Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
DDAL09-04 The Day of the Devil
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2024 14:56:51

I am in the process of running all of DDAL09 as a campaign, so will be reviewing each adventure as I run them. For context, I ran 4 adventures in this campaign already, a homebrew one where the party needs to get out of Elturel with as many civilians as possible as the city is being sucked into hell, and then Baldur's Gate: Fall of Elturel, also on DM's Guild for a different group of adventurers, finally I have run DDAL09-01 through DDAL09-03.

What I liked: This has been the high point of the campaign so far. Starts off with a bang, the party had spent time developing ties and relations with the Flaming Fists and refugees. I also introduced Duke Portyr earlier in the adventure to help develop a rapport with the group. I gave him sympathies to the Elturel refugees and it made his assassination very impactful, as well as the encounter with the devils in the crowd very chaotic. I also found that the chase was really fun for the players, but to incentivize them I changed two things. 1: I made it so they noticed the cultists (who were corrupt flaming fists from the previous adventure) going to the warehouse and were chasing them. 2: I had them overhear that other cultists were already at the warehouse to incentivize getting there as fast as possible and not fighting the traveling cultists, it became a race. The tracking of progress by landmarks was really really nice, I liked that bit of flavor. The defense of the warehouse was also a lot of fun, having the cultists come in both sides helped keep the party on their toes, really just fun overall. Same with the reveal about the angels and introduction of Fai Chen (although I forshadowed him to give some more impact).

What I didn't like: Small things.

  1. Gharizol needed to be a chain devil and have some buddies, he got burned down way to easily by my players, even when I bumped him up to a Barbed Devil. He also needed meatier thugs instead of just cultist statblocks. They were not real threats.
  2. Fai Chen needed some background info given, I did it myself, but it would have been nice in the module.

A great way to end the player character's time at Baldur's Gate, a very solid recommendation to anyone to run!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-04 The Day of the Devil
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2024 14:45:47

I am in the process of running all of DDAL09 as a campaign, so will be reviewing each adventure as I run them. For context, I ran two adventures in this campaign already, a homebrew one where the party needs to get out of Elturel with as many civilians as possible as the city is being sucked into hell, and then Baldur's Gate: Fall of Elturel, also on DM's Guild for a different group of adventurers, finally I have run DDAL09-01 through DDAL09-02.

What I liked: Again, the idea here is really intruiging. Learning more about Gharizol and the cult of Zariel, a mystery involving someone being killed with no visible entry or exit. A secret cult lair to explore, this is good stuff!

What I didn't like: Again it comes down to the details. I basically took the idea and the maps and redid the map keys (which are poor) and the details. I game more info on the cult to discover and motivate the players, I gave a better sign of the summoning (and the fact that something killed Sands and then broke the door down out toward the secret entrance). I also think that the first optional quest doesn't add a lot of value as is. What I did was use it along with some general details to help the party discover the murder more naturally, pointing clues at Sands' house for them to go check it out without having to be told by the Flaming Fists. But the second Optional Quest doesn't feel optional, that is the conclusion of the adventure.

Two weak mysteries in a row, the nice thing is the investigations seem over now that Gharizol has been flushed out. And I have heard good things about the next adventure in the series!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-03 Hungry Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-03 A Red Day for Elventree
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2024 07:21:17

This is another good stand-alone Tier 1 adventure with a straightforward mission. I've run it once with 6 players, 4 4th level, 2 1st level. It was easy to keep the encounters balanced to challenge the 4ths but still allow the 1sts to feel as if they contributed. There are excellent opportunities for all three pillars to be enganged- exploration, combat, diplomacy. While it is stand alone, I found it easy to develop a link between INT01,02,and 04 to this one. I recommend running this one last if you plan to do it as a series. It is easy enough to tie the assault on Elventree to the mage and book theft in INT03.

That being said, out of the 4 INT modules, this is the one I struggled the most to run. In an effort to keep things simple to run, the module hand-waves the travel distance into a series of encounter way-points. Biut the distance is not insignificant, and SHOULD take multiple days, requiring multiple long rests to avoid exhaustion. I recommend to any DMs to develop their own charting system for successes and failures.

The beginning of the second section didn't make much sense to me. The village should evacuate no matter what with a huge army bearing down. So I added that one of the goals of a Thayan battleplan is to take as many prisoners as possible. Slaves and pre-undead are highly valuable. The gnome chief knows this. So I chaned the choices to a) hold the line in the main common area to delay the enemy long enough for the villagers to escape or b) screen and protect the villagers as they move through the forest.

In the second section, my group chose the chase. Now, chases are notoriously difficult to run in 5e. They are hard to visualize, and require a lot of hand-waving of distances, comabt reach, etc. And this one has a few problems that need specific adjustments and changes to allow for quick adjudication to keep the chase moving. The module states that the NPC mob will dash each round. That can quickly put them way out of reach of the enemy to hurt and the characters to help. So I implemented a statement that if a player wasn't within 60' of the NPC mob, they rolled at disadvantage on the complications table. After all, the purpose was to guide the NPCs and keep them safe. I also said that if the NPCs took damage that round from a complication, they could not dash. So I had to alter some of the one-time benefits from increasing movement to allowing a dash that round. I also had to adjudicate the use of the Darkness spell during a chase. The quick way I did it was to say it imposed disadvantage on the complications roll for anyone passing through it. Lastly, I hand-waved variable movement rates and let everyone move in 30' increments if they had less than 30' movement rate. I described this as breaking up the mob into groups and letting the slower-pace people guard the slower-pace NPCs as they moved along. But the relative distances were still good. That allowed me to keep everything at 30' increments, which made tracking MUCH easier.

Overall, my players really enjoyed this entire module. The opportunity for skills and diplomacy to effect gameplay early was well received. The chase in the second part was chaotic and challenging to manage, with hard choices to stay together or leave those who fall behind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-03 A Red Day for Elventree
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-04 Tales of Fang and Claw
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2024 07:45:39

This is another excellent stand-alone fetch quest. Go somewhere, get something, complications ensue. The module itself plays through in a clear manner, with the sequence of events happening in whatever order the players encounter them. The final battle can be quite difficult given the building design. There is a choke-point that can become quite problematic depending on initiative order given that there is a timer on the final battle. My players nearly lost becasue of their inability to get through quickly. Overall it will run longer than some of the others if the players are not extremely clever. In addition, setting the atmosphere early is key. The module is muddled a bit on this one- is is stormy or bright moon-lit night? I reccommend reading it through carefully and writing notes about opportunities to set tone. The NPC are supposed to be creepy (undead), but the area lends itself more to unnerving (lycanthropes). Select how you want to make the characters think and make sure the interactions match appropriately. I leaned into the lycanthrope tone more in my interactions. I used this once, as part of a Adventurer's leage through-line with INT-01 & INT-02. It makes sense for this to be part 3. But I had to make some changes to the background. In INT-01, they encountered a red wizard. I added that they found a clue to a group he hired to raid a tomb a few days away. In INT-02, the stopped the group from raiding a tomb. I added that the Harper agent sends them to Candlekeep to get more information. Part 3, I added that to get the information, they needed to run an errand. Which set up Int-04. And the wizard at the end I changed to be the same one from INT-01. And they had a note that said after they gathered the books, they were to rendezvous outside Mulmaster to support an offensive operation in the Moonsea area. Which leads to INT-03.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-04 Tales of Fang and Claw
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-02 Watchers of the Trollclaws 1
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2024 07:29:53

This is mostly a dungeon crawl, which can be a good thing. It is largely stand-alone, so if you are planning to use this as a series, you may need to make some modifications to the Call to Action and part 2. For me, I used a note found on the villian on INT-01 that said he was to check on a hired crew exploring some ruins. That was enough.
It can be easy to finish in 2 hours if the players choose to avoid exploring some areas. So taking time to improvise and expand upon a particular social interaction is recommended. In addition, would reccommend any DMs clearly think through how they want part 2 to proceed based on what information is in the module. As I read it, part 2 turned out to be a wasted opportunity for exploration because of the event that happens right at the beginning. So I changed a few things so that the area was obscured so the players could not see which way the opposition fled and had to make choices and explore. Overall, it can be played through as a stand-alone with minimal changes, or adapted quickly for a larger campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-02 Watchers of the Trollclaws 1
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-01 Big Problems
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2024 07:19:03

This module plays well on its own, but can be a bit short if you have charcaters who manage to avoid all combat. The important part for the DM is to have a solid handle on all of the NPC and thier motivations. Being able to clue the players about who is doing what is critical to them solving the issue. I used it as a starting point for an Adventurer's League thru-campaign based on the Red Wizards. So having the antagonist escape worked well for me. But since my players pushed through it quickly, I allowed them to chase / figt some of the bad-guys even after they succeeded. This allowed me to drop a clue that took them to INT-02 (which I ran the following session).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-01 Big Problems
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-01 Big Problems
by Dan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2023 14:02:30

This is a very nice jumping off point. I have run it 4 times for groups of beginners, and enjoyed it every time. Run times were between 2 and 3 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
by Brad W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2023 12:03:31

It has the framework for a good adventure, but after getting through it, it has glaring holes which the author neglected to support: -Why would the Yraxilinith kill Mugrub after paying her to get the key for him? (HUGE PLOT HOLE which makes no sense) -Why mention the Flameskulls giving bizarre quests or having the party break nonsensical laws if you don't provide examples? This adventure can be either very short (if all social interactions) or extremely long (multiple fights) which makes gauging this for a typical 3-4 hour AL session extremely difficult -If the author is going to include fights with certain monsters, please include their stat blocks (I had to make up them on my own)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL09-02 Stopped at the Gate
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2023 14:40:52

I am in the process of running all of DDAL09 as a campaign, so will be reviewing each adventure as I run them. For context, I ran three adventures in this campaign already, a homebrew one where the party needs to get out of Elturel with as many civilians as possible as the city is being sucked into hell, and then Baldur's Gate: Fall of Elturel, also on DM's Guild for a different group of adventurers, and DDAL09-01.

What I liked: The attempt at continuation from the previous adventure is nice. The focus on an area of Baldur's Gate other than the parts in the Descent into Avernus book is also a nice addition to flesh out the city. The overall idea of Descendants of the original Hellriders being targeted by a Serial Killer/Fiend is really nice. The immigration paperwork as the introduction to the city is also a fun bit of roleplay.

What I didn't like: As 4 hour adventure, the structure here is really weak. The goal of this adventure should have been taking the initial seed of mystery from the end of the last one (Who/What is Gharizol and what do they want) and spending 2-4 hours investigating it. But this murder is fairly weak. We are given hints at other murders to look at but no details to help coroborate a pattern, and the logic of the murder doesn't make a lot of sense either. I ended up stripping the details and building a node based investigation, different clues at several murder sites and that gave the party room to breath and put the pieces together themselves instead of just having NPCs telling them what happened. I also cleaned up the timeline of the murder to be more sensible. finally I used the first optional quest as that introduced the cult of Zariel in Baldur's Gate, but not the second one since it seemed like a pointless distraction.

Overall, it's a fun idea, but needs a lot of extra love and work to make fully functional.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-02 Stopped at the Gate
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-02 Watchers of the Trollclaws 1
by Atheno d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2023 14:33:44

I have played and DM'd this module once each. It was an enjoyable intro-level dungeon crawler. I don't think it's actually a 2-hour run; both times my group skipped an encounter and still went over. I'd budget 2:30 for sure, and it still might go over. Also, not a flat villain situation; there's a lot of cool lore in the module that a DM can improvise around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-02 Watchers of the Trollclaws 1
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-INT-01 Big Problems
by Atheno d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2023 16:19:40

I've run this once as a player and once as a DM. I liked the module overall, and (without spoilers) there were a few different hooks for different kinds of characters, which was great. I'm not very experienced, so I had some trouble keeping my group on track in the middle of the module, when there were multiple potential paths. Advice to other new DMs: re-read the middle of the adventure an extra time and draw a diagram of the possibilities. And be prepared for unexpected solutions to the final challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-INT-01 Big Problems
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2023 14:26:18

I am in the process of running all of DDAL09 as a campaign, so will be reviewing each adventure as I run them. For context, I ran two adventures in this campaign already, a homebrew one where the party needs to get out of Elturel with as many civilians as possible as the city is being sucked into hell, and then Baldur's Gate: Fall of Elturel, also on DM's Guild for a different group of adventurers.

What I liked: This has some great flavor, and a nice structure! The set up of getting the caravan together with refugees and supplies works really nicely it. It allows time for short and long rests during travel so the level 1 party doesn't get TPK'd purely through attrition, and there are some dangerous encounters here to play out. A particular hilight is burning Inn.

I have enjoyed this conflict between the Dungeon of the Dead Three and the Cult of the Dragon, I'm looking to expand on that in my campaign. I also like the NPCs they have unique art and personalities, and have made my caravan come alive.

I also liked the murder in the caravan, definitely helped remind the party of the stakes and dangers but I talk about it more in the what I didn't like, as written it didn't make a lot of sense.

What I didn't like: I have two issues, one more minor, and one that decently bothered me.

  1. The minor one, for an adventure called Escape from Elturel, it kind of brushes off the escape. I would have liked a travel and encounter table as the caravan travels across the River Chionthar to help flesh out what is happening in the Western Heartlands while Etlurel is gone, as well as more opportunity for the adventurer's to defend the caravan and RP with the NPCs more.

  2. This second one is enough of an issue that I changed that part of the adventure. The whole mission to get the poet and bring him into the Caravan felt very contrived. I ended up giving him an artifact of the Hellriders, a tablet that needs translating (it's fake because of his whole thing at the end), so that Elturel citizens would be interested in what that means. His "murder" is interesting, and I kept it, I feel it makes more sense now why he would get murdered to make it seem like this was a powerful relic that needed protecting. The tone of this part of the adventure just didn't match the rest.

Overall a really nice start to the series, looking forward to running the rest!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL10-00 Ice Road Trackers
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2023 23:31:42

(WARNING: SPOILERS!!)

I played this as a one shot completely outside Icewind Dale and, although my players enjoyed it and it was an easy to run module, I was very disappointed. The entire "the PCs are being given quests by an awakened walrus" concept seems interesting at first, but it wears very, very thin after the second mission. Throughout I felt like an idiot trying to roleplay as one awakened animal and then the other and then another, all with very little to distinguish them. Also the plot is full of logical inconsistencies that I was stuck having to explain to my players: How the Hell did a walrus, a creature not known as a big land traveler, wander up into the "Spine of the World" mountains? How do the predators and prey in the "family" coexist? Why should the PCs give a damn about these critters (and "we saved your life after you were railroaded into a deadly situation" doesn't count)? Perhaps there's stuff in Icewind that helps with these flaws (as hinted by the offhand mention of an evil druid awakening an army of creatures), but I honestly can't think of a worse D&D experience than having to play a whole hardcover where groups of disparate/evil awakened animals play a big part of the plot.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-00 Ice Road Trackers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-05 Uncertain Scrutiny
by Ted G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2023 13:18:24

First things first: This is not a six hour adventure. The shortest I've gotten it down to while not significantly cutting content is eight hours.

That being said, there is some tremendous content here. The beginning part starting with some subterfuge (with two completely distinct paths!), some of the most challenging tier 3 combats, and solid characters throughout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-05 Uncertain Scrutiny
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-06 Thimblerigging
by Ted G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2023 13:13:06

A very fun adventure with some fun combats and some very fun non-combat roleplaying. It's six hours but you can break it up into two hour chunks with the three sections. Some of the combats feel a little anticlimactic especially for a well tuned tier 3 party. I really like the Storm King's Descent series and if you want to give some higher tier challenges to your players I suggest picking this up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-06 Thimblerigging
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1326 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles