Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Listing (Labyrinth Lord)
by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2011 13:24:49

A very handy, very inexpensive add-on to your LL game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Listing (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2011 15:10:13

Read my full review here: http://rpg.brouhaha.us/?p=4108



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2011 13:56:05

Excellent supplement for Labyrinth Lord.

The most interesting part of this supplement are the spells, the monsters, and the artifacts and magic items (including the cursed books like Necronomicon and others). They are a must for any game that would be run in a Lovecraft-inspired setting, but also for many grim, sword & sorcery campaign worlds.

Now, I only give it a 4 stars because layout is mediocre (and I don't like the choice of fonts, art is average, etc.). Then, the new PC races, despite being appropriate, don't provide much originality. I mean, I don't really need this book if it was but for the races and classes (i.e. races as classes); I could easily improvise them myself. However, it's but a small part of the book. Spells, monsters and items are what is really important, and there is plenty of them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mutant Future: Revised Edition
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2011 09:09:13

This game is way better than the 4e version of the game this item is based on. It captures the feel of the classic post apocalyptic adventure you may have enjoyed back in the day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Timemaster
by Bryan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2010 13:16:23

Timemasters is a welcome blast from the past. I missed out on this one back in the 80s when it was released by the much missed “Pacesetter” games, because I was determinedly snapping up their excellent first edition of “Chill” instead. so, discovering Orphite here with this (if you will pardon the pun) timeless classic, was a joy indeed, and I finally gave it a try.

I am very glad I did.

Timemasters is odd in that it feels both fresh and new as well as retro chic when you reed it. Written in the early 80s it still competes quite well with modern RPGs and has a simple, fast and fun set of mechanics that let you get into the game very quickly but don’t feel like they are skimping on detail or playability either.

Of course Timetravel is an enduring human interest and has been since before H G Wells wrote “The time Machine” ( a novel which is invoked in the design of the time corps crono-scooter) but which has endured to the current day because deep down the idea fascinates many of us.

So, easy to get into and play, fun and comprehensive, with subject matter that has an enduring appeal to the average role-player or Sci-fi fan. what more could you ask for really? Well, okay, perhaps the retro style art isn’t everyone's post-modern cup of tea, but then I always preferred playability and fun to pretty pictures which is why I spend my free time playing RPGs rather than reading comics (not that there is anything wrong with either hobby!).

What makes the game even more interesting is that as well as the obvious time travelling element it works in parallel universes and worlds, lending the game an even more broad aspect than the huge range of adventures presented in a game that can be set in any time period from now to the incredibly far future.

This is a gem of a game which should appeal equally well to retro fans and those who usually prefer more modern RPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Timemaster
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Sea Dogs of England
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2010 22:42:01

The first section provides some straightforward action encounters that should run well. The situation on the cover, or inaccurately described in the blurb, is mostly played for laughs through GM narration. Honestly, probably best if your group enjoys a session of comedy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sea Dogs of England
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Advanced Edition Companion (Labyrinth Lord, no-art version)
by Eric J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 12:41:03

There is a single-minded attention to quality with these books that really carries through. Clarity, precision, faithfulness to the original (except in rare cases where the original could use a fix), and ease of use are all doggedly pursued and achieved. The companion is completely compatible with the original Labyrinth Lord and if you intend to play 'Advanced' style in fact you really only need this book. I am extremely grateful for this meticulous work of Goblinoid Games. I researched numerous retro-clones and this was far and away the best for the above reasons. The excellent 'hobbyist' style art really takes me back as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Edition Companion (Labyrinth Lord, no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Eric J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 12:28:00

Just what I was looking for. Its all here and for free no less. I honestly prefer this clean streamlined single book to OD&D - for pure utility. The ideal retro-clone in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Starships & Spacemen (Original 1978)
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2010 17:23:27

This is a quirky retro RPG...well, perhaps retro shouldn't apply, since this is the original Starships & Spacement, circa 1978, with some supplemental material and errata originally published in Different Worlds magazine from way back when (I loved that magazine!)

Starships & Spacemen is essentially an unabashed riff of classic Star Trek (TOS for you modern Trekkies) with analogs of just about all the original races and characters to one extent or another. The system is simple, based on a series of base stats, a chosen branch study and augmented by a healthy dose of gung-ho "where are the green skinned women?" style of play. Even the sample characters and situations in the game....revolving around Captain Jerk....speak to the unabashed extrusion of all things Trek in to the S&S mold.

That said, if you are looking for a retro clone of Star Trek as an RPG this is a good place to start. The system is playable, contains a basic but fully functional set of rules for starships and combat, and has lots of classic trappings of old school RPG design, such as randomly generated alien encounters, planets and stellar anomalies floating around to be uncovered. It's really quite fun, and noticeably better than some of the other Fantasy Games Unlimited (the original oublishers) SF RPGs of the time (cough Space Opera cough).

If you consider yourself an officionado of the OSR, then you really can't go wrong here. if you just happen to be fond of kitschy Trek-styled space opera and rules-lite systems, look no further.

Appearance: 3/5 (it has that type-writer quality pervasive in games prior to 1980ish, but the art is decent for its time)

Substance: 4/5 (you get a full game here; I say 4/5 because it is so rules lite but if that's your thing consider it a 5/5)

Playability: 5/5 (plays well, and you can easily play it beer & pretzels style or go for a long haul campaign with it, I feel)

As a side note, Goblinoid Games seems to have plans to do support for S&S. I certainly hope so; it will make a fine addition to the Labyrinth Lord and Mutant Future collage that GG is now known for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starships & Spacemen (Original 1978)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Tomb of Sigyfel
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:36:42

This was a well written introductory adventure for Labyrinth Lords. It played well and was enjoyable. Though short it is a decently designed dungeon. Any group that explores it should have a good time doing so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tomb of Sigyfel
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Listing (Labyrinth Lord)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:21:43

I have found this product very useful in my Labyrinth Lord games. It has all the monsters in alphabetical order with stats for easy reference. The most useful feature was the listing by hit dice. It makes it far easier to write adventures geared towards specific levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Listing (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

GORE
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:15:39

I'm not a big fan of percentile based RPG's so I did not find this game much use personally and therefore could not give it 5 stars. However, I found it was put together well and easy to read. I would imagine that anyone who likes percentile style games would find this product to be a welcome addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2010 14:07:18

So far I have had a great deal of fun with Mutant Future. It's character design process enables you to make pretty much any kind of mutant to explore a future laden with danger and ancient treasures. Who doesn't want to play a telekenetic wolf man who has to stop in the middle of battle to eat a slain enemy because his metabolism is so high? Who doesn't want to play a game that invented a monster as memorable as the spidergoat? Who doesn't want to descend into an ancient ruins to discover riches such as an energy gun or a case of instant soup? If you want fantasy adventure in a post apocalyptic world with radiation and mutants I highly suggest you give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2010 13:59:17

Oh, the simple days of taking your 1st level magic user into a dungeon armed only with a dagger and magic missile and praying to every god in every dimension that you will survive to second level. The simple days when a goblin was a goblin, an orc was an orc and a dragon would probably kill half your party. Then the survivors would divvy up a huge amount of xp and gold.

If you remember fondly the days of old school gaming or would like try what us old guys talk about some times as we start to nod off at the table than I highly recomend this product. They have done a great job of presenting for the public a game that I started my RPG hobby with and still love today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

GORE
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2010 15:02:43

There were some good games on the market back in the 80s that used this system. This is a very good resource for that system. The "Deep ones" would be proud.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 153 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles