Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL08-02 Beneath the City of the Dead
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 15:50:22

Currently, I'm running some neighborhood kids (ages 14 and under) through the tier one Waterdeep adventures. We started with Once in Waterdeep and have worked our way through Dock Ward Double Cross. Only one of the kids (my daughter) has played D&D before. I was very happy with Beneath the City of the Dead. This was the adventure where they really "got it." It can be tricky to find that perfect adventure that introduces the tabletop RPG concept to a new player. But sometimes? A tiny dungeon crawl is exactly what is needed. This is a dungeon that can be easily run in two hours. The encounters and traps were interesting enough that the players were enthusiastic about the whole process. The encounters were well balanced. It won't destroy a tier one party, with or without a short rest. The decision making was easy enough that they weren't staring at me dumbfounded. ("Do you want to go during the day or wait until night?") That was sufficient to get them talking and figuring out what was best to do.

This adventure doesn't really work without also playing 08-03 soon after. It ends on a bit of a cliffhanger. However, the two adventures fit together nicely. I'll admit DDAL08-00 and DDAL08-01 don't feel as essential. If you have to choose, I'd just start with this one. And it saves time because the end of 02 is essentially the call to adventure for 03.

One of my players had lost a grandparent the day before, so I reworked it as Beneath the "City Garden," instead of it being a cemetery. I ran it as if it were more akin to Central Park—which worked fine. If you have young players who are sensitive to death, to me, this was an easy switch.

It was an easy adventure to run (always a plus for a busy DM). I was able to sufficiently prep in only 30 minutes. The players had a good time with it. What's not to love?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-02 Beneath the City of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Tomb of the Iron King
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 15:47:16

Ran this for a party that included two people brand new to D&D (and RPGs in general) and two who I've played with for a few years now.

It is a perfect introductory adventure! There is plenty of detail in the adventure, with oportunities for the players to use plenty of their abilities. My only critisism would be that it might be too easy. I added a goblin encounter onto the start (as the PCs searched for the tomb), and I doubled the hp of the spectre, and made the animate skeletons a Lair action instead of a standard action - this lead to the Players winning, but acknowledging the challenge, so it may need adjustment if a full party of experienced players tried it, but for new players it may well run perfectly without changes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Iron King
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Deadly Dungeon Doors
by Logan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 14:16:51

The Apendix A. Flowchart is probably my favorite thing about this. From a new user standpoint, it is a blistering ammount of options and the flow chart helped me groundmyself and get into the "flow" of how to use the material. Thank you so much for including this... this may aslo just be the engineer in me speaking.

Those of you who havent purchased this yet. There are a bunch of options for doors, their DC, material type, size, ect... The flow chart I am talking about goes step by step as kind of a check list for building your door. I believe it is what so many other addages to DND systems should use.

Thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Dungeon Doors
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-RPR-01 Eyes of Blood
by Summer Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 13:00:31

Another great Tier 1 AL adventure from Dave Zajac. I was not surprised that it was good but I was presently surprised by such an interesting story. One Blood the goblin is great to roleplay (I played him as Walder Frey from Game of Thrones and constantly complained about my idiot children during every battle) and the battle with the Half Ogres was just fantasic! Great choices to be made, useful skill checks, and NPC's with depth are continuing hallmarks of this author's work. This is a must-buy for any adventure collection. Oh, lest I forget: All battle maps are included in their own PDF as FULLY SCALED pages that print across several sheets. Best feature for map printing, saves tons of prep time. Just make sure you print at 100% scale (not fit to sheet or any other auto setting).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-RPR-01 Eyes of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Road to Ishe
by Robin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 11:52:11

a nice afternoon of fun for a lower level party. Well made with sufficient detail to jump right in, or you can stock the road trip with more beasts and encounters... or throw a small random low level dungeon in along the way.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Ishe
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Malady Workshop
by Harley B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 11:34:00

As I read through this, I hear the cackling of thousands of DMs across the country. Seriously though, this is the most diabolical and thorough layout I've been able to enjoy in a while. As a current medical-related student, I am very VERY glad to say that yes, this is wonderful, this is pretty accurate, and this is pretty darn evil, y'all. I look forward to being able to whip this out and punish those that dare roll to seduce dragons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Xanathar's Lost Notes to Everything Else
by Micah I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 09:11:43

Abseloutly love it. its a must have for the shelf and for your laptop. With tons of additional archetype options, baeutiful art. Its a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Xanathar's Lost Notes to Everything Else
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AN-01 Secrets of Golden Fire
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 07:35:42

Very cool and unique adventure! With a complex story and many interesting NPCs, this definitely takes a bit of prep to run, but it does off like an inspired martial arts epic. THe mod also has great opportunities to use unexpected skills and make important morally complex choices, making it feel both diverse and relevant despite being a Tier 1 adventure. There is a lot to take in here, but totally worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AN-01 Secrets of Golden Fire
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Curse of Strahd: Destined Allies
by Davide R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 06:25:06

I think this is a must-have for every DM who's running CoS. I really needed this, luckly I found it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd: Destined Allies
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Player's Quick Combat Guide
by Davide R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 06:20:56

One word: PERFECT! My players loved it. It really helps if you and your players are new to D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Quick Combat Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Expedition of the Magi: A Christmas Tale from the Forgotten Realms (5e)
by Davide R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 06:18:51

The adventure was good, but it wasn't my style, so I had to rewrite a little bit. Don't get me wrong, this adventure is really well-done, I just don't feel like it deserves 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Expedition of the Magi: A Christmas Tale from the Forgotten Realms (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Barovia Hand Drawn Maps
by Davide R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 06:13:37

The maps are awesome! Simple to understand and, most importantly, they are in A4 format. I prefer using these instead of the one i found with the book (it's really too large)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barovia Hand Drawn Maps
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

5e Encounter Sheet
by Charlotte D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 05:58:45

Fantastic and really useful resource. I was honestly just looking for a sheet that I could populate myself but this does so much more. I've recommended it to all my d&d friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Encounter Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fear and Loathing in Faerûn
by Hal H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 03:23:58

Whether your looking for a simple set of rules for a drinking game or for the darker effects of drug addiction this supplement hits the mark. Many of the substances are compiled from previous editions, adventure modules, and other sources. They are all provided here in one consolidated list.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing in Faerûn
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

5e Encounter Sheet
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 00:42:58

I "bought" this in July, but never bothered to actually TRY it. Also, I'm an idiot. This is the shiznit!

Actually, looking closer, I grabbed it for free with plans on paying if I like it. So I'm buying it with money this time. Buy yourself a beer or something, cause I know I'll be toasting all the time you've saved me (going forward - did I mention that I'm an idiot?)

SUPERB PRODUCT, continually updated as well (like 5 or 6 times since I got it the "first time!")



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Encounter Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 10155 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles