Advanced Search

Rider Class 5e SupplementClick to magnify
Quick Preview
Full‑size Preview

Rider Class 5e Supplement


Throw that sword away and never look back. Now is your chance to fight evil monsters while riding a medieval (or futuristic) looking giant mecha! That's right! Become a rider and bond with your sentient clockwork automaton companion. With enough training and hard work, your automaton will gain the power to ascend and become a large mechanical beast, a fortress ship, or a giant humanoid construct that you can pilot with over-the-top size greatsword and cape included!

This product includes the following:

1. Rider Class Details
2. Three Rider Subclasses

  • Ascension Mode: Fortress
  • Ascension Mode: Behemoth
  • Ascension Mode: Colossus

3. A list of Ascension Upgrade parts that you can buy
4. Three new Backgrounds that is perfect for your Rider Class

  • Collector
  • Offworlder
  • New Type

Let your bard start playing jazz music and have your spellcaster provide you with the most badass fireworks as you launch at the enemies riding the most insane looking giant mecha! Annihilating all of them in the coolest way possible because that's how you always do it in the world's greatest roleplaying game!

 More from this Title's Contributors
 Customers Who Bought this Title also Purchased
Reviews (1)
Discussions (5)
Customer avatar
John S August 10, 2022 6:25 pm UTC
Heyo! I was wondering if you can clarify some things for me. But first, I bought this a while ago and was instantly attracted to it's specific style and the unique way you mechanically made mechs viable in really any setting, as well as giving the class a pretty pogging flavor of it's own. I really like the class, and am really excited to play a Rider as my next character!

I just need a few things cleared up, either because I had a hard time understanding for some reason or it simply wasn't explained in the PDF. Also just general musings here and there.
-Can your automata in it's base for wield weapons or armor, and does it add your INT to attack and damage rolls if it does? I think the answer is yes, since it shares your proficiencies, but better safe than sorry. Especially since the Ascended forms seem to have only one able to wield weapons.
-Why does the Fortress Mech's laser weapon not allow you to target the same enemy twice? 2d6 is a strong ranged weapon, I admit and it has a non-typical...See more
Customer avatar
John S August 16, 2022 4:55 pm UTC
So after a few days thinking on it and also re-reading the pdf tonight, I did come up with a few more questions. I also noticed the multiclass box on page 6. I have eyes, I swear. I'm also sorry if my typo comment seemed rude or hoity toity, especially after I didn't fix all of them in my comment.

I really do like this class, though. As far as a mech and pilot class goes it's pretty much what I've been looking for and more. I really like the flavor of it too, the automaton has so much story potential that it's nuts! I do have a few gripes and grumbles here and there, but I want to save that for a review post and for after I've actually sat down and played a game or two with the class to see how it feels, even if I don't use all of the features. I also hope that these questions don't feel combative, they're just thoughts I've had as I've read and re-read the class.

Onto the newer questions and thoughts.
-Why does the Colossus lose it's damage resistances? I get that, through you,...See more
Customer avatar
Ev A May 12, 2021 8:40 am UTC
Do you choose one ascension mode stat block and keep that one, or can you choose a different stat block whenever you use the ascension?
Customer avatar
Paul G May 12, 2021 9:12 am UTC
Yes, you only choose one ascension mode. The ascension modes are the subclasses for Rider. Of course, you are free to change this rule as long as you have your DM's approval :)
Customer avatar
Matthew C August 27, 2020 1:48 am UTC
I'm wondering if you'd have any suggestions for a variation of this class where the Automaton is more of a non-sentient vehicle rather than a companion? Or is that too far away from the class's core concept?
Customer avatar
Paul G August 27, 2020 4:27 am UTC
Not at all far from the core concept. Although an automaton's ascension mode is already considered a mount. Also, since an automaton can take any form and its size is Medium, a small creature can already treat it as a mount. Just make the automaton look like your preferred vehicle. Lastly, if you want you can create an upgrade for your automaton that will transform it into a non-sentient, medium-size armor that can give its master flying/swimming or higher walking speed. Hope this helps!
Customer avatar
Paul G June 07, 2020 12:20 pm UTC
June 07, 2021 - Version 1.1 Change Log

Clockwork Automaton (p.7) - "If you are incapacitated or absent, your automaton acts on its own as long as your hit points is not at zero—focusing on protecting you and itself."

Synergize Effect (p.9) - "Every other rider within range that used their reaction loses their turn this round and instead can act on the same initiative as you. Until the end of this round, you and each of those riders also get an advantage on attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws, +5 to AC, and +5 to DC."

Customer avatar
Franz J June 01, 2020 3:17 pm UTC
Hi, I have some questions based on the preview.

Pg.7 The rider’s bond.
- “Starting at 1st level, whenever your automaton or it’s chosen ascension mode takes damage, you take damage for it. When your hit points reach 0, the automaton will cease to function.”

Does this mean that if the rider has 10 HPs and both the rider and the automaton are inside of an area of effect that damages each of them for 5 HPs, that both damage totals will be removed from the rider. Effectively knocking the rider unconscious and ceasing the automatons functions?

Pg.7 Clockwork automaton
- “If you are incapacitated or absent, your automaton acts on its own, focusing on protecting you and itself. It never requires your command to use its reaction, such as when making an opportunity attack.”

Falling unconscious includes the incapacitated condition. But if you fall unconscious due to dropping to zero HPs your automaton ceases to function.

Does this...See more
Customer avatar
Paul G June 01, 2020 10:12 pm UTC
Hi Franz! Let me answer your queries:

1. Does this mean that if the rider has 10 HPs and both the rider and the automaton are inside of an area of effect that damages each of them for 5 HPs, that both damage totals will be removed from the rider. Effectively knocking the rider unconscious and ceasing the automatons functions?

Answer: That is correct. If a rider and its automaton are both caught in a fireball spell, the rider will take twice the damage. It is one of the weaknesses of the rider class and part of game balance. What I’ve learned though, through playtest, is that players enjoy finding different strategies on how to avoid being in that situation. The fighting style of a rider can be aggressive on its attacks using the automaton, but at the same time, being mindful of the distance and making sure that the rider will not be caught in an AOE spell together with its buddy.

2. Falling unconscious includes the incapacitated condition. But if you fall unconscious due...See more
Narrow Results
$ to $
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Recent History

Product Information
Copper seller
Community Content
Rules Edition(s)
Original electronic Click for more information
Scanned image
These products were created by scanning an original printed edition. Most older books are in scanned image format because original digital layout files never existed or were no longer available from the publisher.

For PDF download editions, each page has been run through Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software to attempt to decipher the printed text. The result of this OCR process is placed invisibly behind the picture of each scanned page, to allow for text searching. However, any text in a given book set on a graphical background or in handwritten fonts would most likely not be picked up by the OCR software, and is therefore not searchable. Also, a few larger books may be resampled to fit into the system, and may not have this searchable text background.

For printed books, we have performed high-resolution scans of an original hardcopy of the book. We essentially digitally re-master the book. Unfortunately, the resulting quality of these books is not as high. It's the problem of making a copy of a copy. The text is fine for reading, but illustration work starts to run dark, pixellating and/or losing shades of grey. Moiré patterns may develop in photos. We mark clearly which print titles come from scanned image books so that you can make an informed purchase decision about the quality of what you will receive.
Original electronic format
These ebooks were created from the original electronic layout files, and therefore are fully text searchable. Also, their file size tends to be smaller than scanned image books. Most newer books are in the original electronic format. Both download and print editions of such books should be high quality.
File Last Updated:
June 07, 2020
This title was added to our catalog on May 16, 2020.