Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-15 Frozen Whispers
by Ander T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2022 02:43:06

This module has a lot going on. Seriously, don't plan to finish it in the suggested time frame with a full table. My table spent two full four-hour sessions here, I cut as much as I could from middle locations, and still had to rush the very end. There are two extended combats, a lot of exploration, and tons of potential for roleplay. My table enjoyed the way that the Shadow came back from one of the Season 10 modules.

Unfortunately, as written, it's very easy to give the players the idea that the McGuffins are extremely dangerous. I didn't see a good guide on how to represent that, especially given the cause of the events in Act 1. Ultimately, the party was so worried about them, they got chucked immediately into various bags of holding with as little contact as possible. I'm sure the result was a unique game experience, but I did end up basically having to tell them, out of character, what to do with the things.

This module is a good reminder that you need a more balanced party composition in T3 than you do at lower tiers. Since there was a balanced party, the end fight had some serious stakes, but didn't feel unfair. The compelled action was at the edge of my comfort for removing player agency, but it put the fear into the party.

There was a lot to prep in this, and a lot of decisions to make. I had to design the maps for everything but the home base. I actually made one of the arenas into a side scrolling map because of the challenges of the terrain.

Overall, I enjoyed running this, and I'm glad I bought it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-15 Frozen Whispers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL10-09 Recipe for Retribution
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2022 03:11:08

This is an adventure that definitely struggles with middle adventure syndrome. In DDAL10-08 the adventurers start a plan to blow up Xorvintroth and bury it beneath the mountain. This adventure is the execution of the bomb building.

What I liked: For players that are playing through Rime of the Frostmaiden, this is a fun little "Best Hits" type adventure. Venturing back to Sunblight Citadel, The Chardalyn Dragon, and Lost Spire are fun opportunities. The encounters are a good mix of combat and puzzle solving to challenge the players.

What I didn't Like: The pacing of the adventure left a lot to be desired. We ended up spending 2.5 hours on one encounter, having to squeeze in the other 2 before the bomb assembly. Because the adventure isn't handwaving travel it's misleading to the players how much time should be spent on it.

Verdict: This was an ok AL adventure. I think the bits and pieces are fine, it's hard to squeeze into 4 hours and doesn't have a good individual payoff. Run as a part of a campaign it's stronger, but as part of the AL drop in drop out experience the stakes are hard to explain to the characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL10-09 Recipe for Retribution
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-EP-04 Tears Among the Stars
by Rick W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2022 14:27:44

There are 24 encounters to potentially run. Your party will encounter ~8. That's a lot of wasted prep work. There are 26 stat blocks listed, many of which have customizations. There are 9 more NPCs that have combat actions, that aren't included in the stat blocks.

Part 1 Combat objective, the skiff is tiny, and the party has to deal with 10 large-gargantuan NPCs. Space ships are making melee attacks? Time limit means that it's unlikely that most tables will clear the fight, but there is no penalty/reward for completing or failing. Also, multiple mobs with legendary actions in the same fight is rough to keep on top of. Part 1 Exploration objective, played well, tight on time, but not impossible Part 1 Social objective, haven't played or run this one

Part 2 Objective A, no idea how that's suposed to be accomplished. Either there's a lot of handwaving, the party came with the perfect tools, or you treat the whole thing as fluf, replacing everything but the turret fights themselves with a few saves and burn some resources Part 2 Objective B, haven't played or run this one Part 2 Objective C, there is a 2-girls-1-cup reference. None of the prisoner stat blocks are included even though the adventure calls for them to use their abilities. Part 2 Objective D, haven't played or run this one

Part 3 16 different encounters here and your goal is to complete 5 of them. These are kinda hit or miss. Some give an opportunity for minimal RP (yelling at the room filled with prisoners and trying to figure out how to help them escape) Others take a bit longer. Some puzzle are fun and fit well in the time (7 and 9) others are just WTF? (6). The stress mechanic introduced at the very end is interesting, but since it's at the very end of the maze, it doesn't have much effect. That final encounter can also be trivialized by high int characters clearing the hall in 1 turn and low int characters typically being high strength and thus not being effected by the mechanic. The escape mechanic is a neat touch, other than a few issues: 1) there's no clue as to what it is and 2) characters have the option to be huge sized through this adventure, meaning that a single player can consume the entire width of the hall, preventing anyone else from getting close enough (let alone a full party of 7) to fiture out and trigger the escape mechanism. Also, there's no height listed for the room nor tenticles, so flight appears to be a means of circumventing the encounter.

Part 4 A little awkward, could have used a bit more description as to how the machine "defends itself". One of the victory conditions is unknown to the characters, a little description that might clue them into the non-combat option would have been nice. As would a descriptive blurb to warn them of what they are about to stick their hands in.

Treasure - treasure is all route dependent. The 3 items that drop are only available in 3 encounters, 1 of which the players are unaware of the opportunity before picking their objective and the 2 others are based on the assigned route, that the players don't get to choose. It's entirely possible to have a table absolutely crush the entire epic, and walk away with nothing but gold.

Maps - most of this adventure appears better suited for Theater of Mind play. There is no logical layout of the base. The provided maps are generic and don't match the room descriptions. They are too high detail to print out on the table top and too small to scale up for using in a VTT.

Splitting the adventure into Tier 3 and Tier 4 branches (more akin to DRW-EP-03) would have made for a much easier prep job, garunteed loot for the characters, and better replay-ability IMO.

All that said, the adventure does have an epic feel to it. It was also a great intro to the Astral Plane.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-EP-04 Tears Among the Stars
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-06 Amber Reclamation
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2022 14:39:37

For context, I did end up running this adventure and RMH-05 back to back with the same group of players to provide some needed context and cohesiveness.

What I liked: Exploring the Amber Temple is fun, meeting the Lich and interacting with monsters that aren't immediately hostile was fun for the players. The number of Vestiges was also interesting, although getting that information earlier so that they could have interacted with the players in Barovia ahead of time would have been nice.

What I didn't like: The resolution through a chase is pretty anti-climactic. A single monster trying to flee 3-5 level 5 characters will have a very hard time. Magic users in the party will have access to spells like Web, spike growth, etc. The return of the Lich's memory should have an alternate method to accomplish than just greater restoration, some sort of subquest maybe. The Dark Invitation Story Award from RMH-05 didn't appear here, I don't know if it will appear in the future.

THE BIG PROBLEM: 6 adventures into the series, halfway through it all. The DM still has NO IDEA what is going on. What's up with Darcalus, the apparatus, etc? Why would Player characters care about the Vestiges and their dark gifts? What is their motivation for investigating further? Radaga has been found, there needs to be some threat presented to the players but it's all so cloaked in mystery that I struggle to get them engaged in what that could be.

Especially for the price tag (which I recognize is not set by the authors in this case) you're just not getting much for the $10 you're spending. Instead of buying this, go buy a bundle of 4 adventures from the Arcane Library for the same amount of money, even if they are presented with less polish.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-06 Amber Reclamation
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-05 Unexpected Hospitality
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2022 14:25:06

For context, I did end up running this adventure and RMH-06 back to back with the same group of players to provide some needed context and cohesiveness. I think for a little adventure in Barovia these two adventures do a nice tour of things. I'm surprised by the use of werewolves instead of vampires as the big fight in the adventure, but there's some nice roleplaying and a very difficult fight. The guidance to do tasks for room and boarding in Krezk with the time limit of nightfall and a storm provided some urgency to players.

What I liked: I enjoy the following up on another team into Barovia, I really liked the honored host greeting the party at a nicely dramatic point in the big fight. 6 werewolves and a Loup Garou are indeed a harrowing fight for the players! And we got some magic items to use for the players nicely done! I'm going to be adding the NPCs in Krezk to a future Curse of Strahd campaign should I run it! I like the story award, I hope it pays off later in the adventure series.

What I didn't like: The module suffers from being in the middle of an adventure where the scenario is being kept a mystery from the Dungeon Master. I don't really know myself what the mystery here is. Something about Darcalus, something about the White Oasis, something about the Amber Temple. But I don't know what to emphasize to my players because I myself don't know. I also don't know what clues to provide regarding the fate of the original team leader, since we don't know that as well. As part 1 of a 2 part adventure this is fine if not exceptional, but I would NOT run this just by itself. There's not a very satisfying result for the players actions here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-05 Unexpected Hospitality
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-20 The Death of Szass Tam
by BRIAN B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2022 09:10:00

I enjoy playing challenging modules and this module is one of them. The designs of the BBEGs and the final fight demands approaching it in unorthodox ways and is aware of the meta/power-curve of characters in AL today. Brute force is still an option of course, but it'll take more time to chip away than other BBEGs in other modules. Overall, really enjoyed this entire adventure and the lethality of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-20 The Death of Szass Tam
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
EB-01 The Night Land
by Dan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2022 14:48:11

The bones of this adventure are pretty good, and it contains the enough motivation and details for Adventure League play, but for home campaigns it is missing far too much information. Below are some points I found wanting in no particular order. Again, I understand the limitations placed on AL game play, but with home games, players do more, explore more and uncover things not allowed in AL sessions.

The town description is too vague. No detail on what items can be purchased or the going prices of items sold in the Salvage Market. No mention of the powers of the Arrow of Truth or history. No guides to creating salvage contracts. What are the rules of poaching contracts? No inclusion of possible PC questions and NPC dialogue replies, just information to be used as guides for conversations. Inconsistent boxed text descriptions. No value or properties description of the black glass in “Following the Tracks”. No treasure to be found at the lightning rail depot or in the Emerald Claw "zombie lab". If Zodor is a chaotic good shifter, why does Jahanah believe him to be a notorious broker? When the heroes find Whist at the artillery piece and her dead salvage group, do the players then become the contract holders? Whist helped them bring back scrap and turned over the contract's payment to my players. The crystal drakes and corpse scorpion are just ambush drakes and a gibbering mouther renamed. The artillery piece location offers no treasure other than the Arrow of Truth or what parts can be salvaged from the cannon. There's a sheriff, but no clear rules as to what is allowed and what is an arrestable offense. For home games, my players grumbled about the low payouts for the jobs. No real descriptions for where the locations of the jobs in the Mournland- very vague on a lot of details.

I was hoping for a more fully fleshed out adventure. However, the bones are here and with additoinal work, this module can be fully fleshed out. However, as a currently overloaded DM, and given that each module in this campaign is $5 (I already bought the first four), I may have to go back to writing home-brew adventures. If there was a bundle option, I might consider picking them up to doctor and run the entire thing.

That being said, I'm grateful for Eberron material being produced.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EB-01 The Night Land
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-12 To Walk the Cold Dark
by Jay A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2022 08:33:55

Echoing the other review. Great adventure, heavy on the exploration and combat side. But it's far too difficult to fit this into a 4-5 hour timeframe. For me, it took 7 and that was with no combat and abbreviated exploration in Part 1 which could have easily went longer.

Also, the clear climax of Part 2 feels like it should end the adventure instead anyway.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-12 To Walk the Cold Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
DDAL-DRW-11 Shadows in the Stacks
by Jay A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2022 08:19:55

This adventure, like the others in this series, is divided into 3 parts. In general, I liked it but there's some issues keeping me from rating this higher.

I didn't like Part 1. It involves the party being given the mission and traveling to Candlekeep. But along the way, the party has to deal with inconveniences, with little reason to suspect the causes are deliberate. Worse, there's not many ways for the party to address the inconveniences (they either just happen or has to be unreasonably bribed away). And even worse, even if the party did address (or bypass) it all quickly, it has ZERO effect on the rest of adventure. The party still gets to Candlekeep even if they do nothing (well almost nothing..one inconvenience involves managing a disease outbreak) and the same stuff still happens. It might as well been background boxed text up until the point the adventures go into the library.

I LOVED Part 2. The party has a library trip, talking with librarians and experiencing the super magicalness that is Candlekeep. Though some interactions are contrived, there's good roleplaying opportunities here and the researching aspect feels enjoyably interactive. There's a scene that the DM can insert whenever appropriate to lead to Part 3.

Part 3 is so so for me. It's basically a good challenging combat. However there's a "book burning" aspect to it that the party is trying to stop. But the adventure doesn't address certain obvious ploys, such as why doesn't the bad guys toss in several books at once. Also, it's a special "fire" they are immune too and they have all the books on their person, so why not just walk into the "fire" to burn all the books at the same time? But ignoring that, the combat is a nice scene to end the adventure on and lead into the next one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL-DRW-11 Shadows in the Stacks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-04 The Amber Secret
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2022 20:46:56

For context, I did end up running this adventure and RMH-04 back to back with the same group of players to provide some needed context and cohesiveness, but still I wasn't too satisfied with part 2. Especially for the price tag (which I recognize is not set by the authors in this case) you're just not getting much for the $10 you're spending. Instead of buying this, go buy a bundle of 4 adventures from the Arcane Library for the same amount of money, even if they are presented with less polish.

What I liked: The fight at the beginning is solid. The conjurer as a statblock is strong and with the shadow minions it's a fun fight. Pawero being a zombie but not really bothering anyone is a fun bit of flavor. My table ended up following him back to River's Shelter to see him retreive his harp. Mirtu can be a fun interaction if you are able to give your players a reason to interact with him.

What I didn't like: There just isn't very much here, between RMH-03 and RMH-04 you're spending $20, that's almost enough for a hardcover book, and you get kind of an ok gazeteer of River's Shelter, some undead encounters, and then some very poorly communicated puzzles in the temple. With the way Har'Akir is described this could have been a great dungeon crawl but you spend the adventure in 1 room, and then suffer from illusions. There isn't much proactive the players can do, just survive the illusion or use Malik's Decanter. It doesn't have much impact. The conversation with Mirtu is also lacking, there should be more information offered as a reward to the players. As is there isn't a great reason for them to accept the dark gift unless they're dying earlier in the adventure.

THE BIG PROBLEM: Ok, by now we are now 5 adventures into Ravenloft Misthuners, and unless the DM is getting information from other DMs who have run the other adventures, we still don't know what the core structure of the adventure series is. AS DMs! THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM! How can we be running this for our players without that information? The party came to Har'Akir looking for information. Why would they return at the end of this adventure if they haven't found anything? I guess they can report back about the existence of an Amber Sarcophogus but why is that something that should stick out to them? Why doesn't the adventure give Mirtu some valuable information to share? We're 1/3 of the way through the campaign of Ravenloft Misthunters, we need some stakes for the players! This was a HUGE missed opportunity to reveal what is going on to the players so they can be active participants in the ongoing scenario through the next adventures. This is really disappointing. I'll be running through the rest of the adventures but I can't recommend running them as is due to the lack of communication to the DM about what is happening.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-04 The Amber Secret
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-03 The Amber Dirge
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2022 08:46:49

For context, I did end up running this adventure and RMH-04 back to back with the same group of players to provide some needed context and cohesiveness, but still I wasn't too satisfied with part 1. Especially for the price tag (which I recognize is not set by the authors in this case) you're just not getting much for the $10 you're spending. Instead of buying this, go buy a bundle of 4 adventures from the Arcane Library for the same amount of money, even if they are presented with less polish.

What I liked: The NPCs area great, you get a little list of NPCs at River's Shelter and they each have their own little stories. There is plenty for a roleplay invested group to dig into and play off of. The White Oasis and the cleansing ritual there is interesting so it's a nice small supplement to adventures happening in Har'Akir. The fight with the Sacred Dead was a challenging encounter in a quarry with traps, I like that (but maybe could have used more traps).

What I didn't like: The PCs are not given much motiviation to even go to Har'Akir, and once again the author is keeping the DM from knowing enough about the world to build a good mystery. DON'T KEEP CLUES FROM THE DM! I need to know what the party should be looking for even if they don't know it yet. But also they should have some idea of what they are looking for other than "weird stuff" that is very dumb. The adventure isn't very robust, the party may not want to stick around River's Shelter if they only have the word White Oasis to go off of, so they may miss the kidnappings. If the party acts swiftly when they first see Pawermo get taken, and they follow the sacred dead (like they can with the halfling) then he may not get zombified. More information should be given about Har'Akir to make the setting feel a bit more whole, what about a visiting Child of Anktepot or some other priest? The adventure ends in a cliffhanger, that's fine if you're running RMH-03 and RMH-04 back to back. But if the point is to be stand alone, then the fight at the beginning of RMH-04 should be added here, then maybe the end of this adventure leads into a deeper dungeon crawl through the tombs of RMH-04.

THE BIG PROBLEM: Ok, by now we are 4 adventures into Ravenloft Misthuners, and unless the DM is getting information from other DMs who have run the other adventures, we still don't know:

What is the apparatus that Radaga is looking for Why was she acting so weird before What is the party trying to accomplish These three things ARE BIG PIECES OF INFORMATION TO KEEP FROM THE DM! How am I supposed to portray Radaga properly if I don't know this stuff? I ended up just keeping her in a half fugue state with amnesia to try and make it work, but then why is she helping the party out on their way to Har'Akir. Modules are not novels, DMs are not the audience, we're working to execute the author's vision for the players so DMs need context and information! Stop working against us!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-03 The Amber Dirge
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-02 Back to the Front
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2022 21:20:24

This was a much stronger showing than the previous adventure. I ran this for a party of 5 players after doing the previous two in the series (along with some other oneshots I fit into the domains of dread).

Things I liked: Relevant to the storyline of Ravenloft Misthunters! We found Radaga! Lots of great little encounters throughout the adventure to use as much or as little as you like. The combination suggestions for the road trip are great too! The primal serum is a neat effect and fun for players to puzzle over and interact with. The zombie surge coming sets a nice deadline to get stuff done and the battle in Morfenzi is fun, the abstraction to use exhaustion for the length of the surge is clever.

Things I didn't like: The adventure is keeping Radaga a mystery even to the DM. Is she possessed? Why is she acting weird? How am I supposed to run her well if I don't know her real motivations? Let me as DM obfuscate to my players, don't hide stuff from me! Making the potion is odd, as it doesn't really seem to need the party to be there. Justifying Radaga not leaving is also a bit muddled. The chase at the end is a bit unsatisfying as is. I added a zombie horde on the heels of the chase to make it more dramatic. The price, for $5 or less I can find enjoyable one shot adventures that also come with VTT support. Seems like money is going to support new art, but I don't need that, I'd prefer something more printer friendly.

This adventure is more enjoyable to run and play than Final Curtain for sure. If I was running again I would like skip Kartakass.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-02 Back to the Front
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
RMH-01 The Final Curtain
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2022 21:10:55

I think this can be a fun stand alone adventure, but unfortunately it neither connects well to the rest of the Ravenloft Misthunters storyline, nor is very easy to run as itself.

Things I liked: Emherst is a fun town to set the adventure in, the idea is creepy and supports a DM being able to turn up the uncomfortable realities of Kartakass for the players. The final confrontation is a fun little fight that should be a decent encounter for a level 3 party. The adventure does a half decent job of making a mystery with different motives for potential suspects.

Things I didn't like: Kartakass as a place doesn't feel very cohesive or make a lot of sense, and neither does Emherst, why are the people doing this play, who is it for, how does the larger community engage with it? The timeline also isn't very simple to run, I would have preferred adversary tables showing what the different NPCs were doing morning, afternoon, evening of each day or something. As is, it felt like the party was on their way to solving the mystery well ahead of the timeline of the villain to doing their next murder. I had to improvise as a DM to fill that time a bit. The lack of physical evidence indicating other suspects made it pretty simple to figure out who the murderer was. The entier premise requires a lot of consent and buy in from your players, if they don't want to engage in RP this is not an adventure to run. The "understage" of Emherst is way more engaging than the living play, and should have been more supported with maps and encounters. This felt like an adventure that was prefect for a Dark Lord cameo, and not having something built in was unsatisfying.

THE BIG PROBLEM: Nothing in the adventure matters to the larger plot, you enter the adventure with a rumor of Radaga's location, and you leave with a rumor on her location. My players asked, "Why did we bother?" and you never want to be asked that after a session. This could have been solved with maybe stronger forshadowing to what the adventure storyline is in this adventure.

Final review: I compare this adventure to something by Arcane library, like Temple of the Basilisk Cult or Crypts of Azaruum, and I struggle to see the value for $10. You're better of spending that money on better prepared adventures, even if they aren't as flashy in art and presentation as this one.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RMH-01 The Final Curtain
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
EB-06 The Last Word
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2022 15:11:09

The star-crossed lovers' intrigue steals the spotlight in this RP-heavy mystery.

The Good: This adventure provides many opportunities for players to showcase their creative problem solving abilities and their characters' skills. Each character might try different techniques to sneak onto the boat, and there are many unique characters to inspect once they've arrived. A pair of secret letter handouts provides a fun decoding exercise (though less effective on black and white printers). The tributes to Shakespeare were noticed and enjoyed by members of my group. And the party's approach to their objective can bring about some very different endings.

The Bad: I had no major frustrations with this adventure, so I only have a few nitpicks to share. There is very little combat to this chapter. Only one encounter is actually guaranteed, and even that was reduced by half by my perceptive party and effective use of a Suggestion spell. Additionally, if the party achieves the Runaway Lovers ending, it's not abundantly clarified in this or future modules why tensions still elevate between Breland and Thrane, and this could have used more box text explanation to give to the party (likely linking it to Lady Mercutia's report mentioned very briefly on p. 18).

Advice to Future GMs: Be advised that Narcy of Xandra has an upcoming role to play in EB-18, and I highly recommend reading that first to inform how you roleplay her character. Additionally, my players had a hard time identifying the marked letters when I printed the handouts from a black & white printer. They had a much easier time when I gave them access to a digital color copy insted. Be prepared for this, either by printing the handouts from a color printer or having digital color copies of the handout ready to email or copy to a shared location.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EB-06 The Last Word
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
EB-04 The Third Protocol
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2022 06:58:38

[spoilers] I've run all of the adventures up to and including this one. I'd say this one has me kind of doubting going forward with the players.

The last two adventures have been really heavy on the combat, not much in the way of negotiations, interesting NPCs or mysteries/puzzles. The players basically spend the entire 3-4 hours in combat. This adventure has some nice-ish descriptions of buildings and what's inside but nothing stands out as a "larger arc" or anything that would really stick in someones memory.

I did have fun with this adventure because I really tried to give life to the priest and villagers in the chapel after I had the oracle suggest they go there. A fun combat with a large snake and ogre was good but I soon realized that defeating 5-6 of these "boss" NPCs is just not possible in the time I had. I'm not sure how a DM would be able to do that without the game feeling entirely bogged down by combat (6 rounds of combat and you have people surfing garabge on their phones).

It all comes down to the players and the DM. This adventure can be fun (and it was reasonably fun to DM) but I'd classify this one more as a "gathering of short ideas with a rough, albit typical, goal"



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EB-04 The Third Protocol
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1204 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles