Advanced Search

Exit Pursued by Owlbear (5e Adventure Anthology)Click to magnify
Quick Preview
Full‑size Preview

EXIT PURSUED BY OWLBEAR is a collection of five adventures inspired by the works of William Shakespeare.

Five stories, told throughout the ages. Five plays, written and rewritten for every medium under the radiant sun. Five new adventures, each waiting for you to join the table and play out their action like actors upon the storied stage, exploring their worlds from angles heretofore unseen.

From the midst of the European Renaissance to the day you’re reading this introduction, the works of William Shakespeare have resonated in the hearts of readers, writers, actors, and audiences all over the globe. Something about the works of the Bard of Avon—something vital that peers into what it means to be human—have allowed them to live far beyond their original performances. Even in other mediums, the Bard persists: his plays have become books, paintings, operas, films, and so on. If you can think of a medium, Shakespeare’s work has probably made a home there.

This collection is a continuation of the long tradition of converting Shakespeare’s works to new mediums, adapting five of his most famous plays into adventures for 5th edition Dungeons & Dragons. These adventures will approach the Bard’s stories from angles you’ve never seen them, allowing you to prevent the tragedy of Hamlet, help Katherine escape her “taming” and enact revenge, and play in the presence of Puck, among other dramatic delights. But enough preparation: adventure awaits. In Shakespeare’s own words, “if music be the food of love, play on”—and where food and music play, games are never far behind.


EXIT PURSUED BY OWLBEAR includes five 2-4 hour adventures, each modeled after a play by William Shakespeare, and an introduction by E. R. F. Jordan.

THE ROSE OF THE FAIR STATE, by Ashton Duncan. In this spin on Hamlet, help Ophelia take control of her own fate and save her kingdom and country from the political machinations of King Claudius. Includes pirates, players, and a coup d’état!

A SHREW'S VENGEANCE, by Jessica Marcrum. In this revitalization of The Taming of the Shrew, Katherine is done with the horrid treatment of her abusive husband and hires the party to teach him and lesson and get her revenge. (content warning: gaslighting, references to intimate partner abuse, and neglect)

IF WE SHADOWS HAVE OFFENDED, by R. Morgan Slade. Take to the forests of A Midsummer Night's Dream with this low-stakes, light-hearted romp through the dreams of the faerie Puck. Play his game well, and you might be rewarded with gifts fit for a faerie queen!

MUCH ADO ABOUT COOKIES, by Noah Grand. In the original Much Ado About Nothing, the plot to ruin young Hero's wedding was stopped by the bumbling city watch—but here, the city watch is asleep, and the only witness is the faerie dragon, Avon! Help Avon and a slew of colorful characters put an end to the bullying of Baron Wolstan Brent.

BUBBLE, BUBBLE, TOIL AND TROUBLE, by Tessa Simpson. This adventure, based on Macbeth, takes the party through the underwater kingdom of Bryntun just after a long, drawn-out war. The lord and lady Macbeth play host for the recently returned King Duncan—but in the early hours of the morning, the king is killed, and the party is full of Macbeth's main suspects!

Preview: The Rose of the Fair State Preview: A Shrew's Vengeance Preview: If We Shadows Have Offended Preview: Much Ado About Cookies Preview: Bubble, Bubble, Toil and Trouble
 More from this Title's Contributors
 Customers Who Bought this Title also Purchased
Reviews (1)
Discussions (0)
May 8th, 2020
Exit pursued by Owlbear from @erfjordan et al This is a truly astounding and varied collection of adventures worn worth their salt on their own merit, but as adventures inspired of the works of Shakespeare, they are truly magnificent reimaginin [...]
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!

Product Information
Silver seller
Community Content
Rules Edition(s)
Original electronic Click for more information
Scanned image
These products were created by scanning an original printed edition. Most older books are in scanned image format because original digital layout files never existed or were no longer available from the publisher.

For PDF download editions, each page has been run through Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software to attempt to decipher the printed text. The result of this OCR process is placed invisibly behind the picture of each scanned page, to allow for text searching. However, any text in a given book set on a graphical background or in handwritten fonts would most likely not be picked up by the OCR software, and is therefore not searchable. Also, a few larger books may be resampled to fit into the system, and may not have this searchable text background.

For printed books, we have performed high-resolution scans of an original hardcopy of the book. We essentially digitally re-master the book. Unfortunately, the resulting quality of these books is not as high. It's the problem of making a copy of a copy. The text is fine for reading, but illustration work starts to run dark, pixellating and/or losing shades of grey. Moiré patterns may develop in photos. We mark clearly which print titles come from scanned image books so that you can make an informed purchase decision about the quality of what you will receive.
Original electronic format
These ebooks were created from the original electronic layout files, and therefore are fully text searchable. Also, their file size tends to be smaller than scanned image books. Most newer books are in the original electronic format. Both download and print editions of such books should be high quality.
File Last Updated:
April 30, 2020
This title was added to our catalog on April 30, 2020.