting Items and other Blacksmith Services
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Moon over Graymoor
by Michele F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 05:51:18

This is perfect for a first level adventure, there is just spculation and investigation.

My players started the adventure with "can't be it, it's to predictable" to "i **** knew it!" loved the triggering

Tought if they aren't prepared well the last fight is going to be one sighted



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moon over Graymoor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Wild Sheep Chase - A Single-Session Adventure
by Michele F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 05:43:38

it's a pretty cute and short adventure, scpecially if your party hate elf

it will take at best two session to run it if you take it slow, good for a filler or put new PNG in your story (Especially the wizard)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wild Sheep Chase - A Single-Session Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Player's Quick Combat Guide
by Michele F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 05:14:58

Nice item, can be very usefull with new players with littel explanations.

Justa a side note, it doesn't tell you when the players can have a reaction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Quick Combat Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

One-Shot: The Lair of Auntie Ethel
by Tom T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 04:22:55

We played this a few nights ago with 3 4th-level PCs (planned on 4 PCs, but one dropped out). It was only my second time as DM.

The storyline is well-prepared and with a little time to get ready, I was able to keep things moving along. The author provides some very dramatic moments.

There were interesting choices for the PCs at every step of the adventure. There was a sense of danger and mystery throughout. There are some heavy ethical choices to be made and our group liked that.

The creatures were all new to me and to most of the party. They were surpised several times by what happened.

It took us a liitle over 3 hours. The setup is quick and the party is soon adventuring. I had the first social encounter give them all the info they needed to get on their way.

We had a great time. I'll definitely look for more from this author. As soon as I figure out how to buy things here, I'll buy this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One-Shot: The Lair of Auntie Ethel
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! I tried to make it as stream-lined as I could, so I'm glad it worked out in your favor!
{B5} Scroll of Strange Races - Volume 2
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 03:43:01

Where to start, just the damn cover is enough to entice anyone to look further into this. And if that wasnt enough, this is Volume 2, the first volume far surpased my expectations and this one just hit it out of the ballpark. Everything feels so unique and beautiful. If you ever just want to bust out a character or a town with one of these races, everyone playing will feel how amazing it is, and make you want to dive in deeper!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{B5} Scroll of Strange Races - Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

{B5} The Scroll of Strange Races
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 03:30:34

The Scroll of Strange Races is an amazing buy for anyone who wants to dabble in something alittle extra, for those unique kind of feels. I am going to be using a Aetheril soon and boy, can I not wait. This whole thing is extremely well thought out and outright brilliant. Keep up the amazing work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{B5} The Scroll of Strange Races
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
by Jay T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2018 01:16:54

I have no idea where to start to explain how poorly this content has been presented. I feel like it is still in a beta test and rule changes are going to be constantly forth coming because the alpha was so poorly tested.

WotC has really bonked AL play for season 8. I don't blame the admins since it seems they are being directed by WotC to implement such a bassackwards way of playing D&D.

Get ready for the generic power character since everyone can, for the most part, unlock the same magic items. In fact, it will only take 3 4 hour hard cover sessions at tier 3 to get a Staff of the Magi or a Cloak of Invisibility. This system has completely vanillafied characters.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 7983 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles