Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2020 00:37:59

A random and confusing finale.

I wanted to love the end of the big "Monastery of the Yellow Rose" trilogy for Season 2 of Adventurer's League, but I just couldn't. In principle, this should be epic - a journey to the boundary of the elemental planes to hold back the summoning of Elemental Evil. But it doesn't work. It's the very epitome of a "nonsense wizard dungeon", full of random magical nonsense and "gotcha" moments, that's neither well-explained nor thematically resonant.

Much of the module involves jumping around floating islands, attempting to rescue monks who are trapped in imaginary mindscapes. There's little in the way of work done to explain these mindscapes to the players, either while they're happening or in retrospect, or say why they're relevant to the particular monk experiencing them, meaning that players mostly end up just doing "yet another random whatsit". There's little information given that would enable players to make meaningful decisions about the order in which they tackle the challenges, so the range of content available is largely meaningless - it may as well have been linear. And the final confrontation is not very well tuned, nor does it make much use of its premise (featuring a battle on airships in the middle of a storm), other than a vague instruction for the DM to run it in a narrative style. (Yes, I can do that, I did do that, and we had fun, but the module had very little to contribute to that fun.)

And if you make it to the end, there's simply not much acknowledgement of what the players have achieved. (And of course, for all the players' successes, the Cult will be right back again in the Epic "Mulmaster Undone", chronologically the next entry in the season by release date, acting as if they've never even heard of the Monastery, let alone had their plans there foiled.)

You can run a good game with what's in this module, but if you do, it will because you know how to run a good game, not because the module brought much to the table. A sad and disappointing low point of Season 2.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-13 The Howling Void (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

I6 Ravenloft (1e)
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2020 23:42:27

Beautifully recreated, well worth it--which more products of this quality could be available--not only to appreciate such classics, but perserve them for future gaming generations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I6 Ravenloft (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2020 10:59:24

This is a great adventure that I highly reccommend for first time DMs. The adventure is fairly linear, but its quite thematic and allows a lot of creativity in what players can do to solve the various problems thrown at them while keeping things simple for the DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

GAZ13 The Shadow Elves (Basic)
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 19:30:07

This is a worthy addition to the Mystara setting, and it packs some secrets in its pages that made my eyebrow raise as I came to understnd what a particular Immortal is trying to get away with. The Shadow Elves themselves are a distinct culture that makes sense, and it is good to have a setting without the standard, evil drow matriarchies.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ13 The Shadow Elves (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 19:21:30

I did not buy this when it was initially published in the 90s, because the art looked bleh and the idea of starting off with a domain and not having to earn one turned me off. Years later, I see the value of jumping right into domain play and not having to build up PCs to get there, so I gave this another shot. When I cracked the pdf covers, the art was still bad. Part of what drew me to Planescape was the evocative art direction that suffused the setting. Part of what drove me away from Birthright is the muddy, uninspired generic fantasy art it featured. Also, the lackluster art eats up a significant amount of each page, so I wonder if the grass and trees on nearly every page were there to pad page count. Also, the domain system just doesn't seem like the most elegant way to accomplish what it sets out to do. I didn't see a problem with the Basic D&D approach to domain management and found it generally easier to understand than this one, although neither are wonderful. The Bloodlines aspect was interesting and the way the setting accounts for the races differently than most settings do. It is a mixed bag.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Birthright Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CM9 Legacy of Blood (Basic)
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 19:16:00

I really look forward to running this one for my players, as the set up is great. With the D&D adventure equivalent of the movie "The Money Pit", this will be a great introduction to the domain aspect of early D&D. The characters are interesting, the subplots are neat, the setting is used effectively, the fact that your people endlessly gripe about each other to you is realistic. The villain was okay, but I did like his motivation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CM9 Legacy of Blood (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

X13 Crown of Ancient Glory (Basic)
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 19:13:45

This one was fun. There are some creative characters and settings involved, the plotline is good, and I look forward to running it some day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X13 Crown of Ancient Glory (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
by Andrew Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2020 21:33:32

Bought this along with the AD&D 2e Monster Manual and Dungeon Master Guide. Although not nearly as good as a hardcover would be, it is excellent to see that there is a physical version of the 2e rulebooks that is available for purchase without needing to mortgage your house.

It is extremely fragile. By that I mean extremely. The quality of the book despite its frailness is worthy of its pricing, however. The printing quality is not terribly high, but that means very little to me as a consumer. I just like the idea of having a physical book.

This book really isn't meant for daily use, it's best for looking nice on a shelf somewhere alongside all of your other D&D editions that you own, but even then, it really should be hardcover.

However, considering the PDF+Paperback bundle is like 2 extra dollars to get you the PDF as well, it is very easy to simply use the PDF and have the book look nice on your shelf somewhere.

Well worth the buy if you really enjoy a physical collection of D&D books, even if it is in paperback instead of Hardcover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Magic Item Compendium (3.5)
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2020 18:27:09

This is one of the most valuable books you can add to a 3.5 campaign. It has a plethora of excellent new magic items across all price ranges—so you don't have to wait until 8th level before you find an exciting, useful magic item for your PC. The new and improved magic item tables in the back are great for DMs, making it easy to balance random item drops for your party's level with tighter price ranges and more consistent game balance. If I could only use one book besides the core three, it would be this one. (Or maybe Unearthed Arcana.)

I got the PDF version, so I can't comment on the quality of the print-on-demand version. Fair warning, unlike the other premium rulebooks, errata is not included here, so you will have to download a separate PDF. The errata document is seven pages long and consists mostly of updates to the school of many items' magic auras and tweaks to the prices of runestaffs. Also, the amber amulet of vermin now summons a Large monstrous scorpion rather than Huge. That's important.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic Item Compendium (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Luke A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2020 16:34:38

The scan is fine, text/ink is good and the content is a nice walk down memory lane.

I received the hardcover - and it is POORLY done, sloppy. The corners are messy and i'm concerned they'll come apart, the covers are oversized with an overhang that is double or triple the size of normal.

I have purchased 3 hardcovers from DriveThru and all of them were disappointments. Poorly done. One of them split the day I received it.

I would recommend avoiding hardcovers from DriveThru at this time, get the softcover and save yourself some money and disappointment.

Full marks for the content. The printing is fine the binding is a complete disappointment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ed Greenwood Presents Elminster's Forgotten Realms
by Mark T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 10:33:06

What a find! Realmslore from the Master of the Realms! System agnostic with lots of lore to fill in the cracks of any adventuring in the Realms. Sections on daily life, money, magic, law, and the gods, and how they work. But not with rules, more like a travelogue. Really enjoy the copies of Mr Greenwood's original typewritten submissions to TSR scattered throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ed Greenwood Presents Elminster's Forgotten Realms
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
by Aarón D. C. S. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 08:49:53

POD copy is very good, in the line of recent Karameikos Gazetteer



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron (5e)
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 20:29:12

Wayfinder's Guide is an excellent source of introductory material for players new to the setting. If you're running an Eberron game, and have taken on the responsibility to educate your players about the setting, the scope of this supplement is great to provide players a view into the world through their character options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 06:58:41

So happy this is available POD. This was one of the first D&D books I purchased with my hard earned lawn mowing money back in the early 80s. I lost that copy when my basement flooded many years later. I like 5e a lot, but the DMG feels very truncated compared to the 1E DMG. The scan looks great, the searchable PDF is amazingly useful and the information in the book itself is as useful now as it was back in '81.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

X12 Skarda's Mirror (Basic)
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2020 16:37:03

There were awesome parts of this module, and there are awful parts of this module. Allow me to describe them without giving anything important away. The awesome parts of the module include a finale that could be a game changer for your campaign, and the action is excellent. The writing in this part clearly show how high the stakes are, what could be lost, and what your PCs might gain in a bloody triumph. Also, throughout the module are a couple of pages giving advice on what to do if the party deviates from the intended path this way or that, which is good for teaching DMs how to react creatively. A big mediocre part was the second major setting in the module. There was some good in it, but it lacked the creative punch to really make me that interested. Perhaps that has to do with the lack of characterization in the bad guys, so in the realm of the villain, there's no real personality to sell it. Skarda is just a jerk and his mercs are too, no depth given. The awful parts are sadly right up front, so if you stop reading out of boredom, you'll never get to the good parts. Some modules are fun reads in themselves, like The Temple of Death or Night's Dark Terror. They also make great adventures. Not this one. The hook to get you into the adventure is a solid page of exposition by a guy your PCs have never met in their lives, who isn't very interesting, and is kind of a jerk. At the back of the book, the writer unhelpfully gives what would have been a great hook completely customized to your PCs, but you'll never see it until the adventure is over. The first setting of the adventure also turns out to be a complete wild goose chase, minus any geese and in a large building with absolutely nothing interesting in it. Sure, the creature haunting the place is neat, but he also makes no other appearances in the book. Frankly, if I was playing through this first part, I would feel jipped by the time I wasted tromping around this spot with no treasure, no conflicts, no clues, and no opportunity for real XP. It was truly the worst intro to an adventure I've ever seen. Oh, and the author also includes some advice on how to screw your players into getting into the meat of the adventure, which is weird. Why not come up with one good scene/action to get them into the Mirror, instead of a bunch of half-baked ideas for how to do it? So that's Skarda's Mirror. My advice is to skip the first parts and make a custom hook idea to get them into the Mirror and make the villain more interesting. That would give you a decent to good adventure module.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
X12 Skarda's Mirror (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5960 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles