Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GORE
by Lee O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2012 19:13:27

It's free, so it must be good! This is a simple BRP (Runequest / Chaosium's 'Basic Role Playing' ) system, complete with BRP-Lite version of the system covered as well. Fantastic if you want to throw down a game in a setting that isn't really covered by what else you have available. It's a universal system, so fantasy / medieval times through to the gun-toting present-day is covered (and particularly well in the weapon and gear lists). There's some nice tables of injuries and other lite-crunchy fun, there's a great magic and spells section, and even a radiation exposure table. You could grab this lil' PDF and embark on a entire campaign with it if you really wanted, and that's a great thing. I do have one criticism though - through the gushing admiration for the Open-Source loveliness - and that's that for all the Cthulhu beasties visible on the cover and in the illustrations throughout the book and the general horror theme that seems to be being reached for, there's no Sanity system in this PDF, and as a big fan of Call of Cthulhu, and I think that's a shame.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Advanced Edition Companion (Labyrinth Lord)
by Paul G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2011 12:15:50

Excellent resource. This is the way AD&D should have been done: an expansion and fleshing out of the basic rules. Great art and well designed as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Edition Companion (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Rotworld
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2011 13:13:52

Rot World is 65 pages of information dense zombie RPG.

The book contains almost no background, flavor text, setting or "fluff". It is almost solid rules, mechanics and examples of play.

The heart of the game is the Action Table, a single table that can be used to resolve any action or conflict. Much of the rules text is examples of how to implement and interpret this table in play. Everything from determining the contents of the Kwik-e-Mart on the corner to combat against a horde of zombies.

I am not a fan of crunchy games, but in this case I will make an exception. This is not crunch for the sake of adding extraneous detail or rules for the sake of rules. Every rule and piece of crunch is here for a reason and will likely be used in play.

The sections on creating zombies and the breakdown of civilization are gems. A very wide variety of options and styles are presented with individual gamers being free to mix and match to suit their own tastes. Fast zombies created by a toxic waste spill out to eat your liver in a slow spreading infestation? Radioactive, intelligent, but slow shamblers consuming all flesh in a fast moving apocalypse? Psychic zombies from outer space? Take your pick.

Rules describe the rate of spread of the infestation, and the effects on various aspects of society. Very useful for those who wish to set their games at the beginning, middle or end of the outbreak.

This is the best product to come out of the OSR I have seen yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Rotworld
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 15:08:41

This is how games should be written. I admit I'm old school when it comes to gaming. I don't care much for several chapters of backstory before getting to the game. I don't need someone else to tell mehow to imagine things. This game dosen't do that. It gets right into character creation. Goblinoid Games has another winner. The game mechanic (though old) is new to me and took a couple reads to understand fully, but compared to other zombie rpgs on the market I think this game covers more with less pages, and at under 5 bucks you can't go wrong. I only hope this game gets more support. The zombie genre has never really been suited for long campaign play, but for the occasional one off, this delivers. Well worth the price. COuld have used a little more art work though. Did love the cover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I just want to clarify for readers that the reviewer and author have the same first name and last initial, but are not the same person. ;-)
Rotworld
by Sean M. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 15:30:54

I confess I'm not usually caught up in the zombie/apocalypse genre as many see to be these days.... However, I grabbed this as soon as I saw it available. I was and currently am a fan of the old Pacesetter games such as TimeMaster and Star Ace. When I seen Dan's new offering was based on the same mechanics (since he recently acquired and is re-releasing the TimeMaster line) I thought it would be a lot of fun. It is! A slim volume with enough game mechanic meat to make even a zombie GM happy. I look forward to new offerings in this line, and it will be interesting to see what happens to the TimeMaster system as it gets dusted off for a new generation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2011 11:39:53

Believe it or not, I am not a huge fan of Zombie games. I love All Flesh Must Be Eaten, but as an addition to my WitchCraft/Ghosts of Albion games. Rotworld will be similar. Produced by Daniel Proctor of Labyrinth Lord and GORE fame, Rotworld capitalizes on the 5 billion dollar a year business of Zombies (As of October 2011). RW uses the old Time Master system that Proctor bought from Pacesetter. He did not however buy Chill, so he can't say it is compatible with Chill 1st Edition. But with some work it is and that is why I picked it up. I love Chill and plan to see what sort of goodness Rotworld could add to a Chill game. OR the other way around. Either way this small game (65 pages) packs a punch and shows that "Old School Gaming" is more than just making the next retro-clone of Holmes Basic or AD&D 1st ed. I hope Rotworld is successful so Goblinoid Games does a generic horror game with this system. There are not a lot of monsters in this book, outside of zombies, but there is plenty of text on character creation, combat and skills. There is a good Game Master section (Corpse Master) about how to setup and run a game. Rotworld is a fine game. It won't unseat AFMBE as the premiere Zombie survival game out there, but it is a lot of fun and great for an evening's distraction or even gathering up a bunch of friends with fond memories of gaming in the early 80s. For the price it really can't be beat. Actually it would still be a steal at twice the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2011 00:17:10

Awesome beginning adventure and alot of fun! Combination Carnival Fun House and Haunted Mansion. Fits nicely with little to no tinkering. Great fun!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Star Explorer (Original 1982)
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2011 13:47:32

Sometimes classic games just don't age well. The rule set behind this Star Trek-homage just doesn't work by modern standards. However, this PDF collection looks like a very faithful, high resolution copy of the original game, and does include a neat scenario generator for running a classic Trek-inspired game. You can pull the scenario generator, which is the largest single portion of the text, for use with other sci-fi games with no problem. Do that, and you'll feel like you got your money's worth. Trying to play Star Explorer as written will have you bashing your head against the wall.

One other problem- the PDF files in the package feel a bit bloated. The cover alone- a single page, color PDF- is over 30 megabytes, and could probably of been shrank a bit without seriously harming resolution. That's not a big issue in and of itself, but it's another strike against an already flawed nostalgia product. CHRIS



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Explorer (Original 1982)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Secret of Whispering Wood
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 23:59:42

I loved this. Straight, basic fantasy story, but using the GORE system rules (can also be used with BRP). My friends enjoied the ease of playing. Though they are used to a different game system they found the GORE system quick and easy to pick up. The best part of this product is that it adds a few monsters to the game, sorely missing from the GORE rules. This adventure is good for 1 or 2 nights of play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Whispering Wood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Night of the Living Dead: Revisited
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 23:55:56

A nice and accurate represintation of the movie. Good for one night of gaming. Having the stats listed for each character of the movie allows for a number of different outcomes and endings then what was seen in the classic movie. I recomend this. Can be used with any BRP system based game, though written for GORE.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Living Dead: Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Original Edition Characters
by Ron A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 17:27:53

I purchased this product to run an original edition style campaign and was not disappointed The guys at Goblinoid have done a wonderful job recreating the style and feel of the original game. I would recomend this to anyone wanting to run an Oe game but, like me, lacking the hundreds of dollars that the original rules are now commanding at the auction sites. The only thing I would change would be to offer a digest sized print edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Original Edition Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2011 21:08:33

First off let me say that HP Lovecraft is a tricky territory for a writer to approach. It has been hard enough for all the authors who "contributed" to the mythos through the decades. RPG writers...gulp, that has been almost worse. Yet HP Lovecraft has been intwined with role playing for years. Sandy Peterson's game was my introduction to Lovecraft's fiction at a time when I was busy reading Conan novels and playing AD&D. Little did I grasp how closely all three of these things were related. The themes present were in Lovecraft's work were also there in Howard's Conan (hell he even contributed to the mythos). The AD&D games I played had less Tolkein in them and more sword and socerery at the time. Years passed and so did the games. When I rediscovered old school role playing like many other gamers Labyrinth Lord was my first pick. My old school games were blissfully rolling around in Mordor like quests when I heard that a Conan movie was being remade. Then I discovered this little gem by Goblinoid Games. Dark gods had apparently answered my darker half's whispered prayers. All of these meandering words now become more than just reverery. If you want that type of RPG world captured in sword and sorcerery fiction and want the exclusive take of HP Lovecraft on such a world this book is it. Other mythos contributions are not present, just HPL's. The rules for a darker magic system are there, as well as those dark tomes and artifacts from Lovecraft like stories (as well as the rules to make them). Of more dubious use are the rules for psionics and the alternate character races/classes. They are there though and some GMs are going to find it invaluable. This isn't pure sword and socerery mind you but if want your Labyrinth Lord game closer to that this book is great. If you wanted to take your retro clone game to the horror side (such as that presented in the loft for ravens series of game supplements) this would be very helpful. To sum it up this book is a great toolbox for retrofitting your retro clone to horror/sword & socerery role playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 13:45:18

Mutant Future is, in my opinion, one of the great outcomes from the "retroclone" wave of RPGs. It combines OGL rules from older editions of D&D with post-apocalyptic influences from Gamma World and Metamorphosis Alpha. The result is different from any of those considered separately, and a working game system for "old school" post-apocalyptic adventures. I was lucky enough to grab the first free edition, which included pictures, and if the art remains anything like that, I'd recommend the paid version to anyone who feels like playing it, as it matches the style and theme of the book very well (especially the monsters, like the spidergoat or the xenocattle) and is very inspiring.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Clash of Kings
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2011 17:16:56

I totally recommend the Clash of Kings. If only for the fact that you might like reading about the possible origins of King Arthur in the suggested-real history of England. Throw in a trapped time traveller (Merlin, of course), some aliens in a cave, the Grail, the odd duel and battle, and you've got something just slightly more sophisticated than A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (and all of those comedy films that followed, ye gods). But it could still be a lot of fun - or incredibly serious, depending upon how you play it. The illustrations in Clash of Kings are from Beardsley's famous art for Le Morte Darthur, -a useful reminder of the influence the legends had on Romantic culture, which, according to the module are essential for the future development of England, Europe and the world. But don't worry, if everything fails ... "Communist North America and United Europe destroy the world in the Holocaust of 2054" (p32) Remember, kids, it was the 80's, with Reagan and Thatcher in charge you knew where you stood when it came to the future, bring on the nukes!

Fire up the Chronoscooters!

5 out 5 whilst at $1.99 - it's a gem, but not priceless, but is certainly fantastic offer whilst at this price. I implore Goblinoid Games to keep the prices low on these modules. :)

Billiam B. http://bit.ly/rpgblog Adventures & Shopping



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clash of Kings
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Timemaster
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2011 17:08:48

I'm giving this 5 out of 5 to take into account the knock-down price of $4.99.

(Abridged review/thoughts from own blog http://bit.ly/rpgblog)

White Dwarf and Imagine (Uk's version of Dragon magazine) used to fill their pages with articles about time travel in D&D, Judge Dredd, CoC and, naturally, Star Trek. Grandfather paradoxes aplenty, time travel looked fun, but pretty unplayable.

Timemaster, however, does a good job of setting clear guidelines as to how to make Time travel work. You're Time Agents - fix the problems, apprehend the criminals, preserve the order. Time is a very mutable thing. Success and failure would be measured in terms of the "significance" of adventure goals on the rest of history (based on a points system). History had a way of healing itself, the trick was minimising the damage. For example, no matter what you did, the earth would be engulfed in a nuclear apocalypse at some point in late 20th to mid 21st Century, but the superpowers combatants may have actually changed in nationality. Maybe Hitler wins WWII and the Cold War is between just Europe and Russia, but eventually America is dragged into WWIII. The guidelines for this is pretty good. Even dropping a gun in the wrong time-period has a "Significance Rating". Any mistakes or failures are counted up against more general goals, making sure that a historical event actual takes place can outweigh the smaller problems. On top of that the rules include a comprehensive mass combat system with counters, which actually allow you to fight battles in history. Again, losing a battle, when in history it's actually won, may still not disrupt the time-line much. A war may drag on for a few more months with the same overall result. Alternatively there could be catastrophe with the time-line not getting back on track for 500 years. Then you have to think "Well, the whole 16th-21st Century were ruined, as long as Earth still joins the Interstellar Community in the 24th Century, the Time Corp HQ in the 72nd century won't actually get wiped out". Dominoes.

There is an open feel and yet a totality about the rules in Timemaster. It's limitations seem to depend upon your own perceptions of sci-fi and science. For example PCs are enlisted from any point in history, but are discouraged from entering their own time - which closes quite a few interesting doors. Also, the rules for futuristic weapons seem to be limited to Space-fighters, a laser gun and laser rifle. Hmm. There's a lot of time between here and the 72nd century. Creativity is required on behalf of the Referee in terms of small details. The emphasis is often on famous people or royals from history plus an unwanted element - a "Demorean" (multiple armed xenophobic perfectist interdimensional aliens) or just some time-travel-renegade, a mercenary from the "Time-Wars".

From the handful of scenarios I've seen, the basic plot is:

Historically important NPCs (approaching a) Major Historical Event (acquire) influence/help/anachronistic weapon * (from) bad guy(s)...

... the PCs (must) confiscate the item (and) destroy or arrest the bad guys, (whilst) preserving life and time-line event order.

*(the Spanish Armada have a Polaris missile in Sea Dogs of England)

The problem is that it can all read like a pantomime comedy in period costume. Did I mention that despite the extra limbs, that bad-guy-evil Demoreans can shape-shift? Masquerading as our leaders!? The Horror!

When I was younger I struggled a lot with the sweeping generalisations about history in Timemaster which seemed at odds with fairly detailed battlefield simulations. I was utterly tied in knots about actually getting down to play Timemaster.

However, since the TV series Doctor Who went utterly crazy, I'm feeling less worried about Churchill punching out aliens and lasers at the Somme. And yes, you could probably do the "spitfires in space" thing but the debriefing back at the Time Corps would be really tough.

Oh, and another thing - the Chronoscooters can only jump in and then jump back to HQ 72ndC. from one time - no "time-hopping". In one of the modules they throw that out of the window on the second page. What's the point of time-travel if one mission doesn't involve several different time periods in rapid succession? Maybe I'd have been better off meddling in the "Time Wars".

In summary, the main rules are an excellent stepping off point into to time travel gaming, but it needs just a little more "tech" (it was lacking in the 80s), and a confident, flexible DM would probably have the most fun playing everything as the "exception to rule".

The art in the main rules is less than inspiring - mainly Victorian wood-cuts - with a little more cut and paste Terry Gilliam would have had a run for his money. But it's still adorable as a complete old-style numbers and bonuses role-playing system.

Overall it's a very comprehensive and complete system, the setting will appeal to both serious players, and Time Bandits fans. ;)

Billiam B (Adventures and Shopping http://bit.ly/rpgblog )



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Timemaster
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 153 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles