Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL-DRW-09 Vile Bounty
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2021 18:31:44

I really enjoyed running this module, trotting out accents and pirate tropes was a great deal of fun. The characters within had clear motivations and there was excellent opportunity for roleplaying. I love a good adventures where players can use a range of skills and approaches to achieve success.

It was by no means linear and catered well to offering choices. It definitely had the feel of an epic bronze age adventure especially with the dramatic ending.

A few niggling points though. A rough map of the island would be useful to get some idea of distances and geography and make it easier for DM descriptions It's important to have the maps meet the spell areas. Spells such as sleet storm, for example, have huge areas and small maps make them relatively unusable ... not a problem normally but then including them as listed tactics which don't work aren't particularly helpful. The final encounter was also very tough - the pirate captain could do insane amounts of damage and was pretty tough to defeat, combined with a number of spell casters (especially after the party had expended resources in the close proximity battles prior to the final one) - there was a bit of hand waving and dramatic licence used.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-09 Vile Bounty
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

RMH-02 Back to the Front
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2021 09:34:33

I enjoyed DMing this adventure on Roll20 for my 7 player Adventurers League "table" yesterday: I essentially doubled all the monsters during the fights.

As usual, I had to do a lot of map and token work, integrating assets from the PDF, Patreon subscriptions, D&DBeyond, and elsewhere.

To begin with excitement, I added the optional ambush before Lekar; upon arrival the players played along with the lieutenant and asked about their mission.

During the overland travel, I combined "Dead Ahead!", made somewhat trivial due to Turn Undead and Faerie Fire, with "Dastardly Deserters" which was a greater challenge. I had prepared a second encounter, merging "Rotten Talons" with "Missing Child", but we were approaching the two hour mark, combats were already dragging, so I just narrated that combined scene.

In Morfenzi, they just barely succeeded with "What Good Assistants You Are" -- sadly they couldn't use "Let's Give Her a Hand!" because it was eaten by wolves in the previous chapter, RMH-01.

The siege was fun, matching the party's struggle with the overall narrative: they were sufficiently creeped-out by their opponents.

The chase was made trivial by a few high rolls, and the Spirits Bard who used "Tale of the Runaway" to get the exhausted stragglers to safety.

I love the tone of this campaign and the production value of these adventures. I only have two recurring complaints:

  • Needs Editing: I suspect Scott Fitzgerald Gray didn't get enough time: lots of tiny inconsistencies in NPC gender, NPC race, adventure titles, etc.
  • Few Maps: At least this adventure had maps for the road encounters, but I also added maps for the the Lekar and Morfenzi encounters.

I can't wait to run RMH-003: for the forseeable future, my weekly table will be alternating between Ravenloft: Mist Hunters and The Wild Beyond the Witchlight campaigns.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-02 Back to the Front
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL-DRW-09 Vile Bounty
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 01:59:20

Well written, and laid out. A taunt spy-like thriller, with plenty of options to play it different ways, and a great choice of rewards. I rate this one quite high, and it is absolutely worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-09 Vile Bounty
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL04 Expanded Dark Gifts Table [OPTIONAL CONTENT]
by Paul H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2021 18:18:31

Absolutely fantastic way to handle dying in Ravenloft, where resurrection spell components are scarce and dark bargains are everywhere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04 Expanded Dark Gifts Table [OPTIONAL CONTENT]
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL10-07 Into Darkness
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2021 12:18:49

The transition between the Neogi (introduced as villians in DDAL10-06) and then the focus being on this seemingly unrelated city of horros is a little unsatisfying. Especially for players who have gotten attached to the Goliaths of Wyrmdoom Crag this module feels like a distraction from the main storyline of getting them back. The structure of the module in exploring this Ancient city is neat and definitely nice and creepy. The fights didn't feel very challenging for the party, even with the adjustments for strong/very strong party compositions. The party didn't enjoy the chase sequence at the end, chases in general don't seem to be very engaging in D&D right now.

To me it feels similar to DDAL10-02, in that both modules feel like filler, with some interesting narrative threads being established for later on in this storyline, but not a lot of forward momentum keeping players engaged as they play this particular module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-07 Into Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

EB-18 Scales of War
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 17:42:38

War! The Alliance of Five Nations is crumbling under attacks by the ruthless Warforged, the Lord of Blades. There are heroes on both sides. Evil is everywhere.

With this adventure, the campaign finally makes good on its tease of all-out warfare, and in doing so fulfills a personal dream I've wanted to pursue for years. I've always wanted to create and run a campaign modeled after one of my favorite video game series of all time: the relatively obscure Suikoden games. The classic elements of this series included:

  • A setting of escalated war between multiple factions
  • Classic RPG quests in that setting as a party of heroes unravels the hidden agendas and threats behind that war
  • Quests to form alliances to help win that war
  • Encounters of varying scale: typically party-based RPG fights, but occasionally switching to full-scale army battles and one-on-one duels

With the release of this adventure, I feel the campaign has successfully recaptured this magic for me. This adventure successfully gets the players involved in that full-scale army battle, yet it expertly threads the needle to execute this in a way that doesn't drag down the pace, never diminishes the spotlight on the PC's heroics, nor follows a straightforward and predictable path. And like every adventure before it, I'm still left with a healthy anticipation for the next one. So my congratulations to everyone who contributed to this. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-18 Scales of War
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

EB-17 The Final Tribute
by Ethan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 15:13:21

The first T4 adventure on the Oracle of War series, The Final Tribute is a solid adventure. The initial part of the adventure, investigating what's really going on in New Cyre, was engaging & well-done. It wasn't obvious to my players what was happening, but there were enough clues to keep things moving. The combat portion of the adventure focusses on a single large battle at the end, which usually makes for an easy win by the party, but in this case it was well-balanced. The party I DM usually rolls though encounters, but they really had to fight for this one.

I will note for people about to run this adventure that it took us 8 hours to run - about 4 hours for the first two parts and 3.5 hours for the final fight. I think it might feel rushed if you tried to stick closely to the specified timelines.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-17 The Final Tribute
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL10-09 Recipe for Retribution
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 20:24:47

OVERALL: A fresh look at Season 10 AL which brings in new concepts for the players to contemplate. Crafting, fetch-quests and a "highlights" tour of three important locations from the Rime of the Frostmaiden campaign book create a new feeling that bridges across to the locations and themes of Icewind Dale in an enjoyable and satisfying way.

GAME EXPERIENCE:I ran this game last night with six players, all of whom had played at least several of the Season 10 Tier 2 adventures. Wyrmdoom Crag and LT Prook provided a familiar starting point for the crew. They chose the Lost Spire of Netheril first, aiming to collect the Chardalyn last. The encounter went well, and one player experienced with the hardcover used the replicator to create some interesting things. This created a diversion for the party which took up time unexpectedly. They were able to create the two potions using the recipes quite easily, and didn't even ask for any clues. Next was Sunblight and the Vestibule is quite a distraction. At this encounter I realised I was going to run out of time. I needed to cut short the fight in the third encounter, and abbreviate the final crafting scene using a shortcut in the fail safe procedure. In the end we ran over by 30 mins which was about the length of time added by extra fun with the replicator. I feel this could easily run to two or more hours over time. One thing that the players didn't like were the traps, which were sort of "ahah gotcha" type moments rather than hazards to be overcome. The players didn't mind the extension of the "are we still building that dumb bomb?" story arc (I was worried they might so I added some explanation of this). The game feels unusual and is certainly something very different to the others in this series.

PREPARATION: I created new maps for each of the three encounters, and also for the final workshop scene. I used existing maps of Icewind Dale and Wyrmdoom Crag. I struggled to understand some of the finer details such as traps and hazards. The Sunblight vestibule and the fail safe procedure are complex to understand. The Sunblight and Ambush encounters can be complicated with a range of features to consider. I found that preparation took a long time for this adventure, due to the complex details such as traps. The overall storyline and the concepts of each location were very clear to understand. Having some content split into the appendices was not helpful.

WHAT I LIKED: 1. Fresh approach to the storyline, 2. Tie in to RotFM, 3. Three interesting locations, 4. Potion recipe puzzle, 5. Final crafting challenge.

WHAT I DON'T LIKE: 1. Gotcha traps, 2. Overly long and difficult to manage the time, 3. Complexity in some elements takes time to prepare. The idea that blowing up an ancient city is a good idea is kind of sad, but let's see what happens in the final adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-09 Recipe for Retribution
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL10-04 Cold Benevolence
by Darren O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2021 15:54:56

This adventure has 4 main "encounters" as seems to be the norm in this season. Each encounter has a small scene that can be "beaten" in many ways.

One thing I found a little lacking is that the locations of the each of the chwinga are close together (around 4-6 hours regular pace travel) but there is no real thought put into how they make the journey from Wyrmdoom Crag all the way to "civilization". It also begs the question, if they could just travel to ten towns, why did they not do so long ago? I think the travel from Wyrmdoom to the location of the chwinga would take about 5-6 days of travel! I did not want to run an enounter in the wilderness fearing that I might run over the time I had to run the session.

Some of the group checks can be a little hard, my group had trouble on the mountain climb. 16 DC is pretty harsh. They just took a long rest because they had cold weather clothing though and I really couldn't see any reason not to let them.

The chwingas are adorable as they should be and the players enjoyed them a lot, especially how each one is very unique. Recommend this adventure with a few tweaks by the DM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-04 Cold Benevolence
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL10-06 The Fallen Star
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 10:12:57

It was a fun adventure! The encounters with the Ice Trolls then Mammoth and the Winter Wolves was a standout, nail biting experience especially with the auras.

The gathering of herbs felt like skippable filler, The module hit 5 hours with a group that was average per APL guidance due to the travel and gathering mechanics. I think in this case, while the Apothecary and Chwinga were fun, they weren't adding to the adventure, I'd rather just have this module be all about navigating the combat encounters, and tighten it up so the Exploration Pillar helps with navigating the threats in part 4, and the social pillar provides more alternate ways to avoid combat if needed.

The Vampire Kobolds felt like HP sponges rather than threats, especiallyl after the threat of the Ice Trolls and the Mammoth/Winter Wolves. And the fact that you end up long resting several times while Prook recovers means that the part wasn't particularly resource stressed by the module. They just took a while to clear out enemies.

An adjustment I would make would be to just let Prook have a couple levels of exhaustion that can be cured normally (skipping the tea part) and only allow short rests (maybe due to the Blizzard in Icewind Dale) to push the party further.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-06 The Fallen Star
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

RMH-EP-01 The Grand Masquerade
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2021 20:22:17
  • This adventure takes characters from 1st to 3rd level
  • The formating is better than earlier Adventure League material
  • Good guidance for DMs who may be wary of running more social-encounter focused sessions
  • 43 pages pf content with lots of handouts and some exciting art
  • An anti-climactic ending that really begs the adventure to continue; could be a tough sell as a one-shot
  • I can be something of a mental spaz, but I ended up reading this whole adventure through. Great setting and some fun constraints, compelling plot makes the ending that much more of a let down


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-EP-01 The Grand Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEP10-01 Terror in Ten Towns
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2021 22:56:57

This was an incredible experience. I ran this as a single table of 5 players, but I really want to do it as part of an event in the future as well to get the table interactions.

Starting out things in Easthaven is a brilliant way to tie into the larger story of the hardcover, it's almost a 50/50 chance that party members who play the HC have been to Easthaven from Bryn Shander and know something about the troubles besetting the rest of the eastern ten towns. Reading through the towns we didn't visit (my table picked Caer Konig) it seemed like things are pretty well defined in terms of quests and there are plenty options for different player characters to help the towns.

In terms of additional guidance, I do wish there were some blurbs at the beginning and ending of the first two sections regarding what aid each town can provide something like "If you go to Caer Konig, they might supply some marksmen... Or they could reach out to their neighboring goliath tribes for aid" kind of thing. I had to read a couple times and reference the charts at the beginning of our session to be able to clarify to my table what their choices mean. The sub-quests are nice and fun though.

For part 3 I really like the way difficulty scales based on previous successes along with party strength. It provided for a lot of tension in the ramping up combat encounters, and the wandering Verbeeg was a fun addition as well. Overall it was a great time as a solo table experience and I want to try it again as a proper Epic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEP10-01 Terror in Ten Towns
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEP10-00 The Great Knucklehead Rally
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2021 22:43:20

This was a very fun epic to run! We ended up having 3 tables of players and so we modified our structure a bit. Each DM ran one of the competitions, then the players got to go around and mingle with NPC's played by the DMs and HQ volunteers. I think the carnival atmostphere was the highlight of the event for the players.

The quests afterwards were nice and straightforward and for players who played DDAL10-00 it was very fun to see Mother Tusk's companions again. The time for each quest seemed to vary a bit though, the Yeti hunt went by a lot faster than the Mammoth raid for example.

The battle against the Giant's army was a great set piece. The wandering Giant was great and the table interaction, while limited made everyone feel like part of a bigger force. Overall I think it's a great first epic for someone to run to see how they feel about these larger events.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEP10-00 The Great Knucklehead Rally
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

RMH-01 The Final Curtain
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2021 21:35:59

One of my players was a spirits bard, and really got into the role, and started referring to themselves in character.

When the lights came on, one of mmy players was a gloomstalker ranger, and he hunter's marked the Meistersinger in retalitory rage.

10/10, would run again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-01 The Final Curtain
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

RMH-EP-01 The Grand Masquerade
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2021 19:16:21

Ran this for my AL "table" of 7 players on Roll20. Giving it 4 out of 5 stars for two reasons:

  1. I had to do a lot of image work to get maps and tokens for my players, some of whom are incapable of theatre of the mind
  2. My roleplay-adept players loved it, but it was a combat-free adventure, as they avoided the library, so my combat-focused players had less fun.

As a DM, I really enjoyed it, especially setting a tone that was refreshing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-EP-01 The Grand Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1130 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles